What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HomeSpot Bluetooth Transmitter for TV Audio Low Latency Wireless Audio Adapter Bluetooth 4.0 no Lip Sync Digital Optical Dual Stream Toslink SPDIF 2 Devices Simultaneously?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2021

Somehow people downvoted it to be removed.

You need to buy a optical cable, your tv should have one.
Connect it to bluetooth transmitter.

I bought this- https://www.amazon.com/HomeSpot-Bluetooth-Transmitter-Headphones-Simultaneously/dp/B00QV77YIC
but anything works they are as cheap as $10

This fools amazon/netflix in thinking that audio is going to a speaker/soundbar since that is the primary use for optical cables.

And use the transmitter to connect to bluetooth headphones not the bluetooth with fire stick.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2018

Bluetooth headsets do not natively work with XB1. There are ways to get the to work, but no mic, unfortunately. I use my BT headset 95% of the time because I generally do not care about chat and find them to be far more comfortable (in-ear).

I use one of these to get audio via BT:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QV77YIC

1 point

·

30th Mar 2018

What I’ve seen for most TVs is that the optical output doesnt disable the TV volume. If you have Bluetooth headphones, this could be a valid option:
https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Transmitter-HomeSpot-Wireless-Headphones/dp/B00QV77YIC

I just picked the first result for “optical to Bluetooth transmitter” so you should see what alternatives you have.

You would plug this into your TV if it has optical out

2 points

·

24th Sep 2016

The following should work with their TV so that they can simultaneously use the TV speakers for him and the Toslink/RCA hookup for her. I won’t give guarantee’s but it should since it’s at least a newer TV model since you mention it being a smart TV. So if you wanted to buy the bluetooth transmitter and test it it out with a bluetooth device/speaker you already own (if any) before going any further, you could do that.

I did a similar hookup for my SO’s family for different reasons, and set them up with this bluetooth transmitter (it has aptX support too): https://amazon.com/HomeSpot-Wireless-Bluetooth-Transmitter-supported/dp/B00QV77YIC – There are other devices out there like this, this was a relatively cheap option for them and having never used it before, it worked and with no problems. I’ll likely pick one up myself for future use too.

I didn’t set them up with bluetooth (wireless) headphones but instead bluetooth speakers. But I’d highly recommend looking for bluetooth headphones that support the aptX codec (preferably with Low Latency) so the voices are in sync as much as possible if not perfect. I’ve seen the difference with and without it as well as it annoys more people without it and it’s noticeable.

I’m not sure of your price range for the bluetooth headphones, but here are a few from Amazon that support aptX and SOME (not all) with Low Latency too:

Of course places like BestBuy, Fry’s, Newegg and so forth have these devices as well so if you are looking to pick up something locally, you should be good there but MAY pay more. The same goes with similar bluetooth transmitters, just look for one with Toslink/SPDIF and/or with RCA as the one is above preferably with aptX LL codec support of course too.

Hope this helps or gives you a start.

2 points

·

5th Jun 2017

A number of possible solutions. Your TV has optical sound out. So you will need something to convert the optical digital sound signal to an analog signal (DAC). Then you will need something to amplify the analog signal to drive a speaker (amp). Then of course the speaker itself.

Here are some possible solutions:

  • Bluetooth transmitter that takes optical input ($25-50) and two bluetooth speakers ($25-50). Many of each to choose from. You’ll likely want a BT speaker that takes an AC adapter so that you can just plug the speakers into the wall outlet. So just make sure the speaker comes with some kind of AC adapter. Many of them are USB powered, so if you have a bunch of AC to USB plugs lying around, you should be all set.

  • Small integrated DAC + amp like the SMSL Q5 Pro (~$100). Micca MB42 speakers ($60). The Q5 Pro has a remote, so they can adjust the volume of the speakers easily.

  • Small DAC like the FiiO D3 ($25) and powered speakers (i.e., the amp is integrated into the speaker) like the Micca PB42x ($120). Volume control is a knob on the speaker.

  • … and now the controversial solution that will commit two /r/hometheater faux pas’ at once. A soundbar (gasp!) possibly from Bose (double gasp!). If your parents have trouble hearing the dialogue in shows, there are modes for soundbars that are specially tuned to amplify talking. The Bose Solo 5 mini soundbar ($200) will take the optical input, convert to digital, amplify, and drive its speakers. It has a “dialogue enhancement” mode to boost the frequencies in human speech without making the background sound louder. Similarly the cheaper Amazon Basics version ($100) has a “news” mode that does the same thing. You may find that they can use these modes to hear the dialogue but not have to turn the volume up so high. Note the Amazon soundbar is quite long (31″) while the Bose one is compact. You just stick the soundbar under the TV and they would not need to put speakers on their nightstands or do any wiring across the room.

