What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Greater Goods Bluetooth Connected Bathroom Smart Scale, Measures & Tracks BMI, Lean Mass, Water Weight, & Bone Mass, Extra-Large, Backlit LCD Screen, Auto-Calibration & Auto-Off?

A total of 39 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

11th May 2017

I bought one of the cheaper smart scales of Amazon two months ago and I’ve been really happy with it.

Easy enough to set up, and I literally just opened the app on my phone and stand on the thing.

One downside: the companion app is super basic (The apparently it does integrate with several of the bigger health apps)

  • can’t remember the name of the company off the top of my head, but I’m happy to PM you later*

Edit: WeightGURUS scale is the one I bought. dis one

2 points

·

21st Jan 2018

I bought this one off Amazon last January for $50 and it’s been reliable and has worked great! If you have any other apps like MyFitnessPal/Fitbit/Apple/etc it will sync to those. Otherwise it comes with an app that will track your weight if you want. Great customer service, Prime shipping, and it’s been well worth the price I paid for it. 🙂

Edit: Oops, guess it would help if I posted the link!

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

2 points

·

25th Jan 2019

I totally second this! I love my bluetooth scale.

​

However, the Renpho app doesn’t work on my phone (might be because I have an older android) so I got a different scale. I really like the one I got so I’d recommend it if Renpho doesn’t work out for OP.

GreaterGoods Bluetooth Scale on Amazon

2 points

·

28th Jan 2020

You don’t really calculate BF, you need to measure it. I would recommend getting calipers on amazon. they are really cheap.. usually under $10. Or you could use something like a dexa scan or in body. I have a scale that measures it, and mine is surprisingly pretty accurate to my calipers. They’re within the 1-2% range.I’ve linked it here. but i don’t trust it, it could be a coincidence. I haven’t tested it with anyone else

1 point

·

24th Sep 2021

Kind of wonky setup, but I’ve used this one for a few years now with a combination of Google Fit + Samsung Health: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_TEWJ9KQTPHPZ1E6XC5V5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

It uses an app call “Weight Gurus” (which you can probably use even without the scale, and the app is able to integrate the weight into Google Fit

Then I use an app called “Health Sync” to copy the data from Google Fit to Samsung Health. It costs a few bucks but I just included that as part of the overall budget/cost its not so much

So basically with that sync app you can use any scale that can save to Google Fit (or fit bit etc). Note: I only do weight, not body composition, etc

1 point

·

9th Mar 2021

Sure. I have a Weight Gurus scale that I bought for around $50USD at Target. It’s not as accurate as a Dexa scan (or the like) but I weigh in everyday and it’s pretty consistent. link to Amazon

1 point

·

15th Jan 2021

I’ve been using this scale for 3 years. It logs your weight as soon as you step on it and all your weigh ins can be accessed via the app or the website.

Greater Goods Bluetooth Connected Bathroom Smart Scale, Measures & Tracks BMI, Lean Mass, Water Weight, & Bone Mass, Extra-Large, Backlit LCD Screen, Auto-Calibration & Auto-Off https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_iYpaGbY51WDTN?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

25th Sep 2019

Here is the scale I use from amazon . It measures BF, muscle mass, water weight, and calculates your BMI daily and has an app that will track it all and also links to MyFitnessPal. I love it. Like others said, take it with a grain of salt and it’s not super accurate I’m sure but I enjoy weighing myself every day and just tracking my progress. My only complaint is that the scale I think is set primarily to kg and I weigh in lbs, so when it displays my weight on the scale, say i’m 150.0 on the scale, in the app i’m actually 150.2. I emailed the company asking if something was wrong with mine but they just said it’s the conversion working once it uploads to the app. Very minor fluctuation but a little flaw nonetheless.

