What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Germ Guardian AC4825 22” 3-in-1 True HEPA Filter Air Purifier for Home, Full Room, UV-C Light Kills Germs, Filters Allergies, Smoke, Dust, Pet Dander, Odors, 3-Yr Wty, GermGuardian, Grey?

A total of 79 reviews of this product on Reddit.

7 points

·

15th May 2021

Try an air purifier like this and change the air filter in your home regularly. Plants can definitely help but it would take a mini jungle to clean the air like you’re thinking.

6 points

·

27th Jul 2021

Here’s something I learned about the smoke as I just moved here from California:

Air filters inside work. Like, really well. We had an air quality measuring device that was reading around ~300 (for reference we were seeing about ~150 here lately) but inside a house running an air filter brought it down to ~4!

So when you woke up this morning, was your mouth dry? Did you have a weird taste? That progresses to nasty phlegm and headaches. Get yourself an air filter, because this will probably happen again.

(Here’s the one we use: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_3NE3JK5QTMB31P3ARRQX)

3 points

·

26th Feb 2021

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_TPTY6HZSHW4Z72QV0KGZ

Currently this with the uv light off. Looks like there was a batch with bad electrical components that generatrd a bunch of bad reviews but I’ve had mine for 3+ years now with no issues. Without the uv light its basically just a fan with a carbon prefilter and a hepa filter.

2 points

·

11th Jun 2021

Germ Guardian

Source: I have four ferrets.

Also, the people who are recommending diet and litter changes are also correct. Food makes a HUGE impact. I recently had to change my ferrets diet due to a discontinued food, and it’s been a process trying to find a replacement that they like, doesn’t stink up the place, and is reasonable priced.

I have one of those Dyson tall fans with an air filter on it that I got via credit card points to afford (lol) and we have one called the Germ Guardian which is similar to this one but ours is way older. I think they also sell slightly different germ guardians at Costco too.

2 points

·

12th Nov 2020

I don’t know why, I would think teachers especially would have their sick days respected. In 6th grade when I was immunocompromised I got a uv hepa filter and my class had only 2 people briefly sick in the sick season compared to the whole class in the rest of the school. Hopefully it could make it make so you don’t get as sick as often? It’s not said enough, but a good teacher is always appreciated.

1 point

·

29th Oct 2021

Seems like you’re doing all the right things, based on your description and other comments. I would maybe suggest getting a portable air purifier. I had an apartment that was abused by poor pet owners previously, so no matter what we did it still carried that lingering pee smell. Bought an air purifier and it helped out a lot. It was always worse when hot/humid too. Eventually there was water damage in other parts of the apt so they did a lot of professional refinishing/cleaning which helped out the most.

We got one very similar to this, but since it’s only your bedroom you could get away with something smaller, probably for around 50 bucks. Good luck!

1 point

·

22nd May 2021

Activated carbon filter will do nothing against wildfire smoke, the particles are too small. You need an actual HEPA filter.

I have this puppy and it seems to work well

https://www.amazon.ca/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=lp_6646974011_1_10

1 point

·

25th Feb 2021

We use Germ Guardian, although I can’t say if it will directly improve congestion. I’m not sure how old your baby is, but they do tend to be stuffy at first. We did saline spray every night before bed for awhile and that really helped. The congestion improved on it’s own around the 3-4 month mark.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2021

I’m really sorry to hear that, but I’m happy that you got your job back!!

Here is what I bought, and it worked like a dream!! Shop around, but something like this is what I have in mind.

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=mp_s_a_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=germ+guardian+air+filter&qid=1613461357&sr=8-6

1 point

·

30th Dec 2020

I use a really basic HEPA filter like this and leave it running on high. That cuts down the smell a bit (more than you’d think), but it’s still pretty prevalent. I’ll usually also burn a candle if I’m sitting up there and not smoking. But the best solution is just fresh air: during the spring/summer, the windows are always open and the fan is always on.

I’ve been really curious about the Rabbit Air Purifiers, but haven’t heard any personal testimonials about whether or not they actually take care of the smell.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2020

This is the one I have. It’s nothing fancy but it does the job for me.

