What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL?

A total of 122 reviews of this product on Reddit.

22 points

·

31st Dec 2019

Hey – have you been checked by a doctor for eczema at all? Mine started on my hands around the time I first started in care (washing hands/bacterial gel etc).

I got a prescription cream from my GP to help with the open wounds but when it’s not flared up I use a hyaluronic serum followed with a good hand cream (I love stuff from The Body Shop).

Link below to Amazon for the serum I use:

https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?keywords=premium+hyaluronic+solution&qid=1577833602&sr=8-4

This has really helped my hands, winter makes the dry and soreness so much worse but I’ve found this reduces the pain and cracked skin significantly.

7 points

·

8th May 2019

You can order it from amazon.

Here’s the link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hadalabo-Institute-Gokujun-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?keywords=hada+labo&qid=1557313179&s=gateway&sr=8-4

I’ve never used the beauty samples and I didn’t know you could choose. I’m pretty sure it’s random.
Sorry if I couldn’t help.

3 points

·

4th Jan 2021

The extra lotion treatment?

I LOVE the hado labo premium lotion.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_b8P8Fb0Q2WFBQ

It is a base for all my hydration needs.

All the details on the bobbi body seem to fit what I describe the hado labo. It’s a major hit on skincare addiction and it’s been a staple for me for 4 years.

2 points

·

26th Jan 2017

It’s on Amazon Prime for $15 here.

2 points

·

12th Jul 2017

You mean on Amazon and not elsewhere (in the West)?

For a hyaluronic acid serum, Hadalabo Gokujun Premium Hyaluronic Solution is head and shoulders above similar formulas, and on a $/ml basis, beats most by 10x or even 100x the price on a per ml basis.

Around $12 for 170ml where you can pay $40 for 30ml for something even close in the West.

https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/

2 points

·

21st Mar 2018

I got my current bottle on Amazon, I think this one: https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=sr_1_1_a_it?dd=QM4OHIpkfryXP5Ru2Q5kDg%2C%2C&ddc_refnmnt=pfod&ie=UTF8&qid=1521655872&sr=8-1&keywords=hada+labo+premium&refinements=p_97%3A1…

It was Prime and the seller had good reviews so I went for it. Was happy. Before that I bought a different bottle from another seller on Amazon and it is also fine, but took about 1.5 months to arrive because it was shipped from Japan (I am in the US).

2 points

·

27th Mar 2019

This is the amazon link for the Hada Labo Premium Lotion

But depending on where you live it might be cheaper off dokedemo or yesstyle (there are a ton of other places to get it off of, those are the two I’ve used and been happy with)

2 points

·

8th Mar 2019

I purchase it from Japan to save on import costs but if you live in Canada they have it at TnT supermarket or some other Asian stores.

I think it’s also available on amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

2 points

·

3rd Mar 2019

Hi there!

I just wanted to let you know that Automod has removed your comment because it contains an Amazon referral link, which we don’t allow in the sub.

Could you please edit the URL the the Hada Labo Lotion (the rest are fine!) so that everything from (and including) “tag=” is removed? Here’s the referral-free URL for an easy copy & paste:

https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/

If you’ve done that, please reply to this message so I can approve your comment. Thank you!

1 point

·

9th Mar 2022

In my experience, the best hyaluronic acid is this one: Hadalabo Gokujyun Premium Hyaluronic Acid. It cost about $15 per bottle.

When I put hyaluronic acid on twice a day, I see results in about a week!

Here’s what I know about pigmentation:

I have post inflammatory hyperpigmentation (PIH), which is basically acne scars that look like small dark spots. I learned that my skin needed Vitamin C (L-ascorbic acid powder) in order for the dark marks to fade.

To use it, I mix a small amount of the powder with hyaluronic acid. After it dissolves, I put the mixture all over my face. When I use that every night, for me it starts fading the marks within a few days.

Pure L-ascorbic acid powder is very strong though, and it can feel really tingly and weird for sensitive skin, so it might be too much for your skin type. Either way, I hope this info helps!

1 point

·

30th Nov 2021

OP, this is a great recommendation. The retinol will start improving your skin. I only have 2 more recommendation for your extremely dry skin. Your dry skin may be due to your skin barrier is compromised.

Use a glycerin based toner such as Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion.

After you wash your face, slightly dampen your skin with water and then apply the toner above and spread.

Immediately apply CeraVe Renewing Night Cream to seal in the hydration.

​

On the very cold nights, your heater will be running longer thus drying your skin out. Add a layer of petrolatum (AKA Vaseline or Aquaphor). This is the best moisturizing product for dry skin. It has a bad rap because of the texture. But by doing these steps, you are essentially made a “water cream” – hydrating and moisturizing.

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2021

Differin is exceptional, my dermatologist recommends it to me for my entire face. It dries your skin out like crazy (as I see you’ve noted in your comment), this stuff was recommended on one of the skincare subs and it was a gamechanger for me re: the dryness that resulted from Differin. Highly recommend for treatment-caused dryness.

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

2nd this and also trying /r/AsianBeauty techniques. The hado labo lotion (https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=pd_lpo_2?pd_rd_i=B013HHJV0C&th=1) before my moisturizer was the only thing that stops by skin from flaking and peeling off from tret. I did my tret, 2 layers of the hado labo and then my moisturizer before bed and my skin was glowing.

1 point

·

7th Apr 2021

You’re welcome! I have had similar frustrations in the past and am eager to share my hard-won knowledge (it def didn’t come quickly or cheaply lol). I know it sucks to buy products not knowing if they will work for you at all, but here’s suggestions for a few budget ones that have made makeup look remarkably better on my dry skin:

As far as blending sponges, they are not all created equal. I love the original one but I think Sephora’s is also great for half the price. Some of the super-budget ones I have not had such good results with but I know some people swear by them (the $1 AOA blenders for example). I do want to sing the praises of a particular $1 AOA brush, though, that I think makes foundation buff on beautifully– the E103 Kabuki Brush. It’s big and soft but also angular enough to hit all areas of your face, and it doesn’t leave bristle marks the way a lot of brushes do. I especially like to use it with a K-beauty foundation called L.O.C.K. It Good Boundation, which is lightweight in relation to its medium coverage (can be built up to concealer-level though!) and has a sheeny, healthy-looking finish that I think you might like. It’s also drugstore-priced. My favorite product to use as a “primer” is simply The Ordinary’s $8 Natural Moisturizing Factors + HA because it’s totally non-greasy, preps the skin nicely, and I’ve never had it react weirdly with any makeup product. But the biggest game-changer for me in terms of skin prep and hydration has been Hada Labo hyaluronic solution. If I apply it immediately after showering/ washing my face, my skin rarely feels thirsty and flakiness is kept at bay.

I like your plants analogy! Caring for sensitive skin really can feel a lot like attempting to discern the needs of plants!

1 point

·

14th Dec 2020

Ah, gotcha. That is really surprising that your dermatologist recommended ACV — there is no evidence base that it improves or protects your skin. Most research finds that it leads to further irritation and skin burns, especially if used over time.

Out of all the products I mentioned the Zeroid cream has been a holy grail for me when I first started using tretinoin. It completely transformed my face since it is one of the very few properly formulated barrier creams with the ideal proportion of ceramides, cholesterol, and fatty acids (3:1:1).

I’d recommend that you only wash your face once a day at night; again, cleansing still strips your skin, so you want to minimize that as much as possible. In the evening use multiple layers of moisture (look into a good hyaluronic acid) and lock it in with a decent occulsive such as squalane or CeraVe Healing Ointment. Vaseline (aka “slugging”) can be…a bit much for some people. The best time to do this routine is while your face is still damp so you can lock in all of that moisture.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2020

Hey! Just wanted to let you know that Automod has removed your comment because it contains an Amazon referral link, which we don’t allow in the sub.

