What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HUION Inspiroy H640P Graphics Drawing Tablet with Battery-Free Stylus 8192 Pressure Sensitivity 6 Customized Hot Keys, Digital Pen Tablet for Mac, Windows PC and Android?

A total of 32 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

14th May 2021

I’ve been very impressed with Huion quality. A good starter might be this one for $40: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075T6MTJX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_7DGTZHX71GSX50B5HM38?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

They also have their Kamvas Pro lineup for $300-$700 and they are stellar pen displays for the money. Happy shopping!

2 points

·

12th Jan 2021

Drawing tablets can be quite inexpensive if price is your primary concern. Just do your research before deciding on a purchase. I used non-screen tablets for awhile and they work fine even professionally for some people.

Of course… I ended up upgrading to a screened tablet after several years of use.

As for being a klutz, Haha. Never give up and learn from others whenever you can. You’ll get better if you work at it.

2 points

·

27th Jun 2019

If your on that tight a budget, i would say get a huion tablet, their smaller tablets (That are actually quite decent) are 20-30 USD only.

I got my Huion H640P for just 50 USD on amazon, shop around. Also XP-pen has decent tablets i hear as well. Also cheap.

2 points

·

16th Oct 2020

Absolutely. Keep going on the animation grind. If you need a cheap tablet that works well for how much it costs I recommend https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075T6MTJX?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share. It’s not the best but it’s only $40 so not the worst deal and it’s a start.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2022

A (new) stylus alone is going to cost >$45, provided you can find it, if you can find a tablet already bundled with the stylus it’s better imho. In any case, any tablet will do for sculpting, you will have massive benefits compared to using a mouse.

Look, here is a cheap and new Huion that should fit your needs quite well: https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX

1 point

·

19th Aug 2021

I have a Huion inspiroy and use it professionally. 40 bucks.

My graphic designer friend uses a 10 year old Wacom Bamboo. And when I retouched in Spain I also used a newer version of that. Like 50 eur.

People exaggerate so much, lmao. It’s not a huge investment, it’s very necessary if you’re using Photoshop. Don’t overthink it.

1 point

·

28th Jan 2021

I’ve had a Huion H640P ($40) – super low bar just for reference – and I’ve used it almost every day for 3 years, I’m about to upgrade just because this bad boy is starting to look worn but I haven’t felt the need to replace until now. I also use a mouse with all my shortcuts on hotkeys. Depends on whether the feel of the pen/tablet impacts your art style. I’m curious what you ended up buying…

1 point

·

4th Jan 2021

I know you’re already getting spammed with suggestions lmao, but they do make tablets that work with android phones.

And yeah, I was also going to offer to buy it for you 😛

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2020

Budget: $40-$80

  • Drawing Tablet. They can be used for photo editing and if you don’t have a touch screen. For some people it may be better than using a mouse and it gives more precision in things like Photoshop and Gimp. Here is a $40 one that I am thinking of gifting to myself.
1 point

·

18th Nov 2020

thank you!

as much as i would want a tablet with display, the price seems more than im willing to put for “trying it out”.

i think i might go with the Deco mini 7, or maybe the Huion Inspiroy H640P (ever heard of it?)

1 point

·

5th Aug 2020

Screenless drawing laptops are way cheaper, though. I’d recommend:

https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX

Huion Inspiroy H640P

Price: $40

Release: 2018

The only difference is, ofc, no screen so you’ll be looking at a monitor and not the tablet. Will take more getting used too.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2018

Yeah seems like most people start out with wacom bamboo. I don’t really like the way the new version looks and it just has 4 buttons so I’m thinking of getting this huion: https://www.amazon.com/Huion-Inspiroy-Graphics-Battery-free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1518559535&sr=1-4&keywords=huion+tablet

2 points

·

4th Jul 2021

part 3/3

Read up on job opportunities & see what you actually do on a daily basis. I was SUPER into CGI & animation in high school, and got extremely disheartened when I found out how 3D movie shops like Pixar worked, i.e. they had multiple people working on just one character for years at a time doing ultra-specific work like rigging or fur manipulation, and then another person acting as art director but not really getting to enjoy doing the hands-on stuff.

