What is the opinion of Reddit about the
JS Dental Lab Mouth Guard for Clenching & Teeth Grinding | Custom Night Guard | Upper Kit?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

21st Jan 2021

Exact same thing your dentist will make.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/

Wife has TMJ. We spent the money on one from the dentist for it to get lost after 6 months. Tried the above from Amazon. My wife has said it is the exact same thing she had.

You make a mold just like the dentist does. You send your mold back and they make a custom mouth guard thats the same quality that you’d get if you went to the dentist. I have a feeling dentists send molds off to these same companies to make mouth guards for them.

3 points

·

21st Jan 2021

Wife has TMJ and she was told to get one. We got one from the dentist and spent to much. Wife lost it after a few months. Second one we ordered from Amazon. It was the exact same quality as what the dentist made. I swear the dentist just sends it to these same companies to make.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/

2 points

·

21st Jan 2021

I’ve said this elsewhere in this thread. Amazon sells the exact same mouth guard your dentist makes. The dentist my wife went to told us they have to send off the molds to get them made. I swear its the same company below.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/

2 points

·

27th Jul 2020

Yeah I think it is pretty different. I got this one: JS Dental Lab Custom Dental Night Guard, Sleep Mouth Guard for Teeth Grinding, Bruxism & TMJ Relief – Upper Bite Guard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_TKKhFbM4A3D1D

It meant to be used exclusively for sleeping, so it’s pretty comfortable. Takes a few nights to get used to though.

1 point

·

4th Oct 2021

Since you’re at this point, can I recommend something that worked for me? I posted about this way back in January when I first got it.

I found that these mouth guards (actually meant to prevent clenching) are available in very thin materials, so they’re not intrusive, and you can speak clearly while wearing them. The one I’m linking to is expensive, but IMO totally worth it. You can wear these in public and talk to people and no one will notice it!

I started using these in January 2021, and have been able to kill my nail-biting 100%!

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_0EV96D60XY569VRHE83W?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

21st Feb 2021

Dentists can make these but they will charge you $700!

I found this mail-in service on Amazon that does the exact same thing but for $130. They’ll send you a kit with everything you need to make the mold of your upper jaw (bottom is an option, too). Once made, just send it in (pre-paid mail envelope is included). Got mine in about a week.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_P0BAG9K1ZV3M7QR7P5WP?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

10th May 2018

I bought this one and I like it more than the last one I had made in a dentist’s office. The cheaper ones are definitely way better than nothing (I wear mine religiously), but this one has lasted a long time and is super comfortable.

2 points

·

10th Feb 2021

I wanted to share the following here just in case anyone needed the information. We couldn’t afford a mouth guard because out of pocket was going to be $500. But the lab that I linked sends you the mould kit to do yourself and then you send it back to them. They make the bite guard (we went with 3mm thick for each of us) and send it back to you and they are really good about fixing issues if there is an issue with the mould or something. This is $130 for one bite guard. (We bought one for each of us.) For my partner, this was a must have because she grinds at night while she’s sleeping and was waking up with head pain.

And we do use CBD too. That does help in a lot of ways with the chronic illness and mental health stuff that we deal with.

https://www.amazon.com/Dental-Lab-Custom-Night-Guard/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=sr_1_16?crid=3DRN06ZIGTW2D&dchild=1&keywords=bite+guard+for+teeth+clenching&qid=1612991215&sprefix=bite+,aps,200&sr=8-16

2 points

·

10th Feb 2021

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trigeminal_nerve

Check out the link above. There’s this massive nerve in your face that connects the jaw and head together. I have some general info below, but for your case, there might a reason why you’re biting the inside of your mouth and I think that is worth getting checked out by a dentist or similar person. There’s might a lot of swelling going on or something like that.