Could you please edit the URL for the amazon link so that everything from (and including) “tag=” is removed? Here’s the tag free link for an easy copy & paste: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B013HHJV0C/

If you’ve done that, please reply to this message so I can approve your comment 😀

1 point

·

10th Nov 2020

I only do retinol a few days a week but I still put some essence on my face followed by my HA while damp, then after it’s absorbed I do my retinol. I also love Skinceuticals HA Intensifier but try to only buy it during the sales on Dermstore. A sale starts tomorrow 15% Skinceuticals actually with promo code SKINC15! However when I ran out of my Skinceuticals, I bought Hada Labo Gokujun HA. It’s much cheaper $15 on Amazon and is very hydrating. I’m using this as an alternative when I don’t have HA Intensifier.

Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_em_api_fabt1_xmLQFb5JDGXKS

1 point

·

21st Jul 2018

I just bought the Hada Labo Premium Lotion on Amazon the other night, a little impulsively I should add; I should have done more research as to its authenticity. Does anyone have any insight as to if it’s genuine? Link: hada labo It’s all on me if it’s fake, and I will make sure to buy from more reputable sources if so.

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2019

amazon

Is this what your talking about? Also, I’ve been patch testing squalene and so far so good 😊

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2019

The Hada Labo? Either eBay or Amazon. I got mine on Amazon, and it was sent from Japan.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2019

Just curious where you buy the Hada Labo Premium Lotion (the orange bottle, third pic down that you linked to) as well as the American Version gel cream.

I searched on Amazon and got a bunch of results, top one is about $13 but the seller (maker?) name is Skin Research (HadaRabo), so I can’t tell if it’s legit (typo or real name of brand, with an R instead of an L in there).
Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL by Tokyo Beauty Secrets (Fast Shipping from USA) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_2fPUDbG349KKP

1 point

·

11th Sep 2020

This. I’ve had genetic dark undereye circles forever, even as a kid it looked like I was tired or had black eyes. The best fix I’ve found is hyaluronic acid, and using it correctly is very important. HA draws moisture into your skin, so applying on a dry face won’t do much. Put like 4 drops on your face and mist your face with water until the tacky feeling goes away- any cheap spray bottle with filtered water will do. I’ve found a little goes a long way but I didn’t notice effects until I started misting my face 4 or 5 times and letting the product dry.

I use Hada Labo Japan’s premium hyaluronic acid. You can search it on Amazon, it’s the most cost effective and has 5 different molecular weights so it absorbs better.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_FP4wFb6T6FEJX

Hope this works for you OP! Dark circles aren’t the worst thing, honestly your skin looks great.

1 point

·

20th May 2020

I purchase the one that’s Amazon choice and it’s been great. I’ve had it for a month and it’s barely gone down a bit. It’s so hydrating you don’t need much. You’ll love it. It has no fragrance at all & dries down without a tacky feeling.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_dZzXEb1JEV0ZC

1 point

·

12th Aug 2019

I’m using the one that everyone loves…. I can’t remember what it’s called, I’ll look it up and get back to you.

EDIT: it’s this!

1 point

·

11th Jul 2019

Skin type combination, very sensitive, acne prone, 20s.
Product link: https://www.amazon.ca/Japanese-Cosmetic-Gokujun-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

I have been using the golden toner (premium ver.) for about 7 months now, currently on my second bottle and it’s my step 1 after washing face.
I also have used about half bottle of the white toner (normal version) but did not like as much, was not as hydrating, and my skin had dry patches after using it.

The golden toner has a thicker consistency, and it is quickly absorbed into the skin. It sucks up my serums and make those absorb faster as well. I love this toner as it can be layered in cold winters and protect my skin from drying out in the wind.

I am also waiting for my online order for Hada labo shirojyun premium toner and cream. Planning to use this for summer, and the golden bottle for winter.

Will update in 3 months on how my skin react to the shirojyun.

P.S Apologies for formatting, on cellphone.

1 point

·

13th Jul 2019

I have the same skin as you. Paula’s Choice Clear (2%BHA) twice a day kept my nose from getting clogged pores. I still have small sebaceous filaments there.

Going to add this Hyaluronic acid as a toner to see if it helps

Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_pYGkDbH8P4RHF

1 point

·

18th Apr 2019

It’s the Hada Labo Gokujun/Gokujyn Hyaluronic Acid Lotion. There’s three kinds: the premium (it’s in an orange bottle) is the most hydrating, it’s SUPER rich. Then there’s the moist, which is a bit less, and good if the premium was simply TOO rich (some people get congested from it. It’s worth trying it to see if it works for you or not). Then there’s the light which is even lighter.

Premium: https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

1 point

·

19th Aug 2018

Hi! The Hada Labo Lotion in Moist is pretty good for hydrating and it doesn’t feel heavy as it’ll absorb right in. But for your dehydrated skin, I would suggest the Hada Labo HA Lotion in Premium (the gold bottle) as it is insanely hydrating without it being too heavy! But you might wanna check your humidity level as hyaluronic acids would draw out water from your skin if the humidity is not enough for it to pull water from the surrounding. Hope this helps!

1 point

·

17th May 2018

So that means those oils broke you out as well? I actually meant facial oils that stay on the skin such as rosehip or squalane. A good option is to mix some facial oil with a hydrating toner as your moisturizer if nothing else works. For example, I use 3 drops rosehip seed oil + 4 drops Hada Labo Premium toner. I don’t know if this will break you out though

Hydrating toners are like the Thayers toner except hydrating. You still need to seal in the hydration with either a moisturizer or by mixing an oil

1 point

·

18th Mar 2018

Does this look like a legit product?
From a real seller? (Hadarabo)

Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_KvJRAb60FHYMB

Also it says hylauronic solution instead of lotion, is it the same thing?

1 point

·

13th Feb 2018

Go for Hada Labo Premium. It is technically a toner, but it has 5 types of HA and is so thick and moisturizing that it’s basically a hyaluronic serum. You get a large bottle for a reasonable price too

1 point

·

6th Feb 2018

Can anyone give me the lowdown on this product?
How to use, things to avoid doing, good combos, etc. I was recently recommended a hyaluronic product to help with really dry skin and I bought this on a bit of an impulse with minimal research. I have heard that it is best to use on wet skin, and water helps the effect of the product. Is this correct? How can I best implement this to help my skin? I’m sorry it is a few more than one question. I can make a separate post if need be. Thanks so much!

1 point

·

20th Nov 2016

You can get the HL Premium on Amazon for $13.56 right now. 🙂 The shipping from Japan is surprisingly fast!

1 point

·

1st May 2016

You’re right, I just added the product to my post in /r/absamplewap – only one way to find out for sure. When you say HL Premium toner, do you mean this one?

See, that’s my problem with water too! I definitely need to get the sweat off my face after the gym, I’m just terrified I’ll dry myself out + suffer the resulting ~3 weeks of skin-centric repercussions. Have you tried any micellar/cleansing waters by chance? I figure any starting point is a good one. [Related: Started to experience the same problem on my chest & back… I’ve been patch testing Cosrx BHA blackhead 1x every other day on my back and I think that’s starting to help. Still – forgot this was the one downer about working out consistently! :(]

1 point

·

8th Mar 2016

This is a non affiliated amazon link

Yup! It’s a yellow/gold bottle. I bought it when I saw a seller was selling it for $10 shipped on amazon and I couldn’t resist haha…. but I don’t think I’ve ever seen it that low since :S

405 points

·

9th Feb 2018

Antioxidants:

Hydrators & Oils:

More Molecules:

110 points

·

29th Jan 2019

Your skin type, skin concerns, and skin goals: PIH, hyperpigmentation, occasional hormonal acne, anti-aging. I’m (27F) getting married later this year and have gotten serious (AKA completely addicted to) skincare in hopes of being pHoTo ReAdY oN tHe BiG dAy. My focus is hydration to help my skin handle Curology and Vitamin C.

