What is the opinion of Reddit about the
HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-Size Planar Magnetic Headphones Adjustable Headphone with Comfortable Earpads Open-Back Design Easy Cable Swapping?

A total of 56 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

7th Dec 2017

HE400I is 219.99 right now across a bunch of different sellers on Amazon, including Hifiman themselves.

Anyone buying, make sure it’s an authorized seller or you don’t get your warranty (although I’ve heard that doesn’t mean much with Hifiman… 😛 ). Probably on sale because of the Massdrop 4XXs.

1 point

·

8th Nov 2021

Drop.com and Amazon
They’re sold out on drop right now, but they do have the 5XX for $220. Idk if that’s a good deal or not as I’ve never used or read reviews about them. https://www.amazon.com/HE400i-Full-size-Planar-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672 they’re available on Amazon but at $242. I paid $200 when they were on sale like a year ago from Amazon. Do some research before you impulse buy though. I like to use rtings website for measurements and the main ones I check for are imaging, sound stage and that they’re open back. I also adjust my EQ to get as close as possible to the Harman curve, then I tweak it from there to my liking.

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2019

I had Beats Studios years back and I too thought they were top of the line at the time. I’ve had a listen to them since owning a bunch of high-end pairs and it’s embarrassing lol.

Depends on your budget. My Kaisers are stupidly expensive @ $1800 but that’s what you pay for arguably some of the best audio quality possible, in a portable, earbud package.

These were my first pair after the Beats, plus a headphone amp, which you need to bring out the best in the higher-end headphones. They’ve dropped dramatically in price since I bought around 4 years ago and I can highly recommend them!

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE-400I-Full-size-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672

If you’re interested, give r/audiophile a browse. Though fair warning, the rabbit hole goes deep haha. Good luck!

1 point

·

25th Dec 2017

I went from M50s to HE-400i.

I suggest open back since you have close can already. HE-400i’s bass will sound weak at first but it will come out after burnin. Playing headphone test track and low frequency test on youtube did the trick.

1 point

·

24th Dec 2016

Rush, 400i is on sale for $250 right now, personally, I am not a basshead and find the x2 not overbearing, the bass lift is tasteful, but not my mojo. Again tho, my own opinion.

https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE-400I-Full-size-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1482560299&sr=8-1&keywords=hifiman+he+400i

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2016

If you want something outside of the AKG line to consider, the HE-400i is on sale at the moment.

For her, the ATH-M40x is a respected, balanced set under $100. Don’t get the Philips SHP9500 for her, it fits very loosely even on big heads.

Schiit Magni or Objective 2 would be good choices for an amp. If you don’t have enough to get the matching DAC’s for them, your Fiio 10K can be used as a DAC with the line out on the back.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2016

HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-size Planar Magnetic Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_PsTnyb1RVJ8CH

The ones I ordered… These are the updated ones . right?? Seller is kraft st audio, but I do not have confirmation email from them confirming it is the updated ones.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2016

If you haven’t pulled the trigger on anything yet, the HE-400i is $299 on amazon right now here

1 point

·

28th Dec 2015

http://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE400i-Full-size-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1451327461&sr=8-1&keywords=he400i

HE400i, definitely one of the best deals of the year on a $499 headphone that was considered a steal even at that price.

Compared to DT770: better comfort, open-back, less mid-bass (kick drum), more sub-bass (dubstep bass drop), middle frequencies that sound distant on the DT770 will be brought more forward into the mix – you get a more balanced sound, closer to how your music was made to sound, this is also just my opinion but I notice these headphones really bring out the little details in hip hop, you can hear exactly how the rapper is moving his mouth, if that makes any sense

Get a Magni/Modi 2 for $200 and enjoy one of the best set ups for your music tastes

2 points

·

31st Mar 2021

Best entry level for planars:
jds atom amp/dac combo https://jdslabs.com/product/atom-amp/
Hifiman he400i’s
https://www.amazon.com/HE400i-Full-size-Planar-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672
300$ with tax will kill any and all gaming headsets, used that amp for a while before getting a amp dac combo for balanced outputs, and have heard nothing but good things about the Hifiman he400i’s. Look at the reviews but going to a proper audio setup is like listening to a movie on crappy tv vs watching it at a movie theater. Night and day man. The only time it gets really expensive is after the ~1000$ range because you are chasing fractions of percentile differences.

2 points

·

13th Aug 2018

The HE400i is currently US$179.88 (or maybe US$219) on Amazon and that’s a good price for a good headphone, but Rock, Rap and Hip-Hop suggest you may not enjoy the gentle bass roll-off even if you do enjoy the extension.

You don’t mention budget, but if you’re looking for planar magnetic, then you can get an open box Monoprice Monolith M1060C delivered for US$269. I have and enjoy both, but the M1080C’s low end is way more fun. You can also get an open box Desktop DAC/amp to go with it for $59.

