What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Fitness Reality Squat Rack Power Cage with | Optional Lat Pulldown & Leg Holdown Attachment | Squat and Bench Rack Combos| Super Max 810 XLT |?

A total of 187 reviews of this product on Reddit.

12 points

·

8th May 2018

True Minimum:

  • Nothing

Weight Lifting Minimum:

  • Cage / Rack
  • Bench
  • Free Weights
  • Bar

Nice to Haves:

  • Good flooring / platform
  • Dumbbells
  • EZ Bar
  • Weight Tree
  • Cable Machine
  • Spin Bike
  • Pullup Bar (if not included in cage)

Check out /r/homegym

You asked about a cage. There’s good options out there like Rep Fitness and Rogue. Rogue gets pricy, but great quality.

A great budget one (that I actually have) is this one from Fitness Reality. It’s cheap, good quality, decent strength. Big lifters in competitions or going for high numbers would out pace this cage, but for those of us not going for that this works well. There’s some downsides, like it is a bit smaller of a lifting area and if you want to hang your weights for storage it isn’t the best (though I still do). There’s also no cable attachments directly to this cage like some others have (like Rogue). It’s a simple cheap good quality cage.

A good weight and bar starting set is the Dicks Sporting Goods set. It isn’t pretty, and you’ll want to replace the bar after a year, but it’s worth the price and I still use those weights.

11 points

·

9th Feb 2018

I use this: https://www.amazon.com/FITNESS-REALITY-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_4?s=exercise-and-fitness&ie=UTF8&qid=1518187622&sr=1-4&keywords=power+rack

At first I was skeptical since it was so inexpensive, but I’m glad I decided to buy it. It’s worked great for me.

9 points

·

26th Jul 2020

Everything is sold out so you aren’t going to find something readily available. I’d second buying a quality bar from Rogue or another premium brand depending on what you need.

Sign up for in-stock alerts for Walmart’s bumper plate set. I’m assuming you aren’t training for Oly so these are fine. I’ve also really liked the equipment from Fringe Sport. They have anticipated in-stock dates for next month, and their bumpers have been great even dropping from overhead. Metal plates are metal plates. If you don’t need calibrated, buy whatever you can find.

Adjustable benches are crazy expensive. Maybe start with a flat bench and prop it on plates to start. I’ve never been able to justify the cost of having one at home.

If you can find a rack or cage in stock, keep in mind that ones like this can often be assembled with the pull-up bar facing down to save on height. I’ve used that in a garage with a lower ceiling, and it’s fantastic for $200 if pandemic pricing and availability ever subsides.

5 points

·

23rd Jun 2021

So for a squat rack, you probably want this. It’s way better than a $300 power cage has any right to be.

Benches are pretty basic if you just want a flat one and aren’t benching super heavy. I’d recommend the AmazonBasics if you can find it, it’s not listed for some reason. But otherwise I’d grab a $50 starter bench and not worry about it, by the time you need something nicer you’ll know more about your particular needs like a wide bench, adjustable, fat pad, etc.

For a barbell and plates, you’re honestly probably best off hitting up Dick’s Sporting Goods for one of their $300 starter kits. Ordering is really just going to kill you on shipping.

5 points

·

23rd May 2018

At that weight basically anything you get will be ok, that said, safeties are still nice to have, so consider the value of a full rack or a half rack instead of just a squat stand. As always, Craigslist or your local alternative can be a lot better deals (and your realism about weights may mean that some of the less popular cheaper stuff will be great for you while everyone else is chasing expensive Rogue gear).

If you do want to go new, Slickdeals just pointed me towards this $250 prime shipping rack on Amazon that looks like one of the cheapest options at the moment: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ CamelCamelCamel is amazingly reporting it sold for < $150 a few times this year (though I dunno if that included shipping)

3 points

·

31st Oct 2018

I have this one and it suits my needs fine. I bought it at Play it Again Sports rather than Amazon, though.

I have it on a flat cement floor and I’ve found it to be sturdy even doing hanging leg raises (I can’t do pullups because it’s in my basement with a low ceiling) and it doesn’t get bolted down or anything.

I’m 5′-1″, for what it’s worth.

2 points

·

25th May 2021

Here’s the power rack: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

I’m quite happy with it. Just make sure it’s big enough for you. I’m smol so the size is good. Also I wouldn’t do swinging or kipping moves on it. It’s kinda light

Hope that helps 🙂

2 points

·

14th Jan 2021

Another vote for the 810xlt. The rack you posted is more expensive and those safeties are useless outside bench.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_eImaGb2Z68DQ2?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

2 points

·

17th Mar 2017

I don’t know if you bought the titan cage yet… anyways I work for Paradigm, the company that makes the FITNESS REALITY cage. you can see more reviews on the cage on Amazon: Fitness Reality

One comparison between my cage and the T2 is that my cage weighs 133.5 lbs, whereas the T-2 weighs 107 lbs. I got those numbers just by looking at both products on Amazon. So I can offer you about 25 lbs more steel for a much lower price than T-2… just saying….

Ask me anything. Yes there will be accessories! I will most likely get to play with the prototypes on my trip to China coming up this weekend…

BTW! LOVE YOUR USERNAME TOO…

1 point

·

14th Jan 2022

Does anyone have the Fitness Reality squat rack at home and regret it? It looks pretty sturdy and for $275 it has solid reviews.

Fitness Reality Squat Rack Power Cage with | Optional Lat Pulldown & Leg Holdown Attachment | Squat and Bench Rack Combos| Super Max 810 XLT | https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_B64XAX4QXC4ZDY551YBX?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

5th Jan 2022

I’m in the same situation.

I have an apartment with a relatively large living living room and then an attached dining room that I never use. So because of the lockdown, I finally pulled the trigger on something I’ve been thinking about for a while – I squeezed the dining room into the excess space of the living room, thus freeing up the dining room area.

Now I have a roughly 10’x7’ area where I’m building a gym.

I ordered this highly reviewed budget cage on sale, I quickly ran out to Fitness Depot to get a bar, some plates, and some rubber flooring, and I already had a cardio machine, an FID bench, and some dumbbells that I had purchased earlier in the pandemic, so I’m in the process of moving them all into my new gym area. Oh, and I ordered a rack for my dumbbells.

My power cage is coming this Friday, so the timing worked out pretty well on everything.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2022

I like what the_basix said but keep an eye on fitness reality starter rack it’s $300 but not always that high and can be found on most used marketplaces. I know you’re rural so that might be a hard find. Main reason is it’s more standard 2×2 uprights with 1” hole so it’s easier to find other brand attachments if needed

1 point

·

30th Nov 2021

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY

This is probably the best selling budget power rack in America today. The core design has been copied and sold under other off-brand names as well.

If you surf the online marketplaces like Craigslist, you’ll find this power rack there off and on for less than retail. I’ve seen people move it for as low as 100-120 dollars.

The biggest push/pull point for me is if you plan to live in your current location for a very long time or not. If the answer to that is No, then maybe more disposable type gear is the better option.

I would see what you can find in the various marketplaces first. Squat stands are just not safe. I recognize everyone’s situation is different but if you have space for a full power rack, I’d go for that just for the safety aspect.

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

It’s the Fitness Reality 810XLT. It’s decent for the price, but a lot of people prefer the Titan T-2 which is about $80 more. I like the (optional) cable system on the 810 better than the one for the T-2, but that’s also just personal preference.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2021

> I got the exact power rack you are considering, the fitness reality

Do you mean this one? Do you need to purchase extra accessories for pull-ups, dips etc.? Could you please share your setup in detail?

1 point

·

12th May 2021

It’s this one right here, plus the pull-down attachment.

1 point

·

23rd Apr 2021

With the price of lumber being so high right now and your lack of experience building things maybe it’s better to get an inexpensive rack like this:

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_2SYF38RD81VDQTWXCZQT

Lumber and tools will cost that much already.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021

Fitness reality 810xlt https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=810xlt&amp;qid=1613799694&amp;sr=8-2

And the titan t2 are both great racks and pretty popular on this subreddit. I had a t2 cage for a while, switched to a rml-3w, and now switching to an x3 half rack. X3 is great, but obviously a bit pricier. Based on what you’re looking at, I’d start with the 810xlt. A lot of users on this subreddit have done really cool things with that rack.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

What is your opinion on this rack? I am thinking of purchasing that one, a flat bench (Idk if I can justify an adjustable one since they seem to just be way more expensive and I found this near me), and then look around for olympic weights.

I would then also like to get some plywood + pads for the floor (I have carpet in that room), some rings to use with the squat rack, and then potentially the Rogue Echo bike.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2020

Bought this power cage, I’m in need of a plate holder attachment that can fit this rack (2”x2” tube?), but not sure where or what to get. Can someone help advise this newbie on what to get for this please?

