What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HUION H610 Pro V2 Graphic Drawing Tablet Android Supported Pen Tablet Tilt Function Battery-Free Stylus 8192 Pen Pressure with 8 Express Keys?

A total of 31 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

24th Jun 2021

You definitely need a tablet. This is not the EXACT tablet I used for years so I can’t promise its great, but i had the V1 (that they don’t sell anymore) and its been really solid. I also have another HUION tablet and it works great. I would suggest to start cheap, and when you get good and decide your committed upgrade to something nice. Also just a quick tip, tie the pen to the glove that comes with the tablet. If you drop the pen it will break, and you will need to buy a new one.

1 point

·

1st Apr 2022

You can get a Huion Drawing Tablet for $49.99, sometimes on sale, which is an excellent starting tablet! There are smaller ones as well for even cheaper (yes, I understand that $50 is a lot for a jobless teen, believe me. But it might be more feasible to ask your parents for this than a several hundred dollar investment :D)


Side note:

As you progress, you will probably want to get a Wacom Graphics Tablet. That’s far down the road, so don’t worry about that right now. Just to have in mind 🙂

In my personal experience, Huion is better at making non-graphics tablets, and Wacom is better at the graphics ones.

If getting a Huion is not feasible right now (and I completely understand! But I would recommend bringing it up to your parents: maybe offer to do extra chores?) Then you might consider a drawing program on your phone (like someone else mentioned), or work on finding a better way to scan drawings in, such as a printer/scanner. As someone else said, libraries usually have this feature for free! Could make a stack of drawings and scan them in all at once hahaha.

Best of luck to you!!! Please update 🙂

1 point

·

15th Jan 2022

We’re having problems too. On sale at Amazon now. Just bought one.
Limited-time deal: HUION H610 Pro V2 Graphic Drawing Tablet Chromebook and Android Supported Pen Tablet Tilt Function Battery-Free Stylus 8192 Pen Pressure with 8 Express Keys https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_dl_VFE21R5CG04B6DYPMXEM

1 point

·

11th Dec 2021

i’d personally recommend starting him off with a standard huion or wacom drawing tablet until you know he enjoys digital art and wants to continue pursuing it, then “graduating” to a graphics tablet (the ones with the screens, cintiq is a more expensive example, but i use a huion kamvas 22) or one of the newer ipad models that work with the apple pencil and can use art programs like procreate – unless y’all already have an ipad that can do that! that’d be an excellent introduction i think.

i don’t have a specific model to recommend but this is an example of what kind of tablet i’m talking about when i say “standard drawing tablet:” https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_N6TCGV7S6QZWZWVREKZD

the slight downside of these tablets is they can take a bit to get used to since you’re drawing on the tablet while looking at the computer screen but eventually it becomes like riding a bike. you may also want to get him some proper art software. there are lots of good free digital art programs people tend to recommend, like krita or firealpaca. you could maybe get him clip studio paint or another paid software later on if he’s interested. an ipad has different software, like procreate. i should probably state i’m coming at this from the perspective of a PC user so i can’t recommend anything for mac.

good luck and i’m glad y’all support his hobby!

1 point

·

6th Nov 2021

i’ve sure seen plenty of pictures of blown up computers from broken water coolers.

i’d get a regular cooler and spend the money on a drawing tablet instead, for example… https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DPC98DT/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

31st Aug 2021

If you’re in need of a tablet, I recommend this: HUION H610 Pro V2 Graphic Drawing… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DPC98DT?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share $50. It’s big and it works just like a Wacom tablet. I use it and it really smooth.

For a software? You can get Paint Tool sai for free, just do some research. FireAlpaca is free and works really good. Clip studio paint is $50 but it’s worth the money 🙂 it’s like paint tool sai and photoshop into one.

1 point

·

20th Jun 2021

I have this tablet from the same brand (it’s the same price that u said, but it has a coupon rn), it’s the first one that i ever got & i’m pretty new to digital art. It works good for me and I’ve had it for less than a year (8 months i think). It’s also a bit bigger than the one u linked, but how big the tablet u want is personal preference. since it’s from the same brand, I think that one should be ok if you’re starting out.