1 point

·

28th Jan 2020

You don’t really calculate BF, you need to measure it. I would recommend getting calipers on amazon. they are really cheap.. usually under $10. Or you could use something like a dexa scan or in body. I have a scale that measures it, and mine is surprisingly pretty accurate to my calipers. They’re within the 1-2% range. I’ve linked it here. but i don’t trust it, it could be a coincidence. I haven’t tested it with anyone else

1 point

·

28th Jan 2020

You don’t really calculate BF, you need to measure it. I would recommend getting calipers on amazon. they are really cheap.. usually under $10. Or you could use something like a dexa scan or in body. I have a scale that measures it, and mine is surprisingly pretty accurate to my calipers. They’re within the 1-2% range. I’ve linked it here. but i don’t trust it, it could be a coincidence. I haven’t tested it with anyone else

1 point

·

28th Jan 2020

You don’t really calculate BF, you need to measure it. I would recommend getting calipers on amazon. they are really cheap.. usually under $10. Or you could use something like a dexa scan or in body. I have a scale that measures it, and mine is surprisingly pretty accurate to my calipers. They’re within the 1-2% range.I’ve linked it here. but i don’t trust it, it could be a coincidence. I haven’t tested it with anyone else

1 point

·

6th Feb 2019

I bought this scale from Amazon over 2 years ago when I was looking at the Aria scale – it’s a Bluetooth Weight Gurus digital scale. You have to download their app, but it syncs to Fitbit/MyFitnessPal/etc. It allows multiple people, but I don’t know about switching the units. They have great customer service though so you could ask!

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

1 point

·

11th May 2018

I’ve been using this one off of Amazon since last year and it’s been very accurate! Also syncs with several other apps like Fitbit and MyFitnessPal if you use things like that 🙂 (it comes with it’s own app to track your overall loss though)

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

1 point

·

13th Apr 2018

I just went on Amazon and wound up getting the nicest one that was under $50, which is this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf (sorry I’m on mobile so I can’t make that look nicer >.< ) Sometimes the app is buggy but the scale seems pretty accurate, not too far off from the doctor’s last I went. Really though you just need something to help you track the trend: is your weight generally going up or down kind of thing. A lot of times (and I’m sure you’ve heard this already) you’ll lose inches before you lose weight, so in that respect no scale is an accurate measure of how much fat is on your body. And you can get a little tape measure from Walmart for less than $2 lol.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2018

I really like my Wight Gurus scale.

It has a good tracking app and integrates with Google Fit which then shares the weight data with MFP and Cronometer.

I can also download the weight data from the WG website and make weight charts in Excel. I’m a nerd.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2017

We’ve got this one https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf. The app works fine for me but my husband complains it works his Bluetooth. Weird since we both have pixel phones. But I’m happy with it. Though some day when I get down to his (Obsessive CICO) weight it may be a pain.

1 point

·

20th Aug 2017

We got this one https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N9ENKDI as a milestone reward and I love it. Several looked good, but this one Auto synced for multiple users ( and can push to mfp). One unique thing is that it also keeps data private between users. My husband and I both use it, but he still has no idea what my numbers are ( thank goodness)!

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2017

This is the scale I have. It can link to your smartphone with bluetooth and record results every day automatically when you step onto it if your phone is on and in range. It also measures body fat. I don’t know how accurate it is but its been picking up that i’ve been losing body fat. Hope this helps

1 point

·

7th May 2017

It’s the Weight Gurus app. I bought their scale and it’s terrific. I weigh in every morning before I get in the shower, and the scale connects to my phone automatically to upload the results. It also tracks BMI, Body Fat, Lean Mass, Bone Mass, and Water Weight. The best part is that it’s only $60.

Here’s the Amazon link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_m-5dzbB6824Q1

1 point

·

14th Apr 2017

I just recently bought the Weight Gurus scale from amazon, i think we spent $55 on it? it has an app that you can connect via bluetooth and it sends all the metrics to your phone and creates a neat little graph. i had a body fat scan in the doctors office and my scale was about 2% off. so it’s not 100% reliable but you can’t expect to get that kind of technology for a bathroom scale under $100. 🙂 but it gives you your weight, body fat %, muscle mass, bone, and hydration levels. scale

1 point

·

11th Jan 2017

Que? lol, i got a cheap one.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N9ENKDI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

As I’ve said in my other comment, the scale is largely to keep the worst from occurring. There’s no need for an overtly sophisticated machine. Either way, even the $130-150+ scales aren’t anywhere close to accurate with bf% anyway from my understanding.

I’ll know I’m in the shape I want to be in because I’ll hopefully have abs again in the next few months. Won’t need a scale to tell me that.

1 point

·

12th Jan 2017

I use this one: https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Backlit-Greater-Goods/dp/B00N9ENKDI

I got it for Christmas and I checked it’s accuracy with hand weights. I really like that it bluetooth connects to my phone to sync my weight. Not that you couldn’t just manually in put it in 3 seconds or anything lol.