Routine:

AM:

  • Splash with water
  • Stratia C+C Serum
  • CeraVe Moisturizing Cream
  • Klairs Soft Airy UV Essence SPF 50 PA++++

PM:

  • Stratia Velvet Cleansing Milk
  • Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion
  • Stratia Liquid Gold
  • Radha Rosehip Oil (around eyes)
  • CeraVe Moisturizing Cream
  • Wait ~30 minutes
  • 4-5x/week: Curology (.009% Tretinoin, 1% Clindamycin, 9% Azelaic Acid)
  • Spot treatment as needed: Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10 (non-Curology nights), Hanhoo Acne Spot Patch (not pictured)
  • CeraVe Healing Ointment (non-Curology nights)

Reviews

  1. Stratia Velvet Cleansing Milk – I love this stuff. It’s gentle, moisturizing, effective at removing makeup/sunscreen, and has a pleasant buttery scent (no fragrance). It’s a little pricier than I’d like to pay for a cleanser but my love for this knows no bounds.
  2. Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion – I totally get it. This is a great product. I replaced my TO HA+B5 with this and it totally trumps it. It’s super hydrating and comes in a huge bottle.
  3. Stratia C+C Serum – As long as your face is cool with silicones, this is an excellent Vitamin C serum. It spreads easily and does what it’s supposed to. I’m pretty freckly and have some sun damage as well as PIH from acne and this serum has noticeably brightened my face up. I recently ordered Shero Science Power-C serum because it looked like a good dupe for Skinceuticals CE, but given the recent sketchiness of that company I’ll probably be repurchasing Stratia C+C once I use that bottle up…unless the Shero one is an actual worker of miracles.
  4. Curology – I have been #blessed by this product. I was surprised with how tough it was for my skin to adjust to such a small percentage of tret (burning moisturizer YIKES!), but it’s worth it. I’ve just switched things around so I’m applying this after my moisturizers and that’s made a huge difference. Since adding this to my routine I’ve had a significant decrease in active breakouts.
  5. Stratia Liquid Gold – This is a pretty recent addition, but so far so good. It smells a little weird (anyone else notice this?) but it’s extremely moisturizing and the science behind the product is very exciting for the skincare nerd in me. Also, I’m relatively pale and haven’t had any problem with a yellow tint.
  6. CeraVe Moisturizing Cream – It’s good. Y’all know.
  7. Radha Rosehip Oil – I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to finish this giant bottle. I haven’t noticed any massive changes since I started using this product, but I do like paying a little extra attention to my eyes. It’s definitely moisturizing and has been shown to have some positive effects when used over an extended period of time…so I guess I’m planning on using it for an extended period of time.
  8. Klairs Soft Airy UV Essence SPF 50 PA++++ – HALLELUJAH. It seemed like my quest for sunscreen was eternal, but alas, I have found the one. Excellent sun protection, cruelty free, no alcohol, zero white cast, niacinimide, big cute bottle. This stuff is fantastic.
  9. CeraVe Healing Ointment – Slug life is the life for me. Any time I layer this on at night I wake up lookin’ REAL smooth. I like the addition of hyaluronic acid and ceramides, although I’m not sure if they make the most significant difference. This does an excellent job at helping with wound recovery for active acne.
  10. Clean & Clear Persa-Gel 10 – A friend of mine who’s in medical school recommended that I get this product. It works. If I put it on an angry zit, its size and redness typically go down a good amount overnight. Beware of stained pillow cases though.
  11. Hanhoo Acne Spot Patches – I am OBSESSED with these things. I don’t know how I survived as a pimple-having person before discovering hydrocolloid bandages. These are only $2 USD, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Absofuckinglutely great.
27 points

·

17th Jan 2019

Sometimes skin is just naturally oily! As long as you’ve ruled out dehydrated or damaged skin, there’s nothing wrong with using oil controlling methods. You probably already have a lot of these down, but I’m just gonna include the whole list for good measure (compiled from the oily skin HG threads, hydrating toner recs, and research)


Management

Lightweight, matte drying products

These won’t reduce oil, but lightweight, matte products can offer better cosmetic acceptability than heavier, greasy products.

Hydrating Serums & Toners:

Light Lotions & Emulsions:

Gels & Gel-Creams:

Thicker Lotions:

Sunscreen:


Oil Control

Some methods for oil control include:

Astringent toners

BHAs [1]

which you’ve already got, but I’ll include it for others who are following this post

Blotting sheets


Oil Production

As for actually decreasing oil production, topical retinoids will help [2]. Retinoids are the big guns of skincare, but if you have excessively oily skin that is difficult to manage using the above products, it might be worth looking into. The retinoid wiki will be going live in a few weeks, so keep an eye out for that!


Resources


25 points

·

30th Jan 2019

Oh my dear you need a dose of Asian Beauty product in your life.

Asian skincare, if you go for the right brands, are super effective, affordable, and they dont usually skimp on aesthetics either.

I personally use cerave cream, and a boring ass cleanser (vanicream). Nothing wrong with using the basic stuff for those steps.

The fun part comes by adding in a few additional steps of some nice stuff. Heres where your serums/ampoules/essences come in

  1. Up first, everyones favorite Hada Labo Hyaluronic Premium. Probably the best/highly regarded hyaluronic product
  2. Next, Cezanne High Moist, contains ceramides, aloe, and all the amino acids you could want
  3. Then theres Kikumasamune Lotion, which is a ferment lotion made from sake
  4. Skin1004 Centella Ampoule pure centella ampoule (centella is an amazing ingredient for healing)
  5. Farm Stay Honey Ampoule this one contains honey, niacinamide, royal jelly
  6. Klairs Supple Preparation Toner contains licorice root
  7. Mizon Collagen Sereum contains collagen, birch sap, and others
  8. Cosrx Snail Power Essence has the ever sought after snail mucin

The list goes on and on. You can check our r/AsianBeauty for more. Or just browse around YesStyle.com for more beauty products than you could ever ask for. I mean… how cute is THIS!?

You can use 1 or many in your routine at your leisure, I keep lots of different serums/ampoules on hand and play around with different products on different days. Keeps the routine fun and interesting, while not breaking the bank. It would be cleanse -> essences/amouples/serums -> moisturize. That middle step can be as many products as your skin can handle. Thats how people get up to the “10 step routine”

Anyway, hope Ive helped!

​

​

19 points

·

11th Jan 2018

I keep linking to a list I made a while ago of hydrating/moisturizing products for dry/dehydrated/damaged skin, but I figured I should probably expand it and have it in a proper place instead of a random thread from forever ago.

Note the date of reviews – the products may have been reformulated since, so be sure to double check on cosdna or wherever to make sure you know the most up-to-date ingredients list!


Recs for hydrating serums & toners:

the serums & toners HG thread,

> * Scinic Honey All In One Ampoule (review, jolse)

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice SKIN RECOVERY Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

the dry & dehydrated skin thread,

> * RUMASE BIFIDA Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

and AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Dear by Enprani Moistfull Booskin (review)

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence (review, jolse)

> * Guerisson 9-Complex Horse Oil Essence (review)

> * Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Serum (review, jolse)

> * Superdrug Simple Hydrating Serum (review, £2.99 on superdrug)

> * Scinic Aqua AIO Ampoule (review, jolse)


Recs for emulsions & light lotions:

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Skin Watchers Ceramizing Essence Toner (first impressions review)

> * Holika Holika – Skin & Good Cera Ceramide Ultra Toner (review, jolse)

> * Thank You Farmer Miracle Age Emulsion (review)

> * COSRX Oil-Free Ultra Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap (review, jolse)

> * Nature Republic Snail Solution Emulsion (review, jolse)

the dry & dehydrated skin thread

> * Dr. Jart ceramidin liquid (review, amazon)

my own recs:

> * Innisfree Green Tea Moisture Essence (review – coming soon!, jolse)


Recs for gels:

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Rosette Ceramide Gel (review, amazon)

> * Hada Labo Rohto Gokujun Perfect Gel (review, amazon)

> * Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream (review, jolse)

> * Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Moisture Watery Cream (review, jolse)

> * Skin Ceramic Donkey Milk Yogurt All-In-One Gel Cream (review, yesstyle)


Continued below…

If anyone has additional recs for products & threads to peruse, lemme know!! I’ll be adding to this list as I come across things 😀

18 points

·

11th Feb 2018

Hydrators & Oils:

<strong>CONTINUED BELOW</strong>

16 points

·

11th Feb 2018

I’ve made a list of product recs for this!