I do suggest a bite guard for nighttime. If your insurance costs too much, here is a company that will make them for you. It worked really well for us. https://www.amazon.com/Dental-Lab-Custom-Night-Guard/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=sr_1_16?crid=3DRN06ZIGTW2D&dchild=1&keywords=bite+guard+for+teeth+clenching&qid=1612991215&sprefix=bite+,aps,200&sr=8-16 They send you a kit, you do the mold part yourself and send it back to them.

For daytime I do anti-inflamatories. Ice can help too. Breathing and other exercises to help with anxiety can also be really useful. When you start to feel that pressue coming on, take a minute. breathe in very deeply and exhale deeply. Do this as slow as you can. as you’re doing this, let your shoulders, neck, face, jaw, anywhere else you feel tension, relax. breathe more times if you’re having trouble.

1 point

·

8th Jun 2021

Heads up, if you want to try a nice custom mouth guard without spending $500-700 at the dentist, I found this great one on Amazon:

JS Dental Lab Custom Dental Night… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021

I bought a night guard from J and S dental lab on Amazon link I got the heaviest duty option and it has lasted almost two years and I’m a pretty intense clenched.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2019

If you just grind your teeth, dentists hate this and I’m gonna be down voted, but you can go on amazon and get it done.

https://www.amazon.com/Dental-Lab-Night-Guard-Upper/dp/B0769YSBNX

Just make sure if you start to have jaw aches or other aches, to stop wearing it and get it checked by a dentist.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2020

Here’s the lab we used

1 point

·

4th Sep 2020

Be really careful with this. If you can at all wiggle your teeth, don’t do it. I got one of those guards that you boil (which is the type you should get if you do go for one, btw) but I had very early gum disease without realizing it at the time. It majorly changed my bite and made my TMJ way worse.

If you are doing over the counter because of money, perhaps consider a direct from manufacturer guard? You send them the mold and they make you the quality of guard that you would usually get at the dentist. They’re the same people your dentist buys them from (virtually no one makes them on premises) and you’re just eliminating the charge from the middle man. You could get this one for $130 from a well rated source.

https://www.amazon.com/Dental-Lab-Custom-Night-Guard/dp/B0769YSBNX?ref_=ast_sto_dp

Our bites do tend to be a bit off, so they do recommend that you get the 3D mouth guard. That is $219. A LOT more money, I know! But what they’re doing is instead of just taking a mold of your upper teeth, they take an additional mold of the bottom and utilize the combination to design the guard to compensate for any uneven bite pressure.

https://jsdentallab.com/collections/guards/products/3d-custom-night-guard-severe-teeth-grinding

I know this is a lot, but most dentists will ask bare minimum $500 for a mouth guard if you’re lucky, so you’re shaving a lot off. And WOW a legit mouth guard has made SO much difference for me!

1 point

·

27th Feb 2020

You posted about J&S Dental Lab on Amazon. My response got downvoted, so here’s another one for other people to down vote. I invite anyone else to comment on this particular reply. Would love to see arguments to justified charging $800 for something that cost sometimes, as low as $39.95. Here’s the item again: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/

Most dentists send their assistant to take impression then sends it off to the lab. some don’t do CR/CO bite records — just an upper and lower impression.

when it comes back — the assistants fit and adjust, go through a couple of check list items (bite & fit), and send the patient on their way. If you want to see how it’s done, here’s a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8XD6h3Yo9g

The process is done almost completely without dentist supervising the process. And to be frank, I’ve been in offices where they stick them in, ask how the patient feels, and don’t even bother checking the bite with bite paper. So in this case, the dental office is literally just the middle man between the patient and the lab.

an occlusal guard is not like a series of clear aligners from smile direct club where without supervision, some bad stuff might go down. If it isn’t comfortable, the patient usually just toss it to the side and never wear it again.

So yeah, get it off of amazon. protect your teeth. if it doesn’t feel good and you can’t get it right, get your refund, save up 800 to pay your dentist to make one that’s good enough.

1 point

·

27th Feb 2020

There’s tons on Amazon but I can’t tell if the reviews are fake.

Like this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0769YSBNX/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_Vr7vEb85V0GAV