This was a shocking wake-up call that I was simply limited in the scope of what I could do as one individual person & that a team is needed to make really big projects happened, and I came to realize that for me personally, I enjoyed doing the whole arc of the project, from the idea to the finished product, and didn’t want to be stuck in a narrow niche or be a director of the art without getting any hands-on time!

So dabbling in a lot of different stuff can help you clarify what you like, as well as what you don’t like, which is just as important!

Part 5: Crafting your steering wheel:

As we drive down the road of life, every car needs a steering wheel to interface with the direction we want to go. Thus, your job is to define how you want to drive your car & thereby craft your own steering wheel so you can drive how you want to. I would recommend five areas of weekly or even daily learning: (depending on how much effort you want to put into it)

  1. History
  2. Current events
  3. Learning new information
  4. Practicing new techniques
  5. Working on projects

Your daily inventory of time is about 16 hours each day. Giving each topic say 12 minutes a day means you’d only have to spend one hour total (out of 16) making progress on each topic, and yet you’d put in over 70 hours a year per topic, which at 15 credit hours per semester, is over 4 classes’ worth of effort every year, year after year!

So hopefully it’s starting to make sense how the Power of Compounding Interested coupled with the Small Bites Daily approach creates massive gains on an annual basis! So let’s break those categories down:

History:

Learning history is vital in order to understand where things came from & why things are the way they are. Here’s a good basic timeline to start learning about art history:

There’s also a lot of great people on Youtube & TikTok:

Being able to speak fluently about names, dates, art styles, famous history pieces, and artistic discoveries is going to really level-up your knowledge as an artist. Again, 10 or 12 minutes a day, done consistently, yields PHENOMENAL progress over time!

Current events:

Who are the famous artists out there now? What techniques are out there? There are new techniques like doing Anime with CGI for shows like Voltron on Netflix, so knowing what stuff like Maya & NURBS are is really useful:

Or the design decisions for things like The Dragon Prince: (also on Netflix)

So it’s not just about learning how to be well-versed in history, but also knowing what the state-of-the-art is & staying on top of things. When I started doing digital art in school in the late 90’s, tablets were like $600+. Now you can get a really incredible drawing tablet for $40!

Or a wireless model for $99!

Or one where you can draw directly on the screen for $169, which is WAY cheaper than an iPad Pro & Apple Pencil 2!

Learning new information:

Learning new information is huge, whether it’s about graphic design (ex.), or workflow processes (ex. sublimation), or artist styles (ex. stippling), if you can consistently learn even just one new thing a day, that’s 350+ new things a year & over 1,800+ new things every five years, ALL WITHOUT REALLY TRYING!

Do you know what an alley is in page design? What a tortillon is for charcoal drawing? What a content-aware fill is in Photoshop? What an apex is in typography? How to apply foil to a printout & then cut it out using a vinyl machine? It all sounds overwhelming, but by consistently doing a very small & easy amount of learning each day, you pick it all up over time!

A big key here, in conjunction with using compounding interest by taking small bites, is the idea that what we see is kind of a veneer or a mirage or a mask, and that the operational principles behind it, the driving ideas, mostly boil down to a simple checklist. This is why art is first & foremost a skill: to be able to communicate ideas & to create wonderful & functional works of art, we need to be FLUENT in our craft, which is easily done with small bites taken consistently, which grows exponentially over time!

Practicing new techniques:

I’ll typically learn & practice one new technique a week, whether it’s in Photoshop (ex. how do you use layers to create a duplicity/multiplicity project?) or drawing (ex. tonal sketching) or whatever, so that I can both get the idea to “click” in my head & also practice it a few different ways over the course of a week to really get the hang of it & burn it into my brain as an available option.

