What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HiVi – DIY 3.1A – 3.1 Bookshelf Speakers – Near-Field Speakers – DIY Speaker Kit – Pair – Black?

A total of 36 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

19th Apr 2019

> Carmody’s Amigas

Weird that there’s stuff missing from the parts express kit. The kit on Amazon seems to include everything. Regardless, badass and thanks for sharing

1 point

·

26th Mar 2019

They’re the Hivi 3.1 kit from Amazon, got as a Christmas gift:

https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG

^If anyone is interested.

They’re my first project like this and I’d been using them in bare mdf for a while before I decided to finally paint them. I took them apart so many times that some of the hardware stripped so I had to get new screws. Picked up some brass screws to see how they look and might keep it this way.

I know the paint is far from perfect, I might try and fix it when I have a free weekend. I have to coordinate with the weather since I have to paint on my tiny balcony.

1 point

·

18th Dec 2019

I own a pair of Polk LSiM 703s and they sound amazing to me. Got my pair mint from CL for $350, seen them pop there from time to time for 350-450. Later on I saw another user here mention a 3way DIY bookshelf kit that would reportedly be way above in performance vs retail and now I kinda wanna do it as a project for maybe another room. Perhaps someone here can chime in with personal experience with that DIY. Here’s Amazon link to it

1 point

·

27th Sep 2020

I just recently did my first build. Bought this HiVi/ Swan 3.1 kit and am absolutely loving them.

https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG

Instructions were very comprehensive and there are decent videos to follow as well. Comes as a pair too, so it’s very budget friendly.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

If you only want 2.0 or possibly 2.1 in the future check out the Yamaha A-s301 Integrated amp (has sub output, almost sold out) or the Yamaha r-n303 from accessories4less.

For speakers look at the Canton gle 436.2 or Canton Chrono 502.2 from A4L. Also the ascend acoustics cbm-170se. If you’re diy capable, the hivi diy 3.1a. And the Emotiva b1+.

1 point

·

27th Feb 2019

HiVi – DIY 3.1A – 3.1 Bookshelf Speakers – Near-Field Speakers – DIY Speaker Kit – Pair – Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0721ZQXDG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_83EDCbCV5R86T

They come with a really low quality vinyl veneer, it instantly when in the garbage haha.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2019

From the specs:

Tweeter: RT1.3-B Isodynamic ribbon tweeter 2 pcs
Midrange: DMN-B 2 pcs

Here’s the Amazon listing:

https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG

Sound is fantastic as far as my ears can tell. They are really a big step up from my Martin Logan LX16’s in terms of vocals, low end, and overall detail. The treble is probably just as good as the LX16’s but they have great tweeters too.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2018

Not really a same Price but for a bit more. These Swan DIY 3.1A sounds like $800+ Speakers. Its for Living Room thou.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2018

Replacing my current bookshelves with a DIY kit. Kit hasn’t come in yet but it uses a 4 ohm bass/midrange driver. My current receiver is a Sony STR-DE185. It is 100 watts per channel.

Is there any need to upgrade the receiver? I listen to music at very reasonable volumes, I never really crank it, and I’m only using 2 channels and the sub out which doesn’t draw anything so I think I’d be okay but wanted to make sure.

EDIT: Here’s the kit:

https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1544544318&sr=8-1&keywords=hivi+3.1

1 point

·

4th May 2018

I actually built these – kit purchased from Amazon and they sound quite good. Have been looking for an excuse to build the 3.1’s (which would still come in under your budget) because of it.

17 points

·

27th Dec 2018

More speakers in the $300 – $350 range.

On sale, Infinity Reference R152 and R162

Internet Manufacturer Direct can be a good bang for the buck with 30 day in home trials so you can demo 2 or 3.

  • Philharmonic AAPM $290 + shipping. (14 day in home trial.) They are recently upgraded with great Morel tweeters and have one of the best low ends of 6.5″ speakers in the under $500 bookshelf price range so they don’t necessarily need a subwoofer.
  • Ascend CBM-170 $300 + $30 shipping. I have them and recommend them. Neutral sound with a flat frequency response. SEAS of Norway tweeters, custom mid-bass drivers, double layer crossover network.
  • Chane A Series, $290 + shipping. Flat planar tweeters and split-gap mid-bass.
  • Wavecrest Audio HVL-1, order on sale here at Ascend $80 each + shipping. “Budget Ascends” To me, competitive with and less cost than the popular KEF Q100.

Or for a great value go DIY if you have the skills. Kits include pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing 2 to 3 times as much. 5″ C-Notes $100, 4″ Overnight Sensations MT $140, tall dual 4″ Overnight Sensations MTM $192 pair, 6.5″ HIVI 2.2 or 3.1 $190 or $265, 6.5″ Classix II MT $230 a pair.

Recommendations from AverageJoe’s Bookshelf and r/HTBuyingGuide.

12 points

·

18th Sep 2019

Equipment:

65″ Vizio M series Quantum

Hivi 3.1a DIY speaker kit finished in white spray paint. Looks decent from a distance. They sound amazing for the money and I’m a slut for ribbon tweeters.