Thank you!

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_Sf.6Fb9BPMM81

1 point

·

24th Dec 2020

/u/electroneel My power rack at home is this –

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/

It cost about $50 less when I got it, but equipment has gone up a lot with all the gym closures. But the bar across the top is stable for me installed upside down to accommodate my low ceiling, and it has grips for neutral grip pulls. I have to tuck my knees for pullups and dips but was able to do everything with straight legs when I had a higher ceiling.

I did not get the pulldown attachment so can’t comment on it.

I cut a 2×4 in half and put the two pieces across the safeties to use as parallel dip bars, and a barbell set on pins works for body rows. There is a similar model through wal mart for a little less. If you search “Pullup/dip station” there are models that cost less, if you don’t care for barbell squatting/benching in a rack.

1 point

·

5th Dec 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&amp;keywords=cage+rack&amp;qid=1607158551&amp;sr=8-5

Got this one and a barbell from amazon, both amazing quality. The prices fluctuate, also quantity.

For plates check facebook marketplace. I found 275 lbs of plates at about $1.25 / lb, which is great for post covid prices. Search craigslist and fb and /r/homegym

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2020

Hello friend,

I bought a power cage right when covid started because I didn’t have any place in my house to put rings. In my opinion it was the best purchase I ever made and I’ve made a lot of gains because of it. If you also have bands and rings, you can train a lot of advanced excersises pretty well too and it’s quite adjustable! I could do rows in it easily with rings, as long as the angle I’m hold the straps isn’t too much. Overall I found the one I have to be quite safe.

Now some exceptions:
* not a good purchase if you don’t have the room
* I’m small so it provided me with plenty of space inside it to work in, can’t speak for bigger people.
* there might be other alternative creative solutions to my setup but I find what did to be quite convenient and once it’s setup I was all set.
* mine didn’t come with a bench, I didn’t need/want one
* at very steep angle, mine tilts because it’s not very heavy but it won’t tip over from the front/back side very easily unless you go out of your way to do that. I can more easily tilt on the left/right side but Ive never had to use those sides for any reason so it’s not any issue (also everything you can do on the side you can do on the front)
* mine is way more expensive tho, $320 at the moment than your current budget. I managed to snag it for 250 before gym equipment prices started to inflate.

I made some posts where I have footage of me using it, you’re more than welcome to look at my posts and see if my set up fits your needs.
This is the one I bought: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Hope you find a setup that works for you!
Efran

1 point

·

13th Nov 2020

Thanks for the reply!

This is the rack right? Curious, wouldn’t you be able to do all the same lifts with the safety chrome bars and the hooks that it comes with? Are the spotter arms so you can lift outside the cage, personal preference or do they serve a different purpose?

I’ve been going back and forth about the landmine too haha I think I’ll get it

1 point

·

13th Nov 2020

Thanks man, it serves as my mancave when I’m in trouble too haha!

Yeah the lat pulldown attachment is an add-on to this specific power rack.

Here’s the link to the Power Rack:
Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_LPDRFbJV1E65R?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

24th Oct 2020

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_NwjLFbQS1F6H0?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Looks like it’s more expensive than usual but it’s something.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

Id spend the extra 60$ and get the full on Power Rack https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=twister_B081ZRSDQ1?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1 Had it for 3 years outside still going strong. If you get that half rack it should hold up Fitness Reality may be cheap but their racks are decent.

1 point

·

5th Oct 2020

Not OPs but if you’re looking for a rack that won’t break the bank I’ve been really happy with this one and it doesn’t have to be bolted down. Had it 2 years: Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage

1 point

·

12th Aug 2020

I second the fitness reality suggestion. https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-Down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?th=1 Wait for it to be ~$250 and snag a bench for ~$150 and you’ll be golden. If you provide some more details about size, type of bench I’m sure someone will give some suggestions.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2020

I bought something almost identical to the this rack, but wow have prices ever gone up with the pandemic given that I only paid about $200 a couple of years ago:

https://www.amazon.ca/Fitness-Reality-2810-810XLT-Super/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&amp;keywords=squat+rack&amp;qid=1595535747&amp;sr=8-5

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2020

Price drop on the Fitness Reality 810XLT. I went back and forth on it the past 2 days and just happened to look. It was around $340 this morning now down to $240 and says it will arrive earlier than it previously did.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_FsogFbP27KTEF

Saw this comment. Don’t know if you need to buy again

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2020

Price drop on the Fitness Reality 810XLT. I went back and forth on it the past 2 days and just happened to look. It was around $340 this morning now down to $240 and says it will arrive earlier than it previously did.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_FsogFbP27KTEF

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2020

No problem. Here is one on Amazon that is what I was imagining: Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_1Z1AFb0EQB67P . It’s not cheap, but you’ll get double the value! Plus nobody would expect it to be a naughty toy!

1 point

·

16th Sep 2020

best bang for your buck is this one, but not at the listed price. check regularly for the $270-290 range offered directly by Amazon, not a third party seller. Everything else relatively available won’t work as well imo, specially cause they will be pretty close in price anyway ($200-$250) and offer much much less

1 point

·

11th Sep 2020

Hey y’all, just looking for some quick power rack advice if anyone can help a brother out. I’ve talked myself into settling for a budget power rack. Probably getting the Fitness Reality 810XLT on Amazon once it drops to its usual $319. I’ve seen it recommended as a budget rack here before.

But I have two questions. 1) If I plan on using it, would it be worth it to pay $499 instead to have the lat pulldown attachment included, or is that a garbage add-on? And 2) Are there any other “budget” power racks you guys might recommend? I’m thinking sub-$500 ideally, maybe $600 at the most. 800-pound capacity is fine with me, I’m not a very heavy lifter.

1 point

·

27th Jul 2020

This seems to be one the most popular budget option. If actually from Amazon, it comes up for $250, just wait patiently it seems to be coming up about once a week. Tho that’s only 3” clearance from ceiling.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5DWhFbPGMPCV0

1 point

·

12th Jul 2020

Fitness Reality power cages in stock on Amazon

Sold by a different vendor but fulfilled by Amazon with Prime. Worth pulling the trigger now or will there be some “shipped and sold by amazon” restocked for 200ish?

1 point

·

7th Jul 2020

Spend more on a full power rack/cage. If you stalk this page, it can be bought for around $250-260 if it’s shipped by Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-Down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?th=1

Boneyard Bars from Rogue (pretty much bars that have cosmetic blemishes) run around $150 I believe and they’re great bars. There were also grab bags with random barbells that were around $100, but I’m not sure how frequent that is, maybe someone else can chime in.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2020

Not worth it, just get this rack, same size tubing so you can use T2 or any other 2×2 attachments on it. This does sell for $259 from Amazon and it was in stock yesterday. Third parties are more.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=alex_attr_sims_c_t1_1/131-4760209-3951349?_encoding=UTF8&amp;pd_rd_i=B01N4I8FOY&amp;pd_rd_r=71e41139-9f59-4362-b916-71868a7f0fe7&amp;pd_rd_w=NnWbe&amp;pd_rd_w…

1 point

·

18th Jun 2020

Idk that any power rack in that price range is regarded as high quality, but it’s regarded as good enough quality for the price and it’ll get the job done. I think we’re talking about the same one and I think it’s cheaper when Amazon actually has it in stock themselves. You could look on camel camel camel to see what it’s been lately. The bundle with the bench is usually a good deal now too with how hard it can be to get a reasonable priced bench. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_kr86EbDE7E4VC

1 point

·

28th May 2020

I paid 250 after tax. Shipping was free due to amazon prime.

This is the rack in question. It sold out within ten minutes of being up?

1 point

·

26th May 2020

I have the Fitness Reality 810XLT power rack from Amazon. There aren’t any holes to mount it down to my wooden platform, and it’s a little light, so it wobbles a bit when I try to do fast pull-ups.

Does anyone have any experience mounting something like this? I’ve been looking for a U-shaped metal brace of some sort to wrap around the legs but feel like I don’t have the right search term as I haven’t found much. Has anyone accomplished anything similar?

