What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Fluance Elite High Definition 2-Way Bookshelf Surround Sound Speakers for 2-Channel Stereo Listening or Home Theater System – Natural Walnut/Pair (SX6W)?

A total of 29 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2021

Since you seem to like Canadian products why not consider the Fluance Elite speakers? They are cheaper than the PSB and have really good sound quality.

Fluance Elite High Definition 2-Way Bookshelf Surround Sound Speakers for 2-Channel Stereo Listening or Home Theater System – Natural Walnut/Pair (SX6W) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00067OS0A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_KPFZX1RX0ZJZRX39R6J9

1 point

·

17th Sep 2014

That’s a pretty good budget actually. Personally, I’d recommend these speakers (unless you can find a nice old set at a tag sale or something):

Fluance SX6 High Definition Two-way Bookshelf Loudspeakers https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00067OS0A/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_1RDgub0W483CF

I have the black ones and love them. Great for a stereo setup, enough bass for me although a subwoofer wouldn’t hurt it’s not needed IMO.

Receiver wise, there’s plenty of options on eBay, Craigslist or amazon. I recently picked up an old Marantz for $120 that just needed new feet and some cleaning up, runs perfectly. I used to have an old pioneer sx too that I ended up giving to my girlfriend, cost me $70 and worked great. Realistically a really nice system can definitely be had for the amount you want to spend. My .02 is to get something that’s going to sound good to you for as little as possible and then spend the rest getting records you’ll enjoy listening to.

The sidebar has great information too if you haven’t looked at it but ultimately everyone is different and prefers certain brands, etc.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

A set of nice bookshelf speakers, with a decent amp/receiver is going to sound exponentially better than a Bose. I realize people choose it for the convenience, reliability, and wireless capability can be important – there’s nothing wrong with it, I’m not saying that. I just wanted to mention as I think some people aren’t aware that there are other options. I used Bose speakers myself until I got the speakers I have now.

Just for example, I have these (hooked up to a relatively cheap audiosource amp-100 that runs about $120) and they are quite literally the best thing I have ever listened to music on. I don’t know how else to describe it – the detail and clarity is almost mind blowing, especially for the price. I found them in an audiophile guide on /r/Zeos.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2017

I’d leave this comment on the subwoofer thread but that thread is archived.

I know the Acoustech PL-200 is obviously a step up from the BIC America F12, but is it that much of a step up? I’m gonna be living in a small room next year, and I will be using the F12 (with my Fluance SX6 bookshelves) for primarily music but also movies and gaming. Is the PL-200 really going to be that much better of an upgrade for a small room? I’d understand if I was planning out a HT but again, small room. And a lot of reviews for the PL-200 complain it’s a bit too boomy for music.

1 point

·

14th Jun 2016

Fluance SX6 speakers on sale at amazon.com (US) for $50 USD: https://www.amazon.com/Fluance-SX6-Definition-Bookshelf-Loudspeakers/dp/B00067OS0A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465945150&sr=8-1

Saw this from /r/BudgetAudiophile

Really cheap if you can pick this up across the border. I use these with a cheap Lepai amp and they’re great. Very large though so you’d need some extra desk space for it.

1 point

·

14th Jul 2015

I have these and I’m not totally knowledgeable on audio yet. I’m pretty sure I have the bookshelf speakers but are these the rear speakers (and the center speaker) and that’s why you call them satellite? They look the exact same as mine besides the top part being square and mine are circular.

3 points

·

11th Nov 2015

I really like my Fluance SX6 speakers. They are on the bigger side of bookshelf speakers but they sound great. Amazon is selling them for $109. I think they sound phenomenal. I use them with an old amplifier receiver (a 1974 Kenwood) and run a Sony CD Changer and Turn Table through it. It sounds superb.

That would leave you about $90 for an amplifier. Here is a great (long) review on the SX6s. The reviewer prefers them to the Dayton B652’s, Micca MB42 and the 42X’s the renound Pioneer BS22s. Give it a watch. I highly recommend these speakers. They have a decent enough low bass that you can survive without a subwoofer (eventually I will get one though).

2 points

·

26th Apr 2015

hi zeos! Thanks a ton for the writeup!

I bought a Yamaha rx-v377 and want to get the Fluance SX6 speakers you recommended. You mentioned a black center to go with them, but that it’s not actually a proper match. What noticeable negative affect will pairing them together make? I’m talking about parting the SX6 with the AVC center in black.

I’m also planning to get a BIC F12 to go with these, then put my crappy sony speakers in the surround position (they’re front L/R right now).