1 point

·

14th Apr 2021

Not everyone likes the drawing displays. They tend to have some lag, pressure can be a little off, and they aren’t always the most comfortable to use for long periods of time. I would suggest starting with a quality, low cost drawing tablet with decent canvas space, something like this Huion tablet with 8192 levels of pressure sensitivity and a tilt function.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2020

It may be worth giving a traditional tablet a try. With a bit of practice you will get used to it.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

You won’t find a display tablet (where you draw on the screen) for that price unless you can find one used. If you are just starting off, Wacom, Huion and XP Pen are all reputable brands. I had a Wacom Intuos (small) when I started out and it worked great, but it takes a little time to get used to it. Huion and XP Pen are generally a little cheaper, so you could probably get one with a larger drawing surface for around the same cost.
Here is a Huion one I just looked up.

https://www.amazon.com.au/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=mp_s_a_1_11?dchild=1&keywords=Wacom+intuos&qid=1598663128&sr=8-11

1 point

·

19th Aug 2020

$50 I havent seen a reveiw of this one, but it seems to be better and higher quality, but I’ve seen a reveiw on the other one, and that seemed like a really good one too

1 point

·

19th May 2020

You can pick up an affordable drawing tablet on Amazon, definitely don’t need some massive and expensive Wacom when starting out. Check out the ones that Huion makes, good quality and much more affordable.

Picked this one up a few months ago to replace my smaller Wacom bamboo and I honestly prefer this one:

Huion H610 Pro V2 Graphic Drawing Tablet

Great pressure range, tilt support, lots of customizable shortcut buttons, 10″ x 6.25″ working area, works with most software automatically and the rest with some fiddling, and it’s only 50 bucks.

They also have smaller ones for around $25-50

1 point

·

10th Feb 2019

Starting out cheap did the Huion H610which ran fine using Krita on my old dual-core Win7 desktop.

Only runs about $70 if you aren’t sure about putting down more monies on the Wacom which will run you $100-$200 range.

3 points

·

22nd Nov 2020

Huion H610 Pro V2 Graphic Drawing Tablet Android Supported Pen Tablet Tilt Function Battery-Free Stylus 8192 Pen Pressure with 8 Express Keys https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_wVPUFb145YNGG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

50 bucks, has “tilt” to measure the rotation angle of the brush.

Huion HS64 Digital Graphics Drawing Tablet Android Support with Battery-Free Stylus 8192 Pressure Sensitivity 4 Express Keys for Beginner, 6.3x4inch https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07NZ4DQP8/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_yYPUFbMQNGCA6?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

40 bucks, no tilt, just pressure levels. If you’ve never used a tablet before, I’d recommend this one without tilt.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2021

That is a tablet. There is no such thing as a stand-alone drawing tablet as what makes a drawing tablet a drawing tablet is the fact it is a mouse input.

A drawing tablet looks like this and MUST be plugged into a computer to work. The computer must also have some sort of software on it for drawing. Some expensive ones have a screen on them, but they still need to be plugged into a computer.

https://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=huion&qid=1637972268&sr=8-3

That samsung one is an actual straight up tablet and does not need to be plugged into a computer. It still needs a drawing software but there are loads of decent free ones on the app stores. It’s like a tiny computer all in itself, and can do a lot more than just drawing, such as go on the internet, play games, and play movies. As a result, though, they’re much more expensive.

Ebay is risky for electronics. Even products marked as never having left the box are more often than not used and slightly damaged, which is why it’s so much cheaper. I’m not sure about actual tablets, but on the two occasions I’ve bought “mint condition” drawing tablets, they were obviously heavily used and one had a serious defect from having been dropped (that luckily I knew how to fix)

1 point

·

12th Nov 2021

Huion. People shit on these and they aren’t the best, but they’re the absolute best bang for your buck. A huion is better than a Wacom twice its price kinda bang for its buck. They don’t last particularly long, but you’re still saving money in the long run because they’re that much cheaper.

https://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=huion&qid=1636686935&sr=8-3

BUT if for some reason you just really want a wacom, the intious is really good. I’ve had mine for about 3 years, its missing several parts, it broke my foot so bad I limp now when I dropped it (it’s only half a pound I don’t know why it broke my foot so bad), and it’s still kicking. It’s uh. Not cheap for the drawing quality though, as tough as it is

1 point

·

4th Sep 2021

Thisis the one I use, it’s about $50 and I’ve been using it for almost a year with no complaints.