1 point

·

14th Jan 2017

It’s a little over $50, but I love my scale.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=cm_sw_r_taa_lyPEybA9040SV

the really cheap scales I’ve had in the past weren’t as accurate, and broke quickly. I’ve only had this one a couple weeks but so far it’s great! I really like having all my info added to my tablet automatically because I like data, and am usually rushing around in the mornings.

1 point

·

28th Dec 2016

I have this one and love it! It does BF% as well as weight and remembers up to 8 different users. Syncs via bluetooth with the app on my phone and then you can set it to automatically update to other apps such as FitBit and MFP. Its all I can imagine needing in a scale.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N9ENKDI/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

27th Dec 2016

Just received this one from WeightGurus as a Christmas present. I’ve only been using it with Apple Health, but it says it supports FitBit too. Does FitBit support HealthKit?

1 point

·

21st Dec 2016

I usually do two weighs just to be sure. If I get the same thing twice I stick with it. I just got a new scale from the hubs for Christmas and I tested it with hand weights to make sure it was accurate. It syncs with an app on my phone which is pretty cool. With my old scale if I thought it was acting up I would take the battery out and put it back in to reset. I don’t know if that worked or not, but it put my mind at ease. My old one was just a digital one from Walmart. My new one that I really like so far is this one: https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Backlit-Greater-Goods/dp/B00N9ENKDI

1 point

·

17th Jun 2016

I ordered Greater Good’s Weight Guru:

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Backlit-Greater-Goods/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=sr_1_4_s_it?s=hpc&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1466167858&amp;sr=1-4&amp;keywords=Smart+scale.

I looked at the ones you suggested but chose this one bc of price and current rating/reviews. I hope it works as well as the ones you suggested.
My husband does not use MyFitnessPal. He uses Fitbit.
One of the cons I read is that is didn’t sync to MFP, but they very recently made it so it can sync to Fitbit and THEN to MFP.
Once we get it I’ll see if I can do that and let you know how it goes.

1 point

·

30th Jun 2015

Have you thought about getting a scale that measures bodyfat%? Yeah, they’re not very accurate, but at least they’re internally consistent so you can see what sort of progress you’re making. I got this one and I really like it. It measures weight, BMI, fat %, muscle mass %, water weight %, and bone mass %. I’ve had it for about two months and have been able to see how my fat % and muscle % has changed over time.

4 points

·

31st Jan 2019

I bought this one from Amazon two years ago and it’s been accurate! Also syncs to various apps if you use any of them

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

2 points

·

5th May 2018

I’ve been using this one from Amazon and it’s been accurate!

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

1 point

·

1st Jun 2021

I have this one and I like it. It records all of your measurements on an app.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2021

My scale ended up being fairly close to body fat measurements from visual estimation/caliper tests, so I ended up using that.

Its this one: http://amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=sr_1_1_sspa

1 point

·

17th Jan 2018

I’ve been using this one I bought off Amazon and it’s been accurate! (and it syncs to your phone and apps if you want so you don’t have to manually log)

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

1 point

·

10th Feb 2019

I’ve had this one from Amazon for over 2 years now and it’s been accurate and great!

https://www.amazon.com/Bluetooth-Connected-Solution-including-Backlit/dp/B00N9ENKDI

It does have an app if you want to track trends and have it upload your weigh-ins (and sync to other apps if you use anything like MyFitnessPal/etc).

There hasn’t been anything scientifically proven that the scan done by scales is harmful to pregnant women. 🙂 In fact, several studies have used bioelectrical impedance on pregnant women for measurements (these are just a few):

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11574127

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11574127

https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02968316

www.ajog.org/article/S0002-9378(16)31322-9/pdf

Maybe check with your medical provider first, but I had no issues with using a BMI scale during my last pregnancy!

1 point

·

4th Sep 2018

This is the one I have. I like it because it syncs with the app and you can set up multiple users.

Bluetooth Smart Body Fat Scale by… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

1 point

·

27th Oct 2017

I have this one and I love it! Scale

1 point

·

10th Jun 2017

I did a ton of research and have had this scale for a year and a half and LOVE it: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N9ENKDI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_od3ozbWE9DXXJ

1 point

·

13th Jan 2016