Do you think all of this might be a good match, and do you think the Yamaha receiver I have should have any problems running all of that?

Thanks!

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2021

Hello all,

I am new to this subreddit and have been working on setting up a new system specifically for listening to records.

I am looking for some advice about purchasing a premp and power (or integrated amp) for my new Pro-Ject Debut Carbon EVO record player.

I have purchased a pair of Fluance bookshelf speakers for the output but I am debating the pros and cons of receiver vs amps.

From my research it sounds like if I am dedicating this setup to one device as I am (my record player) then a receiver isn’t necessary and I will likely get better quality sound and have more flexibility with upgrading individual components in the future if I go with an amp setup instead.

Am I on the right track? Does anyone have any suggestions for preamps/power amps/integrated amps?

One other piece of info. I would like to sometimes use my bluetooth headphones to listen to records. While I believe I could buy a receiver with bluetooth capability, my research for this has also shown me that I can buy a separate bluetooth device that can plugin to either my record player directly, or a preamp. Does this sound accurate? And again, any suggestions?

EDIT: My budget for receiver or amp(s) is $300 but I have a little flexibility in that cap if there is good reason.

I appreciate your wisdom in advance!

1 point

·

6th Oct 2020

I don’t know how many of y’all are AV/sound guys, but I’m looking at upgrading from 2.1 sound to 3.1 for my living room. I already have the L/R speakers (fluance), but I’m looking at buying the receiver and center speaker.

do these parts sound good?

1 point

·

16th Nov 2019

Well, if you really want the tube amp and the upgraded turntable, those are really not a bad deal. I would definitely upgrade the speakers and subwoofer to something else though. Those speakers are not very efficient and will not go well with an amp with such low power.

For speakers, check these out:

Fluance SX6, available in black, walnut, and white – $150
https://www.amazon.com/Fluance-Definition-Two-Way-Bookshelf-Loudspeakers/dp/B00067OS0A

Micca MB42X – $80

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B00E7H8GG2

I would get this subwoofer instead of the one you mentioned:

Dayton SUB-1000 – $120
https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sub-1000-10-100-watt-powered-subwoofer–300-628

Also, this is the same amp as your except only $150 and free shipping:

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=38360

Also, wait until Black Friday or Cyber Monday before purchasing anything.

EDIT: Accidentally posted response without links.

1 point

·

13th Jul 2018

Fluance SX6W in walnut is a great for $80 on sale. Regular price is $130 in black.

Deal of the week is the Klipsch R-15 $125. They can be a bit bright, though you can always turn down the treble on the receiver.

A popular larger 6.5″ speaker Philharmonic AA $200, has great bass without the need for a subwoofer for music.

For me, and read the many great reviews, the best speaker under $600 is Ascend CBM-170 factory direct discount from California for $300, $150 to $200 if you can find some used. Entry level audiophile grade, neutral sounding, with SEAS of Norway tweeters and custom 6.5″ mid-bass drivers.

Check used locally for budget deals at http://www.usaudiomart.com/ though much of what is offered is high end.

1 point

·

7th Mar 2017

I was looking at some bookshelf speakers, but something that looks more like furniture than those speakers. Maybe something like this?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00067OS0A/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3211HFZXV1DU3&coliid=I9RYVTBJVCXDD&psc=1

They might be too large though.

Maybe something like this would be better?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NOA58RS/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3211HFZXV1DU3&coliid=I1RUSJO22DKSJQ

1 point

·

18th Dec 2016

> Fluance

Interesting. I just found these and think I can pair it with this and a handful of speaker wire.

? and cheap. IN Canada.

What you think?

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2016

Speakers: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00067OS0A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Amp:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00F0H8TOC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I don’t need support for a turntable or phono, but a regular plug (or port) to plug into my phone (or play Bluetooth audio, no preference).

1 point

·

31st May 2016

Having a little trouble working out what additional things I might need for adding a subwoofer to my audio setup

Currently I have:
Fluance SX6 x 2 (link)
Topping TP21 amplifier (link)

If I’m looking to add a this to the mix and have the entire set hooked up to my computer. Would I need to buy anything additional?

1 point

·

29th Nov 2015

I own the Fluance SX6 Bookshelf speakers with a Yamaha RX-375 AV Receiver and I’m looking to upgrade beyond my 2.0 set-up for my desktop PC and move it to the living room.

I’ve been looking to upgrade myself further but am confused what to do. I’ve read that instead of buying the matching color SXC center speaker for $80, I should get the black AVC center speaker for $50 since it has a matching tweeter while ironically the SXC does not despite being more expensive and matching color scheme. Additionally, I thought to get the Andrew Jones Designed Center Speakers or CS10 as well but not sure about mismatching speaker brands like that may make the sound uneven.

