What is the opinion of Reddit about the
IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size, Great for Travel & Sleep, Blocks Out Light?

A total of 21 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

18th Nov 2020

One of the most helpful things I ever got was actually a gift! It is a weighted eye mask that can be cooled in the freezer. It helps me fall asleep better when the headaches get really bad, and the cooling sensation helps so much. As an added bonus I can sleep in a room no matter how bright it is. It’s fairly inexpensive as well (link to the one I have below).

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_86jTFbSRERR7V

Hopefully this can provide some relief for others!

3 points

·

28th Jul 2020

IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_F2kiFbDD0Q11W

Consider this one too! It’s weighted so it provides relief and stays in place, and it stays cold for a while. I have a few so I can rotate them in the freeze when needed. Currently laying in my bath tub with an ice hat on my head and a soft ice pack tied loosely around my neck.

2 points

·

4th Jul 2021

I got this for headaches but I also pull out my lashes and find that it helps eyelid swelling IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size, Great for Travel & Sleep, Blocks Out Light https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_S2ZZJDHB84TDV450H0SJ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

25th Feb 2022

Yep, it helps dull the pain from my forehead, this is the one I have, it’s a bit flimsy but it works well. I got it as a gift last Valentine’s Day

IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size, Great for Travel & Sleep, Blocks Out Light https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_K4X2G0J92E71YFJM15GR?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2021

Things that will be helpful along the way.. Idk where she is but “just starting” makes me think she is going through her egg retrieval soon. Since she’ll be poking herself with needles frequently, a cute little ice pack, an eye mask for eventual headaches (like the cooling kind that you can keep in the freezer – I recommend this one https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_GTRYZ7KMXGTJN7E8HVKN )

And maybe an offer to watch her fav movies with her. We do quarantine movie nights with friends and FaceTime so we sync up the movie together on a streaming service and text while watching.

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2021

Yay! Congrats on the great news!

Re: headaches, I’ve been getting them too and my friend recommended this compression mask. She swears by it (use it for say 15-20 min), and I think it has helped: IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

27th Oct 2020

3 things I’d highly recommend:

  1. Physical Therapy! Iwent through a few months of PT and had exercises that reconditioned the eye muscles, among other things. I can’t speak highly enough of how much that helped me adjust.

  2. Rest, rest, rest.

  3. I’d also highly recommend getting an eye mask like this one, it’s a life saver when you’ve overdone it on screens!

You’ve got this, OP.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2020

My migraine-suffering husband swears by this inexpensive mask. I keep two in a mini freezer in our bedroom, just for him. So he doesn’t have to stumble down the stairs in pain in the middle of the night. Two so he can swap them out when the one he’s wearing stops being cold.

1 point

·

14th Sep 2018

I have a sleep disorder and am sensitive to light. The way my bedroom is set up puts me under a skylight as well. (Great at night for stars, terrible past dawn. haha.)

This is the eyemask I have. It is comfortable and molds to my face, but it is thick as hell and no light gets through. You can’t change the inconsiderate roomie, but at least something like that might help. 🙂

1 point

·

1st Feb 2016

I have been plagued by migraines since October which was around 15 weeks. I personally think mine are linked to sinus issues that I have ongoing issues with.

I found only ibproufen was helping. However, I wasn’t able to take it per doctor’s orders (except they let me take 1 dose when I had a 3 day migraine Columbus Day Weekend). Here is what I’ve learned since 15 weeks.

  1. Go to a dentist – even a tiny cavity can apparently give you massive migraines while pregnant.

  2. Pay attention to when they are starting. Chart it. How much water have you had? If not enough, drink more. Have you had caffiene? If not, have a cup of tea. Is there a weird weather pattern occurring (such as about to get a storm)? Could be sinus related – use saline spray and get a humidifier. You may be low on electrolytes – try drinking some Gatorade OR coconut water.

  3. Try laying down in a dark room with a mask on your face. I use this one: http://www.amazon.com/Compression-Headache-Migraine-Patented-Universal/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1454336367&sr=8-3&keywords=migraine+mask
    It really helps cause you can heat it up or make it cool and not ridiculously priced.

  4. Always talk to your provider. They have some options… Visteral is an anti-histimine but works sometimes for migraines. It did not work for me. Midrin did work – but it’s a scheduled drug and made me very uncomfortable to take it. Currently, I’m on Excedrin Migraine.. and have to call everytime I take it so they can track it since there is Asprin in it.. but apparently Asprin is better than Ibproufen? However, some docs will let you take Ibproufen up till you are 33 weeks.

Feel free to reach out to me. I’m a working mom so I don’t have time to have migraines with a 9 year old, 3 year old, a baby in my belly, and 40+ hour a week executive job. I’ve become very crafty in finding solutions.

2 points

·

22nd Jul 2020

The original comment was deleted for some reason. In case anyone else needs it, here is the link they posted:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO

2 points

·

13th Jul 2020

Definitely! That’s where I got mine. This is the one I use
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_hlodFbMWQB78Q

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

I’ve been using one of these for years for migraines. The gentle weight and pressure, along with the blackout aspect, helps immensely.

