What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Fluance Ai40W Powered Two-Way 5″ 2.0 Bookshelf Speakers with 70W Class D Amplifier for Turntable, PC, HDTV & Bluetooth aptX Wireless Music Streaming (Lucky Bamboo)?

A total of 9 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

12th Aug 2018

Guy I’m think of buying the Fluance AI40’s and I’m hesitating because they only have RCA connection, no optical or hdmi. Does it matter? is RCA just as good or should I be looking for powered speakers with better outputs?

This is to connect with my new Sony 900F tv. Small apartment can’t play anything too loud and these seem like some of the best value at the price and seem to be better then soundbards.

Any advice?

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

If you look around you can find a pair of JBL 305P MkII’s for about that price. I just bought a pair for $230 from this seller on eBay. With the right EQ settings in a small room, you don’t even need a subwoofer which is really impressive for 5 inch speakers. Hear the difference between the Z263 & 305P MKII here. Note, you would need an audio interface with outputs to run it (don’t think the THX 789 has those).

You can check out the Flaunce Ai40’s (currently out of stock as of writing) or the 104BT’s from JBL. Both are Bluetooth / Active so NO interface required. Note, the 104’s are very crisp but not very bass heavy, however that can be levelled out with some EQ.

1 point

·

26th Jan 2019

I am looking to purchase speakers for a dorm/apartment that have good sound and can get unreasonably loud if needed. I was considering purchasing one of the Sony GTK options like this Amazon – Sony GTK XB7 but thought I should make sure there was nothing better for the money out there. I would prefer to spend somewhere around $200 but am willing to go up to $250 if needed. Being able to play music off of my phone is a must, but it doesn’t have to be via Bluetooth. I am also open to getting a pair of bookshelf speakers like these: Amazon – Fluance Ai40W especially if it will help fill the room better and as long as they have good volume.

1 point

·

16th Sep 2019

keep it local, and get Fluance.

https://www.amazon.ca/Bookshelf-Amplifier-Turntable-Bluetooth-Streaming/dp/B07CLHGV2S/

if you can possibly find room on your desk for 5″ woofers 🙂

no need for an amp, since these are powered.

external USB sound cards are dirt cheap, you can plug more than one in, and chose the audio source output from your computer to play music over the speakers or your headphones. even cheap USB sound cards often sound far better than the built in ones on computers, since they’re isolated from chassis ground.

https://www.amazon.ca/UGREEN-Universal-3-Position-Headphone-Microphone/dp/B01N905VOY/

or nicer (based on reviews)

https://www.amazon.ca/UGREEN-Adapter-External-Stereo-Headset/dp/B06XP5R449/

or get one designed for headphone use, with two outputs, and drive the Fluance speakers from the secondary output and your headphones from the primary.

https://www.amazon.ca/BENGOO-External-Converter-Microphone-Earphone/dp/B07Q8VCXN7/

1 point

·

26th Aug 2019

a pair of powered speakers is a dead simple option.

not as fancy as any kind of surround, but you can easily get some primo sound quality for under your budget.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CLHGV2S/ $200

https://www.amazon.com/PreSonus-Eris-E5-Active-Monitor/dp/B00CP4IJH0/ $125ea, so you’d want two

1 point

·

21st Apr 2019

Fluance Ai40 powered speakers are an excellent option if you could up your budget to $170. Built-in amp, RCA and Bluetooth, and a remote control.

https://www.amazon.com/Fluance-Bookshelf-Amplifier-Turntable-Bluetooth/dp/B07CLHGV2S/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=ai40&qid=1555875917&s=electronics&sr=1-2&th=1

I have the Ai60 for my TV audio. Sounds really nice.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2019

Fluance ai40 will be fantastic for that.

1 point

·

18th Jan 2019

If you decide against in-ceiling speakers, maybe consider placing bookshelf speakers on the wall (or on top of kitchen cabinets) – pointing down into the room.

Here are some powered speakers with a remote and Bluetooth Fluance Ai40W, $200. They are sealed so mounting close to a wall should be less of a problem compared to rear ported ones.

If you want a separate amp and passive speakers (sealed), this would be great: NHT SuperOne 2.1, $103/each. As alternative to the SMSL, this attractive amp is very good Griffin Twenty 2.1, probably can get $55 bid accepted. The amp doesn’t have analog input, only optical and BT. There are other speakers out there could even be ceiling mounted, such as Focal Sib, $100/each.