Germ Guardian True HEPA Filter Air Purifier with UV Light Sanitizer, Eliminates Germs, Filters Allergies, Pollen, Smoke, Dust Pet Dander, Mold Odors, Quiet 22 inch 4-in-1 Air Purifier for Home AC4825E https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_nXEXFbVD0XYND

1 point

·

27th Nov 2020

godspeed bro! fighting an invisible enemy like trich/mold can be extremely frustrating/disheartening. if you have the means, maybe invest in a hepa filter? dunno how effective they are, but maybe it’ll give you peace of mind. i have that model (for non-mycology purposes) and i’ll run it for an hour before sterile operations and have yet to deal with contam. keeping fingers big time crossed

1 point

·

5th Jan 2017

Do NOT use your HVAC system as an air filter. It will lower efficiency, cost more to use overall increasing your bills, wear out components, decrease your comfort, and doesn’t work when it’s off anyway. My HVAC blower motor (only) uses nearly 400w of power. A purpose built air filter I have uses less than 5w and actually cleans the air.

Get a dedicated and purpose built air filter. Amazon has dozens and they work far better and cost less to run. I have two of these and they are fine:

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Sanitizer-Reduction/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_3_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1483585158&sr=8-3&keywords=germ+guardian

1 point

·

17th Feb 2019

I had crazy allergies too when I first got my cat Roo. You do eventually build up an immunity, but to be fair it took me months and I was even considering seeing an allergist for shots.

The only thing that helped was taking claritin or zyrtec with a purifier I bought on amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_OVkACbBRGZHD9

I also tried tapering off the claritin to every other day until I was finally exhibiting mild symptoms such as occasional sneezing and coughing, which I had a proair to combat.

See your doctor for allergy prescriptions or an allergist if you want to take the shot route. Other than that it’ll definitely go away.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2020

I got a hepa air purifier and it really works great for keeping my room from getting hazy. I got this one but I am sure there are lots of others that would work.

Edit: jesus please do not listen to everyone telling you to basically disable it by covering it with plastic when you probably have lithium batteries/chargers like wtf don’t be stupid.

1 point

·

25th Jul 2020

I use this guy and it works about 6-70% of the time when the HEPA filter setting is on. It gets rid of most of the smell. But for cooking with a lot of oil it doesn’t really do the trick and I resort to candles to replace the smell.

Germ Guardian True HEPA Filter Air Purifier with UV Light Sanitizer, Eliminates Germs, Filters Allergies, Pollen, Smoke, Dust Pet Dander, Mold Odors, Quiet 22 inch 4-in-1 Air Purifier for Home AC4825E https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_Ox7gFbWFA2ZPP

1 point

·

9th May 2020

EDIT ADDITION: I looked up the large air purifier I have, $100 on amazon or Best Buy and the reviews do mention it helps with smoke. I love it cause I get terrible allergies and it helps significantly with that so hopefully it helps you with your situation! It’s called Germ Guardian https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_j-JTEbYW2DYNX

And I’m sure you can find others that will work too!

——————————

Idk if it’s been suggested or might work, but a small air filter coupled with an open window/door draft might help.

I had neighbors who did the same but only weed and I kept this “desk top” air filter in the bathroom running with the main fan on (windowless bathroom) and had some glade plug in and it helped.

But the cigarette smell is so strong…my parents were smokers growing up and only smoked in the garage and it is terrible in there….but at least the filter can help.

I have a large one for allergies in my bedroom but have yet to see if it helps with cigarette smoke.

You could have management come by and smell it, like I saw a few comments before the smell stays and can do significant damage to the apartment, especially in a confined space like the bathroom so to avoid damage the tentants can be warned not to smoke inside to avoid paying for damages.

1 point

·

30th Apr 2020

Winix are probably some of the best, but the ones with UV-C are more expensive.

I’ve noticed as a smoker that the UV-C component makes a huge difference with the smell. The only issue that I don’t know about, is apparently UV-C creates ozone, and that can be irritating to people with asthma.

I personally have the Germ Guardian AC4825 and it works pretty well. Has a small footprint but is about 30″ tall. Only complaint is the UV-C switch broke. Replacement filters are expensive but there are generics on amazon that are cheaper. Look around for deals, you can find these refurbished occasionally for $50 each.

