What is the opinion of Reddit about the
EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46 Face Sunscreen for Sensitive Skin or Acne-Prone Skin, Oil-Free, Dermatologist-Recommended Mineral-Based Face Sunscreen with Zinc Oxide, 1.7 oz?

A total of 59 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

1st Mar 2017

This one comes very highly regarded by rosacea support forums and has many good reviews on amazon. It’s on my list to buy once I’m out of what I’m currently using.

https://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ?th=1

For skincare, I am currently using the Redness Solutions line from Clinique. I find it has helped with the redness and also general inflammation in my skin. I have subtype 2, with a cobblestone like texture in my temples and tiny pustules around my cheeks and nose. I have been using the Clinique for about a month and it has helped so, so much. I also use Finacea cream and that has worked wonders for me also. I’m not exactly 100% redness and bump free, but I’ve made great progress and will continue to use my regime and recommend it to anyone with Rosacea who hasn’t tried it yet.
Best of luck.

2 points

·

29th Nov 2016

I recently bought this off of amazon. Eltamd UV Clear SPF 46, 48-Gram 1.7 oz. . It broke me out immediately. Do not recommend personally but I know it’s a highly rated sunscreen

2 points

·

19th Aug 2020

Hey! Just wanted to let you know that Automod has removed your submission because it contains an Amazon referral link, which we don’t allow in the sub.

Could you please edit the URL for the Elta MD sunscreen (the one from the simpleskincarescience post) so that everything from (and including) “tag=” is removed? Here it is for an easy copy & paste: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002MSN3QQ/

If you’ve done that, please reply to this message so I can approve your submission 😀

2 points

·

8th Oct 2015

Thanks for your great insight 🙂 ,I currently do not have a SPF.

Im looking at this one, its #1 best seller for skin SPF, but wow it is expensive, is it worth the money?
http://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1444300553&sr=8-1&keywords=SPF

Or should I just grab a cheaper one, is the Eltamd SPF just a marketing gimick?

1 point

·

17th Jul 2021

EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46 for Sensitive or Acne-Prone Skin, Oil-free, Dermatologist-Recommended Mineral-Based Zinc Oxide Formula https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_M4PKZA882120QBKF1H2P?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

15th Feb 2021

I’m usually sensitive to fatty alcohol as well. My holy grail would definitely be the Elta MD UV Clear SPF 46 for sensitive acne-prone skin.

It is a bit on the pricier side but lasts months and I lather it on twice a day. I will link it here 🙂

1 point

·

29th Jan 2021

I personally get this one
because it has the highest SPF and I typically forget to re-apply every 2 hours. That’s probably why my first bottle has already lasted me about 6 months lol. But you’ll see there are cheaper options of the same thing, I believe it is $10 less for SPF 40. It’s probably the better deal because dermatologists say your face only needs SPF 25-50, higher SPF does not necessarily equal more protection.

Hope this helps. 🙂

1 point

·

16th Dec 2020

Sure! https://www.amazon.com/EltaMD-Clear-Facial-Sunscreen-Broad-Spectrum/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=uv+clear&qid=1608149545&sr=8-3

This is the clear version which I use, and find there’s no white cast as a white guy. There’s also the tinted version but I can’t speak about that one 🙂

1 point

·

29th Mar 2019

I got mine from Amazon! There have been some concerns about getting legit products from them, and mine seems fine as far as I can tell. It looks like Walmart also carries it (at least on their website) and it’s a bit cheaper, too.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_Q5yNCbWXGSDNP

1 point

·

6th Jul 2019

Hi there!

I just wanted to let you know that Automod has removed your comment because it contains an Amazon referral link. Could you please edit the URL so that everything from (and including) “tag=” is removed? Here’s the tag-free link for an easy copy & paste:

https://www.amazon.com/EltaMD-Clear-Facial-Sunscreen-Broad-Spectrum/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=asc_df_B002MSN3QQ/

If you’ve done that, please reply to this message so I can approve your comment. Thank you!