Working on projects:

So we’re learning our history, staying on top of current affairs, learning new stuff & doing new stuff, so now it’s time to chip away on some personal projects! Sometimes art ideas flow out smoothly & sometimes they come in fits & spurts over days or weeks or months or years. But famous artists are only famous because they PRODUCED stuff and actually FINISHED stuff!

You’re free to pick & choose which or all of these five you want to engage in, as well as how long you’d like to spend, but if you can stomach a full hour, then I’d say do 12 minutes a day, either daily, or weekdays, or every other day, or whatever. Remember, this is just one hour’s worth of pre-selected effort every session, out of 16 available waking hours of time inventory in your day.

Utilizing the Power of Compounding Interest to grow your talent & small bites daily to increase your education, skills, and output is a highly effective & absolutely incredible approach to take that few artists are willing to bother engaging in & throwing themselves an hour’s worth of time to really level-up at what they want to do.

The rule is that zero plus zero equals zero, so if no progress is made on a consistent basis, then nothing tends to happen, and “being an artist” remains a pipe dream that is fun to window-shop at but never actually gets off the ground in any meaningful way. I’ve seen this exact situation happen over & over again to extremely talented people who are depriving the world of their artistic contributions!

Mostly it boils down to this: if you’re not willing to take the first step, then you can’t possible take the second step & continue forward. The first step being improving your art skills, which imo is best done through slow & steady progress, which sounds limitation, but limitations = freedom because you’re actually DOING stuff within that timeframe & being creative deliberately & consistently instead of just whenever you’re in the “mood” to do it. This moves us through the success chain from:

  1. Possible
  2. To Probable
  3. To Inevitable

Our goal is to BE an artist, not to BECOME an artist, which sounds a bit ridiculous but completely changes how we feel about our work & our progress! Adopting this mindset creates you being a successful artist as a foregone conclusion, not a hopeful wish! Being willing to put time in every day on small, tracked bits of work means you’re actually making real progress!

It’s hard to explain this concept without getting ridiculously wordy about it, because if I just say “well just do a little bit every day”, then that’s not really understanding the scope of the power that’s available to you in a very reasonable & doable daily format, haha!

Hopefully this all makes sense. Again with drinking from the firehose – this seems like a lot, but it just means being willing to chip away every day on stuff in a bit of a structured manner by planning out what to do week to week & then having a little reminder alarm to do it. I consider myself an extremely creative person, but until I adopted structure, I didn’t really know too much or make too much or have too much progress!

Side note, while there’s the whole 10,000 rule for getting good at stuff, the reality is that you can get pretty dang good at stuff in just 20 hours:

Imagine where your knowledge & skill set will be at in just a month of spending a mere hour out of 16 hours a day! Then think about a year from now, two years from now, five years from now! But never deviating from just that small block of time each day, chipping away slowly day after day!

2 points

·

16th Jun 2021

I just checked. There’s a ton of used ones for $31 here, fulfilled by Amazon (so they have to be in decent condition).
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075T6MTJX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_26QQ21ZRR7PE0HX0CN2R

2 points

·

14th May 2019

Adobe has several subscription based packages for their software. I agree with the above comment, Photoshop would be a great place to start. Adobe has a “Creative Cloud Photography” subscription, which gives you Photoshop along with a few programs for photographers. The extra programs may not be helpful but I believe this is the cheapest plan that includes Photoshop, and could be a good place to start. Ultimately, learning a program like Adobe Illustrator to use along with Photoshop would be very helpful, but that will be a more expensive subscription. Best to learn the programs one at a time anyway, at least in my opinion.

Link for creative cloud students plans:
https://www.adobe.com/creativecloud/buy/students.html

As for the computer, a Microsoft surface would be a great option, but there are also cheaper alternatives for starting out, like a USB pen tablet. These can be found on Amazon and even the cheaper ones work well.