1 point

·

21st Dec 2019

If you want something that you can physically see what its pulling from the air, then Dyson is your best bet. They are expensive though. I own another air purifier for much cheaper and it did its job as well. Link below.
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B004VGIGVY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

1st Mar 2019

I have an idea that hasn’t been shared yet!

We had a period of time with heavy smoke due to wildfires where I live, and got an air purifier. The model we have even has a UV light that we can turn on inside of it to kill bacteria/virus/mold spores (good for reduced immune system during pregnancy).

It does a fantastic job of removing odors from the room. I go sit next to it in the bedroom while my husband feeds the cats their wet food, and I can’t smell the canned cat food at all (super strong smell).

we got this model, but there are many others available as well

1 point

·

29th Dec 2018

I own 2 of these and have had them for 3 years of pretty much 24/7 use: https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1546060734&sr=8-4&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=air+purifier&dpPl=1&dpID=41OeMFUPjXL&ref=plSrch

They’re amazing at removing odors from the air. But I noticed there’s a bunch of recent bad reviews so maybe they’re not manufactured the same anymore. A garment steamer might help remove odor from clothes.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2018

I recommend using one of the GermGuardian purifiers that have a physical switch. I personally have their AC4825 model plugged into a SmartThings smart outlet in my bedroom. I keep the purifier always set to Medium and use routines to control when it turns on and off.

1 point

·

9th Aug 2018

This is the one I have
https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY?crid=21DWY14H1ALBU&keywords=air+purifier&qid=1533834580&sprefix=air&sr=8-3&ref=mp_s_a_1_3

I suggest it too cause unlike other air purifiers the filters are cheap, and you can wash the pre filter, the main filters will last for 6 months

1 point

·

17th Apr 2018

you don’t need an expensive HEPA purifier, I got one of these and it works great:

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/

I have in my house rules that vaping/dabbing is okay inside but joints/bongs/blunts are outside only. With the above air purifier in the house I don’t have any problem at all with smell.

1 point

·

11th Feb 2018

I bought this one.

GermGuardian AC4825 3-in-1 Air Purifier with True HEPA Filter, UV-C Sanitizer, Captures Allergens, Smoke, Odors, Mold, Dust, Germs, Pets, Smokers, 22-Inch Germ Guardian Air Purifier https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_XjhGAb7WD79N2

It has 3 fan settings. I keep it on 3 (2 is ok, but 1 is super quiet) as it’s a fantastic white noise machine!

The hepa filter is replaceable, and so is the carbon filter. You don’t need to use the UV setting. I did until it expired (UV bulbs typically stop producing uv radiation after 12mth from being turned on . I’m not replacing the bulb.

I buy the generic hepa filter now, as I’m cheap lol it’s still catching a ton of dust. I use a good quality of filter (I buy in bulk on Amazon for a huge savings) in my furnace, so them combined do a great job. I don’t have crazy dust issues at all. My allergies don’t bother me anymore when inside.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2017

I’m currently in an apartment before moving into our house, we have a GermGuardian AC4825 from Amazon. It wasn’t the cheapest one on there (~$85) but it works well and has a UV light you can turn on/off to help with smells. It only requires a filter replacement every 6-12 months, depending on use, and they cost maybe $25 or so. I’m not sure how long the UV bulb is supposed to last.

Here’s a link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_EpwjAb4R91XS5

Before buying a filter, do some research:
•What footage do you need to filter (use correct CFM).
•What particle size does the unit filter?
•Activated charcoal and/or UV light for smells?
•How often does the unit need filter replacement, and how much does it cost?
•How many people have rated it well?
•Etc.

1 point

·

25th Jul 2017

I haven’t had this issue with vapor specifically, but the combination of two cats and occasional indoor smoke had us waking up congested and vacuuming/dusting all the time from the overall poor air quality. I picked up a HEPA type air filter which does an amazing job since it picks up anything 3 microns or bigger. It keeps our air clear and smelling fresh even while we vape heavily, so it may help you as well. It also does a great job of reducing dust and pet debris if that’s a concern for you.

