What is the opinion of Reddit about the
IOGEAR 2-Port USB DisplayPort Cable KVM Switch, Black?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2022

You’ll want something like this desktop kvm on Amazon

I just found this in 30 seconds searching desktop kvm, this one would probably work fine but looks like it’s only USB 2.0, you probably want one with USB 3.0 for a good webcam and mic. You can always plug in a USB hub as well if you can’t find one with enough ports.

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2021

What you need is a KVM (Keyboard Video Mouse) switch.

Something like this would work assuming you have a display port on both machines.

https://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-2-Port-DisplayPort-Cable-Switch/dp/B076ZDQDN4

You basically would push a physical button to swap the peripherals/monitor to each machine respectively.

1 point

·

26th Apr 2021

Do you actually like using different mice for different things or is it a switching aspect. Because I have something like this and can’t recommend it enough for people with two computers on one desk.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

What you need is a KVM switch, something like this.

Although finding one with DP and USB-C might be harder.

Also depending on what ports are on the laptop, you may need a docking station to add more/different ones.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

I think this is what you want:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076ZDQDN4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_9gNrFbPVJQS5X

KVM Switch changes between 2 inputs for 1 output to monitor at the push of a button, these are normally meant to switch between 2 computers using the same keyboard/mouse/video but in your case it’s just the video only (if I have that right).

There may be cheaper ones that are video-only, it’s worth looking for if that’s all you need.

2 points

·

10th Sep 2020

You’re looking for a KVM switch. Quick example, not a recommendation: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076ZDQDN4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_ycLwFbHK3P8A2

Theoretically they could be daisy chained if one doesn’t have enough ports but that sounds like hell.

2 points

·

21st Jul 2020

Since none of the tasks are graphics intensive, if one monitor can use HDMI, then you can keep your budget down with this i3-10100 build. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth are onboard.

https://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/B460M-ITXac/index.asp

PCPartPicker Part List

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel Core i3-10100 3.6 GHz Quad-Core Processor$129.99 @ Newegg
MotherboardASRock B460M-ITX/ac Mini ITX LGA1200 Motherboard$98.98 @ Newegg
MemoryG.Skill Aegis 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 CL16 Memory$55.99 @ Newegg
StorageCrucial P1 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive$104.99 @ Amazon
StorageSeagate Barracuda Compute 2 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive$54.99 @ Newegg
CaseCooler Master MasterBox E300L MicroATX Mini Tower Case$43.98 @ Newegg
Power SupplyEVGA BR 450 W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply$53.99 @ Newegg
Optical DriveLG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer$53.48 @ Other World Computing
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit$108.78 @ Other World Computing
KeyboardLogitech Wireless Combo MK270 Wireless Standard Keyboard With Optical Mouse$24.99 @ B&H
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total$730.16
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-07-21 02:07 EDT-0400

As for a KVM switch, I didn’t spend a lot of time looking at them and they all seem to have mixed reviews. 🙁 I do know some monitors have multiple inputs, so perhaps it’s possible to do the switching already.

https://smile.amazon.com/IOGEAR-2-Port-DisplayPort-Cable-Switch/dp/B076ZDQDN4/

1 point

·

21st Jan 2022

Ya thats what i think and i just want to sort of double check if someone tried or know if this would work.

Not creating another post.

I kinda have plan B, though its also finicky, and still doing research… https://imgur.com/a/UmVFQnG

Essentially i would disregard daisy chain, and use a KVM switch. Now for some reason i cant find one that fits my needs. The 1080p 144hz is making everything so much more difficult and the dual monitor on top, isnt like dual monitor one of the most used setups in general?

Issue is that both monitor bandwith is over 10 Gbps, so more standard / older solutions dont work.

Im pretty sure many people do have setups at home with work laptop and desktop PC. Especially since covid, meaning more people are working from home and i still dont understand why there is no product for such setup.

Anyway, the issue i have is finding a budget KVM which would work and do the job without being finicky, would be extra great to have a switch button pluggable so i can hide the whole damn thing under the table.

This one would be perfect, but… It only has 1 DP port. And i need 2. Since dual monitor KVM (from what i seen) ussually require 2 ports to plug into computer, i would need another HUB for laptop, to decrease cables into 1 cable.

This is nighmare fidning right products, there are so many garbage ones.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2021

I use this and it switches my monitor, kb, mouse, and audio with one click.

IOGEAR 2-Port 4K USB DisplayPort Cable KVM Switch – GCS52DP https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B076ZDQDN4/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_T600R072C882AJTQ2J96?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

13th Jun 2021

In theory I could use something like IOGEAR 2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076ZDQDN4

Then I would need a DP to USB-C adapter on the Mac Mini side, like this? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08QV2FSKT

And then, it looks like the box already combines 2 USB A ports (mouse, keyboard) into one USB A that goes in either PC or Mac.

Would that KVM however correctly pass through any attached USB devices on the monitor (single USB A cable coming from the LED Cinema)? If not, I would have to connect mouse & keyboard directly to the box, but then that means the extra USB ports on the LED Cinema would be unusable.

Anything simpler? :/

1 point

·

19th Feb 2018

IOGEAR 2-Port USB DisplayPort Cable KVM Switch (GCS52DP) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076ZDQDN4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_cMOLn3r9TvYNB