My friend has this pen tablet and she loves it. Ultimately a tablet computer would be a better option, as it allows you to draw directly on the screen, but if you’re just looking to help get him into working in the graphic design world, this would be a much cheaper entry-level option

Huion Inspiroy H640P Graphics… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075T6MTJX?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

27th Feb 2022

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but if it is any consolation you are not alone in your sadness. Those of us with Intuos Pro (myself included) share in that sadness 🙁

I’ll probably cave and get a working Wacom One display at some point… probably a used but functional one off of ebay or something like that. I’m fighting it… I just got a broken one off eBay for like $50 to see if I can fix it because I don’t want to pay $400 for a new one.

​

Huion also has some tablets that work with phones if you wanna look into them. This one is a good example, and only $34USD: https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX

​

It’s no Intuos Pro, but it’s probably better than finger drawing 🙂

1 point

·

15th Sep 2021

This one – it’s what everyone in the VRKB discord recommends and they weren’t wrong.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B075T6MTJX/ref=ppx\_yo\_dt\_b\_search\_asin\_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

8th Sep 2021

For drawing basics, Reddit has a great program called Draw-a-Box:

Associated sub-reddit:

If you don’t already have a tablet, you can get really nice ones for like $39 on Amazon these days:

Cartoon Smart has a great starter learning package for $49:

It mostly boils down to two things:

  1. Making a learning track for yourself so that you’re constantly leveling-up over the topics you want to cover
  2. Doing it every day for a few minutes

I’d highly recommend setting up an X-effect chart to help track your progress:

If you have trouble self-motivating, I’d recommend trying out FocusMate, which basically lets you do a 50-minute work session with a stranger. You state your goals & then get to work, no chit-chat, it’s all about social pressure:

1 point

·

4th Apr 2021

The biggest hurdle for me doing serious/real work in VR was the inability to make any notes (or scribble down directions from ATC)

Copy & Paste comment I made earlier today:

Very underrated VR application. https://forums.eagle.ru/topic/211308-vrk-a-virtual-reality-enabled-kneeboard-with-touch-and-ink-support

You can use it with anything that is compatible with SteamVR. It works well without a tablet, but throw in a $40 tablet and a leg strap and it becomes magical. Good luck!

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2021

Very underrated VR application. https://forums.eagle.ru/topic/211308-vrk-a-virtual-reality-enabled-kneeboard-with-touch-and-ink-support

You can use it with anything that is compatible with SteamVR. It works well without a tablet, but throw in a $40 tablet and a leg strap and it becomes magical. Good luck!

1 point

·

10th Mar 2021

Huion H640P ($40)

Huion H640P-OTG ($44)

Huion 610 Pro V2 ($50)

Huion H950P ($70)

Huion HS610 ($70)

I’d personally go for any of the bottom 3 tablets, as they have a bigger screen size.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2021

Get this on Amazon I bought this last year and had no issues with it at all! Plus you can connect it on android which I haven’t tried yet

1 point

·

11th Nov 2020

To add on to what u/cassinpants is saying, the cheap knockoffs are getting a lot of love from professional artists nowadays, so brands like Huion and XP-Pen are quickly coming up in the game, but those are your best bet for sure!

They can take a bit of getting used to for many, but aren’t terribly expensive to buy if you buy non-Wacom… but even the Wacom brand has a cheaper tablet that usually runs $60 – $80. Here’s a couple below you could consider:

But as with most tech, there’s the “and up” when it comes to price range. You can move on up and get yourself a pen display, but honestly if you have a Mac and are getting into that price range, you’d be better off getting an iPad & Apple Pen and using Apple’s Sidecar feature.

Hope this info helps!

1 point

·

12th Jan 2019

>you’re overstating the strain a mouse will put on a beginner

You’re really understating it. Mice have been causing workplace injuries ever since computers became mainstream at a corporate level. Ergonomic options exist but are not optimized for artistic use. Trackballs are good for smooth lines but way worse for your wrists — you can’t use your shoulder while clicking.