Does anyone have a reliable figure as to the size of vapor particles? That may help you see if this will work, since I believe most devices made specifically to clear vapor from the air work the same way.

This is the device we have:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_nT3Dzb2MCTBJV

1 point

·

25th Jun 2017

I bought this
Air purifier
which says its CADR rated 100+ for medium size room. I think that should be more then enough for a small bedroom

1 point

·

4th Apr 2017

I don’t want to repeat what has already been said, but, I will add that putting an air purifier in the same room as the cage can help a lot. We have this one: https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Sanitizer-Reduction/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_3_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1491312363&sr=8-3&keywords=air+purifier.

It makes a pretty noticeable difference in reducing the smell.

1 point

·

9th Mar 2017

I can’t speak to it personally, but I hear these work pretty well.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2016

Just get an air filter …. ?

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Reduction-22-Inch/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_3_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1480628727&sr=8-3&keywords=air+filter

We use those around the house and they work quite well. You can pull the filter out and blow them off.

1 point

·

17th Nov 2016

Sounds like allergies, or your body adjusting to the atmosphere. Keep your windows closed and try an air filter like this one.

Some might say it won’t work but I know my brother had some success with one when he had symptoms like it with his kids.

1 point

·

27th Oct 2016

I’m from Brazil so i have to google alot of the abbreviation, but i’ll try the baby shampoo nasal irrigation along with the dymista and will take a break from the Rupafin, but basically i always had a abnormal amount of mucus being produced by my perennial rhinitis, my doctor told me about a new type of immunotherapy that could help me aswell but then i would have to move to the united states since they don’t do it here, anyway thank you very much for your help! oh and no i don’t wear a cpap but i bought this thing that supossedly could help with the dust/mite that i am very allergic to, been using it for 2 months but nothing really changed unfortunately

1 point

·

1st Jan 2016

Nothing that I came across when I was looking for something similar, unfortunately. I found that same enclosure and it seems insanely expensive for what it is.

What I might suggest is to have the printer in a room that you can close off and ideally has outside ventilation, with a HEPA filter like this:

http://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Reduction-22-Inch/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=zg_bs_510192_1

The studies that are out there right now show a drastic dive in ultra-fine particle concentrations within 10-30 minutes after a print is completed, so as long as the filter runs just a little after the print is finished, the air should be clear. Add in a webcam in the room and something like Octoprint for total remote control.

Hopefully some other printers with HEPA/carbon filtered enclosures will start hitting the market soon.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2015

Exactly. Banning it inside vapeshops would be a bummer, not a ‘vaping is going to die’ bummer, but it would be just… a… bummer.

Now, vaping in a ventilated shop, or with an air-purifier in each corner, would be a breeze. Also, think about the time you couldn’t even taste properly the juice you were thinking of buying because of that apple-cigar-honeydew-creamy-menthol-custard vapor that was suspended in the air… Yeah, that would also help business.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2015

Yeah there are some essential oil diffusers out there as well. I like to diffuse lavender from time to time when I’m relaxing. And yeah, a dehumidifer could be helpful. This is the air purifier we use in our room. It’s especially helpful if you have pets.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2015

I dont have a sleeping disorder, I only have Nocturnal lagophthalmos which means when I close my lids my eyes do not close all the way. Causes some dry eye so I use a mask. I used the following product: filter

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2015

I’m not allergic to my gf’s dogs, I’m allergic to the crap they get stuck in their hair. When I lived at her parents’ house for a while, allergy meds helped me a ton. I took Claritin because that’s what I had, but if it was too overpowering, I took Allegra too. Those two were in addition Singulair and Vistaril at night. (Maybe I’m secretly killing my liver and kidneys, but my doctors have never said anything.)

I think most people with animal allergies adapt to their animals and the symptoms lessen over time. If you’re like me and the animal isn’t problematic, but instead it’s the junk that gets trapped in the fur, keep the dog clean.

OH AND GET AN AIR PURIFIER. I got this one in the spring for my small bedroom. It made such a huge difference!