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2020

OK, I heard about EltaMD, would this be the one you recommend? EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46 for Sensitive or Acne-Prone Skin, Oil-free, Dermatologist-Recommended Mineral-Based Zinc Oxide Formula https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ElTjFbH0KCQQC

1 point

·

31st Jan 2020

I’m a dude and don’t wear makeup, but it’s a dupe of this one and smells and goes on exactly the same. Many women like it and recommend it including Dr. Dray (check out her YouTube)

She also was recommending the DRMTLGY sunscreen as a dupe of the Elta MD. Check out the reviews on amazon re your makeup question

EltaMD UV Clear, 1.7 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_gNenEbQZXX2K7

1 point

·

5th May 2019

I’m really digging the EltaMD Sunscreen

1 point

·

5th May 2018

I’ve been thinking about this one because I keep reading a lot of good reviews.

Is this the right one:

EltaMD UV Clear Broad-Spectrum SPF 46, 1.7 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Rat7AbWMRPRYT

Also: how long does it last you, and where would you recommend purchasing it?

1 point

·

12th Nov 2016

I haven’t actually tried that sunscreen; it probably isn’t amazing, but it is cheap and available. If I were you, I would save up (if you can) to try this one, which seems to be very popular. Good luck!

1 point

·

17th Aug 2016

EltaMD clear–I swear by this for the face, and just use whatever’s on sale for my body. The EltaMD is expensive, but is also, so far as I can tell, flawless for daily use and long runs.

https://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=sr_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&qid=1471455020&sr=8-1&keywords=elta+md+clear

1 point

·

9th Jun 2016

Another thing I would recommend is this sunscreen:

http://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ?ie=UTF8&keywords=elta%20md%20uv%20clear%20spf%2046&qid=1465442433&ref_=sr_1_1_s_it&s=beauty&sr=1-1

It has niacinamide and zinc oxide, which I found has a calming effect on the skin and tends to minimize UV-related exacerbation / progression of the disease. Don’t use harsh soaps when you shower (I just rub with lukewarm water).

Depending on what your triggers are, avoid them if possible. Showering in luke warm water is an excellent idea. In general I would try to minimize simple carbohydrates in your diet, as sugar is inflammatory. Also the classic ones like red wine. If the flushing is more anxiety-related or related to social situations beta blockers (1st line is propranolol) may be beneficial for you. The azaleic acid cream is also a great idea, along with a good daily mild moisturizer.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2016

I currently use Elta MD as my daily SPF, but man it’s expensive considering how small the bottle is. I like how it has niacinimide, goes on great, has no fragrance, and is barely noticeable throughout the day. But is there any product I can get that’s a better deal, that works just as well, or maybe a site that has the product priced less?

1 point

·

5th Jun 2015

I use the EltaMD sunscreen that you’re looking for. It’s quite moisturising (doesn’t work alone) though it sometimes clumps under foundation and concealer. While I like it, it doesn’t have the wow factor I would hope for with such an expensive product, though to be honest with a sunscreen I don’t know what that would be. The positives I can think of are that it does protect against UVA and UVB rays, and that it lists the percentage of niacinamide (a lot of products don’t).

I bought mine here and to my knowledge it’s genuine. I can’t comment on the PIH I’m afraid. I have very dry, CC and acne-prone skin, if that helps. Good luck!

1 point

·

6th Apr 2015

I use Elta md. Have to order it on amazon and it isn’t the cheapest out there but it is by far the best sunscreen I have found for face daily wear. If you want more detail, there’s plenty of reviews on R/skincareaddiction

http://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ

12 points

·

1st Jun 2019

Elta MD doesn’t use avobenzone and is a great sunscreen! Not sure if the specific one I linked is water resistant, but I know they make many that are!

2 points

·

7th Sep 2016

Not AB (sorry) but I’m getting ready to buy the EltaMD UV Clear (amazon) because it has no alcohol and 5% niacinamide.

(SCA discussion of PA rating of UV Clear)

1 point

·

28th Feb 2022

Ok! I know the chances of Hasan seeing this are really low, but this also might help people with a similar issue.

Ideally having a simple skincare routine that includes a cleanser, treatment & SPF is the best way to go, but to solve the immediate issue. I’ll also note the below is more appropriate for a annoying spot, rather than acne or multiple spots. If that’s what you have and want to chat about it let me know!

