What is the opinion of Reddit about the
FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1?

A total of 37 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

11th Jun 2016

FiiO A1 is as cheap as I’d be willed to go. You can get that from amazon, without the aliexpress worries.

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

This is likely the answer to your problem. I bought this for my Beyerdynamic DT770s and it really helps push that extra juice they need. Also not sure why OP u/kejmenek93 would turn off 3D audio, as that’s a great feature to take advantage of during headphone gaming.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2021

I bought this little headphone amp in anticipation that the DualSense wouldn’t drive my Beyerdynamic DT770s well, but it actually does work pretty well. The amp has just kind of been gathering dust since I haven’t needed it, so maybe try your preferred cans on the DualSense and play something like Ratchet and Clank or Returnal and see how you like it.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2021

>but I’m having trouble finding one that has 3.5mm input and 3.5mm output though.

A DAC is a Digital to Analog Converter. A 3.5 headphone out is fully analog.
Hence you cannot use a DAC, you need a amp with analog input.

If your phone cannot drive your headphone loud enough, a headphone amp might help.

Google a bit for a “portable headphone amp”

https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM

1 point

·

29th Jun 2021

It’s certainly possible. What you need depends on the specs of your headphones, and whether your pickup has an integrated amp. The issue is only making sure there is enough power delivered to the headphone drivers. If you already have an amp that you use for normal play, it’s possible that it has a headphone output anyway, but if you are looking for a portable solution you might want something like this: https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM/

I picked a cheap option to not scare you away, but you can find similar devices at all levels of price and quality.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2018

Headphone preamps aren’t too expensive, but honestly if I were you I’d look to getting an external recorder to take sound independently of the camera.

Canon DSLRs just aren’t really kitted out for good quality audio.

1 point

·

10th Jul 2017

get a super cheap amp and put it in line, after the splitter to the chair. The chair doesn’t need high quality audio going to it, so pick up the cheapest one you can find. here is a good option https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1499716048&sr=8-4&keywords=headphone+amp

1 point

·

9th Feb 2017

For my Pixel, it wouldn’t power my iems well enough so I bought one of these, https://www.amazon.com/A1-Portable-Headphone-Amplifier-Silver/dp/B01CPUVPEM.

Its just a tiny amp that will help but you can also get bigger ones if your trying to listen to music through your headphones as well.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2017

If your headphones aren’t powered, chances are that the device you are listening on isn’t putting out enough power to give you heavy bass (especially if it’s a phone or laptop). I also thought my headphones sounded completely flat until I plugged them into a system that could provide the proper output. Maybe think about getting an inexpensive amplifier similar to https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01CPUVPEM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 to see if that makes a difference.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2016

Just to be sure, this is the FiiO A1 you’re talking about? Just curious as it’s really small and every other AMP seems to be enormous compared to it.

Right now, my DT770 are connected directly to my Macbook Pro mid 14.

1 point

·

16th Sep 2016

I use these for work as well, but inline with a FiiO A1, it’s a really small cheap and not very powerful amp (but it’s insanely portable and out of the way – https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1474000567&sr=8-10&keywords=fiio&th=1 ). I find if you turn the A1 up about 70% (they start to get a lot of noise if you go much higher) they seem like they help clean the noise up and give a bit more clarity. The low end’s sound a lot less compressed on that little amp for some reason. I sort of chalked it up to the audio source not having enough power behind it, the mids and high’s still aren’t quite as crisp as some of the other earphones I’ve tried, but it seems to make it a lot better IMO.

1 point

·

28th Sep 2016

my 2014 ghost can power my audiotechnicas (38Ω) okay, i just purchased a FiiO A1 because they were loud but not loud enough. your headphones are 300Ω so i would defiantly pick up an A1 or mabe something nicer if you want to spend the money. also i just realized the the newer models could be better at powering headphones then mine, but i would still pick up a small amp

1 point

·

15th Jul 2016

Maybe a headphone amplifier for his headset? I was given a Fiio and it was the absolutely best thing to be married with my reference headphones. I didn’t get this model but there are some like it. They are rechargeable.

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2016

The iPod is more or less the same as the iPhone IIRC.
The cheapest option I would recommend for portable use is the Fiio A1.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01CPUVPEM/
It’s $30, has an reasonable battery life, good juice for sensitive IEMs, and most importantly, a super low output impedance. If you do buy it, make sure the bass boost is off.