1 point

·

5th May 2020

There’s an Amazon one that seems like it’s well received as a cheap option that comes in and out of stock. Looks like it’s available now for $259 shipped

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&amp;keywords=power+rack&amp;qid=1588647018&amp;sr=8-1

1 point

·

13th Apr 2020

Act quick, ordered a rack from Walmart but after seeing peopel get their orders cancelled I cancelled and orderes this after checking amazon. the Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional LAT Pull-Down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-Down

1 point

·

28th Mar 2020

Even if that were the case, I wouldn’t say the driver is completely free of blame. Why not leave a notice slip or something? Why weren’t the local offices able to communicate to customer service that my package was, in fact, damaged? Also, can’t imagine how damaged an item like this could get from shipping https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY. steel frame construction…

Anyway, I’ll know soon enough from Amazon if the product was in fact damaged and know who to blame

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2020

Just saying, my 800lb rated power rack cost 200$ on sale and was delivered to my door from Amazon

A really good rack from REP fitness that’s rated for 1000lbs will run 400-450$

If you’ve spent 10k on gym equipment you’ve done it wong or you’ve got a very tricked out professional gym. unless you get into cardio equipment which easily runs 5k a piece.

1 point

·

31st Dec 2019

I have this one:

https://smile.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY

Super easy to set up (I live by myself), the pins are super strong, and you don’t need to anchor it down (DISCLAIMER: you might need to anchor it down if you’re going to be lifting like a Strongman).

1 point

·

15th Nov 2018

I’ve owned this one for about a year, highly recommend it. $300 and free shipping right now, rated for 800 lbs and has a nice varied grip pull-up bar.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2018

You might want to check the max weight specs on that rack. I can’t find them on the link you provided and people in the comments mention it can be wobbly.

First squat rack I bought was only rated for 310 lbs max. I’d never done squats before and had no idea that I’d be at 300+ lbs in 4 months. I ended up having to buy another rated for more weight.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2018

I have the Fitness Reality rack here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_cdguAb9WGH46Q

Note: it’s great for the price, but the Titan rack mentioned below is “nicer” and you’ll likely want to get differebt accessories and j hooks. I spent another $150 on accessories.

It’s 83.5 inches tall. You can install the pull up bars upsidedown to make it 81inches tall. Its technically not supposed to go that way, but many people do it and as long as you tighten the bolts it is perfectly safe.

If you’re looking for a really nice rack, the Titan short rack would be better. If you want a perfectly serviceable, nice looking, cheap rack then the Fitness Reality is the way to go. You’ll never hear someone ask “wow, is that the Fitness Reality rack?! That’s awesome!” But you’ll get the same gains.

And for the love of god, change the accessories. The hooks they provide are not cushioned and rubbed the zinc coating off one of my bars.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2017

The power rack was 220 on amazon, the platform was another 250 I bought 400 in number plates for 600 so it was a decent investment but man I can’t tell you how excited I am to wake up and go straight to the basement.

Edit link to rack

FITNESS REALITY 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with 800lbs Weight Capacity https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

Edit
: total foot print in basement is 8×8 (feet)

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2017

The other Fitness Reality Cage. This one I’ve linked is somewhat popular here. I know someone who has one so I decided to pull the trigger.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2017

That seems like a fine one. The only thing would be the depth, which seems to be only 2ft. If that’s fije, then that looks like a good option.

This one is inexpensive, but you would need to find your own attachments.

FITNESS REALITY 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with 800lbs Weight Capacity
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_RX2hAbBGG5BF8

1 point

·

25th Oct 2017

I have two sets of those weights – great value (paid $159 2 weeks back on sale). Not sure what kind of weight you’ll be pushing to start, but the bar that comes with it will suffice for someone new to lifting. At some point you can then upgrade if you stick to it.

Not sure on bench you posted. You’d be better served to get a power cage and flat bench. This one is great for price (I got mine for sale for $149, price fluctuates often on this), but also look at options from Titan which are also “cheap” but bit better build:
https://www.amazon.com/FITNESS-REALITY-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY

1 point

·

27th Sep 2017

The Fitness Reality is a pretty popular cheap rack. Currently at $250, but has dropped as low as $150. Looks to be a bit bigger inside than one you linked and holds 800lbs vs 500lb:
https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-Capacity-Weight/dp/B01N4I8FOY

I’d skip those mats as I don’t see them offering any protection. If you have a farm store nearby look for 4′ x 6′ 3/4″ horse stall mats. They run $30-40 depending on sale and location. Or skip mats for now and put down gently for a bit till you see how things go.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2017

Is there anything wrong with buying a rack like this one?

https://www.amazon.com/FITNESS-REALITY-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1499726242&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=Ironman+810XLT

Seems good enough for what kind of weight I’ll be dealing with.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2017

I’m actually finding almost nothing on Craigslist. You mention Fitness Reality – something like this would just barely fit in my basement:

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-Super-Power/dp/B01N4I8FOY?th=1

Are their comparable ones of less price? For example, I don’t need 800# capacity, and I actually don’t need a pullup bar. In fact one that high in my basement, I would not be able to get my head above the bar (I have 85″ of room – this one goes to 83.5″ apparently).

1 point

·

30th Jul 2017

The rack is this one I got off of Amazon for around $150: it is a favorite in r/homegym.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_awdb_.vGEzbDEDMKQV

The 350+ lbs of plates, bench, bar and a half rack I plan to flip on CL were $340 used. The material for the platform came to about $200, so around $700 total as pictured, which is what I was spending every 3 months on a trainer and gym I’ve outgrown.

feelsgoodman

EDIT: spelling is still hard.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2017

Get this power rack: https://www.amazon.com/FITNESS-REALITY-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY?psc=1&amp;SubscriptionId=AKIAJ7T5BOVUVRD2EFYQ&amp;tag=cameltracker-20&amp;linkCode=xm2&amp;camp=2025&amp;creative=165953&amp;creativeASIN=B01N4I8FOY

That link is for the cage/bench combo unit. Not sure why the cage by itself isn’t popping up, but you can get the cage by itself for $169. That was the last price my camelcamelcamel.com alerted me it was selling for last.

I help design it, so as me anything about the it.

24 points

·

31st Jul 2019

Here is a post I’ve seen before that had saved. Note: I have quite a bit of this equipment but there are many options out there. Find stuff similar to this.

Here’s the beginner sets I usually recommend:

That’ll probably run you about $600 after taxes. But that will be everything you would actually need.

There’s several other things I got along the way which I think you would find useful, but not necessary.

Additional items:

I made my homegym and I absolutely love it! It’s my temple. Here’s a note though…. you need to think long and hard on if you will use it. I work out 3-5 times a week. I stretch in there every day. Will you use it for 3 times a week minimum? Are you willing to move it when the time comes? Can you spare a 8x10ft area for this equipment?

21 points

·

8th Jan 2019

Im going to specifically recommend against a ‘power’ tower if you’re going to invest in some workout equipment.

From personal experience: I’m military working in a 24/7 shop that the nature of the mission prevents us from actually leaving our ops floor for any extended period during duty, so I sold our commander on getting us some ops floor workout equipment so we could keep up with fitness during duty hours.

I looked into probably 50-60 power towers that could fit the needs of a well rounded workout routine within limited space, budget, and layout, and ultimately moved onto power racks instead. Ultimately, I sold my leadership on this one based around numerous factors. NOTE: This is not an official endorsement of any kind, and your needs/requirements may vary. This is just the one I found that suited our set of needs perfectly.

First, we have some tall guys, and the top of the pull-up bar is 84″ (213 cm) off the ground, so even those guys can dead hang with enough space for skin the cats and hanging knee raises (and partial hanging straight-leg raises). Also, since the pull-up portion is centered directly over the middle of the rack, it provides a lot more stability for some people with less-than-perfect form that swing a little bit. From personal experience, I throw a couple sandbags over the back legs of the rack and I can do muscle-ups with minimal wobble (since we’re not allowed to anchor it to the floor).

We also have olympic rings hanging from the middle pull-up portion that allows for ring static holds, dips, pushups, and tricep extensions. The only thing to note is I’d buy a set of hose clamps to fit around the pullup bar so the ring straps don’t slide down the ‘bent’ portion.

That power rack we bought also came with an adjustable workout bench included for $50 more, which is an amazing deal and allows for bulgarian split squats, overhead pulls, and other such things (and you can use the safety bars for most of those anyway without the bench).

Another nice thing is the lower ‘brace’ bar (black bar running along the back for stability) is 10″ (25cm) off the ground, and literally the perfect height for me to anchor my feet under to do nordic curls (also, the pullup bar is just the right height to loop an elastic band around it for assistance).

Finally, it’s a squat rack. Your legs can get strong using BWF, but never as strong as with free weights, so by the time you’re tired of cranking out pistol squats and finally want to build some tree trunks that make your pant-legs fit tight, all you need is a bar and some plates.

I literally use this rack 8-10x daily for my grease-the-groove exercises and I will recommend a power-rack over a power-tower anytime. Also, if you notice, everything I listed is done with only olympic rings and elastic bands so you don’t even have to dip into cash for bars/plates

Also: if you plan on anchoring it down to concrete, the base is 2″x2″ (5cm x 5cm) square steel tubing WITHOUT pre drilled holes. So you’ll have to drill holes yourself for concrete anchors, or look for a 2″ square-U bracket to bolt down.