Recs for hydrating serums & toners:

the serums &amp; toners HG thread,

> * Scinic Honey All In One Ampoule (review, jolse)

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice SKIN RECOVERY Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

the dry &amp; dehydrated skin thread,

> * RUMASE BIFIDA Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

and AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Dear by Enprani Moistfull Booskin (review)

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * COSRX Galactomyces 95 Whitening Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence (review, jolse)

> * Guerisson 9-Complex Horse Oil Essence (review)

> * Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Serum (review, jolse)

> * Superdrug Simple Hydrating Serum (review, £2.99 on superdrug)

> * Scinic Aqua AIO Ampoule (review, jolse)


Recs for emulsions & light lotions:

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Skin Watchers Ceramizing Essence Toner (first impressions review)

> * Holika Holika – Skin & Good Cera Ceramide Ultra Toner (review, jolse)

> * Thank You Farmer Miracle Age Emulsion (review)

> * COSRX Oil-Free Ultra Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap (review, jolse)

> * Nature Republic Snail Solution Emulsion (review, jolse)

the dry &amp; dehydrated skin thread

> * Dr. Jart ceramidin liquid (review, amazon)

my own recs:

> * Innisfree Green Tea Moisture Essence (review – coming soon!, jolse)


Recs for gels:

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliation skin

> * Rosette Ceramide Gel (review, amazon)

> * Hada Labo Rohto Gokujun Perfect Gel (review, amazon)

> * Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream (review, jolse)

> * Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Moisture Watery Cream (review, jolse)

> * Skin Ceramic Donkey Milk Yogurt All-In-One Gel Cream (review, yesstyle)

13 points

·

18th Sep 2020

Read this post about BC and acne: https://www.acneeinstein.com/birth-control-acne/

If you’re on the type of BC that’s supposed to treat acne, it will take at least 3 months to see results. I know it’s hard to be patient, but the results will be worth it.

Just FYI, rose water doesn’t really have any special properties. If you want to switch to a hydrating toner, Hada Labo Premium is a popular option.

Lastly, Azelaic Acid is often recommended for hormonal acne. I personally recommend the Cos De Baha brand.

13 points

·

29th Jul 2019

I realized a while ago that I have to apply my moisture in layers. So yes I do use a ton of moisture products, but my skin has proper hydration and a consistent moisture barrier that no active has ever been able to penetrate.

OP I would stop washing your face unless maybe once at night, and only oil cleansing. Oil cleanses oil. Your face doesn’t need extreme cleansing or other cleansing products.

I would spray with a moisturizing toner (there are a million, choose one that you like) then layer 1-2 layers of a hyaluronic Acid over your face when it’s wet with Toner. I like Korean brands, like this one and this one. Then layer that with a snail mucus which sounds awful but it’s crazy hydrating, like this one. Layer that with a gel, like this. Then a cream like this one and finally a sleeping mask like this one. Bonus points for applying a wet sheet mask over it for 30 minutes.

It seems absolutely extra and I personally wish I could slap on a moisturizer and call it a night but it’s the only way to truly hydrate and nourish the moisture barrier.

13 points

·

6th Feb 2018

Hydrators & Oils:

More Molecules:

9 points

·

20th Mar 2018

>I currently use hyaluronic acid as an active and a hydrating toner might have that as an ingredient. It might be a bit redundant to use both.

Hyaluronic acid is not an active – just a nice humectant. Feel free to stack HA products, similar to how you can layer multiple moisturizers 🙂

If your biggest skin issue is dehydration and discolouration, you might benefit from a product featuring niacinamide. Niacinamide can help treat both of those things, and is a nice easy ingredient to introduce. Several of the recs down below feature niacinamide, and if you want a separate serum you can check out Skinlex 10% Niacinamide Serum

Pulled from this list of products recs for dry or dehydrated skin:

Recs for hydrating serums & toners:

the serums &amp; toners HG thread,

> * Scinic Honey All In One Ampoule (review, jolse)

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

the dry &amp; dehydrated skin thread,

> * Rumase Bifida Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliated skin thread thread

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * CosRx Galactic Mice 95 Whitening Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence (review, jolse)

> * Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Serum (review, jolse)

> * Superdrug Simple Hydrating Serum (review, £2.99 on superdrug)

> * Scinic Aqua AIO Ampoule (review, jolse)

and randomly accumulated recs:

> * Pyunkang Yul Essence Toner (review, jolse)

> * Pyunkang Yul Moisture Serum (review, jolse)

> * Cezanne Skin Conditioner High Moist (review, amazon)

> * Mario Badescu Aloe Vera Toner (ulta)

> * Paula’s Choice Resist Omega+ Complex Serum (review, Paula’s Choice)

> * Etude House Soon Jung pH 5.5 Relief Toner(review, jolse)

> * Whamisa Organic Flowers Deep Rich Essence Toner (review, review 2, glow recipe)

6 points

·

16th Jun 2021

You have dry skin. Considering Wisconsin is very dry in the winter, if possible don’t cleanse in the morning during the Autumn and Winter. Get a humidifier next to your bed during the winter and you will see a remarkable difference.

For the dryness during the summer (and winter too), use a hydrating toner. Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (ignore the “lotion” – it’s a toner). This has 5 different hyaluronic acids with varying molecular size to stay hydrated on the surface of your skin and small enough to penetrate your skin to hold moisture there. 1-2 drops in your palm and pat it all over. Repeat 3-5 times, reduce as hydration in your skin improves.

If you want a single product that will improve your skin – Tretinoin. The learning curve is high but there’s a community of experienced users who’s willing to hold your hand through the whole process r/tretinoin. The gold standard in skincare with over 50 years of scientific studies that has proven to reverse photodamage, increase collagen, increase natural hyaluronic acid production in your skin and a host of other benefits. This is the magical stuff in Curology.

Finally to answer your questions directly, Timeless Vitamin C is my favorite – best dupe for the $200 Skinceutical CE Ferulics. Use this as the first layer after cleansed or rinsed skin in the morning. The order of application is lightest to heaviest or liquidy to oily to creamy. In terms of acids, beta hydroxy (BHA) before alpha hydroxy (AHA). If layering 2 acidic products such as Vitamin C and AHA, put the one with lower pH on first (e.g, Timeless Vit. C pH =3.2 and The Ordinary Glycolic Toner pH = 3.4; Vitamin C goes on first).

This is a person who’s been using tretinoin (brand name Retin A) for 28 years. She’s been around the sun 60 times.

&#x200B;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqkt9rYtt2Q

5 points

·

16th Feb 2018

It sounds like you’re still using the products from your old routine, right? I would read through the SCA routine. I think that once you read through that, you will have a better understanding of how to put together a routine. Coconut oil can be a little drying for some people. I’m not saying don’t use it, but keep that in mind and keep an eye on your skin to make sure it’s not getting dried out from that. Does the witch hazel contain alcohol? If yes, I’d drop it from your routine. Alcohol dries out your skin and when your skin is dried out, it makes fine lines worse. Start using a moisturizer in the evening if you aren’t already. I’d drop the sugar scrub and St. Ives. They’re pretty harsh products and while they give instant gratification, they don’t have any long term benefits (some people even think they are harmful to skin).

The redness in your cheeks might benefit from azelaic acid. The Ordinary sells a 10% azelaic acid, though you can find it other places as well (maybe Amazon?). I also think you may benefit from more layers of moisturizer. Specifically, layers of watery moisturizers. Something like this or this, morning and night, under your cream/lotion.

The products you picked out from the Ordinary seem fine. I think the lactic acid might improve the texture of your skin, so give that a few weeks to start working.

How you use the new products is somewhat up to you. Start slowly for sure. Maybe lactic acid one day, and Buffer Serum the next. The Caffeine serum can go after these. Squalane can be used as often as you’d like, morning and/or night.

4 points

·

28th Nov 2018

Hado labo is inexpensive and wonderful. I have noticed significant changes in my skin using hyaluronic acid. I have dry dehydrated skin. Hyaluronic acid has helped to decrease my dryness when used after seven skins and before an oil and occlusive moisturizer.