1 point

·

30th Aug 2021

Surfaces run ordinary Windows, so any drawing tablet for which that have drivers for Windows (= most of them) will work. For instance this Huion + pen at $50:

https://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT

1 point

·

14th Aug 2021

The other comments have really good drawing tablet suggestions! Huion has a lot of monitor (screen that you draw on) and digitizer (cheaper with no screen) tablets. A lot of people start out with digitizer tablets due to their cheaper price point. They take a little bit of a learning curve since you can’t look at the tablet when you draw but, once you figure it out and practice a bit, it feels pretty natural, I’ve seen some really solid Huion ones go for like $50-70 with all of the things you will need like shortcut keys and stuff (gives you a lot of wiggle room so you don’t need to upgrade to soon) while the more “industry standard” Wacom ones have basic models that start at like $80. Honestly, for the price, Huion and other companies like X-Pen have proven themselves to be really good in terms of quality and they save you a pretty penny which you can spend on other things like drawing programs.

In terms of drawing programs, Photoshop is what drawfee uses and it’s a great program but, geez it’s an expensive subscription based program which I would not buy if your school doesn’t pay for it or if you aren’t already using the Adobe cloud for its other programs. A lot of artists use Clip Studio Paint which I’ve heard is a lot more affordable and made more for digital art. It’s also like $50, one time purchase which is way better than Adobe’s like $20 a month. There are also some really nice free programs like Fire Alpaca and Keira which I’ve heard great things about.

TLDR; but whatever you can afford- I think the most future proof option (don’t need to upgrade as soon) would be to get a Huion or X-Pen tablet with shortcut keys (or a monitor one if you really feel like you need it) along with Clip Studio Paint.

Sorry for the essay! Best of luck with your digital art adventure! Remember, it takes everyone a different time to learn and grow as an artist so don’t feel intimidated by others- you’re on your own journey and everyone else is on their own! Practice a lot but listen to your body and your mind- burn out is real and sometimes you just need to stop drawing for a bit to find your passion again!

1 point

·

6th Aug 2021

https://ytdl-org.github.io/youtube-dl/index.html

and tutorials from :

https://www.youtube.com/user/AndrewPPrice

https://www.youtube.com/user/mediagabbitt

maybe https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdEz1N-xB-mYNpeU5ZKbGLw

TBH i’d get a few releases, some of the tutorials are going to use older software versions, and if you’re beginning it will help to be able to match what is being shown. you can have several versions of blender installed at once, i believe.

a tablet is probably a good investment, too… https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DPC98DT/ this one is cheap and good.

1 point

·

4th Aug 2021

Huion: HUION H610 Pro V2 , HUION Inspiroy H1060P, HUION HS611

XP Pen: XP-PEN Deco Pro

Honestly I’m more familar with Huion, I’ve only seen the XP Pen Deco Pro recommended a couple times so it might be the better ones of the brand.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2021

Something I really like to do is use Microsoft one note and a huion writing tablet. I’ve really enjoyed using it, and is pretty useful because you can pick up where you left off with your document anywhere. If you need to record your self working problems out, I recommend Screencast-o-matic. You can record both your face and your writing at the same time. I’m pretty sure Sal from Kahn academy uses a method similar to this to make his videos.

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2021

Hey y’all, Australian here, and not a big amazon user. I’m trying to buy a Huion H610 Pro V2, and I looked it up on the amazon store, and found these 3 options, but I have concerns about them.

https://www.amazon.com.au/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=Huion+H610+Pro+V2&qid=1611400049&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com.au/Huion-H610-Pro-Battery-Free-Sensitivity/dp/B07M913B7S/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=Huion+H610+Pro+V2&qid=1611400049&sr=8-2

https://www.amazon.com.au/HUION-H610-Tablet-Battery-Free-H610PROV2/dp/B07HHVZ941/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=Huion+H610+Pro+V2&qid=1611400049&sr=8-4

Issue is, these options seem kinda fishy. One of them are listed as being from “Huion AU”, and another as being from “HUION Official Store AU”, which is already suspicious, but in addition, all the pages have broken English on them, and also some spelling mistakes like “Drawingt tablets” (extra t), and stuff. Seems kinda hard to believe that the “official” store would be making such mistakes.

