What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Hario V60 “Buono” Drip Kettle Stovetop Gooseneck Coffee Kettle 1.2L, Stainless Steel, Silver?

A total of 15 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2021

I got the hario kettle a couple of weeks back

https://smile.amazon.de/gp/product/B000IGOXLS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_image?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I absolutely love it, what stands out to me is the goose and the way it pours water.

James hoffmann did a kettle video, you might want to check that out

1 point

·

7th Jan 2021

I use a Hario stovetop kettle. i know this isn’t what you’re asking for, but this is most likely gonna last me for life. It’s a solid steel kettle for your stovetop, it boils water. I have a induction stove, so it’s just as fast as a electric kettle.

This is the one btw:
https://www.amazon.com/Hario-V60-Buono-Stainless-Gooseneck/dp/B000IGOXLS

1 point

·

20th Jun 2016

https://www.amazon.com/Hario-VKB-120HSVV60-Buono-Pouring-Kettle/dp/B000IGOXLS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466443094&sr=8-1&keywords=hario+gooseneck+kettle

That’s the Kettle that I bought. It is a great kettle and makes chemex much easier than a ‘normal’ kettle. One thing I’ve found, it has not aged well. Using it stovetop has lead to a LOT of discoloration on the outside.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2015

Thank you!

I was gifted this beauty for my birthday and with my ever-so-present desire for a Chemex, it was my green light. I got a sweet deal on it, too, as World Market had a great Black Friday sale on the 8-cup.

1 point

·

12th Aug 2015

Very solid. I was actually going to get that exact kettle for myself, but my fiancee surprised me with this stovetop kettle for my birthday.

Intuitively what you said makes sense — varying temp based on the length of the brew method at hand. For now I guess I’ll just focus on grind, ratio, and timing. Temperature is too fickle a variable, and from everything I’ve read it doesn’t appear to make too big of a difference.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2015

I don’t think this will give you the same control as a gooseneck kettle – it is wide at the base and then comes to a narrower (but still wide) end.

Why couldn’t you do this (it’s amazon prime available – i.e. no shipping costs from japan): http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hario-1-Piece-Stainless-Coffee-Kettle/dp/B000IGOXLS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1424556891&sr=8-1&keywords=hario+buono

1 point

·

8th Jan 2015

Jumping on the back of this post. I received a £30 amazon voucher off my employer for Christmas. I also received a v60 off my girlfriend and quickly noticed that a gooseneck kettle would be beneficial. Can anyone recommend this one? The price seems quite cheap compared to others I’ve seen amazon

3 points

·

22nd May 2017

The Hario gooseneck is floating around the lowest price it’s ever been on Amazon. According to camelcamelcamel:

Currently: $33.49
Lowest: $30.97

2 points

·

14th Apr 2018

I actually bought mine on Amazon. I’m not home so I can’t check, but the Amazon page says it’s made in Japan:

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B000IGOXLS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

21st Nov 2021

Let me also add, if you’re looking for a kettle: This one for pour-overs is great, I bougth one 6 years ago and still use it:

https://www.amazon.co.jp/HARIO-V60-Kettle-Coffe-VKB-120HSV/dp/B000IGOXLS

I actually boil water in a regular tea kettle; when it boils, I pour it (fat mouth) into this kettle (since this kettle is perfect for pouring BUT doesn’t “whistle”, it’s harder to know when the water is boiling), and then use it for a pourover.

The act of transferring the boiling water to the above pouring kettle (unheated) lowers the temp of the water by about 5-10 degrees, making it the prefect temp for brewing coffee.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2018

I love my Hario Buono and it’s what you see in most shops near me (Midwest)

https://www.amazon.com/Hario-Buono-Kettle-1200ml-Silver/dp/B000IGOXLS

1 point

·

16th Feb 2018

Hmmm I see, would you recommend the hario buono or the non temp adjustable bonavita electric kettle?

Yeah, I made my first cup today with a standard kettle and it was just too hard to pour due to lack of accuracy and consistency of the stream.

1 point

·

18th Feb 2016

The 1.2L hario was only $38 last time I checked. And it still is

0 points

·

8th Jun 2017

/u/phawtnawsty:

To me, the important parts of pourover with manual grinding is more in the experience for the user compared to the exactness of everything.

Get whatever products you feel good about getting, and be sure they fit budget–ya gotta be able to buy coffee to make coffee.

I saw that the hario VKB 1.2 liter was on sale through amazon link

A higher end model is the Bonavita, but that is really just because it comes with an electric, less than exact, heating base. link to amazon

In reality, you can find fanboys of both, and there are benefits to “dialing in” your temperature; however, using a manual grinder, and doing stove top until the water boils is all that is really necessary, and electric heating pads are almost never very accurate.

Eventually, ie 2 years, you’ll need to replace the 6 USD v60. I recommend using the 20 USD ceramic amazon.

Similarly, I have heard very few complaints about the Hario Skerton Mills amazon and you can get an official upgrade kit that stabilizes lower burr to produce a more consistent coarse grind amazon link.

A price breakdown would lend itself to the following for this setup:

TypeItemPrice
GrinderHario Skerton$39.37 @ Amazon
KettleHario VKB-120HSVV60 Buono Pouring Kettle, 1.2 litre$33.89 @Amazon Saving 49%
Coffee DripperHario V60 Ceramic Coffee Dripper (size 02, white)$19.46 @ Amazon
Grinder UpgradeBlue Horse Products Hario Skerton Upgrade Kit$10.99 @ Amazon
Total$103.71

You’d have about a hundred dollars left in budget, so you could buy an encore refurb from Baratza.

~~I hope my table worked~~ 😀
edit: fixed my table

0 points

·

28th Mar 2017

The bonavita has problems with the spout falling off. Spend less money get more capacity and reliability https://www.amazon.com/Hario-VKB-120HSVV60-Buono-Pouring-Kettle/dp/B000IGOXLS