What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Hada Labo Tokyo Gentle Hydrating Foaming Facial Cleanser Tube, Unscented 5 Ounce?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

8 points

·

19th Jun 2019

Hada Labo Tokyo Gentle Hydrating Cleanser! Japanese brand, Tokyo line made for the US. This stuff is amazing! and a 5 oz tube, using it once per day, lasts me over 6 months.

(Ingredients: sodium cocoyl glycinate, glycerin, cocamidopropyl betaine, butylene glycol, potassium cocoyl glycinate, hydroxypropyl starch phosphate, decyl glucoside, PEG-400, water, sodium lauroyl aspartate, BHT, citric acid, disodium EDTA, glyceryl stearate SE, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxypropyltrimonium hyaluronate, lauric acid, methylisothiazolinone, mica, PEG-32, phenoxyethanol, polyquaternium-7, polyquaternium-52, sodium acetylated hyaluronate, sodium stearoyl glutamate, stearic acid, titanium dioxide.)

Here it is on Amazon : https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AAX6C26/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_zWHcDbCV2CP70

You can get it online at Target, but it’s more expensive.

4 points

·

29th May 2018

Rave: Currently loving Hada Labo’s Gentle Hydrating Cleanser. Also, it’s currently on sale for $7 on Amazon! Such a great cleanser for a low price. Doesn’t dry me out, and does a decent job removing makeup.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2018

Okay, I had this problem! Depends on where you live, but tap water has either chlorine or chloramines (a mix of chlorine and ammonia, so bad!) in it, as well as other detergents.

I had tried all kinds of alternatives, including not getting my face wet even when showering. Tried several brands of micellar water, tried several brands of make-up wipes, tried misting with special distilled aloe juice (the only brand without preservatives, and it was pretty great, tbh, but too expensive for long-term use), tried oil cleansing method followed by misting with pure cooking rose water.

None were good solutions because of the cost. Too expensive to use that stuff two-three times per day!

My next step was to try distilled water, but I haven’t had a chance to track any down, so that has been on hold. HOWEVER —

While waiting to pursue distilled water, I ran out of aloe juice AND rose water, so ended up using tap water again. I ordered an affordable and skin-care-addicts-popular facial cleanser from amazon just because I was desperate and couldn’t afford 25 bucks for aloe.

It turns out that what a commenter said above is true — the drying effects of the water are the real problem! The cleanser is this one:

Hada Lobo w/ HA

It’s a gentle, inexpensive and wonderful face wash — and it’s really moisturizing. I use a really gentle cloth to wash with, and a few minutes after rinsing, I wipe with a cotton pad with rose water on it. That removes some of the residue. Then I move on to adding moisturizers, etc.

But it made SUCH a difference. You might want to try that before putting things like ACV on your skin, which is not a good ph iirc.

Good luck!

1 point

·

20th Apr 2019

I am using Hada Labo’s Gentle Hydrating Cleanser. It has no alcohol or fragrance, a little goes a long way, and it has hyaluronic acid. I really like it.

1 point

·

6th Aug 2017

Is the Hada Labo hydrating cleanser low ph? Someone on Amazon said they tested it at home and it was 4, but the manufacturer replied and said it was 5.8 to 6.8.

Also is this the right cleanser, or should I be looking for the one that’s actually made in Japan?

6 points

·

2nd Apr 2019

Hada Labo Tokyo Gentle Hydrating Cleanser has been my HG for 4+ years now! It’s currently $11 for 5 oz on Amazon.

6 points

·

25th Jul 2020

I started about a month after I finished accutane and I do not buffer it.

Morning:

Cleanser: Hada Labo Tokyo Gentle Hydrating Cleanser

Toner: Klairs Supple Preparation Unscented Facial Toner

Serum: PURITO Centella Unscented Serum

Essence (when I have time – I let this sit on my face for 10-15 minutes before moisturizing): Rohto Melano CC Anti-Spot Essence

Moisturizer (3-in-1 because I used to separate my lotion and moisturizer but I’m lazy lol and it’s negligible for myself): Lubriderm Men’s 3-in-1 Unscented Lotion

Sunscreen: Rohto Skin Aqua UV Super Moisture Gel Pump

Afternoon: I do the same as above, minus sunscreen, but I also use an oil cleanser as my first step using Hada Labo Gokujyun Oil Cleanser and instead of the Melano CC, I use tretinoin in its place and same amount of time before I move to the next step.