I’m not really sure what the difference between these 3 options are, but the third one has a coupon option as well? Not really sure how that works. Is there any reason NOT to select the coupon option? Why don’t the first 2 links have it, but the third does?

Could anyone offer me some advice about this?

1 point

·

25th Nov 2020

I bought myself this one, mainly for my kid, but it works great. When I bought it, the price was $90, so this is a steal…

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_fKLVFbJASCAHF?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

24th Oct 2020

I think for now it would be best to focus on your facial anatomy and your hands. That’s two areas I see that need improvement. In the meantime don’t worry about color, just try to get your anatomy and proportions correct.

Really you should try to get a proper graphics tablet, if you get a HUION they are pretty cheap, for example: https://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT/ref=sr_1_3?crid=2JNP86XERW7J0&dchild=1&keywords=huion+h610+pro+v2&qid=1603572393&sprefix=HUION+H610+pro%2Caps%2C224&sr=8-3

If you have any questions feel free to dm me!

1 point

·

12th Jul 2020

I would very much recommend a tablet if you’re planning on doing anything that isn’t pixel art – that’s easy enough (and recommended even) to do with a mouse. If you’re planning on doing handmade art like backgrounds, characters, etc., I’d side with /u/TricksMalarkey: Krita is a great application that rivals Photoshop for art and is free. Plenty of my digital artist friends also use Medibang Paint Pro, which is also free. Both have their own ups and downs. If you’re willing to pay a bit more, I also hear Clip Studio Paint is pretty high quality, top notch stuff – but unless your game has handmade cutscene art, I don’t think you should spring for it personally.

As for what tablet to pick, I use a HUION H610 Pro – the price has gone down since the first time I’ve used it, last time I checked it was about $60 for pen pressure, pen tilt, about 24 programmable buttons, and it comes with a glove that’ll minimize smudging and hand sticking. The only gripe I have with it is that the cord it comes with is a bit too short for me, but that’s a personal issue.

Krita: https://krita.org/en/download/krita-desktop/

Medibang: https://medibangpaint.com/en/app-download/

H610 Pro: https://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Drawing-Function-Battery-Free-Pressure/dp/B07DPC98DT

Best of luck in your endeavors!

1 point

·

5th Jul 2020

Lots of options out there, depending on your budget. My advice: You want something that is specifically designed to work with a pen that allows you to write on it rather than using finger (capacitive) touch to write. Finger writing is just not very precise– at least with my fingers. Here is a list of devices I have personally used:

  1. Pen Tablet: Huion H610 Pro V2, currently $50 on Amazon. Like the Wacom Intuos, it does not have a screen. However, it is relatively inexpensive and easy to get used to because of the large (10×6”) working areas. A quick tip: When first learning to use this kind of device, place the tablet in the lower part of your peripheral vision as you write/draw. Seeing both your hand and the image created helps develop your hand-eye coordination with the device. There are plenty other similar pen tablets made by companies like XP-Pen, Veikk and (if you are willing to pay more) Wacom.
  2. 2-in-1 Pen-enabled Laptop: Fujitsu Lifebook T725, a 5-year-old business laptop you can find used on eBay for less than $200, depending on condition. It generally comes with a Wacom EMR pen and digitizer– make sure the unit you buy has one, or there are tons of replacement pens on eBay for like $10 each . Just make sure your unit has 8gb+ ram and an SSD (relatively cheap upgrades). There are plenty other pen-enabled business laptops out there in the used/refurbished market like Dell Latitude 2-in-1, HP Elitebook x360, Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga, etc.
  3. Screen Tablet: The one that I have is a Dell Canvas 27 , which was bought this used on eBay for $900– so not exactly “inexpensive” and not exactly a tablet. On the less expensive side, there is this Huion 12 inch unit for $269. Still not cheap, but that’s what these units with screen and digitizer. You can of course go deal-hunting for used units on eBay, Facebook Marketplace, offerup, etc.
1 point

·

30th Jun 2020

Build that should do well for animation/modeling/editing in the programs mentioned. Landed at $1787.70 for the PC, Windows 10, and a color accurate monitor, using a combination of pricing from Microcenter (Tustin, CA inventory) and online pricing – all parts were in stock at the time of posting, though given current events parts inventories change daily. Parts explained below.