Ok so;

A mix of an antibacterial agent + salycilic acid (an acid that is oil soluble, so is able to break down sebum and oils, which is ultimately what causes a blocked pore/pimple like this)

Products I suggest:

Microdart patches which have little darts with active ingredients that push under the skin. The hydrocolide material also sucks up oils and sebum. There are more affordable versions of this technology and also plain hydrocolide patches which are great! But I linked the top of the line stuff

Mario badescu drying lotion this has alcohol (antibacterial), sulphur (antibacterial, cleansing, anti inflammatory) and salycilic acid (mentioned before about its ability to get into the pore). You place a Q tip through the clear liquid and into the pink sediment then dot it on the blemish. Helps dry up the puss inside and treat. A very popular product

Avene cleanance comedomed ; This would be more long term. It would treat active acne and help prevent future spots. You’d pop it on after you wash your face or shower. You could use it as a spot treatment but it’s great all over the face avoiding the eyes

Extra info; a non stripping cleanser is important to have, CeraVe cream to foam is a personal favourite.

A good but basic moisturiser, even if you’re acne prone! This helps balance oils and strengthen your moisturiser barrier. Avene has some nice ones, as does Bioderma.

Finally, a SPF you like. EltaMD is a very popular one in the US.

If he has a PO Box or sends me his, I’ll happily send him a collection of products that have a good chance of working well for his skin he can pop into his routine, low maintenance stuff!

1 point

·

20th Feb 2022

3 Step Moisture Method (credit: Olena Beley) really saved me and here’s what simplified my and :

  1. Wash face with a Gentle cleanser – I LOVE Bioderma Sebium Foaming Gel Facial Cleanser
  • DO NOT DRY FACE (at least not completely)
  1. Apply Hyaluronic Acid: The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 Hydrating Serum

  2. Apply moisturizer: I’ve had good experiences with Bioderma Hydrabio Gel Cream

4: nighttime apply gasoline or Aquaphor on top… daytime apply a mineral sunscreen – EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46 for Sensitive or Acne-Prone Skin

1 point

·

28th Jan 2022

Obagi for sunscreen & cleanser($$$) , la roche posay or ELTAMD. Pristine reputations. Korean products are top notch , also.

EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46 for Sensitive or Acne-Prone Skin, Oil-free, Dermatologist-Recommended Mineral-Based Zinc Oxide Formula https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_QBPCK5MH3EDKAG3C2P83

EltaMD Foaming Facial Cleanser, Gentle, Oil-free, Sensitivity-free, Dermatologist-Recommended Enzyme & Amino Acid Face Wash & Makeup Remover https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004HLSZYQ/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_BQV69XJ8VXD3YD3MV8S8

Obagi Medical Gentle Rejuvenation Soothing Cleanser, 6.7 fl oz. Pack of 1 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00I1BLUC2/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_HGQWRDK12614H9AQ4KX9

Obagi Sunscreen Sun Shield Matte Broad Spectrum SPF 50 Sunscreen, combines UVB absorption and UVA protection, 3 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004MOU4C4/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_XHK0YZERQJYVBSZ2XK5Q?psc=1

Obagi has a targeted acne / oily skin cleanser , as well as one for dry skin. This one I listed is for Sensitive skin, which I thought you might want. Using all Obagi products would get expensive! They do last a long time. If you don’t want a tinted sunscreen , be careful when buying Obagi sunscreen. At a local cosmetic surgeon’s office here nearby, the only Obagi sunscreens they had at one point were all tinted. I don’t like that. If I want to wear makeup, I’ll wear makeup. I’ve used Obagi in the past & continue to use their facial sunscreen. For cleanser, though, I wanted glycolic acid. The glycolic turned the corner for me on my adult acne. You apply the cleanser to your face, lather it up a bit & do something else for a minute or two – brush your teeth or something. It just needs a couple of minutes for the glycolic to get in there & do it’s job. I used to use a wonderful glycolic from the derm, but I’ve forgotten the name now – & other US glycolic cleansers haven’t worked as well. Now I buy a Korean glycolic face cleanser here:

(Not so expensive & great quality):
Korean Skin Care – Dr Song Glycolic Acid Face Wash – Exfoliating Face Wash with 10% Glycolic Acid, AHA for Anti Aging, Acne and Wrinkles Korean Beauty https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WKDR1BL/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_R2JACGVMNM1KXBAVDDXF

The following Obagi cleanser is targeted toward oily skin . The one I listed above is for Sensitive skin, which I thought you might want: this is the oily skin one:

Obagi Medical Nu-Derm Foaming Gel Cleanser with Aloe Vera – Gentle Cleanser for Face, for Normal to Oily Skin – Purifying Cleansing Gel to Remove Impurities, Oil, and Makeup – 6.7 Fl Oz (200mL) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F6XZNOO/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_6ZV1W7FBF1J76EH3MBJY

