What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Hamilton Beach Electric Tea Kettle, Water Boiler & Heater, 1.7 L, Cordless, Auto-Shutoff and Boil-Dry Protection, Stainless Steel (40880)?

A total of 6 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2021

Do you mean an electric kettle? If so, Hamilton Beach makes a really good one. Mine’s about 6 years old, but a family member has one that’s around 10 years old and still working well.

This link is a similar one by the same company:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UFQ2LJ2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_SJNWESRDC4QJ60XKQDDE?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Keep in mind that boiling water should only be used on silicone toys like dildos without any electronics in them. Not on silicone vibrators or anything like that. Even if you’re not immersing it, the heat can damage the electronics.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2019

> With an electric kettle it would take 20-30 mins guaranteed.

That’s rather different to answers to this question on an example Amazon review of a US 1.7L electric kettle here.

>how long does it take to boil?
>Answer:
If I remember correctly, a full pot of cold water takes no more than 5 minutes.
By Larry Dee on November 14, 2016
I timed it twice…The first time it boiled in 4:37 , the second time, 4:45…..each time using a full pot (to the full line).
By Angie on March 12, 2017
1.7 lt of cold water – took 7 minutes
By mari on December 20, 2016
I’d say 3-5 minutes
By dancemom on November 14, 2016
just a few minutes, depending on how much water is in there, less than 5 minutes for a liter
By Laura Mendley on November 14, 2016
Approximately one minute.
By Mary on November 14, 2016
Did not actually check the minutes to reach boiling point, but it is really quick. I find it very good and fast. It’s a keeper with daily uses. Love it

Clearly those kind of answers not the ultimate in scientific tests, but…

1 point

·

4th Feb 2019

Get yourself one! I have https://www.amazon.com/Hamilton-Beach-40880C-Electric-Stainless/dp/B00UFQ2LJ2/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1549264784&sr=8-3&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65 . It is slower than an electric kettle in the UK as it is about half the power but it’s still much quicker and more convenient than using a kettle on the hob or the microwave.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2017

that’s a little out of my price range – is it worth the xtra $10 or do you think I would be ok going with this one (from the same brand)?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UFQ2LJ2/ref=psdc_289753_t1_B0083I7THI

edit – I know he’d love the temperature control on the one you linked, so maybe I’ll go for it. But unlike him I’m not into coffee, so does the specific temperature rather than just generally boiling make a big difference for you?

1 point

·

7th Mar 2022

FWIW, I have an older version of this one: https://www.amazon.com/Hamilton-Beach-Electric-Stainless-40880-dp-B00UFQ2LJ2/dp/B00UFQ2LJ2/ref=dp_ob_title_kitchen?th=1

Purchased in 2012, used at least 4-5 times a week and still going strong. I can’t speak to the longevity of the newer model, but my old one provides boiling water faster than doing it on the stove.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2021

I take it you mean <$50, not >$50.

There ate plenty of electric kettles in that price range. Here’s one example:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UFQ2LJ2/ref=cm\_sw\_em\_r\_mt\_dp\_QQR6FBNX9VRE8T8F308H