Edit (to add): don’t feel like you have to spend a lot to get quality. Hada labo is $ 10-15

hada labo (buy from Amazon . . . not this site. . . it’s like $11 on Amazon) – thinner consistency with 3 forms of hyaluronic acid

hado labo – thicker consistency with 5 forms of hyaluronic acid

I actually use both with a mist before, between, and after.

3 points

·

2nd Jun 2021

You might be having more breakouts because your skin is dehydrated and is producing more sebum to compensate. Leading to more clogged pores.

There’s nothing super special about the ordinary. You can go to Marshalls or TJ Maxx and get a great HA serum for 5.99

I personally use the HadaLabo Hyaluronic Acid serum because it will last me for a good year: https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

3 points

·

24th May 2021
3 points

·

29th Jan 2018

I’ve spent a lot of time over at r/skincareaddition this past year. I’m your same age basically, and sounds like we have similar skin.

If you can use them (most people can but I’m sensitive to fatty alcohols, which are – annoyingly – in basically everything), Cerave products are great – really great ingredients (same as in a lot of higher end products), available at whatever drug store, and fairly cheap. I’d start with their hydrating cleanser, followed by their am moisturizer (with spf) during the day and pm moisturizer at night. That’s the simplified routine I (try) to get my partner to do.

If you’re willing to go a teeny bit beyond 3 products, I’d super highly recommend hyaluronic acid after washing, before moisturizing. It’s made a huge difference for me – it basically puts water in your skin, which you seal in with moisturizer. I discovered that putting oil-based moisture on dry skin just basically makes you have oily dry skin. You’ve got to get water in some way. The best and cheapest one I’ve ever used is Japanese (https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C), but is usually available on Amazon. That bottle will last you like 4-5 months easy. It’s a clear slightly viscous fluid. You want a multi-molecular weight one – anything else (for me) is drying. You put it on while your skin is still wet from washing your face, and it basically sucks the water on the surface into your cells. This is another option that I’ve heard good things about, but much more expensive (http://niod.com/product/multi-molecular-hyaluronic-complex-30ml).

The other product that I love is Squalane. It’s a super light oil. Just a few drops on your skin is magic for me if I’m feeling dry – it’s basically what’s naturally in your skin when you’re younger. I use this one (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003MJG19K/ref=twister_B00EVC0SFA?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1). Again, lasts forever because you use so little.

And once you get a good moisturizing routine down (your cheeks should never feel dry if you’re doing it right), if you want you can add a BHA, which is good for acne, and or an AHA, which is good for fine lines. For my BHA I use The Ordinary’s salicylic acid 2% and for my AHA The Ordinary’s glycolic acid toner. I use those once or twice a week and my skin is smoother and clearer. But you’ve got to be super moisturized and using something with SPF every day first or they’ll dry you out. Also, oil cleansing was a miracle for me. But it involves some experimentation to see what oil works for you. I use grapeseed with a little castor oil mixed it and just wipe it off with a dry cloth. It’s the first step and the cheapest thing in my routine.

As you may have gathered, at this point I have one of those multi-step routines that I know can seem really intimidating at first, but it’s made a night and day difference in my skin. My skin feels like baby skin now. I do get acne still occasionally, but I blame IVF.

But basically my skin has become this one little thing I have control over. Before doing all this research I barely ever even washed my face. So if I can do it, anyone can. 😉

3 points

·

25th Feb 2018

Pulling products that I think would be similar from this list:

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Pyunkang Yul Essence Toner (review, jolse)

> * Cezanne Skin Conditioner High Moist (review, amazon)

> * Paula’s Choice Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

> * Etude House Soon Jung pH 5.5 Relief Toner(review, jolse)

> * Whamisa Organic Flowers Deep Rich Essence Toner (review, review 2, glow recipe)

3 points

·

26th May 2018

To be honest, I’m not the most knowledgeable in oils or anything, but I think it just comes down to what you like using! The three you named are all solid options. I enjoy using them all and find them similar enough in effect to not really have much of an opinion one way or the other. Squalane feels more ‘dry’ than the others, but still nice and moisturizing; jojoba is a bit thicker and got me through a real rough dry patch; and rosehip oil is awesome and thick.

I’d avoid getting the oils from TJ Maxx or Marshall’s – the oils tend to be oil blends which are overpriced for what they are, and if you break out from it you won’t know which oil you’re breaking out from. Some blends are good, but the ones I’ve seen at TJ Maxx seem to be coconut oil blends which a) tends to break people out more often than the other oils mentioned and b) coconut oil is hella cheap and idk if I’d wanna drop $6 on those 2oz bottles when I can spend $6 and get 14oz of coconut oil to mix myself haha

I get my squalane from Lotioncrafter, my jojoba oil from Trader Joe’s or Desert Essence, and my rosehip seed oil is currently a Trilogy sample but I’ll be purchasing from Garden of Wisdom since it seems to come from the same type of roses as Trilogy.

As for hydrating toners, it depends! Some people respond really well to hydrating toners, some not so much. It’s worth a shot, though! Some options include:

> * Scinic Honey All In One Ampoule (review, jolse) (thicker than a toner but worth a mention)

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Rumase Bifida Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * CosRx Galactic Mice 95 Whitening Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence (review, jolse)

> * Scinic Aqua AIO Ampoule (review, jolse) (thicker than a toner but worth a mention)

> * Pyunkang Yul Essence Toner (review, jolse)

> * Cezanne Skin Conditioner High Moist (review, amazon)

3 points

·

29th Dec 2018

I’m not a Hada Labo expert, but isn’t this it (Amazon prime)?

3 points

·

31st Jan 2019

You’re welcome! Sorry I couldn’t get back to you sooner–the life of a toddler mum.

Not sure if you are familiar, but the Japanese and South Korean toners are great for adding moisture. Amazon carries some of the more popular ones like

Hada Labo Premium
Etude House Soon Jung Relief Toner

But if those don’t appeal to you, the best way to choose one is to look for something that contains ingredients like glycerin, hyaluronic acid (or sodium hylauronate), or urea, and avoid anything with alcohol (or ethanol) and/or fragrance.

3 points

·

15th Mar 2019

yup! I used to have a different serum that worked, but now I used the Hada Labo premium which is PERFECT (the non premium one broke me out 🙁 )

3 points

·

12th Mar 2019
2 points

·

4th Jan 2018

I also get the Hada Labo premium from Amazon. Hope you like =)

2 points

·

2nd Feb 2018

> My skin just doesn’t have much of a glow or bounce to it at all, so I’d really like to incorporate some new products in to help with the moisture content but after the Cerave issue, Cosdna lookups and engrossing myself in this site I’m more confused than ever and don’t know where to start.

Best way to get dat glow is with a million hydrating and moisturizing products!

I know the CeraVe issue is concerning, and I’d highly recommend cross-referencing the ingredients in the Hydrating and Foaming cleanser to see if you can hone in on any potential suspects, then maybe expand the net to other products you’ve used in the past. The only way to figure out what ingredients break you out is to try a bunch of products – even if something breaks you out, at least it’s adding to your knowledge and can help with your future purchases!

Check out this list – you can totally fit a hydrating toner or serum in there, maybe an additional moisturizer, and most definitely a nice occlusive like Vaseline in the PM!

If that list has too many options, I’d look into:

Toner: Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse) ; Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

Light Lotions/Emulsions: Dr. Jart ceramidin liquid (review, amazon) ; Innisfree Green Tea Moisture Essence (review – coming soon!, jolse) (my personal fave)

Thicker Lotions: Trader Joe’s Antioxidant Facial Moisturizer ($6 at Trader Joe’s) ; Stratia Liquid Gold (review,
review 2,
stratia)

Thick Cream: CosRx Honey Ceramide Cream (review, jolse)

Occlusive: Vaseline, Aquaphor, CeraVe Healing Ointment (I like to mix liquid lanolin in with my vaseline – makes it easier to spread and brings the glow to the next level)

Hydrating products will also help with the oily-dehydrated skin type, fine lines, and maybe even CCs! Some people with dehydrated skin report acne clearing up after treating dehydration

Answer the siren call of #sluglife

2 points

·

7th Mar 2018

Just to clarify, you’re cleansing twice in the mornings, twice in the evenings? Once with the Spectro, once with the Clean & Clear Acne Cleanser?

