What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HIFIMAN SUNDARA Over-Ear Full-Size Planar Magnetic HiFi Stereo Wired Headphones for Studio&Audiophiles (Black)?

A total of 26 reviews of this product on Reddit.

7 points

·

21st Jan 2019

inb4 “sounds great but X/Y broke and Hifiman is sending me a new one” 😉 JK Can’t wait to see how these compare to my HE-400s. Thanks for putting this together once your review posts! Also, on another thread I see these are going for $350 currently on Amazon for those interested in getting one. Link

4 points

·

7th Jul 2021

Buy him Sundara headphones. It will lead him down a whole new rabbit hole of entertainment for his computer with high end audio parts. They are great for gaming and amazing for music.

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X

2 points

·

19th Jan 2021

That is a good Dac/Amp. You can consider upgrading to a Hifiman Sundara

You didn’t specify a budget. Sundara is a Planar Magnetic which is currently highly well-reviewed and sought after.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2021
1 point

·

5th Jan 2021

I didn’t even realize there is another listing now. When I bought mine in July, there was only one:

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X/

Either way, it’s safe to say any new purchases are going to the latest revision.

In my eyes, so long as the seller is either Amazon or Hifiman, it should be fine. Personally, whichever one offers Prime shipping, is going to be the best bet, in my opinion. Just because I know if I purchased direct from Hifiman (either on their website, or through Amazon or eBay), they will definitely ship through USPS, and the last couple of purchases with them have been stuck in USPS limbo – not their fault – even though I am only one state over.

I’m not sure how much extra stock I would put towards the other listing claiming to add an additional 3 months of warranty. Judging by how rudimentary Hifiman’s website is, I doubt they care or even differentiate if you registered any valid Sundara serial number.

1 point

·

1st Aug 2020

The MSRP is originally 500$ when they came out but hifiman has dropped the price to 350$ since forever ago.

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X/ref=mp_s_a_1_11?dchild=1&keywords=hifiman+sandra&qid=1596248983&sr=8-11

Be warned there are quality control issues but hifiman has a warranty.

2 points

·

21st Nov 2020

I recently bought the Hifiman Sundara. I was about to go for the Sennheiser HD660S too but I changed my mind. I wanted a more flat/more natural sound, wider soundstage and also wanted to try planar magnetic headphones too – just wanted to try something new. At 37 Ohms they should be easy to drive from a volume point of view just make sure your amp has a output impedance which doesnt color their sound (lower output impedance = less colorization). Your amps output impedance should not exceed 4 Ohms (There are amps which have only 0.01Ohms output impedance (like the Schiit Magni(-us) or other lower output impedance amps) for maximum compatibility).

Beside the output impedance the Sundaras are not really amp depenent. They sound good on anything. I bought mine from thomann.de but aperently these were the last ones they had.

You can still buy them from Amazon for the same price if you are alright with supporting a company like this (sometimes there is no way around that) (349,00€):https://www.amazon.de/-/en/HiFiMAN-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Magnetic-Headphones-black/dp/B077XDWT7X/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=hifiman+sundara&qid=1605986269&sr=8-1

EDIT_1: Never mind – they are back on Thomann too.

Another good thing with them is that you can also replace the cable (which i highly recommend – the stock cable is the only drawback because it is very short (1.5m) and simply wont just lay there but therefore you get very, very good sound for the price (considering they were at 500€-ish for quite a long time). Yes you can get 4-Pin-XLR upgrade cables for balanced and therefore even better sound later.

These are very good headphones for at home use and made it on many audiophiles walls.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
HIFIMAN SUNDARA Over-Ear Full-Size Planar Magneti…$349.00$349.004.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2021

I feel this picture. I want to listen on my PC with my Sundaras, but since you have to install the stupid app I’m forced to use my hip dac and DT990 Pros. Lame.

1 point

·

18th Jun 2021

Deal link: Amazon (additional 15% off coupon on app)


Want additional discounts and coupon codes?

Download newly launched Android App – ShoppingSaga

Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

18th Jun 2021

Deal link: Amazon (additional 15% off coupon on app)


Want additional discounts and coupon codes?

Download newly launched Android App – ShoppingSaga

Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

5th Jun 2021

Ok ok !thanks !

So to be sure, I must buy :

https://jdslabs.com/product/atom-amp/

https://jdslabs.com/product/atom-dac-plus/

https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B077XDWT7X/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A2435OJ0TW27BH&psc=1

​

And do you have a good tutorial for connectors ? Since it’s a whole new world for me 🙁

1 point

·

27th Oct 2020

You need one for headphones that are hard to drive. Typically, the higher the impedance, the more power they need. The 1990s are 250 ohms. For reference, your typical consumer headphones or ear buds are 20-40 ohms.

I have a bunch of questions, and will follow up with a few good recommendations. You can do some research into each headphone to decide.

  1. What kind of music do you listen to?
  2. Do you find bass or treble fatiguing? (Hurts your ears after a while)
  3. Will you be in an environment where others will be talking or get annoyed by hearing your music?
  4. Does the gear need to be new or can you make a deal on r/AVExchange?