Also, clicking and holding down (as you do when drawing) is especially bad. This is why videogames are shifting from using click-and-hold mechanics to click-repeatedly mechanics. Many people with existing wrist problems (raises hand) find that motion extremely damaging and painful to perform.

Not to mention that the muscle memory you’re building while drawing with a mouse is mostly irrelevant to traditional and tablet work.

>pressure sensitivity doesn’t matter for a beginner

It really does, and every increase in sensitivity makes a major difference. Jumping from my 1048 sensitivity tablet to my 4096 one was insane and made a major impact in the accuracy of my strokes (even with brushes that aren’t directly related to pressure sensitivity). Problems that I mistook for a lack of practice and coordination (such as wobbly or “misplaced” lines) were no longer a problem at 4096.

>investing in an actual tablet is something you should do after you’ve gotten experience in the field

You’re handicapping your progress for no reason by using a mouse or generic low-sensitivity tablet. Better options are out there at very reasonable prices. All hobbies have a barrier-to-entry price & for digital art, this is it.

>a $100 drawing tablet will be too tiny or have no screen

Plenty of professionals use traditional screenless tablets. They feel very similar to using a mouse (i.e. you focus on the cursor instead of the device) with all the benefits of a tablet pen. Upgrading to a monitor is a personal preference thing, not a pro vs hobby thing.

(On that note, I personally prefer tablet monitors but would never suggest them as a first choice. See if you like the traditional workflow before dishing out $600+ for a big screen.)

PS: You can get a small screenless tablet with express keys and 8192 pressure levels for $50 these days (Huion). For $30 more, you can get a slightly bigger option with tilt sensitivity (Huion)… which is still cheaper than an ergonomic Logitech mouse. I’d shop around for something bigger, but these being the first results in an Amazon search says a lot about how far this industry has come in the last decade.

(sorry for the long reply x-x)

1 point

·

25th Aug 2020

When drawing full characters the head, hands, and body are equally difficult and complex. I suggest you do one at a time drawing just their head. Also if you don’t mind making a little investment this drawing tablet would pair well with a decent free drawing app to help you. Wish you the best of luck!

1 point

·

19th Aug 2020
1 point

·

12th Feb 2019

You should, though it does take a little bit to get used to, the end result is awesome. I use the Huion Inspiroy: https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX It’s fairly cheap with good quality.

1 point

·

30th May 2018
-2 points

·

21st Apr 2019

My wife is a self-taught artist and I can say she’s good at it. She’s been using her reliable wacom bamboo for more than 3 yrs now and it finally gave up. I want to gift her a new graphics tablet but we’re also taking care of her father’s medical bills (he has diabetes) and she wouldn’t let me buy it.
https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?keywords=huion&qid=1555816569&s=gateway&sr=8-4

-4 points

·

21st Apr 2019

Hi! First i want to say thank you!

I’m a Venezuela based artist, living here is hard since there is an economic crisis. Anyway, I have a friend, his father died two days ago, and he is kind of suicidal. I would like to buy him a graphic drawing tablet because he is a good artist too, and I can afford living in this country with my current job, i just want to help him raising money, since he will need it from now on.

https://www.amazon.com/Inspiroy-H640P-Graphics-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B075T6MTJX/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=huion&qid=1555854860&s=gateway&sr=8-4

And if it is within your heart, i would like a panoramic rear view mirror for my car, since i’m blinded of one eye and it would help a lot while driving.

https://www.amazon.com/Yoolight-Rearview-Universal-Interior-Panoramic/dp/B076CM3F49/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=panoramic+rear+view&qid=1555855522&s=gateway&sr=8-6

No need to pay the shipment to Venezuela, you can send them to miami and i can pay the shipment from miami to Venezuela since it would be more expensive for you.