What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Foundation: Redefine Your Core, Conquer Back Pain, and Move with Confidence?

A total of 17 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

12th Jun 2018

Back injuries can take a long time to heal. Follow the doc and PT orders and really start thinking about your movements. Pulling, bending, and twisting aren’t bad unless your spine is loaded during the movement. Hip hinge is essential to back health, which is probably why people hear that being tight in your hips can make healing more difficult and can lead to injuries.

An earth shattering read for me was: https://www.amazon.com/Foundation-Redefine-Your-Conquer-Confidence/dp/1609611004

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2016

Hey, couple of suggestions

Try out foundation back training. Link to the book here

The exercises in the book are mostly for lower and mid back issues so might not be fully relevant to you. They helped me immensely when I had severe lower back trouble. Have been virtually pain free since I started doing them. I also had cervical disc trouble and was told that the space between two of my neck discs has reduced due to an injury. This left me unable to turn my neck, move my arms beyond shoulder level, throw things for a while. It got better on its own after a while though. I did go through trying many exercises online to fix it (dont remember which). The basic theory being that if your supporting muscles are strong, the discs will eventually be OK.

I have no personal experience but have seen a lot of noise about Qi Spine clinics in Bangalore.

Good luck, hope it gets better

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2016

I jump higher at 35 than I did playing basketball all through high school. I credit it to two things.

1) Much stronger legs through actually learning how to hip hinge and incorporate my posterior chain.

2) Increased mobility in my hips which enables a more effective hinge.

As the saying goes, “good athletes use their legs, great athletes use their hips”.

Edit: If you want to develop a good hinge you can do stuff like kettlebell swings and deadlifts, but I personally am I huge fan of Eric Goodman’s “Foundation” exercises.

https://www.amazon.com/Foundation-Redefine-Your-Conquer-Confidence/dp/1609611004

1 point

·

21st Apr 2016

L4/L5 L5/S1 here for 8 years. I have had 2 sets of steroid injections, physical therapy, and countless Chiropractor visits. I was about to get surgery when a new Chiropractor recommended Foundation. This training has been used by Lance Armstrong and many other cyclist.

I was hesitant after trying other books that did not work but it was my last resort before surgery. Well, I noticed a difference within the first week. This training has changed my life and kept me out of the operating room. I also am able to stay away from the Chiropractor.

The training focuses on strengthening the tiny muscles that surround your vertebrae. As the muscles get stronger and grow it takes pressure off of the nerves. I have been doing it for 3 years. I still get sore and tight daily but it is manageable and corrected by doing some of my favorite exercises. I occasionally get pain down my leg but nothing constant like before. I rarely get jammed up (left leg two inches shorter than right) but I am now able to adjust myself and reset/relax my back with out going to the chiropractor. When it gets really bad I use ibuprofen and an inversion table but that is diminishing as I am getting stronger.

I would also recommend doing additional core/abdominal exercises. When I start feeling something on a ride, I tighten my core and it takes the pressure off my back. I do my favorite stretches/exercise before and after each ride and sometimes during.

Reach out if you want any more information. Hope this helps.

2 points

·

23rd Jan 2021

He has videos on YouTube going over the exercises.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1609611004/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_QT-cGb1A5ZR7T

Good luck

1 point

·

9th Nov 2021

“Recovering” and “healing” are not always the same. Strengthening your core will help you recover and function. It will not heal degenerative discs. Even in the healthiest of spines, there is at least some disc degeneration as you age. People have “recovered” from severe back injuries and have become pain-free with no movement restrictions, by undergoing non-surgical treatment and strengthening supporting muscle groups. In some cases, they’ve become stronger than ever, for example hitting deadlift PR’s. Again, that’s not the same as healing. If you look at imaging (MRI) of their spines, you will likely see the same or even worse degeneration. Here’s an example of a great book to learn more about back health and science:

https://www.amazon.ca/Foundation-Redefine-Your-Conquer-Confidence/dp/1609611004

Neat sidebar: There are testimonials in the book from a couple of former Lakers, Derek Fisher and Luke Walton.

1 point

·

11th Nov 2020

I too did it myself due to the mindset that once you cut into your body it can’t be undone. Have you heard if the foundation series?

Foundation: Redefine Your Core, Conquer Back Pain, and Move with Confidence https://smile.amazon.com/dp/1609611004/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_2PeRFbWQ9X68E

https://youtu.be/4BOTvaRaDjI

It looks ridiculous but holding these positions you will sweat and the back will thank you.

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

make this your bible:
Foundation: Redefine Your Core, Conquer Back Pain, and Move with Confidence https://www.amazon.com/dp/1609611004/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_.gDnFbWBD5PA6

1 point

·

15th Feb 2020

Lots of good advice in here, mainly about seeing a back specialist. I injured my back and was diagnosed with spinal stenosis. Had tons of issues managing the pain, and while PT helped some, it wasn’t enough to really solve the issue, even going three times a week for months.

Talked to a doctor friend that was also an avid cyclist, and he recommended a book called The Foundation. Starting doing those exercises (really simple, 15/20 mins 3 times a week minimum, but more helps). Really changed my back/inner core and within 10 days my pain was gone. It’s just become habit to do the exercises now and it’s amazing how I have zero pain in my back, core is the strongest it’s ever been, and my posture has greatly improved.

Not saying it will be a silver bullet, but it was for me, and it just cost like 20 bucks for the book on Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Foundation-Redefine-Your-Conquer-Confidence/dp/1609611004/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=the+foundation&qid=1581799355&rnid=2941120011&s=books&sr=1-3

1 point

·

17th Aug 2018

Yes, they are body weight/stretching exercises. Here’s a LINK to the book I used initially. It’s a 6-week program with sets of exercises for dealing with acute pain, chronic pain, and then for ongoing maintenance. “The Founder” is the core exercise and whenever I feel ANY kind of back twinge, I do a few rounds of those. “Hinging at the hips” is another of the program’s philosophies. Basically, changing how we bend. Makes a world of difference. Seriously, it’s been a game-changer for me.

Edit: Added video link for The Founder.

1 point

·

30th May 2016

Hey friend. I had vicious back pain like you too. Very similar work profile as well (desk job 14-16 hours a day). I consider myself fairly active and was surprised how quickly my lower back went bad. The pain was so bad that I would have shooting pains just while sitting down and standing up. I tried various stretching routines available online. However, stretching did not turn out to be the answer for me. It would only provide temporary relief and I would go back to square one in some time. This was in 2013 Octoberish.

Since then, I have had instant and lasting relief from doing Foundation Back Training. The recommended routine for beginners is 3 times every day for about 3 weeks. In those 3 weeks, my lower back pain cleared up completely and I was able to get back to my regular training. I would highly highly recommend that you try it out. It takes about 20 minutes to do first thing in the morning. Links included 🙂

This sounds like a plug I know but the routine worked beyond my wildest imagination. I personally own two copies of the book, one for myself and one for handing out. I hope it helps you.

P.S. He also has free videos on YouTube but the real back pain killer exercise which is the back extension with arm raise may or may not be in the videos.

https://www.foundationtraining.com/
http://www.amazon.com/Foundation-Redefine-Your-Conquer-Confidence/dp/1609611004

Edit: Couple more people have mentioned Foundating Training too! I think it should be getting a lot more attention

1 point

·

24th Jul 2015

Check out Foundation: Redefine Your Core…. the author also has a compelling TEDx talk for a sample. I’m just getting started on it but so far I like his philosophy. Reviews are great too. Good luck!