What is the opinion of Reddit about the
ION Audio Tailgater (iPA77) | Portable Bluetooth PA Speaker with Mic, AM/FM Radio, and USB Charge Port?

A total of 17 reviews of this product on Reddit.

13 points

·

10th Jul 2018

We’re going to get a tailgate speaker because we have the same issue. Trust me, you won’t be able to talk loud enough for the people in the back to hear, you should have a mic.

2 points

·

25th Jun 2018

I have a speaker similar in size to what you linked to: it works really well inside, in small rooms, but I’ve been underwhelmed when I’ve tried to use it outside. Like, if only one or two couples are dancing and can crowd around it, then great; otherwise, less good.

I’ve seen people get better results with “tailgate” or “party” size speakers, although I don’t have one myself. They’re not supposed to be carried in hand, but rather rolled around. This one has good reviews on amazon: https://www.amazon.com/ION-Audio-Tailgater-Portable-Bluetooth/dp/B00SNBCBGE/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1529953422&sr=8-5&keywords=tailgate+speakers

Good luck!

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2018

Second this. I’ve used the ION Tailgater (which is basically a version of the Blockrocker that doesn’t have wheels) for subway busking in NYC with great success. You get a really good amount of sound out of it, and it’s really inexpensive.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2018

You should just be able to run it into the line in port (blue) with the right adapter. Unless you want to do some post processing, that may take some extra hardware or software.

Something to think about,
ION Audio Tailgater (iPA77) | Portable Bluetooth PA Speaker with Mic, AM/FM Radio, and USB Charge Port https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SNBCBGE/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_-dCAAbTR5XX8K

  1. Affordable 2. Portable 3. Good battery life 4. Doubles as a Bluetooth/aux cable speaker 5. Can charge usb 6. IDK, friends can karoke with the included Mic…

If it’s too big, I think they make some smaller versions. I have this one and it has a slight rattle (internal vibration) on some D notes, but that may be a one off problem, planning to warranty return mine to find out.

There’s a “game day” version that I’ve seen on sale for $69 at my local Wal-Mart might save you another $30.

1 point

·

8th Jun 2017

Tailgater

This is probably out of the price range you’re looking for but I swear by this thing. 50 hour battery life and it puts out a lot noise. Definitely worth the investment down the line

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2017

They’re using something like this. No wires, its the main reason I wanted to disrupt the signal.

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2017

I’ve been considering this one. I plan on having the mic hardwired rather than wireless because I’ve been to weddings with professional wireless setups that still cut in and out!

Our ceremony will be indoors and my fiancé wanted to just project our voices but I wasn’t having it. I can almost never hear what’s going on at weddings and it always bugs me.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2016

I was looking at the same speaker sets, but I think I’m going with the model below the one you posted. It’s a little bit smaller but all the reviews say it can get plenty loud, definitely loud enough for a wedding. It’s also only $120 USD but still has tons of features and comes with a microphone. I’m appreciate buying things for the wedding that I can use afterwards, and this seems like it will be great to have around for our backyard BBQs, impromptu karaoke, and trips to the river. Link!

1 point

·

19th Nov 2015

We used this for our outside wedding last week (53 guests) and had a trusted friend in the audience run it off of Spotify and a spare smartphone. Worked great!

http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Tailgater-Portable-Bluetooth-Microphone/dp/B00SNBCBGE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1446687608&sr=8-1&keywords=ion+speakers

1 point

·

13th Sep 2015

I have the icon tailgater from Amazon ($119) and used it with the $19 Pyle wireless mic and it was 100% perfect day-of. It even runs on its own batteries.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SNBCBGE?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

1 point

·

13th Sep 2015

I had a beach wedding with 17 guests yesterday and used a small Bluetooth speaker amp with a wireless mic. It cost us $140 to buy the setup but four people already asked to borrow it so we will use it.

I have the Icon “tailgater” model from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SNBCBGE?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00

2 points

·

12th May 2017

pending what you’re wanting to spend i found a used one of these on amazon for like $80 but don’t see that price anymore. it’s a hell of speaker though

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SNBCBGE/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

6th Sep 2018

Any decent portable PA will do fine. The micro cube is good for it’s size, but you can get better (bigger) PAs for about the same price. I’ve used this one in the past, and it’s great:

​

https://www.amazon.com/ION-Audio-Tailgater-Portable-Bluetooth/dp/B00SNBCBGE

1 point

·

18th Apr 2019

Do you already have the speaker? I have a different setup which was super cheap, and just use youtube videos for karaoke tracks (no subscription).

I use this bluetooth speaker which has 1/8″ input from these microphones. I play the sound from the computer out through the speaker, and the video goes through HDMI to the TV screen. I’ve had great luck with it!

0 points

·

26th Jun 2016

Do you have a decibel reader?

Would you be willing to test the:
Ion Audio iPA77 Tailgater Portable Bluetooth Speaker PA System with Microphone, AM/FM Radio, and USB Charge Port

Amazon link here

I can’t find the decimal output information. I am not knowledgeable about such things, so I am sure there is a variance depending upon other factors. I would understand that it all depends upon what is being played. (feel free to school me)

If you have something with a lot of bass, test with that.

I was debating the output of the machine with someone. If it was worse or better than something else. I was wondering what it measures at various ranges from close up to increments away (in front of the machine)

Of course, arguments such as these cannot be solved without proof.

If you have the equipment, and some spare time, I would appreciate it,

edit: auto correct got decibel wrong