Fireplace mount: From Monoprice makes a huge difference. The mantle is so high it’s really hard to watch when the mount is swiveled up.

Here’s a comparison of the mount up and down. Still working on the cable management right now, the cabinet on the right is going to hold a HTPC just have to get all that figured out.

7 points

·

11th Sep 2017

Very interesting. Two affordable speaker kits with a -3dB down to ~40hz (so, there is probably audible output down into the 30s) which is deep enough to be considered full-range for most purposes.

I don’t typically post DIY stuff here, despite having built about 10 DIY kits myself. BUT, these are interesting kits because they appear to require much less DIY’ing than typical DIY kits. The crossovers are already built, so I think there’s no soldering required. Looks like you can just screw things in, glue the box together, and you’re good to go.

Looks like there’s a real minimum of DIYing actually required here… appears to be no soldering required. Just connect everything together, screw the drivers in, glue the box together, and you’re good. (Or so it seems.)

3-way kit with dome midrange and ribbon tweeter (on sale for $174)

2-way kit (on sale for $124)

The guys on PE’s Tech Talk forums are excited because there are a couple hundred bucks worth of drivers in each kit.

HiVi has some pretty detailed info for these and other kits on their site.

Perhaps /u/HiviSpeakers-Michael can talk more about these and/or answer questions…

4 points

·

9th Apr 2021

If you’re willing to spend that kind of money and build it yourself, the Philharmonic BMR’s are the gold standard, and will get down into the mid 30’s with authority.

You can also get them preassembled for 1700, but obviously that’s a little different from “under 1000”.

I personally built this kit with a crossover mod for about $500 all told, and I believe the f3 is between 40-45 Hz. I cross mine over to my sub at 50. They are great value and very straightforward to assemble.

3 points

·

14th Jul 2020

Absolutely love my HiVi 3.1As with the perfectionist crossover mod. C-Notes are also quite popular in the DIY community. There are tons and tons of options though and I’m not super-familiar with many of them, I recommend checking out r/diyaudio for more recommendations.

2 points

·

29th Jun 2019

Yes, fix the Sanyo if it is easy and cheap to do so. It will work with most vintage, used or new speakers just the same. Many vintage heavy solid state receivers sound great. Modern receivers are lighter and may have more features but may not necessarily give you any better sound quality. Modern AV receivers add HDMI switching and surround sound for TV and movies and also work well for stereo music too.

Best to put on a new stylus on the turntable after you confirm it is working.

Speakers:

For the best value, first look for a used pair of stand mount bookshelf or floor standing tower speakers.

Modern speakers with a vintage look, WHARFEDALE Denton 80th Anniversary $499.

On sale,

Internet direct, Ascend CBM-170 SE $299. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response. My speaker of choice for music for the great midrange which many speakers lack.

DIY build your own: Add around $75+ for tools and supplies. Kits includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing twice as much.

If I had a $500+ speaker budget:

Towers:

Bookshelf: Ascend Sierra 1 $720.

Subwoofers:

Speaker Wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 16 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft, with self adjusting wire strippers or 4 Ways to Strip Wire – wikiHow, then optionally add banana plugs. Already with banana plugs, Micca 12ft pair or custom with DFWCableConnection and Blue Jeans Cable.

Speaker Stands: Size to get speaker center or tweeter at ear height from your seated listening position. Sturdy Monolith by Monoprice can be filled with lead shot, sand or kitty litter. Affordable Dayton Audio SSMB24 or Monoprice Glass. Also Audio Advisor where most are also available at Amazon.

Home Audio Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsIntroduction to Audio ComponentsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s GuidesWhat is a Phono Preamp? | Audio Advice

Speaker Positioning: How to position your speakers for great soundSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

Also check out r/BudgetAudiophile and /r/audiophile Weekly Purchase Help Thread (2019-06-28)

2 points

·

4th Mar 2019

Also check out the drivers at Madisound.

Kits at DIY Sound Group

Or go the opposite direction with Swan 3.1 3 way!

2 points

·

5th Sep 2018

Spending $400 on your amp in a $1000 setup isn’t the right call.

Don’t get me wrong, if you buy $600 speakers that $400 amp will make them sound as good as possible, but the same setup could be powered off a $150 AV receiver. All you would be losing is the phono stage and USB DAC input.

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavrs530bt/denon-avr-s530bt-5.2-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html

http://hsuresearch.com/products/vtf-1mk3.html

As for speakers, the remaining budget gives you plenty of options. ELAC Debut 2.0 B6.2, HTD Level Three, Chane A series, a HiVi DIY kit, etc. Could also look at pre-owned, as long as there is no visible damage and they aren’t super old it is easy to buy this way.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2021

Crossovers are included in the kit (which is available on Amazon), but they are not assembled. The nice thing about this kit is that crossover PCB’s are included, so all it takes is you putting the components in the right spots and soldering the leads in. It is very straightforward. They also made assembly videos that walk you through the entire process of building this kit. It was a fun project for my son and I!

