What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Gaggia 14101 Classic Semi-Automatic Espresso Maker. Pannarello Wand for Latte and Cappuccino Frothing. Brews for Both Single and Double Shots.?

A total of 20 reviews of this product on Reddit.

8 points

·

4th Oct 2016

The Baratza Encore isn’t an espresso-quality machine, the Preciso from Baratza would suit better.

And as was said the Gaggia is the best choice; but the price you gave is ~$150 too much.

E.g. Here on Amazon it’s $380 brand new: https://www.amazon.com/Gaggia-14101-Classic-Espresso-Stainless/dp/B0001KOA4Q

1 point

·

4th Nov 2017

Take Amazon reviews with a grain of salt as people will say anything to get free or discounted products. Forum reviews are definitely the best way to research, but keep in mind that many on specialty forums will nitpick things you might be willing to overlook.

A good solid machine is the Classic…

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0001KOA4Q/ref=asc_df_B0001KOA4Q5249096/?tag=hyprod-20&creative=394997&creativeASIN=B0001KOA4Q&linkCode=df0&hvadid=167144008776&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=15319105450350181553&hvpone=&hv…

Factor in a decent grinder, tamper, steaming pitcher, some cleaning supplies and you will be around what you’d spend on the Breville mentioned.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2019

I had a Gaggia Classic imported via US Amazon last year. I’ve been using it as is (no electrical converter) twice a day for over a year now. Love it! I upgraded the factory steam wand to the Rancilio Silvia by watching YouTube tutorials. Also, if you check my post history, I asked a similar question last year.

Here’s a link:

Gaggia 14101 Classic Semi-Automatic Espresso Maker. Pannarello Wand for Latte and Cappuccino Frothing. Brews for Both Single and Double Shots. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0001KOA4Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_JN1sDb1AW1EJH

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2017

For a fancy latte, I calculated I save an average of $752/year within the first two years: $577 in the first year and $927 in the second year (because the coffee machine would be part of the costs in the first year but not the second).

We own a Gaggia Classic which we got on sale for $350. We buy a bag of espresso from Wegmans for each week ($7), a gallon of milk ($3) and vanilla syrup (1/4 bottle = $2). So that comes out to $974 for the machine and supplies each week for the first year. After the machine is bought, it’s only $624 for a year of supplies.

A tall vanilla latte from Starbucks is about $4.25. To have one every day (like I do my homemade latte) for a year, it’s $1,551.25 dollars.

First year = $1551.25 – $974 = $577.25 savings
Second year = $1551.25 – $624 = $927.25 = savings
Two year average = $752.25/year

1 point

·

7th Jan 2017

> if you want something close to an espresso with crema.

It’s not going to make you an espresso, but it’ll be darn close for pretty much the cheapest price. I do plan on getting something like a Gaggia Classic some time in the near future. But for starters, the Brikka is definitely better than the traditional drip coffee.

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2016

Do you know if there has been a change in the build quality of the Gaggia 14101 Classic? I was planning on getting it but I’ll have to reevaluate my options if it turns out the quality is not what it used to be.

3 points

·

29th Aug 2016

Bro… gaggia classic.

Amazon has them for less than $350.

If you stalk eBay you can find them for around $200

Or buy them refurbished

I have had one of the refurbished units for over 5 years and have had ZERO trouble with it. Nothing has needed repair ever. I even use regular tap water.

I’ll descale it every year or so, and back flush whenever I think about it. Other than that I wake up and make two coffees with it every day. Never failed.

3 points

·

14th May 2018

WLL sells the older model Classic.

I’m not sure if all US models (i.e. from Amazon) are like this or not, but some of the Classic experts here should be able to enlighten you.

3 points

·

23rd Jul 2018

I agree that the cheap ones are a waste of money. You will get better results from an Aeropress or Moka Pot. However, Amazon does sell the Gaggia Classic and Breville Infuser, both of which are decent entry-level espresso machines frequently recommended in this sub.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2016

Looks like a similar one is about $380 on Amazon. Awesome find.

1 point

·

9th May 2018

I don’t know where you live, but in the US the “good” version is still on the market. As others have said, apparently Whole Latte Love sells it and so does Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0001KOA4Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

I literally just got mine from Amazon 3 days ago and it is the RI9303 (model 14101). It has the aluminum boiler, 3-way solenoid, and over pressure valve (I opened it up to be sure). The “bad” version is the RI9403… which from everything I have read, is only sold in Europe.

As a comparison, here is the RI9403 (https://www.amazon.co.uk/Gaggia-New-Classic-Brushed-Chrome/dp/B00SBLMICS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421526213&sr=8-1&keywords=RI9403). Notice on the RI9403 the different control buttons, the plastic portafilter spouts, and the lack of the solenoid drain tube on the left side that you can clearly see on the US version (RI9303).

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2017
1 point

·

4th Feb 2017

https://www.amazon.ca/Gaggia-14101-Classic-Brushed-Stainless/dp/B0001KOA4Q

The one on CL for $600 was only 3 months old. With tax, a new one will be $720.

1 point

·

6th Nov 2015

thanks, I’ve heard great things about gaggia, I will try to find something from them. Good website btw.

What are your impressions of this model? http://www.amazon.com/Gaggia-14101-Classic-Espresso-Stainless/dp/B0001KOA4Q

1 point

·

25th Oct 2015

And to be a little bit useful. I wouldn’t go any less than something like this off amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Gaggia-14101-Classic-Espresso-Stainless/dp/B0001KOA4Q

But i would also recommend spending at least double that on a grinder

1 point

·

25th Oct 2015

Thanks for this reply. This is a real help. Anything that helps me avoid a useless machine is much appreciated. Can I ask a follow up on the Gaggia? Which model(s) are you talking about? I spent some time look at Gaggia before I posted this because it was one of the brands listed in the gear guide that I could find machines for sale easy on Amazon. On Amazon, I see, for instance, these three machines:
14101 Classic Espresso Machine

2300 Baby Class Manual Espresso Machine

Gaggia Brera Superautomatic Espresso Machine

When I first saw those, I thought it looked quite promising, they all seem very reasonably priced, but given everything I’ve been reading here, I’m a little worried. You mention removing the pressurized portafilter mod, which doesn’t seem to be too big of a modification to make. The Gaggia descriptions mention pressures well above 9 bars, but I’m seeing here that you don’t actually want more than 9 bars, what’s going on here? Some of those also have grinders in them. Is it safe to assume that they really don’t make the grade and I would need to get a proper grinder? Should I really just skip over the Gaggia options for something proper?

1 point

·

15th Aug 2015

Sur La Table in La Jolla has a bunch and they sample a couple of the machines. http://www.surlatable.com/. Sounds like you are looking for an actual coffee machine not Espresso but this is what I use and I love it. http://www.amazon.com/Gaggia-14101-Classic-Espresso-Stainless/dp/B0001KOA4Q/ref=lp_289748_1_16?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1439682948&sr=1-16

1 point

·

31st Jul 2015

Gaggia Classic

Rancilio Silvia

Rancilio Rocky (Burr Coffee Grinder)

One thing to note is you can get those espresso machines waaaay cheaper if you buy used, which I recommend if you’re new. I would say it’s better to spend less on a used beginner (but not low-quality) machine and then upgrade when you’ve become addicted than to spend very little on a low quality machine and be disappointed in the results.

But it’s an absolute MUST to get a good burr coffee grinder!

Sorry for hijacking a thread about a $30 espresso machine and talking about a $300+ machine.

0 points

·

29th Jan 2017

Minimum machine grinder dream setup machine grinder