16 points

·

17th Jun 2019

BUDGET GYM – I have a beginner Home gym setup. Initially I grabbed a cheap bench $80 from dicks sporting goods and some dumbbells from a garage sale (2x10lbs, 2x15lbs, 2x20lbs).

Then my lovely wife got me this rack $250 for christmas, as well as some puzzle floor mats $20. I bought myself This weight set $200

More recently I snagged a used aerodyne bike for $25 from the facebook marketplace.

All in, I got my home sanctuary for about 550 as Dicks always has sales and websites like camelcamelcamel help get the best prices on amazon. I have no regrets about the things I have as they are still serving me well, though i have picked up more weights and accessories as time has worn on. I will eventually get horse stall mats and build a deadlift platform but right now I am not needing it. I work out in my home gym over lunch break and its one of my favorite parts of the day, even when freezing or hot AF.

14 points

·

23rd May 2018

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with 800lbs Weight Capacity https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_W4lbBb1MPY274

This rack is popular amongst the budget conscious here.

7 points

·

18th Apr 2018

r/homegym will give you some ideas. This set is pretty cheap and will get you thru the first few months of StrongLifts. I used it and didn’t bother spending on a quality bar until after 7 months when my deadlift went over 350 and started bending my starter bar pretty badly. You’ll also need a squat rack or st the very least a half rack. I got mine from Amazon. That’s all you’d need for the main lifts and should serve you well for 6-12 months.

6 points

·

8th Jan 2021

I’ve had this one for a couple years. I think Wal-Mart carries it too.

Fitness REality 810XLT

Check out https://titan.fitness as well.

5 points

·

17th Jul 2021

I literally get this question almost every post now lol

Link

5 points

·

27th Jan 2017

$400? for $200 you can get a full sized squat rack on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

I used to have one of those benches in the CL ad and on the highest setting I’d still have to do a 1/2″ squat to get started with squats, plus there’s no safety bars to catch if you fail and that goes for bench press too on the lack of safety.

Another hundred bucks and you’ve got a good quality bench:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002OHQALU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Spend the rest on weights (admittedly you’ll be just above the $400 price point but you won’t be needing to spend more money on the same equipment a few years down the road) and whey and you’ll be good to go.

3 points

·

5th May 2021

That was my thought too. With the pandemic the prices are somewhat inflated in the home gym world. But I picked this guy up for $240 around a year ago, I haven’t been tracking closely recently but it used to go on sale fairly regularly.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_86H7KRS1K4PQQV8MB0HP

If you’re concerned about quality Coop did a pretty thorough review on it, and it fared pretty well. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvFeJZCaALU

3 points

·

22nd Aug 2017

I would go for the rack since it’s a lot more versatile than any individual piece of equipment. Also 8×8 isn’t very big so you’ll want to eliminate as many unitaskers as possible. With a budget of $600 you should try and look at used equipment on OfferUp or Craigslist to get better quality equipment, but new is not out of the question.

Here’s a list of what you can get for a pretty decent setup at $600…

(Prices are sale prices. Sign up for CamelCamelCamel or Keepa and set alerts for the items on Amazon. The frequently go down to the prices listed)

ItemPrice
Fitness Reality 810XLT Power Rack$150
Fitness Reality Adjustable Bench$85
CAP Barbell 300 lb. Olympic Grip Weight Set$180
4 ft. x 6 ft. x 3/4 in. Thick Rubber Stall Mat$40 x 3
Valor Fitness MB-A BD-7 Dip Handle Accessory Set$35
CAP Barbell Olympic 2-Inch Plate and Bar Storage Rack$30

That gets you to the $600 budget on the dot.

This should cover most of your needs. You can replace the plate tree with some Titan weight pegs to hang from the rack if you want that instead. You can also just throw some plywood on the floor instead of the floor mats or mix and match plywood and floor mats.

This is almost the same setup I have except I was able to pick up some dumbells and plates off OfferUp so it came out a little cheaper. So far my home gym setup is at $520 and all I’m missing is the stall mats so I should be hitting the $600 goal myself once I get those.

3 points

·

22nd Apr 2018

If you really want budget, look at the Fitness Reality 810XLT for $250 on Amazon. It does not require bolting down.

3 points

·

20th Mar 2019

Also, for what it’s worth, the general consensus on this sub reddit seems to be that the best entry level squat rack is the Fitness Reality. It has a pretty sweet lat pull down attachment option too. Seems like it’s pretty much the same thing as you’re looking at.

2 points

·

8th May 2020

I think I’m going to get one of these for my garage when the new house is finished. The wife said no marking up the door frames with my pullup bar in the new place.

Anyone have any experience with it or something similar? I won’t be using weights right now. Only bodyweight stuff with my rings. The ceilings in the garage will be tall enough for my elongated ass to do muscle ups too.

&#x200B;

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Progear-1600-Ultra-Strength-800lb-Weight-Capacity-Power-Rack-Cage-with-Lock-in-J-Hooks/429573691?selected=true

&#x200B;

&#x200B;

Edit: Here is the Amazon one. I think they’re the same just different labels. Sold out for now but I think this was $299 before everyone freaked out.

&#x200B;

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref_=ast_sto_dp

1 point

·

12th Mar 2022

Racks like this (notice the awesome Photoshop of the guy squatting with his arm being a part of the rack)

1 point

·

8th Mar 2022

Since we only have $800 to work with, I will try to recommend the ones that fit your need the most. Do you already have the plates? Just noticed you only asked for rack and bar on your initial request.

If you haven’t gotten plates yet:

If you have already gotten plates:

Lifting equipment is pretty expensive for the most part but if I were you I would get a squat rack like this: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_sspa?crid=2A7EEX5FK1CQF&amp;keywords=squat+rack&amp;qid=1642648323&amp;sprefix=squat%2Caps%2C175&amp;sr=8-1-spons&amp;psc=1&amp;spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUX…
A barbell like this: https://www.amazon.com/Olympic-Weightlifting-Lifting-700-Pound-Capacity/dp/B09MCCFNRR/ref=mp_s_a_1_14?keywords=barbell&amp;pd_rd_r=2774768d-da07-4d82-b16f-92d109fe4942&amp;pd_rd_w=oTYGd&amp;pd_rd_wg=M2ont&amp;pf_rd_p=ce028c81-ed8c-425a-8404-93bf42…
I would get something like this for a bench https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Super-Adjustable-Weight/dp/B01CR4XFIK/ref=mp_s_a_1_23?crid=RXMBISHW7AOK&amp;keywords=bench+press&amp;pscroll=1&amp;qid=1642648767&amp;sprefix=bench%2Caps%2C137&amp;sr=8-23&amp;wIndexMainSlot=36
I would get an adjustable dumbbell set like this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08SHWJWPH?pd_rd_i=B08SHWJWPH&amp;pd_rd_w=6u1Us&amp;pf_rd_p=96895e5b-718c-4171-8246-228d0780f78a&amp;pd_rd_wg=Ms4mB&amp;pf_rd_r=PAH1GTKJFCW65ABD6GHG&amp;pd_rd_r=a42f3d7c-3636-42e1-b6c0-edb4fc7ff307
Although that might be a little light and you would outgrow it in a year or 2 so this one is a little more expensive but will go up to 66lbs rather than 50

https://www.amazon.com/Dumbbells-Set-Adjustable-Weights-Pair/dp/B09LHN7B4S/ref=mp_s_a_1_14?crid=2QVW8WKI1BYVD&amp;keywords=adjustable+dumbbell+set&amp;qid=1642648818&amp;sprefix=adju%2Caps%2C92&amp;sr=8-14
And for weight plates for the barbell I would look on something like Facebook market place since new weight plates are very expensive and there are a lot cheaper ones if your ok buying them used, I would look on Facebook market place for all of these items to see if you can get them used since these things new are pretty expensive

1 point

·

12th Nov 2021

I’d get a cheap rack instead, footprint is pretty much identical anyway.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY

In case you’re worried about your safety:

https://youtu.be/vV4Ze1z-HGM

1 point

·

19th Aug 2021

The Fitness Reality rack on Amazon is pretty recommended here for a budget rack.
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_16NMZFVRYYBQK1DMDT52

1 point

·

23rd May 2021
1 point

·

22nd Apr 2021

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_i_CXKYZ0QQJEF9B8B036SN

That rack is highly rated amongst users here.

And why not the bare naked bar? What would fit your needs?