7 points

·

23rd Sep 2016

The Fiio A1 Portable Amp is only $27 on amazon, and their amps are pretty solid for phones. I have the E6 and use it with my 6P and my larger headphones.

3 points

·

4th Mar 2019

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_ivyFCbPHPECEK

Like this, they increase the power you can put into your headphones basically

2 points

·

17th Jun 2021

> is it possible to get an external DAC that improves it a bad one?

I’m not sure if it counts as an external DAC, but I have a FiiO A1 headphone amp, and it has EQ options for improving bass (a little or a lot), removing bass, or no EQ but more power. I usually use the 2nd EQ option (most bass).

There is also this: https://www.reddit.com/r/OculusQuest/comments/nher43/dsp_board_for_bmr_off_ear_headphones_now_available

2 points

·

19th Apr 2021

You want an amp. I got this guy https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glc_fabc_S5JKHV1E1VDME43649PH

I have it as the in between from the headset to the deluxe audio strap.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2022

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ One of the most compact ones. But yeah I would say its likely not worth it over just getting one of the basic cardo units. That’ll come with the pieces to mount to your helmet and more glove friendly.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1$34.99$34.994.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1$34.99$34.994.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

17th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1$34.99$34.994.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

16th Nov 2021

Fiio uBTR Bluetooth Receiver plus Koss KSC75. Pop the ear loops off the KSC75’s and drop them in your ear pouches.

  • Fiio makes fantastic amplifiers

  • Koss KSC75 are considered exceptional for the price point.


uBTR is hard to find right now. The A1 or any of Fiio’s Bluetooth Products will work well at a fraction of the price.

I have the uBTR hanging from my chin-strap so it’s easy to access.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2021

You could try something like this:

FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_HY94VSKD6ANTZVNZMRH1?psc=1

1 point

·

18th Jul 2020

I use this one FiiO A1 Silver Portable Headphone Amp A1 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_V60eFb8V9TBV0

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

Have you thought of using a pair of wired ear buds? That’s what I used with my original Vive headset. I also used a a Fiio mini-amp to give the sound a bit more bass.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/FiiO-Silver-Portable-Headphone-Amp/dp/B01CPUVPEM

I used a little bit of a Velcro strip to attach it to the headset.

1 point

·

28th May 2019

If you have the budget for a bit more, you can buy an analog amp (like the FiiO A1 ) and have your motherboard for the signal. And buy a dac+amp(soundcard) in the future.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2018

No but I am going to get this one for the amp https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8.

Do you think OHM difference could mess up my mixing judgment?

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2018

Yeah, the Extreme 4 is quite good for its price.

IMO, it’s never really worth making your motherboard purchase decisions based on the onboard audio.

For most people, the audio will be good enough. You would be the exception since you actually have headphones that are relatively difficult to drive.

In the case of audio professionals or audiophiles, even “premium” motherboard audio is usually outstripped by dedicated audio gear.

My advise would be to buy the AsRock Extreme 4 Z370 if you like it. Try out the built-in audio and see if it drives your headphones well. Even a cheap one would get the job done:

https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-A1-Silver-Portable-Headphone/dp/B01CPUVPEM/

Or a USB audio interface:

https://www.amazon.com/Behringer-UM2-BEHRINGER-U-PHORIA/dp/B00EK1OTZC/

The nice thing about most audio interfaces is that they are equipped with 1/4″ TRS jacks, so you can plug your AKG K612 Pros directly in.

1 point

·

21st Nov 2017

My budget is kind of low right now since I bought the PS4 along with a few games. Do you think something like this would help a little? or maybe a usb adapter? Maybe I could find some better through black friday sales.

Edit : or maybe something like (this)[https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072BMG9TB/ref=psdc_3015427011_t2_B01DLY3IW8). I know you might not be an expert. Sorry for so many questions.

1 point

·

19th May 2017

First of all make sure your PC isn’t fucking with the sound and applies equalizers and bass boost. This guide shows you how to disable all enhancements. On Win 10 creators update you should also check and ensure that the sonic feature is disabled.

On a hardware level the HD598 responds very poorly to high output impedance and motherboard audio outputs are notoriously bad in that category.

Your best bet is buying a little amplifier that handles the audio signal instead of the motherboard.

The absolute cheapest pick would be the FiiO A1.

My suggestion would be to completely prevent the PC from handling any audio processing and amplificatio nad get a DAC/Amp instead.

1 point

·

20th Mar 2017

OK, so I bough this amp thing, put the lapel mic in the input, and tried several speakers in the output. Still nothing, not even white noise.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2016