If I’m feeling flaky from tretinoin, then I will use Rosette Moist AHA Peeling Gel, and it’s ok but I’m looking for a better exfoliant 🙂

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

2 points

·

17th Nov 2018

My all-time favorite cleanser is this one if you’re interested. Don’t order it right now though, it’s usually $10 and the price will go back down

That Avene sunscreen is good on sun protection but has two major cons – it’s expensive and it’s gonna leave a white caste. If you have even a bit of melanin in you, trust me it’s gonna leave a caste. Btw don’t wear multiple sunscreens at once, there are some ingredients that don’t work well together and can degrade each other. Pick one and apply liberally. A really great Japanese sunscreen that I recommend like this one is cheaper and will look much better on your skin. I also thought I couldn’t access Japanese sunscreen because I didn’t know I could order it on Amazon. I seriously couldn’t recommend them enough. They’re affordable, look better on the skin, and have FAR better sun protection.

1 point

·

20th Jun 2018

I agree with the above poster!

I know you will get a lot of advice to use a face wash and a moisturizer, and I will echo that — however, I would also recommend a minimal layer of foundation/powder, in some form or another.

Here’s why: This would a way of keeping a protective barrier between dust and your skin in a job like yours.

The thing about moisturizers is they are designed to penetrate into your skin, so if moisturizer is all that’s on your skin and you are in that environment, it might result in enhanced absorbption or allow dirt to cling to your skin. I have no science behind that, of course, but it can’t hurt to be cautious.

Your skin actually does look pretty good, so you don’t need a huge routine. Your barrier looks to be in tact, which is very positive! For this reason, I wouldn’t do too elaborate of a routine because you don’t have a lot of healing or correcting to do. A good barrier is a blessing! Preserve it. 🙂

Here are some suggestions from my end:

AM Routine

  • Gentle, inexpensive and wonderful face wash — Hada Lobo w/ HA

  • Simple, light moisturizer w/ sunscreen — Paula’s Choice Super-Light Wrinkle Defense This tinted sunscreen/moisturizer combo is so light and it’s healthy for your skin. The wrinkle protection is just an added bonus, and good insurance for the future! Sunscreen is all about protection for the future you.

  • Simple, very light, inexpensive, low-key foundation — Loreal Lumi Cushion Foundation This foundation is great because it can be very light, and you can use the cushion to pat it on in a very thin layer. You may need to practice blending a little, but once you master it, this method creates a lighter layer than most.

  • Light setting powder — Coty Translucent Airspun Powder This and the loreal you can get at the drugstore, which will allow you to compare different colors. Use a big, fluffy brush to add this.

If you want, you can always add a little sweep of cheek color and mascara, etc. But the idea here is to have this makeup on as a protective layer between your skin and the environment. 🙂

PM Routine

Altogether, this is a pretty basic set up.

Future Additions + a minor warning

If you want to get more fancy, you could add a retinoid for future anti-aging and an aha for bi-weekly chemical exfoliation, but your skin looks so healthy right now, I’d suggest sticking with something basic at first and not risking doing anything to compromise your moisture barrier. In particular, since your skin looks to be in good shape, I would stay away from witch hazel and bha’s. I know it’s contrary to what others might say, but I used those for a while on a regular basis and slowly my moisture barrier deteriorated. I especially don’t recommend the stridex pads or thayer’s. Alcohol and witch hazel will have a negative effect if used long term.

If you want a toner to wipe on your face after cleansing, try plain cooking rosewater from the middle eastern section of the grocery store. Here it is on amazon for double the store price. 🙂

In your case, less is definitely going to be more. You just want to protect and maintain! Good luck!

Edit: I’m guessing the downvote is related to my Thayer’s/Stridex comment. Two things: (1) if I’m wrong, why not explain or disagree rather than just downvoting? Without an explanation, OP won’t know what in my post is disagreeable and may disregard all of it, when there is definitely information here that will help her, and (2) I know everyone loves Thayer’s, but follow the link I included — the negative effects of long-term use are illustrated by science. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but it’s important to stay informed, no? I saw the results myself, and wish I’d read this first.