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2021

I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this. I’ve gotten migraines since I was 21 (32 now), and they SUCK. Pre-pregnancy, mine were triggered by stress, weather or hormone changes, or strong candle/perfume smells. At my very worst, I’d get one or two a month. During my first trimester, I got a migraine a week, every week! They’ve thankfully subsided as I start my second trimester, but here’s what helped me:

  • I take 500 mg. of magnesium every day. My OB encouraged me to keep this up during pregnancy — apparently it also keeps your digestion regular, so that’s a nice benefit! I was taking it pill form, but I’ve switched to a powder that I stir into water because it’s sometimes hard for me to swallow pills right now. (I can force down the Tylenol I mention below every so often, but the daily magnesium pill just felt insurmountable to me.) I don’t know if there’s any magic to the 500 mg. amount: I started taking 250 mg. daily pre-pregnancy, but that wasn’t touching them, so I upped it to 500 mg. and that seemed to help. Also, I take it right before I go to bed — it would make me a bit sick to my stomach pre-pregnancy if I took it during the day.
  • If I feel even a hint of a migraine, I immediately take one Tylenol, drink a glass of water (12ish oz.), then drink a very cold 8 oz. can of full sugar, full caffeine Coke. I keep them in my fridge all the time just for this. 8 oz. (the mini cans) seems to be the perfect amount to get the caffeine and sugar in my system without overloading myself on soda (I have a strong sweet tooth).
  • If the Tylenol/water/Coke combo doesn’t seem to be helping, I try to lay down and close my eyes for 30 minutes. (I’m fortunate to work from home in a fairly flexible job, and this is my first pregnancy/baby, so I can usually find time to do this.) I’ll often put on a TV show that I’ve seen a million times (on low volume) so my brain focuses on that instead of my migraine. I put on this eye mask, too. I don’t feel like it takes away the migraine pain, but the slight weight on my eyes is really soothing and helps me calm down a little. 30 minutes away from screens/not actively focusing on my pain will often reset my body and help it at least start to go away.
1 point

·

1st Oct 2021

Here’s my mask. It’s filled with beads. I like the weight but I might try a beanie too. Thanks.

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2021

Based on your concerns, I would definitely recommend trying the 3D sleep mask. I have both types and have gone through phases of wearing each for periods of time, but ultimately have settled on the 3D because of similar concerns about the negative effects of a weighted mask.

I had been wearing the weighted one every night for a few months and I had the same concerns as you, particularly a concern of causing wrinkles since it’s pressing on the delicate eye skin all night. I didn’t notice any signs of these types of issues, but also didn’t want to wait long enough to find out. I originally liked it because it definitely had kind of a soothing weighted blanket effect, but I was worried about using it every night, so now I think I will only use it if I have a headache, etc. I used the IMAK Compression Eye Pillow, which is also nice because you can chill it in the freezer, and also not a big investment if you just want to try it out. One weird thing about it is that the fabric is like a plain cotton which is kind of rough feeling, which added to my particular concerns about eye wrinkles.

Anyway, I just switched back to the molded type for the past few weeks and have been liking it a lot – it doesn’t really press on the eyes at all and it blocks out light very well. I also have not seen a silk 3D mask myself either, so I can’t speak to that unfortunately. I currently have the MZOO Sleep Eye Mask, and though it’s definitely not silk, it is pretty smooth and soft.

I’ll also just mention this other thing I’ve heard about that seems relevant called the Sleep Crown which is an “over the head pillow”? I have not tried it myself but I’d be curious if it has similar benefits to the weighted mask without the direct pressure on the eyes. Thought I would put it out there in case anyone else has tried it and has thoughts, or might want to try!

1 point

·

16th Aug 2021

I think different things work for everyone, for me I tend to get triggered at night in bed. Whenever I’m in bed and I start getting that itchy/sore feelings in my eyelids I grab a cooling/weighted eye mask that I keep in the freezer, this is the one I have IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size, Great for Travel & Sleep, Blocks Out Light https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_WG4Z3TF18N8YV8KM462N. Originally purchased it for headaches but I’ve noticed it also helps for my trich, I probably wouldn’t buy this specific one again because the elastic headband get stretched out. In thread a couple days ago one person mentioned that she had just purchased this for her daughter who is a lash puller, she hadn’t gotten it yet so idk how well it works https://trichotillomaniastop.com/product/trich-stop-oil/.

As far as regrowth caster oil is good, but be very careful if you’re going to use it on your eyelids because it will burn if you get it your eyes. I would recommend you use it at night when you’re going to sleep.

1 point

·

5th Apr 2021

Oh god, I don’t know exactly. A friend of mine told me they were looking out for deals and had found rebate offers on weighted blankets before to take them down to about $40. That’s one I’ll be looking for awhile.

As for clothes, I just go to thrift stores and find things. Honestly, polyester tends to be a really nice texture to me, 100% cotton is ok, and wool is awful. I’m still not sure what to do for outdoor pants that are comfortable and don’t look lazy.

Here’s the weighted eye mask I got, it’s really nice: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001HTYJLO/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

12th Feb 2021

I’ve had major sleep issues since my concussion. A few things that have helped are a sleep mask I found recommended in this forum and an expensive pillow that provides a lot of support.

The mask:

IMAK Compression Pain Relief Mask and Eye Pillow, Cold Therapy Headache, Migraine, Sinus Pain, Patented, Universal Size https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001HTYJLO/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_ZQ9X55M52SNPRH8H1Z3R?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

The Pillow:
It goes on 70% off every now and then
https://coziest.com/products/coziest-pillow?gclid=Cj0KCQiAyJOBBhDCARIsAJG2h5eLQDskvmtt5M-lxGfrL273jtGiNThaUnSYoqVMxYl79MO8SrtmmoIaAgS9EALw_wcB

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

bought this, it’s pretty nice