1 point

·

6th Apr 2021

Trying to decide between two squat racks and I’m not sure which one to get:

Fitness Reality Rack

Or

Sunny Rack

I mostly care about realizability and I’m pretty tall (6’3”) so I’m not sure if the width on the fitness reality rack would be an issue

1 point

·

4th Apr 2021

Those angle cups that hold the bar kind of suck. I can’t find height adjustment specs for it but I’d be concerned that even its lowest setting is to high to bench from. That will defeat the purpose of the rack.

But this I did find on that page:

> 300 Lb. Weight Capacity

and because of that I would say skip it just because larger people can easily exceed this capacity in the squat in their first year. If you have a 6′ 230lb 14 year old then they will almost certainly exceed it, assuming they do actually want to squat that is.

For that price range, something like this is better: https://fitnessreality.com/fitness-reality-810xlt-super-max-power-rack/. You can do all the same stuff and it’s stronger. Or the full cage version: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/

Here’s another: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07X2TB5PN/

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2021

Dude, your budget might be a bit low, but mainly because weights cost so much right now.

That said, here’s a decent “starter” cage that is priced really well at $300 – https://smile.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&amp;keywords=power+cage&amp;qid=1617492944&amp;sr=8-5

&#x200B;

Start with something like that – you can always upgrade if you get super serious, later.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2021

Canada.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Power Cage in stock on Amazon.ca

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_BDKZ8W2REED4RCW34Q3N

1 point

·

14th Mar 2021

Fitness Reality 810XLT – ~ $250 from Amazon and has included pipe safeties.

If you want to swap out the safeties on the rack, which I recommend, check out TwoRepCave’s compatibility list. Also contains other attachments you can add.

Finally, there’s the FB-3000 from Rep. $170 shipped from Amazon. Unsure if cheaper from their site.

That should be enough to start you out.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2021

Free standing…. a solid budget option is this

For flat bench…. this should be fine.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2021

hulkfit has weird sizing so attachments are very limited, the fitness reality 810/progear 1600 is a cheap rack with a more common size for attachments. or you can move up to a rep or titan rack for a bit more money.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Progear-1600-Ultra-Strength-800lb-Weight-Capacity-Power-Rack-Cage-with-Lock-in-J-Hooks/429573691

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-Down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?th=1

https://www.titan.fitness/strength/benches/adjustable/incline-bench-%E2%80%93-v2/400894.html

1 point

·

14th Jan 2021

Deal link: Amazon


Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

Is your reddit feed getting flooded with deals for products you are not interested in? Below are our category-wise subreddits where I crosspost from the main sub.

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2021

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_gS18FbDJDZKJ5

Fitness Reality 1000 Super Max Weight Bench with UPGRADED WIDER Backrest/Seat (2019 Version), 800 lb (2804) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CR4XFIK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_SS18FbP8R20Q9

Weirdly enough, the bench and rack combo is more expensive than buying the pieces individually

1 point

·

27th Dec 2020

Some suggestions, but don’t take as gospel –

Power Rack:

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&amp;keywords=xlt-800+power+rack&amp;qid=1609097243&amp;sr=8-1

Flat Bench:

https://www.repfitness.com/in-stock-items/rep-flat-bench-3883

Rogue Bare Steel Ohio/Ohio Power Bar (keep checking this page for when they go in stock — $230.00 shipped)

Any iron weights you can find on here or at your local DSG: 2 pairs 45lbs, 1 pair 25 lbs, 2 pairs 10lbs, 1 pair 5 lbs, 1 pair 2.5.

The bench could be upgraded to a rep FB-5000 (in stock now) or AB-3100. The XLT Power rack could also be upgraded down the road but can easily last you a lifetime. Also if you’re on a budget try to find as much stuff as you can on craigslist or facebook market place, but all you need imo is a proper power rack, flat bench, barbell and weights.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2020

Deal link: Amazon

NOTE: Are you looking for discounts on a specific product? Search for the product in our official Discord Server! We are gearing up for Black Friday and Cyber Monday! Grab the deals before anyone else! Join our Discord Server to get real-time notifications on all deals. We have category-wise Discord channels. Disclaimer: Some deal links on this sub may be affiliated

1 point

·

29th Nov 2020

Probably the best bang fir the buck racks from a reputable company. This is far from rogue quality but it’s also far from rogue price, even more so with prime shipping.

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_ESUWFbSPBR50M

Fitness Reality Multi-Function Adjustable Power Rack Squat Stand https://www.amazon.com/dp/B084P72GYX/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_ITUWFbDBJ4Y7G

For 50$ more I’d get the cage if you have the room.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2020

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 – link to rack

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DNYSJ8W/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 – Link to bench

I’ve done a PR on it, so it holds together well for me so far.

Have seen a few reviews where the welds broke under load, so I always use spotter arms when I am using the bench, but so far it is holding up pretty well.

That said, it is my least liked piece of equipment, and I am looking to replace it when I am able to. Other than reviews complaining about the welds breaking, it is too high.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2020

Gonna be more of an answer than you wanted, but I’m drunk on a Sunday so fuck it let’s do it. Starting with bare bones:

Titan Economy Bar – $110

Titan Flat Bench – $135

Fitness Reality 810XLT Power Rack – $235

DSG 300 lb weight/bar set – $250 but you have to pick it up locally and you have to jump on it fast. They sell out quickly. Also, if you get this you can either replace the Economy bar above or flip this one for like $100.

You’re at $730 assuming you keep both bars. Now here are a few things you can play with:

1) Accessorize. Do you enjoy not dying when you fail a 1 RM bench? Go get spotter arms if you plan on lifting outside your rack. Pick up things like landmines, mats, etc.

2) Get bumpers. A set of 260 lbs will run you about $500 shipped from Rep, but if you plan on doing any weight dropping or need to stay quiet, get these.

3) My favorite option – upgrade your bar. Go get you an Ohio bar in a coating of your choice (~$320-400 shipped). Or an American Barbell Performance Training Bar (~$430 shipped). Or whatever bar appeals to you. Center knurl? No center knurl? You choose, and let it serve you for life.

4) Upgrade your rack. The Fitness Reality rack is serviceable, but the attachment game is not strong with that one. With your budget you could instead get a Titan T-3 (if you get the tallest and deepest one it’s $560 shipped – might be slightly overbudget). Titan’s T-3 has some of the most plentiful and cheapest but functional attachments out there. That rack isn’t as pretty as Rogue’s, but it’s still a tank and it will last you a good long time if you want it to. Also, you save even more money because T-3 attachments show up every damn day on their Scratch and Dent section, which is basically where they sell their items that are returns or have cosmetic damage for around 15% less.

I spent more time on this than prepping for my work prezo tomorrow. Let me know if you want me to clarify anything here.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2020

Deal link: Amazon

NOTE: Are you looking for discounts on a specific product? Search for the product in our official Discord Server! We are gearing up for Black Friday and Cyber Monday! Grab the deals before anyone else! Join our Discord Server to get real-time notifications on all deals. We have category-wise Discord channels. Disclaimer: Some deal links on this sub may be affiliated

1 point

·

15th Nov 2020

Deal link: Amazon

NOTE: Are you looking for discounts on a specific product? Search for the product in our official Discord Server! We are gearing up for Black Friday and Cyber Monday! Grab the deals before anyone else! Join our Discord Server to get real-time notifications on all deals. We have category-wise Discord channels. Disclaimer: Some deal links on this sub may be affiliated

1 point

·

15th Nov 2020

If anyone is looking for a cheap power rack, the fitness reality 810xlt is deeply discounted right now on Amazon for $235.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2018

Sorry to hear about the cancelled order. That’s frustrating. Have you looked into this one on Amazon? People here seem to like it well enough. https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1543107072&amp;sr=8-3&amp;keywords=fitness+reality

1 point

·

8th Jan 2019

It’s the FitnessReality brand.
Here’s a link on Amazon:
Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with 800lbs Weight Capacity https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_l0.mCb4DV923V

1 point

·

25th Feb 2019

I got the full power rack in the garage, it’s $225 on amazon. I love it.

1 point

·

1st Mar 2019

u/donmcde gave a good overview of the 4 things you need. If you can pick them up second hand, that’s great. I’ve found some 5 and 10 pound plates at goodwill in the past, but the majority of my setup was from Amazon with free shipping as I couldn’t find quality used stuff cheaper. Here’s the best stuff for the best deals I found for quality stuff:
Rack: Full power rack with 800 lb capacity $225.
Barbell: Olympic bar 700 lb capacity $98.
Bench: Adjustable bench 800 lb capacity $76.
Weights: CAP olympic grip plates 45 lb plate is $35 right now. Weights vary the most in price, and matter the least. Amazon’s prices fluctuate on these so I use camelcamelcamel with a price alert to tell me when they’re cheap in case I’m ready to order another pair of plates. Play it again sports in my area sells used plates for $1 a pound, so if I can get exactly what I need cheaper than that delivered to my door, it’s a good deal.