Over cleansing, especially with a harsh active like benzoyl peroxide, can lead to dehydrated skin and damage, which might increase oil secretion as the skin attempts to heal. I don’t think that’s what’s happening here since it sounds pretty immediate, but I would caution against over-cleansing and over-use of actives. Check out this benzoyl peroxide guide and consider switching around your routine so that you’re only cleansing once in the AM, once in the PM.

That said, it sounds like maybe your moisturizer is just too heavy or is otherwise not working out for you. Play around with different moisturizers – maybe something light in the AM like a gel moisturizer or even just a hydrating toner. I’d keep some heavy moisturizers in the PM since BP can be rather drying. Some product options to consider:

Moisturizers

  • CeraVe Ultra Light Moisturizer + SPF 30 (review, ulta) – this is a great option since you don’t have to look for an additional sunscreen (BP is photosensitizing iirc, so you wanna have some SPF in there); I’ve used this product and I find it to be lightweight, easy to spread, with an almost velvety feel. It dries down matte and doesn’t feel too heavy on my skin

  • CeraVe Baby Lotion (review)

  • CosRx Oil-Free Ultra Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap (review, jolse)

Gel-Cream Moisturizers

  • CosRx Advanced Snail 92 All-In-One Cream (review, jolse)

  • Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel

Toners

You may also be interested in the moisturizer HG thread and oily skin HG thread

2 points

·

29th Mar 2018

Pulled from Product recs for dry &amp; dehydrated skin:

Recs for hydrating serums & toners:

the serums &amp; toners HG thread,

> * Scinic Honey All In One Ampoule (review, jolse)

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

the dry &amp; dehydrated skin thread,

> * Rumase Bifida Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliated skin thread thread

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * CosRx Galactic Mice 95 Whitening Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence (review, jolse)

> * Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Serum (review, jolse)

> * Superdrug Simple Hydrating Serum (review, £2.99 on superdrug)

> * Scinic Aqua AIO Ampoule (review, jolse)

and randomly accumulated recs:

> * Pyunkang Yul Essence Toner (review, jolse)

> * Pyunkang Yul Moisture Serum (review, jolse)

> * Cezanne Skin Conditioner High Moist (review, amazon)

> * Mario Badescu Aloe Vera Toner (ulta)

> * Paula’s Choice Resist Omega+ Complex Serum (review, Paula’s Choice)

> * Etude House Soon Jung pH 5.5 Relief Toner(review, jolse)

> * Whamisa Organic Flowers Deep Rich Essence Toner (review, review 2, glow recipe)


Recs for moisturizers:

the dry &amp; dehydrated skin thread

> * CeraVe PM (review, amazon)

> * L’Oréal Hydra Genius for EXTRA dry skin (amazon)

> * Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer (review, paula’s choice)

> * Stratia’s Liquid Gold (review,
review 2,
stratia)

> * Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Cream (review, amazon)

> * La Roche Posay Toleriane Rich (dermstore)

> * CosRx Honey Ceramide Cream (review, jolse)

the AB products for dry, sensitive, or over-exfoliated skin thread

> * CeraVe Baby Moisturizing Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Donkey Milk 3D Moisture Cream (review

> * Dear By Enprani Bounce Cheese Cream (review)

> * Skin Ceramic Donkey Milk & Argan Oil Steam Cream (yesstyle)

> * Skin Watchers Ceramizing Cream (jolse)

> * ~~Ladykin Vanpir Dark Repair Cream (review, ladykin)~~

> * Nots Aqua Barrier Level Up Cream (review, amazon)

> * Holika Holika Skin & Good Cera Super Cream (jolse)

the moisturizer HG thread,

> * First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream (fab)

> * Trader Joe’s Nourish Antioxidant Facial Moisturizer

> * Clinique Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator (clinique)

> * Paula’s Choice Clinical Ultra-Rich Moisturizer (paula’s choice)

> * Kiehl’s Creme d’Elegance Repairateur (kiehl’s)

and randomly accumulated recs:

> * Belif Cream Moisturizing Bomb (review, sephora)

> * Weleda Skin Food (weleda)

> * CeraVe Moisturizing Cream (review, amazon)

> * Aveeno Skin Relief Moisture Repair Cream (aveeno)

2 points

·

16th May 2018

Are you in US? The world is full of hydrating toners, and tbh I find Hado Labo to be good, but not game changing. Here are some I want to try that are on Amazon Prime:

Hado Labo Premium — Supposed to be better than the Gokyujun and it’s available on Amazon Prime.

Kikumasamune

Earth’s Recipe — K-Beauty blogger Fiddy Snails is all about this one, but it’s expensive.

Whamisa Organic Flowers Toner — This one got a good review on Skin and Tonics recently. Also expensive.

2 points

·

12th Sep 2018

Yep, you can find it on amazon, yesstyle or ebay

2 points

·

13th May 2020

Have you heard of Hadalabo? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013HHJV0C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

It’s Hyaluronic solution from Japan, it’s just like hyaluronic acid from Skin-II but cheaper. You can read the reviews yourself to see how much people love it. I’m following an Aesthetic Nurse Practitioner on IG and she recommended this, and I bought it from Amazon because honestly it was 14 bucks so I thought why not. It’s so good!

2 points

·

11th Sep 2018

Hada labo premium is my HG! The moist version is good too, but the premium is just amazing. It’s cheap, effective, and I will repurchase it forever. I do the asian beauty thing of layering humectant products up when my skin is really dry, and the moist version is better for that since the premium can get sticky if you apply more than 2 layers and takes longer to absorb. I also like sheet masks (I’m not fussy about which, and I’ve had good experiences with making my own with a mix of hada labo moist and thayers toner) to get hydration quickly when I’ve overdone it with exfoliation or slacked on skincare for a few days 🙂

1 point

·

28th Feb 2022

It’s Hada Labo Premium. I cannot live without this product.

1 point

·

15th Jan 2022

I have dry skin so I use a lot of hydrating products. The hyluronic acid I use is “Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL”https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_TMH2TKDFXQKP2XR0QBZW

1 point

·

14th Jan 2022

HYLURONIC ACID HOLY GRAIL🙌🏼💗:
Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_V05MMNA3HJ9CZYMEYN2Y

1 point

·

1st Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hya…$16.79$16.794.5/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

25th Oct 2021

Try not to get your face very wet with hot water in the shower/take super long hot steamy showers. Instead you can wash your face separately at the sink with just warm water.

For me, as soon as I get out of the shower and after I wash my face, I apply this hada labo product (which uses hyaluronic acid) to my DAMP (not dry!) skin. It helps your skin to absorb the moisture. Now when I don’t use that, I feel like my skin is dying from a lack of moisture! I’m addicted, and 1 bottle usually lasts me several months.

You could add in light physical exfoliation (maybe a konjac sponge) when you wash your face to remove excess skin, or a chemical exfoliant (a light AHA or BHA). I would also consider adding or using more lotions/hydrating elements for your routine.

1 point

·

19th Oct 2021

its confusing because some websites call it a lotion but i guess it is more of a toner?? lol heres the one i’m talking about: https://www.amazon.ca/Japanese-Cosmetic-Gokujun-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=asc_df_B013HHJV0C

1 point

·

14th Jun 2021
1 point

·

21st Jan 2021

Their essence has 5 types of hyaluronic acid in it, so its probably the one you’ve found. The translation gets a bit tricky sometimes but here is the link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hadalabo-Institute-Gokujun-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

1 point

·

20th May 2018

I don’t have any recs for moisturizer lighter than TJ’s Oil-Free (it’s insanely lightweight!!) but maybe you could use a hydrating toner instead? I’ll list some hydrating toners & serums that may be hydrating enough to fill the moisturizer role without feeling heavy:

Note: A bunch of these things may have HA, so definitely double check the ingredients lists

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2018

The solution is the lotion. Amazon just uses a different word for some reason.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_LttJBb9H5CN15

1 point

·

4th Nov 2018

> I just was paranoid about my products containing vitamin A, but it seems like few products do

Yeah, products usually make it pretty clear if there’s a retinoid in their ingredients list since that would be a major selling point. If there isn’t an indication of that in the product name or key effects, the product won’t have a retinoid in meaningful amounts in there.