BT xmitter: https://www.amazon.com/HomeSpot-Bluetooth-Transmitter-Wireless-Headphones/dp/B00QV77YIC/ref=pd_sim_23_6?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B00QV77XU6&pd_rd_r=S1FZ89HQSV360WXDPB6K&pd_rd_w=5L2XQ&pd_rd_wg=tT0TC&refRID=S1FZ89HQSV360WXDPB6K&amp…

BT speaker: https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Portable-Bluetooth-Speaker-Black/dp/B01GF5ACUG/ref=sr_1_10?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1496641001&sr=1-10&keywords=bluetooth+speakers

SMSL Q5 Pro: https://www.amazon.com/SMSL-Q5-Pro-Digital-Amplifier/dp/B017W12UCU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1496640656&sr=8-1&keywords=smsl+q5+pro

Micca MB42: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=pd_ybh_a_5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=M8DF9BG3KN9NN102A6Q6

Fiio D3:https://www.amazon.com/Digital-Analog-Converter-Optical-Toslink/dp/B005K2TXMO

Micca PB42x: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1496640689&sr=1-1&keywords=pb42x

Bose Solo 5:https://www.amazon.com/Bose-Solo-TV-Sound-System/dp/B01AWLPUAG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1496639710&sr=8-1&keywords=soundbar+dialogue#customerReviews

Amazon Basics: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01EK7TEL4/ref=psdc_3237803011_t1_B01AWLPUAG?th=1

1 point

·

21st Dec 2021

Instead of HDMI, you’ll probably be better off with optical to Bluetooth.

Like: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QV77YIC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_DS0F3BXQTGJGSPSDFMCX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

If you already have the audio going to a sound bar or something, you may also need one of these…

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081RSR5YM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_1DREWXRSF3KMMKX0X2Z1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

21st Aug 2021

Hi. I’m looking for a simple plug and play, works for sure, 2xheadsets + transmitter combo to plug onto the TV. I have a cheap dual bluetooth transmitter (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QV77YIC) but never managed to actually pair 2 headsets at the same time. Also my headsets are not APTx-LL (not a strong requirement): I’m using a QC35 and some noname brand ANR as well.
I’m ok buying the transmitter and headsets apart as long as it fits in the budget. I’m also ok finding compatible headsets with current transmitter if that’s a thing.

Budget – $200
Source – SPDIF
Requirements for Isolation – TV headphone, no need for great isolation
Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No
Preferred Type of Headphone – Fullsize / over the hear, NOT in hear
Preferred tonal balance – not a priority
Past headphones – currently using a QC35 with a bluetooth adapter, but can only connect one headset at a time. I’m ok with the sound quality and fit, could do with a little less audio/video lag.
Preferred Music – N/A
What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Need to be able to connect 2 headphones, APTXLL would be a nice addition as well.

FD: I posted in r/HeadphoneAdvice but didn’t get any response.

1 point

·

3rd Dec 2020
1 point

·

25th Jun 2018

Plug a Bluetooth transmitter into the audio output on your TV. Since the only option for audio output on your TV appears to be optical, you’d either need something like this that accepts it directly, or something like this to convert to an analog signal that you can feed into any Bluetooth transmitter you have lying around.

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2018

You could use something like a bluetooth transmitter. You can get them that support digital input (like on the ps4) Link

1 point

·

1st Feb 2017

I stand corrected.

I thought the new Roku models had it, but I guess they don’t.

I guess OP /u/jetpack8 would probably need a Toslink-to-Bluetooth out adapter (assuming his TV has an optical audio out, or that he has a Roku Ultra model):

https://www.amazon.com/HomeSpot-Wireless-Bluetooth-Transmitter-supported/dp/B00QV77YIC

https://www.amazon.com/GOOLOO-Bluetooth-Transmitter-Receiver-Wireless/dp/B01MYT2HGZ

Or a 3.5mm to Bluetooth adapter plugged into the Roku Remote (maybe taped to the underside):

https://www.amazon.com/TaoTronics-Bluetooth-Transmitter-Connected-Transmission/dp/B00P24XKS8

0 points

·

24th Jan 2018

YES

I use my LG Tone’s every single day with my Xbox and have for years.

Just get something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QV77YIC

Best thing ever.

EDIT: I suck at reading. No mic this way.

-1 points

·

12th Apr 2018

You may be interested in this handy little device…

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QV77YIC

Plug the optical audio into the back of your TV, now I use those LG headphones for everything. TV, Xbox (no chat), Phone..

It’s pretty freaking sweet.