What is the opinion of Reddit about the
hOmeLabs Sunrise Alarm Clock?

A total of 19 reviews of this product on Reddit.

102 points

·

19th Sep 2020

If you can’t wake up in the mornings, blackout blinds must be complemented by a light-based alarm.

Our circadian rhythms are timed so that we don’t start waking up until after sunrise. If your room is pitch black, your body will never know that the sun has risen. If you find yourself sleeping late no matter what, you need to get light into your bedroom in the morning. Buy a light-based alarm (this one seems to be popular) to rectify this problem.

11 points

·

4th Aug 2019

OP, you should consider getting a sunlight alarm clock! I’m sure it’d help your body adjust to waking up, given that you have the blackout curtains, plus it’d make sure you don’t have to worry about your phone running out of battery overnight. I have this one.

2 points

·

25th Apr 2018

I have this model as well. They came out with a newer version though here
The newer one isn’t too different, but the stand is better and I think the lighting is a little better. I ordered it for a friend.

There’s a bunch of vendors on Amazon selling these things so I would just try to find the cheapest.

I’m a pretty sensitive sleeper so the amount of light that comes off of these clocks is plenty for me. So if you’re a heavy sleeper this may or may not work for you.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2022

You might need more sleep. 8 hours is just a general rule of thumb, not an exact requirement

I would set a timer before you go to bed, and then sleep as long as possible. Do this for a few days (maybe at the weekend when you don’t have school/work/whatever) and you’ll be able to get a rough estimate of how many hours you need

I also recommend an alarm clock like this. I don’t have that exact one, I actually made mine for a school project. But I can super recommend. It wakes you up slowly over the course of 30 minutes with a light and gentle sounds. Then you have time to wake up properly, and you don’t have to snap from unconscious to CONSCIOUS in 2 seconds (which is not nice)

1 point

·

19th Jul 2021

Searching for Light Alarm Clock on Amazon gives you a bunch of results, I’d suggest looking through the options to see what price and features you’d like the most. I couldn’t find the exact model I own, but I’ve linked a similar one as an example.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_34061D74YSJG9VB23SBP

1 point

·

9th Mar 2021

I have this one.

I never used the nature sounds, just the alarm tone. But I know it does both the slowly brightening light and slowly increasing volume.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2021

hOmeLabs Sunrise Alarm Clock – Digital LED Clock with 6 Color Switch and FM Radio for Bedrooms – Multiple Nature Sounds Sunset Simulation & Touch Control – with Snooze Function for Heavy Sleepers https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_ZTM02R1FMFF76XBJVHVA

I’ve had this one for awhile and love it. Always wake up to the soothing sounds of the AM jazz station

1 point

·

26th Sep 2020

This one has good reviews and other review sites consistently name it as the best budget option: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

I’ve tried it and personally it’s not for me. All of these sunrise alarm clocks have a sound. I wanted only the light, but none of them have the option of no sound. I’m currently trialing the Casper Glow – it’s also expensive, but fortunately I can test it for 30 days to see if it’s worth it.

18 points

·

17th Nov 2020

Maybe the sunrise alarm would work for you. There are tons of them but I bought one like this for a friend and she loves it. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_2y-SFbWV94YQ7

3 points

·

18th Jan 2021
2 points

·

27th Sep 2018

I recommend an alarm clock like this one. It simulates the sunrise/sunset. Much nicer than a noisy beep first thing in the morning.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2022

So I’ve actually had it since 2018 and have had zero issues with it. Homelabs Sunrise Alarm Clock from Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_api_glt_i_0S75D4RG50AADF3HA4AE?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

16th Nov 2021

yeah – i only mention it as it might matter, since I use the alarm portion as a back-up. I’ve only had the sound-alarm part go off on me once, the light’s woken me up every other time.

The item I bought isn’t sold on amazon anymore, even the brand’s page is gone.

But the one I have is real similar to this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074NB5TNW/ – and this is $30 ($40 & a $10 off coupon)

Definitely look at reviews – e.g. this page from the NYT – https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-sunrise-alarm-clock/

I’m considering upgrading to something more like the phillips that they like. I’ll put it on the Xmas list, and maybe santa will get me one.

1 point

·

18th Jan 2021

I’ve been using a cheap one from Amazon for over a year and it works perfectly fine.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B074NB5TNW/

1 point

·

24th Sep 2019

You’re welcome! This is the one I have. It’s probably the cheapest on Amazon, but it works great. Most days I wake up before the alarm starts going off thanks to the light.
https://www.amazon.com/hOmeLabs-Sunrise-Alarm-Clock-Simulation/dp/B074NB5TNW

1 point

·

13th Mar 2019

Have you ever used a sunrise alarm clock? I’ll never be without one ever again. I never wake up in the dark anymore, it makes a huge difference.