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2019

I got a Fitness Reality power cage from amazon. $260 USD delivered I believe. 800 lb capacity. It’s good

And I got their adjustable bench. Was $90 I think. Also 800 lb capacity

Bought the olympic bar and plates at Fitness Depot (not sure if it’s in the States). Was $0.90 CAD per pound for the plates

You should start with 4x45lb, 2x25lb, 2x10lb, 4×5lb, 2×2,5lb . That covers the bases up to 320 lb. So that should be about $250

Should be able to get the whole shebang for about $650 USD

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Hi all, I am brand new to the garage gym market and need help deciding on a power rack. I am 5’6″ and will not be using heavy weight (all exercises will be with weight far less than 200 lbs). Right now, I’m deciding between the following racks and would appreciate some input:

$330 Fitness Reality 810XLT Power Cage https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_3?crid=1RNKY3F5JNDJI&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=fitness+reality&amp;qid=1602681028&amp;sprefix=fitness+reali%2Caps%2C215&amp;sr=8-3

$350 Titan T-2 Short https://www.titan.fitness/racks/power-racks/t-2-series/t-2-series-power-rack/T2-SERIES-RACK.html

$359 HulkFit 1000 Power Cage https://www.amazon.com/HulkFit-Multi-Function-Adjustable-Attachment-1000-Pound/dp/B07FBDVJN5/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=titan%2Bpower%2Brack&amp;qid=1602680124&amp;smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&amp;sr=8-2&amp;th=1

thoughts / other cages to consider?

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

I had the same thing happen to me yesterday so I went with this one. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;th=1

1 point

·

1st Oct 2020

I plan on getting this one: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=squat+rack&amp;qid=1601510214&amp;sr=8-2

&#x200B;

Do you think that the product that you suggested will be able to attach to this?

1 point

·

16th Sep 2020

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_7ZzyFbSWRR4KQ

1 point

·

15th Sep 2020

Nope it’s this:

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_KlvyFbJ6JBYZJ

1 point

·

21st Aug 2020

It’s in stock.

Lat pulldown attachment:
https://www.walmart.com/ip/PROGEAR-310-Olympic-Lat-Pull-Down-and-Low-Row-Cable-Attachment/574819912?selected=true

Actual rack:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_H09pFbYE41GJ9

Keep in mind I think the lowest price for power rack only is around $70 cheaper but right now you could score both for around $530.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2020

If it is the Fitness Reality 810XLT (https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_1?crid=8YJTNWEDTBUV&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=fitness+reality+810xlt+super+max+power+cage&amp;qid=1596417765&amp;sprefix=fitness+realit%2Caps%2C163&amp;sr=8-1)the price fluctuates but is regularly down to 220-240 some evenings in the week. If you paid 290 then maybe I would cancel and order again at a lower price point.

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2020

Well this isn’t exactly home improvement but definitely related, and I’m sure some of you folks will know a lot more about this than me. I’ve been buying supplies to build myself a home gym, but I either mis-measured or misread the specs on the power cage I bought ( https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY ), and with the pull-up bar on top, it will be about 1/2″ too high for the drop ceiling in my basement. The pull-up bar can be installed upside down, but it would be too low for me to walk under without ducking.

So I’m trying to figure out what my best option is to replace the pull-up bar with something relatively straight across. These are in stock locally: https://www.lowes.com/pd/Steelworks-4-ft-x-3-in-Hot-Rolled-Steel-Solid/3053605 but I don’t have any experience working with steel, so I don’t really have a clue if there would be too much flex in 3/16″ steel.

I obviously won’t be hanging on this thing, and it doesn’t actually hold any weight, it just needs to keep the uprights from flexing when they are loaded with weight. Anyone know if this would work, or have any other suggestions? Thanks!

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_2?crid=3FQAUOSJZFEUN&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=fitness+reality+810xlt+super+max+power+cage&amp;qid=1596382079&amp;sprefix=fitness+realit%2Caps%2C163&amp;sr=8-2

The Fitness Reality rack is the standard cheap option, but wait until it gets down around 230USD. (Same with the pulley system.) The similar option from Walmart is the ProGear https://www.walmart.com/ip/Progear-1600-Ultra-Strength-800lb-Weight-Capacity-Power-Rack-Cage-with-Lock-in-J-Hooks/429573691

Free returns, you could probably finagle something, but with the effort of building it and disassembling just read the reviews and find something that will suit you.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2020

fitness reality back in stock, who was the guy from morning looking for one?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY?tag=camelanonalerts-20&amp;linkCode=ogi&amp;th=1&amp;psc=1&amp;language=en_US

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

Fitness reality rack back on sale for $259

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional Lat Pull-down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_BhpeFbAR98MRP

1 point

·

16th Jul 2020
1 point

·

8th Oct 2020
1 point

·

5th Oct 2020

Does the $300 figure include shipping? The T2 is in stock, $350 shipped. Not sure if you consider fail bars to be safety arms.

https://www.titan.fitness/racks/power-racks/t-2-series/t-2-series-power-rack/T2-SERIES-RACK.html

The Fitness Reality rack on Amazon is $250 shipped.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/

1 point

·

4th Oct 2020

> Fitness Reality

/U/ronald_nino is it this one

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

I already have a decent bench ,seems to be 250 on amazon

1 point

·

1st Oct 2020

Fitness Reality Power Cage for $262.28

I literally bought this rack 10 days ago for $290 and amazon, not worth the hassle of ordering a new one and shipping it back to save $28.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref_=ast_sto_dp

1 point

·

1st Oct 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Checkout ^^our ^(Telegram channels) ^^for ^^deals ^^on ^^specific ^^categories ^^of ^^products.

1 point

·

29th Sep 2020

Try amazon smile to donate to charity automatically at no cost to you!
https://smile.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=power+rack&amp;qid=1601420074&amp;sr=8-3
^^^I’m ^^^a ^^^bot ^^^and ^^^this ^^^action ^^^was ^^^preformed ^^^automatically.

1 point

·

29th Sep 2020

Is Fitness Reality a quality brand? I see their power cage is popular on Amazon and I’m tempted with my bar and weights coming in tomorrow. https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=power+rack&amp;qid=1601420074&amp;sr=8-3

1 point

·

27th Sep 2020

That’s a good option, I also recommend the Fitness Reality power rack on Amazon, it’s OOS now but it’s around $240-260.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2020

Looks like the Fitness Reality 810XLT Power Rack is available again on Amazon for $290.26

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

11th Sep 2020

Hi, I would be grateful for some opinions on the quality of these power racks:

https://www.powerhouse-fitness.co.uk/bodymax-mc300-power-rack-sebr2803 (£380)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Fitness-Reality-Unisex-Adult-810XLT/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&amp;keywords=power+rack&amp;qid=1599511916&amp;sr=8-5 (£450)

The powerhouse fitness one says it has a 300kg capacity, and the amazon one says it has a 363kg capacity.

The powerhouse fitness one has a thinner and lower quality pullup bar by the look of it.

The weight capacity seems like more than enough, but is there anything else I need to consider regarding the quality of these racks?

I think I will be ordering one of these two quite soon, so if anyone can spot a major flaw with either of these, I would be extremely grateful.

Some of the reviews on the Amazon one have said that the rack used to be worth less than £200 and they are currently price gouging due to COVID, can someone help me understand what the reviewers mean they say they are paying £450 for a £200 quality rack? The weight capacity seems like enough, so I don’t see how it could be low quality?

Thank you.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

Amazon has the same rack in stock for the exact same price with free shipping. You can also buy the rack directly from Fitness Reality for $300 (I’m fairly certain the price was $229 a few days ago) with free shipping, but it’s OOS right now.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_LRMsFb3NKSP3V

https://www.fitnessreality.com/fitness-reality-810xlt-super-max-power-rack-cage-with-800lbs-weight-capacity.html

1 point

·

12th Aug 2020

Is it really sold for that cheap? I see the rack by itself listed on Amazon for over $400.