Recommendations:

Regardless of the headphone, I suggest you pick up a DAC and amp. This will greatly increase your options and sound quality. There are two main options:

Amp: Schiit Magni 3+ / Magni Heresy, JDS Atom Amp

DAC: Schiit Modi 3, JDS Atom DAC

  1. Sennheiser HD 6XX – $220 new, $180 used.
  2. Hifiman Sundara – $349 new, $300 used.
  3. Sennheiser HD 560S – $200 new. Just came out, so no used market.
  4. Sennheiser HD 660S – $455 new, $370 used.
  5. Sennheiser HD 58X – $170 new, $150 used.
  6. Beyerdynamic DT-1990 Pro – $599 new, $500 used.

If you want more bass and some closed back recommendations, I’ll give you some. For working and listening to music for long periods of time, open backs are going to be a much better option.

Here’s a good intro video for the best under $500. Depends on how much you want to spend on top of the $500 your work is giving you.

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2019

I’d drop the price on the Sundara if I were you. They’re currently $350 shipped on Amazon brand new. https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2019

Decided to look further into these cans, and found some nice plots of it’s frequency response:

https://diyaudioheaven.wordpress.com/headphones/measurements/brands-a-i/dt990-pro-250%CF%89/

https://reference-audio-analyzer.pro/en/report/hp/beyerdynamic-dt-990-pro-250.php

Both demonstrate the audio sound, bit of a U shape with strong upper range peaks. Of course you can EQ this to deal with any sibilance issues and other balancing. I balanced out my Sony MDR-SA5000 headphones with an EQ and now they’re somewhat magical. 🙂 Took a lot of time and tweaking. Tho the unit can be had for $150 on Amazon from BeyerDynamic direct, and thus can be great for starting to get into Headphones.

For me, my next step will probably be the HifiMan Ananda. I’d like to check out the planar drivers. If you would be interested in trying planar magnetic drivers, you can experiment with the HifiMan Sundara at $349

https://smile.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X

1 point

·

23rd May 2020

Focal Clear and Stellia, HifiMAN Ananda, Arya and Jade II, Grado PS1000e and Beyerdynamic DT1990. The DT1990 i owned earlier, but exchanged them for the Sundara. The other models I have borrowed from friends and extended family.

I’d say the Sundara compares well to the sound signature of both the Ananda and the Arya. To me, both the Ananda and Arya feel like superior headphones when it comes to soundstage and imaging, but on the topic of diminishing returns, my claim is that the Sundaras have the edge over it’s bigger brothers. The electrostatic Jade II is somewhat different compared to the other planar magnetic HifiMAN headphones. It’s a really good and interesting headphone, but at $2499 (amp included) the Jade II falls short of providing me with the same value as the Sundara.

I’ve only spent about an hour or so listening to the HifiMAN Shangri-La Jr. in a store and not at home, so you I would not say I have particularly good grounds for a comparison, but my initial impression is that the Sundara is actually a better allrounder than the almost top-of-the-line Shangri-La Jr. With the Shangri-La Jr. it almost feels as if the different elements of the music fight over being the most forward in the mix. Listening mostly to progressive rock, I felt the fatigue kick in pretty quickly.

IMO, both the Focals feel a bit more clouded and not as detailed as the Sundara and I experienced the higher frequencies as a bit recessed compared to the Sundara. The soundstage of the Focals feel more intimate as well. The Focals are still great headphones and the comfort is near perfect, but if I was offered any of the three for free, I’d still choose the Sundara. The Stellia is a closed back headphone, so I don’t know how fair this comparison really is though.

Grados are very interesting due to their unique sound signatures, but for me it comes down to preference and taste. Grados just aren’t for me, sorry.

The DT1990 was a very interesting comparison to the Sundara. A totally different headphone, but still very interesting. At one point you could get them for almost the same price ,at least in my country, and coming from the DT770 this was the only reason I bought them instead of the Sundara in the first place. However, now that I checked the price on Amazon while writing this, the Sundara is $349 and the DT1990 is $629. This makes the value of the Sundara far greater than that of the DT1990, unless your primary use is studio monitoring and you need something very specific.

I know I am extremely biased towards the Sundara, but it is a really good piece of audio equipment regardless of the price. If you factor in the price as well, it is truly spectacular. I really enjoy the idea of a relatively cheap headphone challenging the big dogs out there.

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2019

Cheers, appreciate the response

​

Sundara have a low rating on Amazon (3.6/5) due to build quality issues, so wasn’t sure about going that way

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-SUNDARA-Over-Ear-Full-Size-Headphones/dp/B077XDWT7X

​

AFO’s were borderline out of budget, and I’ve seen 560’s 2nd hand for 1/2 price AFO’s, so was deciding if it was worth twice as much or put my money elsewhere.

​

LCD could be good, so I’ll need to research Sine, LCD2 since EL-8’s are closed.

-5 points

·

18th May 2021

This. I don’t use DTs anymore since I upgraded to the Sundaras, but when I did use the DTs I never felt any discomfort.