>The link I had is an emulsion, I’ve heard that the same-but-not-same as toner, and I’m confused. Can I be using that as a toner?

Toner just refers to the consistency of a product – a super thin, liquidy product. Emulsions are a bit thicker, but honestly I wouldn’t get too caught up in all the different consistencies for moisturizing products – they go from thin to thick, the rest is just classification. I think an emulsion would be light enough to use before tretinoin, especially if you use a thin layer 🙂

>Do you have any suggestions, for a good toner?

Yes! I haven’t tried most of these (my skin doesn’t seem to benefit much from toners), but here’s a list of common hydrating toner recs:

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

> * Rumase Bifida Snail Toner (review, ibbi)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Benton Aloe BHA Skin Toner (review, jolse)

> * Pyunkang Yul Essence Toner (review, jolse)

> * Cezanne Skin Conditioner High Moist (review, amazon)

> * Etude House Soon Jung pH 5.5 Relief Toner(review, jolse)

> * Whamisa Organic Flowers Deep Rich Essence Toner (review, review 2, glow recipe)

1 point

·

28th Nov 2018

> I want to know if you think I need an actual cleanser besides water?

If you notice a layer of somethin slimy (dirt, sweat, leftover makeup, etc.) after you rinse off your Clinique Cleansing Balm, then you might want to consider adding a cleanser. If you aren’t noticing any leftover residue, there’s no need to add one!

>Here’s what I think I need to add: Rx Retin a micro

You might be interested in use retinoids the right way and the HG thread for best retinoid practices

>And what toner would you recommend?

What kind of toner are you looking for? Hydrating?

From this list, maybe:

> * Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (review, jolse)

> * Paula’s Choice Enriched Calming Toner (Paula’s Choice)

> * Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion (review, amazon) (cult favorite)

> * Klairs Supple Preparation Toner (review, wishtrend)

> * Kiku-Masamune High Moist Lotion (review, amazon)

1 point

·

15th Dec 2018

Thank you!

Is this the Superdrug serum you were referring to, and this the Hada Lobo lotion? It looks great, though seems it might take a while to come from Japan via Amazon!

Do you use both products morning and night?

1 point

·

17th Feb 2019

The urea is in the Hada Labo premium lotion, which I got on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

1 point

·

26th Feb 2019

I buy it off Amazon

1 point

·

16th Nov 2019

I buy everything I can off amazon, but I think you can also get them off of yesstyle and a few other places.

Premium: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013HHJV0C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Plumping Gel: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00I4BUBN8/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

I’ve been using Differin for years! I love it. I’ve only been thinking of asking my derm about switching to tret because I’m starting to get up there in age (early 30’s). There was definitely a purge phase, but it was worth it. However, I still had acne. It wasn’t until I was on the sulfur wash and Aczone that my acne went away. Switching to Azelaic acid was seamless breakout wise, though.

tldr: talk to your doctor about it. You might need a combination of things to make your acne go away.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2019

I get the yellow one from Amazon!
Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_CK-5DbS7X1W3J

1 point

·

31st Jul 2020

I started my skin care journey in November 2018 to address closed comedones on my forehead and anti-aging. Went down the SCA rabbit hole and started tretinoin in Feb 2019. It’s been over a year and I’ve tried 3 different kinds of tretinoin (.025% cream, 0.25% gel, .05% gel) and I only saw mild improvement. I did see improvement on my forehead, but now I get breakouts all over my cheeks and have lots of PIH I can’t seem to resolve. I’ve tried a variety of products (BHAs, AHAs), I tried buffering and not buffering the tret, I always introduced new products slowly and gradually, I feel like I followed all the rules but still couldn’t achieve the skin I want. Recently I ran out of the tretinoin .05% gel I was using so took the opportunity to start using the Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Framboos Glycolic Night Serum I received as a gift, and it broke me out like mad. Dropped it quickly, went to the doctor, got bumped up to 0.1% tretinoin and starting to see some of the quickest results I’ve ever seen.

Current routine for the last few months:

Sometimes I mix it up and I wait 20 minutes after moisturizing and apply tretinoin at the end of my routine (on days when my skin is feeling extra dry or irritated).

I am struggling a lot with PIE/PIH and peeling, if anyone has recommendations or suggestions (a different oil cleanser perhaps?) that would be appreciated, thanks!

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2020

It’s in a yellow bottle, I bought it from amazon.co.uk

Here: Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_jY9fFbWSXR492

1 point

·

6th Sep 2020

Yeah, I definitely wouldn’t use Vaseline during the day in the summer. There are some other ointments that I think are a little more elegant, like my favorite is probably Cerave Healing Ointment because it seems to sink in the most of the ones I’ve tried. But I also find that I need far less than I think I might, I usually just put a tiny dollop on my hands, rub it all over my hands (front and back), then apply whatever is remaining to my face and that light layer is enough to protect me from getting chapped in the winter.

So the product you linked is actually the Milky Lotion, which is very similar and is still a great product, but it is different from the one that people talk about as the “Premium Lotion.” Too bad about YesStyle, they usually are a pretty reliable source for Hada Labo, but here is an Amazon link for the tried and true:

https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C

As far as sales with YesStyle, they always have sales on specific brands or categories of things, but it can be unpredictable which brands will be on sale at any given time. If you sign up for their rewards program, you can quickly reach Gold Status (by buying products and writing reviews) which gives you an automatic 12% discount on everything, plus an extra 10% off for your birthday month. They also send coupons with some frequency, the coupons vary by what level of membership you are, but it’s usually something like an extra 10-15% off.

You can totally use a mix of Asian and Western products, don’t get too hung up on the terminology. Basically this product is a hydrating step, so you could slot it into whatever routine you’re using now between your cleanser and moisturizer. The Perfect Gel and Premium Lotion can totally be used together without any other steps, my minimal routine is usually just that (cleanser, toner, gel).

For tret, my skin definitely got a little dry when I first started. I added in what I’d call a “light toner” to help give my skin a little extra help, so that’s where the Klairs Supple Prep Toner and the Mizon Snail Ampoule came into play. Before starting tret, I was only using the Hada Labo as my sole hydrating step, but the additional soothing and hydrating benefits of the light toners helped nip any tret irritation in the bud.

I’m definitely the wrong person to ask about the Purito Centella sunscreen, because I didn’t like it at all! The regular version was okay in the winter, it was rich and moisturizing and helped me deal with some seasonal dryness, but my t-zone got sooo oily by midday. I switched to the unscented version thinking maybe that would be better, but it was actually even worse. My whole face was so greasy and oily about an hour after I applied it, it was bad. I was blotting and wiping my face all day long. I actually am currently using it as my body sunscreen because I still had so much to get through, but I couldn’t take using it on my face any longer. All the Hada Labo toners are great, they have a couple different lines (Gokujyun, Gokujyun Premium, Shirojyun, and Gokujyun Alpha) and I’ve tried toners from all of them. The other lines just don’t really address my specific skin concerns, so I’ve stuck with the Gokujyun Premium for the most part. Their sheet masks are also really nice, although I don’t sheet mask very often because of the excessive plastic waste.

1 point

·

26th May 2020

Sorry forgot to respond this is the hado labo I use i really do like it makes your skin so plump and glowy amazon link

I use it on damp skin after I cleanse

Sorry just checked link and one bottle is sold out only 2 set is available here

1 point

·

8th May 2020

Use hydrating toners in the AM and PM. These are the most popular hydrating toners: Hada Labo Premium and Kikumasamune.

SPF 15 isn’t enough, you need to use a sunscreen with SPF 50.