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Olympic-Cable-Attachment/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&amp;keywords=reality%2Bfitness%2Brack&amp;qid=1597226127&amp;sr=8-4&amp;th=1

&#x200B;

But it’s not even in stock. Reality Fitness has the rack + adjustable bench combo listed for $400 on their website, but I doubt they ever have it in stock either. I’m guessing the demand for home gym equipment will only go up from here on out, since case numbers are rising throughout the USA.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2020

I’m just going to create this easy guide to get things from what I learned

Power racks: (Stick with the two listed Budget Racks or a rack with 11 gauge 2×3 steel or greater)

Budget- Fitness Reality 810xlt/Progear 1600 is the best budget rack, they are essentially the same. You can find this on amazon for the 810 and Walmart for the 1600 they both cost around $250, don’t pay more than $330 for them

NonBudget Racks- Sorinex/Rogue/RepFitness/Titan – those are in order of quality/price

Flooring: Horse stall mats- Tractor Supply Co if it’s in stock or go to Facebook Market place they have many many sellers

Bench: RepFitness/Rogue/Xmark/BodySolid/SteelBody/IronMaster burn out those resources everyday till you eventually find one
Fitness Reality bench is also good but do not pay more then 130 for it

Barbell: (don’t cheap out here)
Budget Bar- wait for XMark to restock, they seem to be quality for good prices or test your luck out with rogue stock bot for a grab bag bar from rogue or boneyard bar.
Ohio Power Bar/ Texas Power Bar(very long shipping times) / American Barbell/ Rep Fitness Barbells do not buy a sub $150 bar from here or anywhere else

Weights:
Budget: (very rare dicks set) – f5 at Dick’s website for the 300lb weight set at midnight-2am est every day. Also Check Facebook Marketplace as often as you can.
Other options: York(around noon time their website opens up for sales, check this thread, usually someone yells it’s open, be quick!)
Rogue– Use Facebook Stockbot for bumper plates, they go into stock daily
Repfitness: plates seem to come in and out of stock often as well, however these with shipping are still pricy

Rogue StockBot Guide

Edit: Keep commenting and I’ll keep updating the guide

1 point

·

29th Jul 2020

Amazon just restocked the Fitness Reality rack and a bunch of Fitness Reality add-ons https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_pQmiFbT8SYGK1

1 point

·

27th Jul 2020

I dont see that one posted much on here but most people here have been going with the Fitness Reality 810XLT from Amazon for a good budget option.

I personally have their half rack which I dont have many complaints about. I did buy another set of j-hooks because the ones that came with my rack was basically bare metal and scratched up my bar and also not long enough for me to walk my bar straight into the rack, then down while reracking during squats.

1 point

·

25th Jul 2020

The rack is a “Fitness Reality 810XLT“, the bench is a “Flybird Adjustable Bench“. Got both from amazon.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2020

Just pulled the trigger on Fitness Reality 810xlt in stock at Amazon for $259. Would have been cheaper pre-Covid, but happy to put hands on one.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

There is a combo with bench for $395, but can save $20 by adding bench separately here:

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Super-Adjustable-Weight/dp/B01CR4XFIK/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=fitness+reality+bench&amp;qid=1595560400&amp;sr=8-2

I started by looking for a power tower. Really saw exciting gains while lifting though, so switched my ambitions to a cage. I know it’s not the finest, but very glad to have it en route!

1 point

·

24th Jul 2020
1 point

·

7th Jul 2020

Looks like 810XLT in stock for July 13th delivery on Amazon currently.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_aO8aFbA9Q0GD2

1 point

·

24th Jun 2020

Just ordered a Fitness Reality 810XLT on amazon. Not as exciting as the big names, but available, right size, right price.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A3J5KHSX8LHD4E&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

19th Jun 2020

That one seems to be out of stock both online and in stores?

The safeties look small to me.

Look for a full rack, like this one on Amazon (also on wal-mart), or this one on Titan.fitness

1 point

·

9th Jun 2020

810xlt available and on sale on Amazon

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional LAT Pull-Down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-Down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_CGU3EbEADFVYZ

1 point

·

8th Jun 2020

Just a heads up for those beginners/lower-intermediates just looking to get some gear and keep lifting. I finished (enough of) my setup today, and thought I’d share how.

Rack – I’ve been watching https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 for awhile now, and they finally went back in stock about a week or so ago, for a reasonable price. It was ~$250 w/ free shipping (plus tax, so around $270 total I think). $800 lb weight capacity, and I’ve seen it regularly recommended on here as a solid option on a budget. You can get something more expensive, but if your goal is to keep the budget down, these will probably come back in stock soon enough, just checked a few times a day (it lasted awhile when it came in stock).

Weights/Barbell – I got the Fitness Gear 300 lb set from Dick’s Sporting Goods. Three stores ‘near’ me have had it within the last few days, so it looks like they’re finally coming back in stock. It’s not every lifter’s dream bar, but if you’re just looking to bench/squat/deadlift, this will get you by for quite awhile. Sign up for their email and you’ll get a 10% off code emailed to you. Total cost: $240. The 3 stores near me were ~30 minutes away, ~1 hour away, and ~1 hour 20 minutes away. So you might need to drive, but you save on shipping versus the other main online stores. Curbside pickup, easy peasy.

If you can’t find any in stock near you in the next week or two, there’s also the Cap Barbell 300 pound set which is probably pretty similar, but Cap Barbells are usually recommended around here as decent cheap options, so even if it’s a little more it’s probably not a bad deal.

Xtraining also had a decent-looking barbell in stock recently that you could Oly lift with if you need that (supposed to be shipping within the next few days I think), and this one https://www.getrxd.com/getrxdwodbars.html was in stock a few days ago but only if you got enough to do freight shipping, so it’ll probably be back in stock again soon enough. Very good reviews on that one too, if you need something for crossfit or lighter oly lifts.

Need bumpers? Your only real option at this point is to just get pieces here and there as they come in stock on Rogue or other sites (use Distill for notifications, or just check this thread obsessively). You’ll pay an arm and a leg for shipping them separately. My guess is that it’ll be another month before you can really order sets (and even then, shipping might take even longer).

Bench: The Fitness Reality benches on Amazon seem to be regularly recommended around here, and I’ve seen them pop up in stock here and there over the last week. They also may come in a set with the rack. They’re around $100-$200 depending on which model you get, but if you’re not benching 400 lbs, you’ll probably be fine with the cheap one. I’d go with adjustable since it gives you more options, and again, if you’re still a beginner/lower intermediate lifter, you probably don’t need the sturdiest bench ever built.

Collars – I got https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01I1H76LO/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 last time I bought gear, and they were plenty solid for my basic lifts. The Fitness Reality weight set comes with spring collars, but they annoy me so I use these instead. $15 shipped (w/ Prime), comes in a few different colors.

Flooring – Tractor Supply Co has rubber stall mats for $45. Call and ask if they’re in stock, then go pick them up. If you can’t get those anywhere near you, call any other farm/tractor companies near you and ask if they have them. There are other online options, but shipping will kill your wallet (they’re ridiculously heavy). Fold down your back seats and your passenger seat and you should be fine to fit one or two even in a sedan (like Civic/Corolla sized) if you force it in there.

Dumbbells: You can either pay 2 arms and a leg for a set of 5-50 rubber hex or cast iron dumbbells, or you can wait and get powerblocks next time they come in stock. Who knows when that’ll happen. Cost will be around $300 + shipping (maybe a little more for the higher-end versions of them).

Other options for adjustable are IronMasters, which are slower to adjust but apparently last forever (search the weekly stock threads for info on how to get them), or the adjustable ones at Dick’s (I think they have a Nordic Track brand of them, and probably some other similar knock-offs). They’ll probably work fine for awhile, then be a bit annoying to change weights on when the pin stops sliding smoothly. But they’ll be a lot cheaper than a full set of dumbbells. Probably around $300.

&#x200B;

Hope this helps some of y’all out!

1 point

·

4th Jun 2020

if you have the space to full rack it, this is available on amazon rn for $255 & people seem to like it a lot for the price https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_C8p2EbHYQS8FE

1 point

·

4th Jun 2020

Fitness reality racks are back in stock on Amazon

Rack and bench combo goes for 343 shipped.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_6se2EbXMYTDY0

1 point

·

4th Jun 2020

Fitness reality racks in stock on Amazon!

Rack and bench combo for 343 SHIPPED!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_6se2EbXMYTDY0

1 point

·

4th Jun 2020

Fitness reality racks in stock on Amazon!

Rack and bench combo for 343 SHIPPED!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_6se2EbXMYTDY0

1 point

·

3rd Jun 2020

Fitness Reality 810XLT in stock on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-Pull-Down-Attachment-Adjustable/dp/B01N4I8FOY?th=1

Looks like they have 30 of them.

1 point

·

3rd Jun 2020

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ – 810xlt but only buy in the 200-230 price range from Amazon, not a third-party seller. This gets restocked but sells out fastttt you’ll need some type of alert for this

1 point

·

16th May 2020

Fitness Reality 810XLT in stock
810XLT (Amazon)

1 point

·

8th May 2020

Also on amazon!