1 point

·

12th May 2015

yea, my allergies are pretty bad this year too. i actually resorted to getting an air purifier for my apartment and it’s worked miracles. it’s a bit of an investment and didn’t seem to do much at first, but after the first few days it’s really made a huge difference. i’d recommend checking out similar products, just make sure it says that it has a true HEPA filter and not a “HEPA-like” filter

3 points

·

6th Aug 2020

I have this one and have liked it so far!

2 points

·

30th Apr 2017

I had posted a similar question earlier and there didn’t seem to be much response to it. From what I’ve read online, oyster mushrooms have pretty strong sporulation, and you can develop allergies etc from breathing a ton of it. With 9x5lb blocks that will probably be a lot of spores, and taking a few precautions is never a bad idea.

I am setting up a shelf greenhouse similar to your setup, and my plan is to put HEPA filters on the 120mm (computer/muffin) fans to filter the exhaust from the greenhouse.

There is a great 3D printing part designed for this exact thing.

I’ve printed it and it seems good so far, but I haven’t actually finished setting it up. By cutting correctly shaped holes in the greenhouse (probably securing the fan with zipties) and sealing around it, you should be able to fix both your FAE problem and prevent most of the spores from leaving the greenhouse.

HEPA filters are usually 0.2-0.5 micron, and the spores are on the order of 2 micron, so they should work pretty well. As a backup / to keep the room tidy in general, I’ve also picked up one of these floor fans with a HEPA filter off of Amazon. That will also help remove them from the air, as some will definitely get loose over time.

Once I have my system set up I’m planning on putting up a few photos, but it’ll be another week or two.

Sorry for the wall of text, hope it helps!

2 points

·

2nd Oct 2020

Close off areas of your home where you aren’t, put the filters where you are. I have one of these and it works well for the living room (live in a 1-bedroom apartment).

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_8?dchild=1&keywords=air+filter&qid=1601611924&sr=8-8

2 points

·

6th Aug 2020

if it’s one pax in the back, slightly crack rear window on opposite side to draw air away from both of you and out of the car. Make sure you are not forcing AC to draw from inside the car and recirculate. Make it draw from outside – ya, it’ll be fractionally less cool but it’s fresh air.

If all rear seats are full, crack front passenger side window to draw all air in the car away from you and them and out.

Nobody sits up front. period. full stop.

If you are HIGH RISK, you might consider investing in a HEPA and UV filter and a inverter so you can run a room filter in the car.

I have a germ guardian and a small inverter sitting on my center console and use bungee cords to keep it in place but at the end of the shift, I pull it out and take it inside. I also have one of those plexi screens and a voodoo doll blessed by an authentic tarot card, palm reader and voodoo priestess from little havana. SHe gave me some ‘special’ incense to burn too – washes away bad spirits, bad juju and viruses.

I’m all set.

​

Seriously tho – a good hepa filter may give you and your pax a little extra peace of mind.

1 point

·

18th Mar 2022

These are great: GermGuardian AC4825

1 point

·

26th Nov 2021
1 point

·

28th Sep 2021

I have this one

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=mp_s_a_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=air+filter&qid=1632848107&rdc=1&sr=8-5

And this one.

https://www.amazon.com/HEPA-Air-Purifier-Purification-Filtration/dp/B07WP9MZ5J/ref=mp_s_a_1_10?dchild=1&keywords=air+filter&qid=1632848107&sr=8-10

I run them seasonally, when my lungs ask for them. And filter changing can vary from monthly to much longer depending on the particulate in the air. They’re quiet though, so not a nuisance.

The taller one can use regular furnace filters cut into strips to fit the machine (which are significantly less expensive than the proprietary filters made for it). They work very well also.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2021

It’s my understanding that most of the dust in a house is skin. Do you have snake DNA in you?

Here’s an air filter unit that you can use in your home.

1 point

·

31st May 2021

I use the very popular Germ Guardian air purifier and highly recommend it. My allergist’s office uses the same one, so I figure that’s as good a recommendation as any.

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/

I don’t use the UV light setting, personally, but it’s a great filter. It makes noticeable noise but it is very “white” and you will quickly become accustomed to it and block it out.

1 point

·

5th Apr 2021

You have good advice here. Also, the fan may be drying the air which can cause symptoms like throat tightness, which can exacerbate breathing issues. Asthma is such a bear because of its super fussy symptom set and environmental triggers.