On top of that, I thought I got a steal in ordering the Polk T15’s for $50 to use as a rear speaker set, but now with deciding a center speaker, I was wondering if I should cancel that order and simply get the Fluance Center and Satellite Speaker set for $150.

What are your guys thoughts?

1 point

·

29th Nov 2015

I own the Fluance SX6 Bookshelf speakers with a Yamaha RX-375 AV Receiver and I’m looking to upgrade beyond my 2.0 set-up for my desktop PC and move it to the living room.

I’ve been looking to upgrade myself further but am confused what to do. I’ve read that instead of buying the matching color SXC center speaker for $80, I should get the black AVC center speaker for $50 since it has a matching tweeter while ironically the SXC does not despite being more expensive and matching color scheme. Additionally, I thought to get the Andrew Jones Designed Center Speakers or CS10 as well but not sure about mismatching speaker brands like that may make the sound uneven.

On top of that, I thought I got a steal in ordering the Polk T15’s for $50 to use as a rear speaker set, but now with deciding a center speaker, I was wondering if I should cancel that order and simply get the Fluance Center and Satellite Speaker set for $150.

What are your thoughts /u/zeos?

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2015

Okay, well I would suggest two hifi speakers and an amp instead of a computer 2.1 system. For example, the Fluance sx6 and the smsl sa 60.

http://www.amazon.com/Fluance-SX6-Definition-Bookshelf-Loudspeakers/dp/B00067OS0A

http://www.amazon.com/SMSL-SA-60-60WPC-Digital-Amplifier/dp/B00PA3ECGK

*If your set on a 2.1 system, get a system from a reputable name-like this for example: http://www.harmankardon.com/bluetooth-docks/SOUNDSTICKS+WIRELESS.html?cgid=bluetooth-docks&dwvar_SOUNDSTICKS%20WIRELESS_color=Clear#start=1

**you get $10 off if you enter your email

1 point

·

30th May 2015

I would suggest the Flaunce SX6 for your speakers. They’re $5 more than the BS22 on amazon, and they’re apparently fantastic for beginner hi-fi setups and don’t require a subwoofer. If you decide to increase your speaker budget, I would go with those. The absolute minimum-cost speaker I would recommend NEW would be the Micca MB42X for $80. The Micca MB42X are great for the price, and the Flaunce SX6 are just great period.
Review for the Flaunce SX6

1 point

·

26th Apr 2015

I was actually thinking about getting the BIC F12 to go with the 3 wavecrest fronts, and then moving my current front L/R to the surround spots. Do you think that my receiver could handle that, and do you think that sub is overkill for my room? I thought all that base could be awesome.

Would it be worth using a sub of that caliber with some of the speakers you posted instead of the wavecrest? I’m certainly not committed to the wavecrest, just throwing it out.

edit:

I think this is sorta the direction I’m leaning right now. What do you guys think?

Front L/R
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00067OS0A/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00067OS0A&linkCode=as2&tag=wwwpuresimula-20&linkId=UGAMXM7L6PTUPY7L

Front Center
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KY79WEE/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00KY79WEE&linkCode=as2&tag=wwwpuresimula-20&linkId=UWU3O5KHFMTNJ3GZ

Subwoofer
http://www.amazon.com/BIC-America-F12-475-Watt-Subwoofer/dp/B0015A8Y5M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430008020&sr=8-1&keywords=bic+f12

Brings my total down to the $400 that I was really hoping for 🙂

1 point

·

14th Jan 2015

What about a set of these?

Fluance SX6 High Definition Two-way Bookshelf Loudspeakers https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00067OS0A/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_REDTub0XATVXB

1 point

·

25th Jan 2015

I’m loving my Fluance SX6 speakers. The Micca MB42X is also a popular choice.

1 point

·

13th Jan 2015

/r/audiophile should be able to help. If I am reading your question right though all you need to power speakers are an AMP. A DAC won’t power speakers. I power my Fluance SX6 speakers with a SMSL SA-50 AMP. It’s a great combo.

0 points

·

6th Feb 2015

Here is what I would do.

  • Mains – Fluance SX6 $130

  • Center & Surrounds – Fluance SX set $115 Get this set and save money not to mention you’re now matching all the speakers to the same series…this is a good thing.

  • Sub – Dayton Sub 1000 $130 Don’t forget the sub cable $12.

  • Front/rear Stands $45 why they have a better base and will support larger speakers for future upgrades.

Wire…it’s wire rock whatever you want.