1 point

·

12th Nov 2020

You will always get better sound quality from DIY. So you should probably keep doing it.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2019

Internet Manufacturer Direct can be a good bang for the buck with 30 day in home trials so you can demo 2 or 3:

DIY:

  • 6.5″ HIVI 3.1 $290. Add around $100 for tools and supplies. Kit includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing 2 and maybe 3 times as much.

Harmon Sale:

Available at Crutchfield:

If ever adding a subwoofer, especially with bookshelf speakers:

Speaker wire: Pure copper oxygen free 16 Guage and self adjusting wire strippers or basic.

Speaker Stands: Audio Advisor and most are also available at Amazon. Monolith by Monoprice heavy duty, half price of name brand equivalent.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2020

You would definitely see an improvement moving away from that insignia. Some People say AVRs all sound the same but that’s just not the case.

Yamaha a-s301

Tekton mini-lore monitor or mini-lore or ascend acoustics sierra-1 or HSU ccb-8 or Canton chrono sl 526.2 or Canton gle 476.2 or klh quincy or klh albany or wharfedale diamond 12.2 or monitor audio bronze 100 or wharfedale evo4.1 or wharfedale Denton

Or if you can DIY HiVi 3.1a

Out of all of those options the Tekton, HSU, or Canton Chrono SL would be my top three choices. But if you can DIY then the HiVi would be the top choice over all the others since they are a great price and you can finish them how you like.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2020

Try amazon smile to donate to charity automatically at no cost to you!
https://smile.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG
^^^I’m ^^^a ^^^bot ^^^and ^^^this ^^^action ^^^was ^^^preformed ^^^automatically.

1 point

·

14th Dec 2019

Swan/HiVi. https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG

I haven’t bought the kit yet, but there’s a guy who posted a crossover mod that supposedly makes them sound great.

1 point

·

12th Nov 2019

Better speakers:

DIY kit speakers: Add around $50 for supplies then budget for tools if you don’t have any. Compare to built speakers costing over twice as much. Glue, clamp, solder, paint, assemble.

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free Speaker Wire then 4 Ways to Strip Wire. Optionally add banana plugs. Already with banana plugs AmazonBasics buy 2 for a pair 12ft each. More options at Crutchfield, DFWCableConnection, Blue Jeans Speaker Cable and Blue Jeans at Amazon.

1 point

·

8th Nov 2019

DIY kits with a good low end:

Add around $35 to $50 for supplies then tools if you don’t have any. Compare to built speakers costing twice as much. Glue, clamp, solder, paint, assemble.

5″ C-Note $100.

6.5″ Dayton Audio BR-1 $195, pre built and pre painted cabinets.

6.5″ Classix II MT $232

7″ Samba MT $320 pair.

6.5″ HiVi – DIY 3.1 or 2.2

1 point

·

8th Aug 2019

Towers on sale but over budget:

$400 is a low budget for a significant upgrade from Elac Debut B6.2.

For better mids, a neutral sound and a more linear frequency response, my speaker of choice for mostly music is Ascend CBM-170 SE $299 plus shipping. Internet direct are a great value since they cut out the middleman and can compare to $500 speakers.

DIY KIT: Add around $50+ for tools and supplies if you don’t have them. Kit includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, clamp, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing two to three times as much.

Wharfedale sale: 6.5″ Diamond 225 $349.

Klipsch sale: 6.5″ RP-160M $349.

1 point

·

15th Feb 2019

its actually https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speakers-Near-Field-Speaker/dp/B0721ZQXDG i just bought the Dayton resistors cuz apparently its too bright (theres a bunch of reviews posting about it and a walkthrough) I really want to spend the least amount of time soldering i bet i could go back to stock and add a single resistor as one of the reviews said. what do you think

1 point

·

25th Jan 2019

These
with this, and this

About $500 with tax, speaker wire, and an optical cable. Speakers are easy to put together and rival or surpass ones costing 3X as much. Receiver is towards the low end, but it has plenty of power and a remote. External DAC that supports most formats and gets away from your internal sound from your computer, (which can be noisy, especially with a good GPU running).

1 point

·

21st Jan 2019

If you can DIY from pre cut flat pack cabinets, HiVi – DIY 3.1A 3-way https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0721ZQXDG compare to built speakers costing two to three times as much.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2018
1 point

·

24th Oct 2017

I’m referencing these speakers.

-1 points

·

27th Dec 2018

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0721ZQXDG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=A1K072YSB0R9T5&amp;psc=1 putting these here to a 3 way speaker for highs, lows and mids, probably nice to listen to ppl say they sound like 800 dollar speakers also (also if u plan on getting you can cover the tweeter with something or as someone said in the review replace the resistor , since tweeters can be harsh?)”If you web search “HiVi DIY 3.1 Revisited”, you’ll see a nice suggestion for improving the sound on these 3.1s with a couple of resistor, capacitor, and inductor swaps (<- Good idea to check it out before you start soldering up the crossover boards).”

-1 points

·

27th Dec 2018

gonna put these here cuz I plan on getting them, a 3 way speaker for lows mids and highs, probably really nice to listen to

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0721ZQXDG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=A1K072YSB0R9T5&amp;psc=1 and there is some material you can use to cover the tweeter if it is harsh I will post it later