1 point

·

18th Mar 2020

Hi all,

I recently damaged my moisture barrier from over exfoliating and am getting extremely oily skin (from dryness) in my t zone about 2 hours after showering in morning. I’m looking to replace my cleanser (Ursa Major face wash with AHA) to something really gentle and Hada Labo seems to be highly recommended here. There are a few versions available on Amazon. Can anyone recommend the best version for dry skin? Thanks.

option 1

option 2

Thanks.

1 point

·

28th Mar 2019

This is the HL Tokyo Hydrating Cleanser: HL Tokyo. I currently use it and like it. It is not, however, the one that is constantly raved about here. That one is this, I believe: HL Rohto. I’ve not used it so I can’t compare, but they are different types of products. The HL Tokyo is a cream that you squeeze out of a tube and then lather; the Rohto comes out of the pump already foamed. So, people describe the Rohto as cleaning “with a cloud.”

1 point

·

4th Feb 2019

Skin Profile: Dry/Dehydrated | Acne (Hormonal), Inflammation | Don’t know my MAC colour; I’m East Asian

Climate: NE U.S.A., so currently cold and dry. I have my humidifier running whenever I’m in the house.

First Cleanser / Makeup Remover: Shu Uemura High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil HG

Cleanser: Hada Labo Tokyo Gentle Hydrating Cleanser HG

Toner: Hada Labo Gokujun premium hyaluronic acid

Exfoliant: Paula’s Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant RP

Serum: Innisfree Intensive Hydrating Serum with Green Tea Seed RP

Moisturizer: Innisfree Intensive Hydrating Cream with Green Tea Seed RP | Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask

Facial Oils: Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip Oil RP | Shu Uemura Skin Perfector Makeup Artist Oil HG

Wash Off Masks: Origins Out Of Trouble 10 Minute Mask HG | Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask RP

Sleeping Masks: Sulwhasoo Radiance Energy Mask HG

Actives: Mad Hippie Vitamin C Serum

Lip Care: Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25 HG | Aritaum Ginger Sugar Overnight Lip Masks


Reflections:
It’s been a little over a year since I seriously got into skincare. At this point I’m quite satisfied with my routine and will finish all my products through. A few changes that may come:
1. After I finish the Mad Hippie Vitamin C, I may try one with L-AA instead of SAP.
2. I just repurchased the Trilogy Rosehip Oil but it has a strong earthy smell that is a little unpleasant; I may search for an alternative.
3. The Fresh Black Tea Mask was great when I was first getting into skincare — it did wonders for my dehydrated skin — but I’ve noticed diminishing returns as I’ve actively improved my skin’s moisture so I will likely not repurchase.
4. I’m not 100% satisfied with my serum and moisturizer. I wish they were a little more moisturizing; however I have not been able to find anything better without being too heavy.
5. PC’s 2% BHA is great; I just find it annoying because I need to let it sit for at least 20 minutes for it to be effective. Would love to find an alternative that doesn’t require such a long wait time.

Regarding Paula’s Choice Hydrating Treatment Mask under “Moisturizer” — this is my “cheating” routine. I use this on those occasional late nights when I’ve been out too long and cough am still too drunk to do my full routine. I make sure I double cleanse to get all the makeup and grime off my face, but I know I cannot get through my full routine so I slather this on to ensure my face is properly moisturized. This does wonders as an emergency 1-step-post-cleanse routine, but I do not recommend doing it on a regular basis.

I also want to note: although it’s called Shu Uemura Skin Perfector Makeup Artist Oil, I use it at night as my last step (or 2nd to last step, if I’m going to use the Sulwhasoo mask).

1 point

·

21st Feb 2018

As I have learned about skincare I realized that my skin is dry/combination, and my face has gotten much less oily since I started to focus on hydration and moisturizing. I inherited my skin from my mom, who pretty much worships at the altar of benzoyl peroxide and SA. I want to show her the light by buying her a basic set of products that focuses on hydration.

She is a bit stubborn so I want to get her a regimen that 1) is simple—uses three or less products—and 2) feels good to use—has high cosmetic elegance. I did some research and came up with this:

~~Hada Lobo Gentle Hydrating Cleanser~~

  • ~~Elegant, has hyaluronic acid, gentle~~

edit: replacing this with Hada Labo Gokujun HA Cleansing Foam

Hada Labo Rohto Gokujun Lotion

  • Do I even need to say anything here

Rosette Aqua Ceramide Gel

Just want to do a sanity check and make sure this is a good set of products before I spend the money on it. Any critiques or suggestions? She already uses decent sunscreen.