1 point

·

20th Apr 2021

he400-i like a mini sundara.

https://www.amazon.com/HE400i-Full-size-Planar-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672

pre 2020 refresh its better

1 point

·

11th Mar 2021

Just got my first record and now need to get into a turntable setup. I’ve done some research and looked at wirecutter. I’m trying to get a decent beginner setup, nothing fancy and I’ll ONLY listen on a headphone (no intention to go into speakers). And I’ll only listen to records on this, no requirement to connect to a laptop or phone.

Here’s the list I’ve come up with –

Turntable with built in preamp – U Turn Orbit Basic (builtin preamp)
Headphones –  HiFiman HE400I
Headphone amp – Schiit Magni Headphone Amp
Headphone jack converter – 6.3 to 3.5mm

Current cost of this setup is around $600. I’m willing to a little higher if a separate preamp will be better (as opposed to one built in to the turntable).

Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

8th Oct 2020

I’d say get something that is going to have a really fast moving driver, like a planar. You can get the HiFiman HE400i for just over $200 right now; or the HE4xx for $160 on Drop. If you don’t have an amp, you’ll definitely want one, because planars are hard to drive.

1 point

·

11th Feb 2019

Fair enough. At $179, the HE400i is a great deal. At $319 (or $259 refurbished) the HD650 is less competitive. Of course there are deals to be had in r/AVexchange as buyer and seller for those interested in auditioning.

​

I don’t have an opinion on the venerable E10K or the shiny new K3 having tried neither, but FiiO makes comparison easy. As a long-time happy FiiO customer, the only thing which would give me pause before buying the $110 K3 is the $100 Q1 Mark II.

1 point

·

20th Nov 2018

HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-size Planar Magnetic Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_mx18BbHT0EHNP

AKG K702 Reference Class Studio Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001RCD2DW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_1x18BbXZJQBB9

1 point

·

25th Jun 2018
1 point

·

10th Apr 2018

Decided a pair of HIFIMAN HE400I’s and a Modmic 5 should do the trick!

Thanks as always, dear leader.

1 point

·

5th Dec 2017

I have HT Omega – eClaro soundcard. I have been pairing it with ATH-50 with no problem. I just received HE-400i, but the volume output is not as good. I tried raising the preamp on Equalizer APO, but it distorts the sound too much. Do I need a dedicated amp run these? If yes, I’m looking at $100-$280 budget range.

Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

25th Dec 2017

I just got this and this for Christmas, and I was wondering if there are any windows-specific settings that I need to configure in order to take full advantage of the headphones. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2017

fritobugger,
last, last question 😀
I saw these headphones on sale and it’s still around my price
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1&smid=A2RJQ91IHY4NS4
should I order these or the k553?

1 point

·

7th Nov 2017
1 point

·

17th Nov 2017

One more question for you. Would this and this be a better combination for overall sound quality? I don’t mind the fact that it’s open-ended, as long as it sounds better.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2017

For a standard desktop PC setup, is this and this all I need to start using the headphones? In other words, are there any additional cables or components that I’ll need to buy?

1 point

·

17th Aug 2017

Thanks for the response! What are your thoughts on the HD650 compared to HIFIMAN HE-400I – currently at $250.

Also, I’m not very familiar with amps, so would an extra $100 investment be worth it, or would the ones you recommended (I think these) be just fine?

1 point

·

22nd May 2017

Is there a reason that the HIFIMAN HE400i are cheaper on ebay? They’re $240 on ebay but cost $450 on amazon and on the HIFIMAN website.

1 point

·

18th Feb 2017
1 point

·

7th Feb 2017

HE-400i is back down to $250 at Amazon.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2017

is this the same thing? https://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE-400I-Full-size-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672

I just impulse bought it cause it was $155, but then I realized there was a 400i listed elsewhere 😐

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2017

Looking at upgrading from ye olde ATH-AD700 to the HIFIMAN HE-400i, any other/better upgrades for the price?

1 point

·

12th Dec 2016

You can get HIFIMAN HE-400I for $300 new and they are open backed headphones.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2016

HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-size Planar Magnetic Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_43.wybTFFFZF4

Are these not these same model going for 250?

1 point

·

24th Nov 2016

Did you get these: HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-size Planar Magnetic Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_PsTnyb1RVJ8CH

From Kraft Street Audio?

1 point

·

24th Nov 2016

Did you buy these from Kraft Street audio?

HIFIMAN HE-400I Over Ear Full-size Planar Magnetic Headphones https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MULH672/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_PsTnyb1RVJ8CH

0 points

·

23rd Jan 2016

Hey, so I’m pretty sure they’re going for 437 on amazon though. Right? http://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE400i-Full-size-Magnetic-Headphones/dp/B00MULH672

0 points

·

6th Feb 2015

soundcard doesn’t do shit. most pros use around 100-200 dollar headsets. don’t buy 5.1 or 7.1 “headset” you have two ears. you only need two speakers. sub 500?

http://www.amazon.com/HIFIMAN-HE-400i-Full-Size-Magnetic-Headphone/dp/B00MULH672/ref=pd_sim_e_46?ie=UTF8&refRID=06AM92SCX29NDMQMCZTQ