To help me combat this, I need a fan in my room for good air circulation (I use an air purifier) & these replacement filters. But I also need a cold mist humidifier to moisten the air
enough to combat the dryness and weigh down dust/pollen particles floating about.

I tend to fare better with a room humididy level between 55-65%. I bought this room temp & hygrometer for various rooms in my house. It’s small, but fantastic.

I bought this little humidifier guy for my son’s room to help his asthma. Small enough to just take it to the bathroom sink for a quick fill up. It’s great!

This is my bedroom’s humidifier. It has a bigger footprint, holds more water. It doesn’t get moldy very easily. Easy to clean. Incredibly helpful for the drier air/high pollen/asthma flare teifecta.

1 point

·

12th Mar 2021

Like adding additional ventilation through filtration. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends a MERV-13 filter which can easily be found even at the local hardware store. Portable units can easily be found on [Amazon with high airflow and HEPA filtration](amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY). I personally own that one and it is fairly quiet even with the amount of air it is moving. Apparently Boston bought 7,500 MA-40 air purifiers for their schools.

One study trying to look into the importance of the specific distance requirements actually found that in some types of situations even a high occupancy environment could be safe.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2018

I bought mine on amazon for $80

You listed a two pack, but that’s still quite a bit more

1 point

·

29th Jul 2018

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_WNFxBbA56CD94

This is the one that I use, it’s actually marked down on amazon right now for $80 rather than $140. It uses an activated carbon filter for odors.

1 point

·

20th Mar 2019

I bought this one off Amazon during the Santa Rosa fires. It’s still running strong and did a great job during the Camp Fire.

1 point

·

5th Oct 2020

I got this 3 years ago when it was top seller. https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY
But it seem the newer ones aren’t good anymore.

So I’m looking for a Coway AP-1512HH Mighty or Coway Airmega 200M. Top 2 at https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-air-purifier/

Coway Airmega 200M have been on sale for $109-119
Coway AP-1512HH Mighty has been on sale for $116.

So I put an alert for those any probably buy two if they are on sale again.

1 point

·

11th Sep 2020

this one has served us well for 6 years but it only covers 167sqft and seems to be out of stock. This ships quickly but only covers 107sqft but is only $79.

If you can spare a bit more it would probably be more worth it to get something that will cover a wider space, especially with how the air quality is this week and possibly for the next month or so if they still can’t contain the bobcat fire

1 point

·

18th Jul 2020

I would suggest an air purifier. The dorms have shared air conditioning
This one kills airborne viruses-

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

Yes. I ordered a Germ Guardian
Its a bit noisy but does the trick. I use that in tandem with an Innogear Essential oil diffuser. Works like magic. This Orange Cream from Eden gardens is wonderful.
I feel like an Amazon shill. gag…

1 point

·

31st May 2019

I’ve been using this germguardian for the past 2 years, run 24/7 and it hasn’t had a single hiccup. I find it’s quite effective. Filters are about $30 every 6 months and the pre-filter should be vacuumed monthly. It used to be Wirecutters ‘budget pick’ but it has now been replaced by a smaller tabletop unit. Check out their top picks here

1 point

·

30th May 2018

Step 1 – Reduce the mold in the house.
Dry the area, dehumidifier in basement and living area even.

Step 2 – Reudce the mold in the bedroom.
Get a hepa air purifier for the bedroom – run it 24/7.
Make the room air tight if possible. Have an intake fan sucking air in and use a HEPA filter on that.

https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Sanitizer-Allergens-Guardian/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_4?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1527701473&sr=1-4&keywords=hepa

https://www.htgsupply.com/products/growbright-hepa

Step 3 – optional – Get a cpap machine w/ hepa filters.

At this point you should be breathing in clean air w/ no mold spores.

1 point

·

29th Apr 2018

Ask you neighbor to purchase a room purifier (and hell, one for you too!) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_XaL5AbNCSAJD7

I have this and the combo of air purifier + a candle cleans up a room to smelling fresh in like 30-60 minutes.