CPU: The 3700x is a very good CPU – fast speeds important for modeling, as well as having 8 cores + multi-threading which is important for rendering (maybe not focus of your sister’s studies/work, but will likely do some of). Microcenter pricing.

CPU Cooler: I added an aftermarket cooler to help keep the CPU at lower temps when under load, and doing so much more quietly than the stock cooler as many reviews mention that the stock cooler can get loud when the CPU is under load. If you/your sister don’t think the noise reduction is necessary, removing it saves about $40.

Motherboard: Has components capable of adequately delivering power to the CPU when under load. Microcenter pricing, with $20 off for the CPU/Mobo bundling deal.

Memory: 32GB is recommended for Blender and Maya (minimum 16GB for most of the programs mentioned).

Storage: A fast 500GB m.2 NVME SSD for Windows, software, and project files; and a 2TB HDD for storage/archives.

Video : The 2070 Super is more than adequate for the programs, with plenty of VRAM (8GB) for programs like Blender that can demand a lot in modeling and especially rendering. Less important for the other modeling/photo editing software where even basic video cards are more than adequate. Microcenter pricing.

Case: A nice, understated case, exclusive at Microcenter. I added 2 case fans for better airflow and to help keep down temps. They’re PWM so they have a wide speed range that can be controlled through the motherboard’s BIOS or software – let’s you set slow speeds when temperatures are lower for quieter operation and speed them up only when temps increase in the case. The fans’ connectors can be daisy chained together, so both fans can run off one fan header on the motherboard (the motherboard in this list only has 2 headers for case fans). I’d recommend putting these 2 fans behind the front panel as intake, and use one of the fans included with the case as exhaust on the back panel. Microcenter pricing.

Power Supply: Good quality/tier power supply; 650w is more than enough for the system and any additional components (like hard drives) that may be added down the line.

OS: Windows 10 Home.

Monitor: A good relatively inexpensive 27″ 1440p IPS panel monitor that received a lot of good reviews. Covers 99% of sRGB color space, as well as Rec 709 color space.

Drawing tablet: This wasn’t mentioned in your post and I didn’t include it in the list to keep the budget under $1800, but I’d recommend a drawing tablet. Most of the graphic designers I’ve worked with have used some sort of drawing tablet with their computers for graphics work. This one received good reviews and is pretty inexpensive (doesn’t have its own screen though – just ties to the monitor). There are nicer ones that are actually screens themselves, but those are usually more than double the price of the one listed above.

PCPartPicker Part List

TypeItemPrice
CPUAMD Ryzen 7 3700X 3.6 GHz 8-Core Processor$259.99
CPU Coolerbe quiet! Pure Rock 2 Black CPU Cooler$44.90 @ B&H
MotherboardMSI B450M PRO-VDH MAX Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard$59.99
MemoryG.Skill Aegis 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3200 CL16 Memory$114.99 @ Newegg
StorageKingston A2000 500 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive$69.65 @ Amazon
StorageSeagate Barracuda Compute 2 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive$54.99 @ Newegg
Video MSI GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8 GB VENTUS OC Video $519.99
Power SupplyCorsair CX (2017) 650 W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply$89.98 @ Newegg
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit$108.78 @ Other World Computing
Case FanARCTIC P12 PWM PST CO 56.3 CFM 120 mm Fan$12.23 @ Amazon
Case FanARCTIC P12 PWM PST CO 56.3 CFM 120 mm Fan$12.23 @ Amazon
MonitorViewSonic VP2768 27.0" 2560×1440 60 Hz Monitor$379.99 @ Amazon
CustomLian Li 205M mATX case$59.99
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total$1787.70
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-06-30 03:16 EDT-0400