How long have you been using 10% azelaic acid? If it’s been at least 3 months, I suggest that you upgrade to a higher dosage. If you’re in the US, you can order Melazepam (20% azelaic acid) from Amazon.

Lastly, apply an occlusive (like Vaseline or Aquaphor) at the end of your PM routine.

1 point

·

21st Jan 2020

I’ve been using Hado Labo premium lotion and I love it. You can get it on Amazon here. I’ve never had an adverse reaction to it.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2019

Hada Labo Premium is fabulous.

1 point

·

3rd May 2019

They seem to be listed under different names. I think the one I got is considered a lotion/solution. They also have a milky lotion. I do know that the Hada Labo Premium Line is the one with the gold/orange bottle and gold cap. Here’s the one I got:

https://www.amazon.com/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=hada%2Blabo%2Bpremium&amp;qid=1556901980&amp;s=gateway&amp;sr=8-1&amp;th=1

1 point

·

16th Apr 2019

Gotcha. My recommendation for you would be to look into the Hada Labo line if you haven’t already. They’ve got a lot of hydrating essences that are comparable in feel/use to the Neutrogena Hydroboost. I also used to use that product, but switched because it was expensive and I had to repurchase often. I now use Hada Labo Premium and Hada Labo Milky Gokujyun. Check out the ingredients, it might be just what you’re looking for.

I have dry skin, so I always top both of those with an actual creamy moisturizer. You might be good with only those products, especially if you top with SPF in the morning.

1 point

·

26th Mar 2019

Hello! Thank you so much for replying!

I am eager to try some of the products you recommended. Since I am unfamiliar with them, I just want to make sure I have selected the right products. Are these the ones you listed?

https://www.amazon.ca/Japanese-Cosmetic-Gokujun-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C
https://www.amazon.ca/ROHTO-Skin-Super-Moisture-SPF50/dp/B01MRBST6H
https://www.amazon.ca/Vanicream-Skin-Cream-Pump-16/dp/B000NWGCZ2

Thanks again!

1 point

·

15th Feb 2019

what is the difference between these two ( 1, 2 ) products? which one is usable as a toner? i keep getting recommended this product but cannot see a difference 🙁

1 point

·

15th Jan 2019

I use both the Hada Labo Skin Plumping Gel Cream and Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Hyaluronic Acid Solution (3% urea) layered under a cream moisturizer, and would recommend both. The Gokujyun Premium HA Solution is sooo hydrating when applied to damp skin.

For creams, I really liked the Numis Med Urea 5% Urea Day Cream. It’s very smooth & soothing on skin, not too heavy, and doesn’t leave any type of greasy film. No irritation or breakouts from it either.

1 point

·

7th Nov 2018

I ordered this on Amazon Prime, and I really like it so far! Plus, it’s a nice size for the price.

1 point

·

17th Oct 2018

Hi! Looking for some product recommendations along with routine check if possible. I’m 30F with what I’ve always considered sensitive skin, prone to redness and occasional cystic acne, generally resulting from poor diet and hormones. I am looking to brighten my slightly dull skin, minimize the appearance of pores, and prevent fine lines and wrinkles.

Currently, I’m not really using any products regularly except for Hadalabo Hyluronic Lotion and occasionally (about 1-2 times per week) Origins drink up overnight mask.

I’ve had good success in the past with SR’s Good Genes, but based on what’s happening with that situation now, I’m looking for an alternative. This led me to products from The Ordinary since they’re relatively inexpensive. The items I’m considering are Lactic Acid 3% HA, 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil, and Granactive Retinoid 2% in Squalane.

Does anyone have recommendations on if these products would work well together and with my current products and skin type? If yes, in what order do I use these products? If no, do you have other recommendations?

ETA: Also using CeraVe foaming facial cleanser and Origins GinZing tinted moisturizer with SPF 40 any time I wear makeup. My daily moisturize is currently Saturday Skin’s Featherweight Daily Moisturizing Cream which I would not normally buy but got for free in exchange for product reviews. I also received their cleanser which is okay and their refining peel gel which I haven’t really used enough to have an opinion on.

&#x200B;

1 point

·

28th Oct 2018

Would that be good for sensitive skin or for people with eczema? And is this the product you’re referring to?

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2018

Hi, I’m looking to add an additional hydrating product to my routine and have decided to either go with the Hadalabo premium toner or the Benton snail essence. I have combination, acne-prone skin and have a bit of PIE on my forehead.

AM:

Cerave Hydrating Cleanser

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Elta MD 45 SPF Sunscreen

PM:

Cerave Hydrating Cleanser

Stridex/BP 2.5% alternating every night

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Aquaphor

1 point

·

18th Aug 2018

I ordered Hada Labo premium hyaluronic lotion from Amazon, and just noticed it’s from a different store than I normally order from:

Skinresearch Hadarabo instead of Hada Labo store.

Hadalabokin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_QgkEBbSQJ855M

Does anyone know if the Hadarabo store is legit? I ordered it like a month and a half ago and it still hasn’t arrived, so I guess I will also just have to wait to look at it once it gets here.

I usually buy this from the Hada Labo store: Hada Labo Rohto Gokujyn Hyaluronic Acid Lotion, 170ml https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FQUGXA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_TlkEBb1S37MM7

1 point

·

10th Jul 2018

You could try the Hadalabo premium lotion. It does have a paraben, but it’s the last of ~30 ingredients, so should be very little.

1 point

·

28th May 2018
1 point

·

3rd May 2018

I’ve only ever bought it on amazon (US) from Japanese sellers and it looks like this

1 point

·

26th May 2018

just wondering how i use this product? is it a toner, is it lotion?

Hadalabo JAPAN Skin Institute Gokujun premium hyaluronic solution 170mL https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_a3scBb62JFR6G

1 point

·

25th Apr 2018

I second the comment about Dr. Bronner’s being drying. I used this product for years and it took me a long time to give it up, but once I did, not my skin really did improve.

I’d consider adding a hydrating toner/serum (examples are Paula’s Choice skin recovery toner or Hada Labo premium lotion. Or just a generic hyaluronic acid serum; I know Trader Joe’s sells one). Your skin might benefit from these kinds of watery hydration.

Also, adding in a sunscreen is always a good idea.

You might also consider the AHA and BHA toners from Silk Naturals. They are gentle chemical exfoliants that can help even out your skin tone. I would work on the above suggestions first to avoid irritation before adding these in.

1 point

·

4th Apr 2018

They are good products, though I agree that they are a little on the pricey side. I think the toner is a decent price, at least in the US, and it lasts about a year when you apply it with your hands.

If you want alternatives, I’d suggest The Ordinary toning solution or 10% mandelic acid or 10% lactic acid. And for the toner, maybe Hada Labo premium. The ingredients aren’t exactly the same, but these products have similar functions to the Paula’s Choice products.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2018

Have you tried Hyaluronic Acid*, Argireline*, or Retinoids*?

^^^* ^^^just ^^^examples

1 point

·

7th Feb 2018

Thank you for all your suggestions! I’m definitely getting both of these.

One more…this is the HL you mentioned, right? thanks!

1 point

·

20th Oct 2017

I use the Premium Version, which also has urea in it, and it has made a huuuuge difference to my skin.

1 point

·

2nd May 2017

> Hada Labo Gokujyun Premium Lotion
Good to know! Do you happen to know the difference between the HL Premium lotion and the HL moist? They seem to be different products, but I find it confusing.

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2017

the gokojyun in the orange bottle is thicker, more like a gel. it does have a mildly exfoliating ingredient, urea.

0 points

·

30th Jan 2019

https://www.amazon.de/Hadalabo-Skin-Institute-hyaluronic-solution/dp/B013HHJV0C/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1548861826&amp;sr=8-1-fkmr0&amp;keywords=hada+Labo+premium+5

someone asked for the ingredients and anotherone wrote them down in “asked questions”
Polyquaternium doesn’t always cointain acrylamide but it can. Used in conditioner Polyquaternium can be washed out but I don’t know about if I should put it on my face.