1 point

·

31st Mar 2017

I did a lot of research on this, check out the GermGuardian models, they get good reviews, I own several different models of them and they work well. This one is in your budget:
https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Sanitizer-Reduction/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1490958033&sr=8-2&keywords=germ+guardian

I own this one and it works well but it is pretty loud:
https://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4100-Cleaning-Sanitizer-Reduction/dp/B00G7VNO86/ref=sr_1_6_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1490958033&sr=8-6&keywords=germ+guardian

1 point

·

30th Dec 2016

Had this guy running for about 3 years with the only time it being off was to change the filter. Solid.
GermGuardian AC4845

Given the track record I’ve had with them, you could get the higher end version since it still fits your budget AC9200

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2016

use a food grade carbon filter.
I got the Germ Guardian AC4825, $93 on Amazon. I got it because it was highly rated for reducing food smells.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004VGIGVY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s02?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

20th Dec 2015

Can’t recommend this thing enough:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004VGIGVY

Also, there’s tons of products out there for cat allergies, wipes, gels, etc.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2015

I use this: http://www.amazon.com/GermGuardian-AC4825-Cleaning-Reduction-22-Inch/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1448477964&sr=8-3&keywords=air+purifier

Between this and: http://www.amazon.com/Hoover-WindTunnel-Bagless-Upright-UH70210/dp/B002HFA5F6/ref=sr_1_6?s=vacuums&ie=UTF8&qid=1448477996&sr=1-6&keywords=pet+vacuum

I’ve mostly got my husky hair under control. Sadly, there’s no solution that doesn’t involve vaccuuming and brushing-and hair with a long haired dog like a aussie is always going to be an issue.

1 point

·

17th Oct 2015

Hm… those are kinda pricey, but I’m willing to pay a bit more if necessary. So, would something like this work?

1 point

·

28th Sep 2015

I bought this sucker from Amazon some months ago and it seems to work pretty well at getting pot (and other) odors out of the air.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2015

I actually purchased an air purifier and I think it has helped some. I just got this model on amazon because it’s highly reviewed – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004VGIGVY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

5th Nov 2013

When my cat moved in w/ my bf and I, he went through the same thing. He was allergic to cats his whole life. Here are some steps to help you (he now is relatively okay, and the cat can even sleep in our bed now).

  1. If you can, start out with clean cats. (lol) so step one would be cat baths.
  2. Make sure there is a safe space for you. The first year, our cat wasn’t allowed in the bedroom (we live in a 1 bd apt) and it provided a safe “allergy free” space for my bf.
  3. Air filters! We have two: one big one for the living room/kitchen, and one small desk one for the bedroom. this is the brand we have: http://www.amazon.com/germguardian-AC4825-Cleaning-System-Reduction/dp/B004VGIGVY/ref=pd_bxgy_hpc_img_y
  4. Vacuum and wash bedding/clothes and much as humanly possible (so at least once a week)
  5. I had this allergy spray that you can spray on carpet/curtains/couch– i think it’s this: http://www.amazon.com/ADMS-Anti-Allergen-Spray-32-oz/dp/B0010DLYR4/ref=sr_1_1?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1383609405&sr=1-1&keywords=cat+allergy+spray note: spray is not to be sprayed on the cats
  6. Brush the cats as much as you can. you can collect all the hair up before it gets everywhere (well, mostly) and therefore collecting up the dander (well, maybe your gf can do the brushing)
  7. My mom bought me this stuff: http://www.amazon.com/Allerpet-Cats-People-Allergic-Ounces/dp/B000S0L0M4/ref=sr_1_2?s=pet-supplies&ie=UTF8&qid=1383609487&sr=1-2&keywords=cat+allergy+shampoo it’s shampoo for your cats… i haven’t used it yet, because everything else was working, but it’s also an options
  8. Time: if you give yourself time to recover from the encounters with the cat dander, soon (& hopefully) your immune system will start to get over attacking the allergens.
  9. Do a morning rinse, and rinse your feet at night (my bf did this for the first few months) apparently water “neutralizes” the dander
  10. if you don’t want the nasty, dowsy effects of constant benadryl, try out children’s claritan for a smaller drug dose, to help clear up congestion.

I hope any of this can help! 🙂