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional LAT Pull-Down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-Down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_AplTEb0N48FKN

1 point

·

15th Apr 2020

Fitness Reality Power racks available at Amazon:

Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage with Optional LAT Pull-Down Attachment and Adjustable Leg Hold-Down https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_EkPLEbHZGBVAN

1 point

·

4th Apr 2020

I bought all the weight related stuff on amazon. The treadmill and other stuff I’ve had for years, purchased locally.

I was buying right as everything was selling out, so my choices were basically looking for “good enough” but inexpensive, and needed to be in stock. I got the rack, bench, weights and barbell for about $800 total. I ordered on the March 19th. Everything besides the weight and barbell set got here by the 27th. The weight and barbell set took another week and just got here today (April 3rd). I think it’s all sold out currently.

Rack $250: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Bench $90:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00W1BN8GO?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Weight and Barbell set $450 (255lbs of plates and 45lb barbell makes 300lb set)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004X1688A?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2020

Does anyone have any experience with the inexpensive power racks sold online? Amazon, walmart, and a few others have power racks for sale for 255 or so. They seem to be pretty cheap with 2×2 16 gauge steel but I’m not a big dude and don’t put up a lot of weight so I’m not too concerned about that factor. Anything else I should be aware of? I’m just kickstarting my home lifting routine and don’t have a ton of experience.

In particular I’m looking at this one right now: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY

I was planning to build my own out of 4x4s so I could make it super custom and have a fun project with my dad but that’s out for the foreseeable future and I need something now.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2020

I just ordered a bar, a hex bar, and 160lb of bumper plates. I already have a standard bar and 180lb of plates. I have a cheap bench that will need to be replaced soon but until I am putting up bigger numbers it will do. The last piece I need is a rack. I am looking at the Fitness Reality on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&amp;psc=1 and the MyRack https://www.forceusa.com/products/myrack. I’m tempted to go with the cheaper option because I am moving soon and I have no idea how much room I will have but I know a nicer rack will last forever.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2020

I have been a run a few times a week and lift weights the others guy for a while. About 6 months to a year ago I started pushing the scale more towards lifting, specifically powerlifting.

My set up started with a cheap Olympic barbell kit from Dick’s Sporting goods. I have recently upgraded to a Rogue Ohio Power Bar (expensive but money well spent), extra 45lb plates, and a power cage I got from Amazon ( https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1 ). I have a cheap stationary bike I use during the winter and run outside in the summer. Overall, it is simple but effective. I also hate going to a gym and having everything in my basement is amazing.

1 point

·

23rd Jun 2019

I purchased this rack from Fitness Reality: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N4I8FOY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Today, I see this lat pulldown attachment for Progear: https://www.walmart.com/ip/PROGEAR-310-Olympic-Lat-Pull-Down-and-Low-Row-Cable-Attachment/574819912?selected=true

Does anyone know if the Progear Lat Pulldown attachment will fit the Fitness Reality cage? Frankly, the two cages look identical.

1 point

·

26th May 2019

Hey there! Im also 6ft, im more a lean build and look pretty bad unless im at around 167lbs. Id try dropping to around 170, then try to gain 5-10 lbs of muscle especially on the shoulder and back to get a good V-shape.

See if your gym or doctor have a nice weighing scale that can look up your body fat %, if its still high then try different diets (Carb cycling, Keto) and different cardio workouts (HIIT, 3min shadow boxing, sports). Empty stomach cardio in the morning and Keto One meal a day has been rumored to help lose stubborn fat deposits.

&#x200B;

If you want to do lifts at home, make sure to buy safety equipment as you can seriously die. Set up one of these in your garage: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=power+rack&amp;qid=1558831817&amp;s=gateway&amp;sr=8-3 . and start with 5×5 Stronglifts Workout routine: https://stronglifts.com/5×5/

&#x200B;

If money is an issue then look up the best bodyweight exercises you can do and start doing 100 pushups while your legs are above you on a chair or get your cat to sit on you. Doorway pullup bars are also cheap. Do some squats. You can improvise weights using jugs of water, rope, and a good solid pipe [Check youtube]. Also try to find equipment on craigslist – im sure there is discount stuff if you look. Bid low or ask if you can trade for the rest like your old video games or something.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2019

Even when dropping the weight on deads, most won’t need bumpers if there is at least one stall mat underneath. If you have the space, building a platform isn’t a bad idea and provides even more reassurance. I will clarify that I don’t think people should be regulaqrly dropping the weight on deads, but it can and will happen.

&#x200B;

The rack looks to be a fitness reality. It’s $300 on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Fitness-Reality-810XLT-Super-Power/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1UXBGDXM8OFX1&amp;keywords=fitness+reality+810xlt+super+max+power+cage&amp;qid=1551370121&amp;s=gateway&amp;sprefix=fitness+real%2Caps%2C158&amp;sr=8-1

1 point

·

28th Jan 2018

Can anyone recommend a dip station that’s not too expensive for a bigger guy?

Been looking on amazon and debating if I should get a dip station, or save and get a cage for pullups, dips, rows, etc later on.

I can’t do dips yet (tried on a 90 degree counter and it sucked) but I want something I can do rows on and eventually use for dips.

Kitchen table is not gonna work, nor will the chairs I have (both kinda sketchy) so I wanted something non-perm I can setup outside when I do my workouts.

Bed sheets also no go because where I work out the only door is sliding glass.

Edit: I’m 5′ 11″ @250lb if it matters, kinda looking at this one

1 point

·

6th Jan 2018

Why not a good one for $226?

This is my cage:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_cdguAb9WGH46Q

I hang my weights off of it, and it’s stable. 800lb capacity.

Other brands have decent rates for good racks and cages, too.

My gym:
https://www.reddit.com/r/homegym/comments/7nt6sy/i_finished_setting_up_my_new_cage_i_got_for/

1 point

·

20th Oct 2017

I have this one, which I got on sale for $160 USD. No idea if you can get it down under, but it’s been good. I squat and bench in it, and I just got a pair of Titan T-2 dip bars which fit it perfectly, so I can do all manner of stuff with it now.

1 point

·

27th Jun 2017

does anyone else have this power cage? I recently picked it up and really like it but would enjoy more options on the pull up bar like what’s available for the Titan cages. just wondering if anyone has seen or know of options out there i can look into that’ll fit properly.

1 point

·

28th Jun 2017

I saw your $2k budget in another post, so here’s my recommendation. I’ll clean up the formatting and add links when I get to a computer.

Power rack like a Titan T-3 Short or X-3 Short if you don’t want to build a platform to bolt it to. I recommend the short because they’re 7′ tall, the normal height is ~8ft, and you might run into ceiling height issues.

Alternatively at a budget you can get the Fitness Reality 810XLT Super Max Power Cage for $200. It’s not as sturdy, but it’s half the price, and comes with a multi-grip pull-up bar

Get the following attachments – dip bars, land mine, Multi-grip pull-up bar. You want a power rack even if you’re not squatting because you can bench by yourself with the safeties and not worry about failing a lift. Titan sells rackspecific attachments for these, and anything that fits the Titan T-2 should fit the Fitness Reality rack.

Olympic bar and plates – I’d get a Fringe Sport Wonder Bar personally. Get plates second hand off of Craigslist for no more than .70/lb

Adjustable bench – Titan’s will work, but Rep Fitness is the best in the home gym biz as far as build quality goes.

Adjustable dumbbells. I’d get the Power Blocks Urethane set that’s expandable to 120lbs. Start with the up to 40lb or 60lb variant and the stand, and then buy expansions if/when you need them.

If you still have money left over, I’d pick up an EZ-B bar too – Amazon is fine for this. I just like them for curls and some other arm movements. Pick one where you like the bend pattern – there are some I prefer to others personally.

EDIT: links added

1 point

·

22nd May 2017

Here is one I bought 3 moths ago as a beginner. It is very cheap compared to other models but man it is very solid and easy to put together: https://smile.amazon.com/FITNESS-REALITY-810XLT-800lbs-Capacity/dp/B01N4I8FOY/

1 point

·

5th Feb 2017

Can’t beat this price:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N4I8FOY/ref=twister_B01MR0BM7X?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Designed by our very own /u/gym-gineer . Just ordered myself one.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2017

I was looking around on Amazon and found this power rack.

Does that seem like a pretty good price for one?

1 point

·

10th Jan 2017

I ultimately went with this simply for the price. Should be arriving Friday.

0 points

·

28th Nov 2017

You can thank me later.

It will take all titan T-2 accessories as well. In all seriousness I’ve been eyeing it forever, but my basement doesn’t have high enough ceilings and it’s full of baby gear right now. The bench that is optional with it is shit, if you want an adjustable, the Rep Fitness Rep AB-3100 is the way to go on a budget.

0 points

·

28th Nov 2017

This one is really reasonable.

0 points

·

12th Apr 2017