What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HiVi – DIY 2.2A – DIY Speaker Kit – 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers Near-Field Use – Compact Wooden Cabinet – Pair – Black?

A total of 9 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

5th Aug 2021

Here’s a kit from HiVi on Amazon. I’ve heard good things about them.

HiVi – DIY 2.2A – DIY Speaker Kit – 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers Near-Field Use – Compact Wooden Cabinet – Pair – Black https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B072KTZ2VC/ref=cm_sw_r_u_apa_glt_fabc_VM4FNJA5MWGXSE4RPFG1

1 point

·

23rd May 2021

Thinking on it slightly more. I actually enjoy diy soldering maybe something like this may be suitable: https://www.amazon.com/HiVi-Bookshelf-Speaker-Cabinet-Warranty/dp/B072KTZ2VC/ref=asc_df_B072KTZ2VC/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312115315632&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=11375857226128294471&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&a…

But at the end of the day I just want an ideal and cost efficient solution. Though some in the reviews say it’s not ideal for near field use others disagree.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2017

Thanks. You got closer than I did. I’m looking for something like a miniature component tuner (with line out, no amp) for about $50. I saw some interesting items, but they were considerably more. I saw some cheaper ones, but they looked like transistor radios. Even worse, some of them had mono outputs. At this rate, I might as well hook up my Sandisk Clip MP3 player/radio. Bummer.

I’m toying with some other options. Thought about sending out my computer sound to my big receiver/amp, but it and its speakers are relatively huge, I’ve often had issues with hum when I do that, and I might have issues with mixing sound like i do now as well. Thought about getting a better set of active speakers – more volume, less directional sound. Then again, I was also looking at these:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072KTZ2VC/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=IHEMOEOUXYELA&colid=14BSFTD209XVR

Because I like the idea of partially building my own, because they’re supposedly a high-quality speaker for the money, and because I’m all over the place at the moment and can’t decide what I want.

Keeping the Monsoon’s and adding a small tuner seems conservative, and I really AM happy with the sound and size of the equipment. Guess I’ll keep looking, reading, and thinking.

3 points

·

29th Oct 2018

Link to the Dayton subs.

https://www.parts-express.com/cat/powered-subwoofers/95

​

Dayton has some of their amplifiers on sale. Some have Bluetooth if the OP wants it.

https://www.parts-express.com/cat/home-audio-amplifiers/106

​

I like your list of components. I wanted to build the HiVi 3.1, but they are sold out on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072KTZ2VC/ref=twister_B0764GQBPT?_encoding=UTF8&th=1

​

1 point

·

7th May 2019

Phono stage/preamp:

An external will be better than an internal in most modern budget receivers.

Receivers:

Vintage solid state receiver and most have a good internal phono stage.

Before new, consider looking for a used modern stereo receiver, Yamaha, Onkyo, NAD etc. Or even a used THX rated pre-4k AV receiver can be found for around $200 or less and have great amps, high pass crossover for the speakers if using with a subwoofer, and Audyssey room correction EQ setup.

Refurbished with a one year manufacturer warranty:

Speakers: Speaker recommendations from AverageJoeAudiophile and r/HTBuyingGuide.

Internet Manufacturer Direct can be a good bang for the buck with 30 day in home trials so you can try 2 or 3 pairs.

  • 5.25″ Wavecrest Audio HVL-1, and order on sale at Ascend $80 each + shipping, budget Ascends. Front ported. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response. Great mids which many speakers lack. To me, comparable to KEF Q100s. As with most bookshelf speakers, best with a subwoofer.
  • 5.25″ Emotiva Airmotive B1 $230. Folded ribbon high-frequency transducers.
  • 5.25″ Intimus 5B $270. Free shipping both ways.
  • 6.5″ Ascend CBM-170s $300 + $30 shipping. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response. I have these for their great mids which many speakers in the price range lack.
  • 6.5″ HSU HB-1 MK2 $280 + $60 shipping. Have a good low end if not getting a subwoofer at all or right away.

On sale:

DIY speaker kits, build your own: Add around $75+ for tools and supplies. Kits includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing twice as much.

More speaker recommendations from AverageJoeAudiophile and r/HTBuyingGuide.

Speaker wire:

Speaker stands to add later:

S*ubwoofers on sale:*

Guides:

1 point

·

29th May 2019

What have you already built?

Those 4″ Speedsters look good.

Most others I have looked at are lower cost:

1 point

·

3rd May 2019

For speakers: r/BudgetAudiophile.

Infinity Reference Sale:

Internet Manufacturer Direct can be a good bang for the buck with 30 day in home trials so you can try 2 or 3 pairs.

  • 5.25″ Wavecrest Audio HVL-1, and order on sale at Ascend $80 each + shipping, budget Ascends. Front ported. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response. Great mids which many speakers lack. To me, comparable to KEF Q100s. As with most bookshelf speakers, best with a subwoofer.
  • 5.25″ Emotiva Airmotive B1 $230. Folded ribbon high-frequency transducers.
  • 5.25″ Intimus 5B $270. Free shipping both ways.
  • 6.5″ Ascend CBM-170s $300 + $30 shipping. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response. I have these for their great mids which many speakers in the price range lack.
  • 6.5″ HSU HB-1 MK2 $280 + $60 shipping. Have a good low end if not getting a subwoofer at all or right away.

DIY speaker kits, build your own: Add around $75+ for tools and supplies. Kits includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing twice as much.

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 16 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft. and self adjusting wire strippers, optional banana plugs to add. Or already with banana plugs, Micca or DFWCableConnection.

Speaker stands: Dayton Audio SSMB24, Monoprice Glass or Monolith by Monoprice and Audio Advisor where most are also available at Amazon.

Speaker Positioning: Speaker Placement for Stereo Music ListeningHow to position your speakers for great sound

More speaker recommendations from AverageJoeAudiophile and r/HTBuyingGuide.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2019

Dayton Audio BR-1 6-1/2" 2-Way are the base for the AAM and Phillharmonic added an upgraded crossover. Maybe Phillharmonic can sell you the upgraded crossover or look for a similar crossover upgrade. The AAPM, P for Plus, added Morel tweeters.

diysoundgroup.com

madisoundspeakerstore.com

Also see r/diysound

1 point

·

13th Dec 2018

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072KTZ2VC/ref=twister_B0764GQBPT?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HR7PRV5/ref=twister_B07HR8SBTL?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

This is a DIY speaker kit that, in it’s finished form, sells for over $800. http://www.highfidelityreview.com/swan-hivi-2-1se-speakers.html

The amp is adequate, and it’s only $40. It can also plug straight into a USB port on your PC, and needs no drivers. It also works for headphones and has BT.

Add some wood glue, speaker wire, a soldering iron, and a little time. Nothing is going to come even close to this for sound until you start looking at a much higher price point. Hell, this would make a very decent 2.0 music system for a medium sized room.