La roche posay : a less expensive & more available option, high quality . Here’s the sensitive skin face wash. You really get the most bang for the buck here. :

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Facial Cleanser, Daily Face Wash with Ceramide and Niacinamide for Normal to Dry Sensitive Skin, Oil-Free, Fragrance Free https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_1FC89DFAXQYX65Z1N20J

La roche posay can be found in drug stores & super markets w a cosmetic section. La roche posay has a Sensitive skin line, a dry /mature skin line, & an acne / oily skin line. I’ve given you the Sensitive skin care link. Here is a sunscreen by them for you:

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Double Repair UV Face Moisturizer with SPF, Daily Facial Moisturizer with Ceramide and Niacinamide for All Skin Types, Sunscreen SPF 30, Oil Free, Fragrance Free https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01NCWV3KM/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_V8XKYG7V1EX0ET7TFZ38

Again, they have tinted sunscreens in different shades, I think. They also have different varieties of sunscreen based on your tolerance. Some chemical, some mechanical. They have at least one vit c & antioxidant serum w sunscreen as well. I hope they maintain their values & quality. I really like this brand. Super competitive regarding quality, performance & at a terrific price point!

Hope something here helps

1 point

·

25th Jan 2022

I’m the same – sensitive, combo skin.

I really love this stuff: https://www.laroche-posay.us/our-products/sun/face-sunscreen/anthelios-aox-antioxidant-serum-with-spf-50-sunscreen-3606000403703.html

The consistency is what it says: like a serum. It sinks in well, and leaves very a light glow, just well-moisturized skin. It is chemical based, so it’s not a physical block.

If you prefer a sunBLOCk with a physical screen, I really love Elta MD spf 46: https://www.amazon.com/EltaMD-Clear-Facial-Sunscreen-Broad-Spectrum/dp/B002MSN3QQ

It’s got hylauronic acid in it, and doesn’t leave a white cast at all.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum S…$37.00$37.004.6/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

17th Dec 2021
1 point

·

7th Sep 2021

I’m a fan of EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen SPF 46, it’s been my go-to sunscreen for several years.
I think it meets your criteria. (Might be too pricey)

https://www.amazon.com/EltaMD-Clear-Facial-Sunscreen-Broad-Spectrum/dp/B002MSN3QQ

1 point

·

16th Aug 2021

Yeah, I had the same issue with that brand. This is the Facial sunscreen I’ve found to work well for my skin and not leave a pilling or a greasy film.

​

EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002MSN3QQ

1 point

·

11th Mar 2021

Closed Comedones / CC / Comedonal acne

Also not included in the title: PIE / hyperpigmentation / acne scars

I am a 22-year-old female. I started noticing closed comedones on my cheeks back in December of 2019 and only recently discovered the name for this type of whitehead. My CCs were a result of not removing my makeup properly. The only thing I used on my skin was blush serum, but back then I just used makeup wipes. No cleanser, etc. It’s no wonder why my pores became clogged in the first place.

To give some background, I’ve had mild eczema ever since I was a toddler (most notably in areas prone to sweat). I used to have eczema around my eyes. Despite this, I was able to keep my eczema under control for about a decade now. Just by moisturizing a lot and stopping myself from scratching.

My skin used to be pretty sensitive in areas where my skin condition took place, so I was never allowed to dive into skincare as I was told it could damage my skin permanently. I know, it sounds odd because I was able to keep my eczema under control by taking care of it so it would only make sense if I did the same for my face. However, my parents are very traditional and believe that the skin will do its job properly and that further “meddling” is unnecessary. Due to this, I never got to try out skincare products so I am completely new to this and totally lost. Also, I never had acne growing up, so I just was never curious about skincare. 🙁

I would say my skin is not as sensitive or dry anymore. I used to have normal-to-dry skin on my face. However, as of late, my skin has appeared to be more normal-to-oily.

Back to where we were, I’ve been dealing with closed comedones for a year and 3 months now. At first, it was just whiteheads underneath my skin. I thought it would go away on its own. When this was not the case, I resorted to extracting my CCs at home. The more I extracted the closed comedones, the more I saw pop up on my face. When it hit the year mark, a lot of the closed comedones (not all) started to become inflamed and filled with pus. Extracting the comedones at home led to a lot of acne scars. The pus-filled pimple also caused a lot of scarring.

I am totally lost. I don’t know what to do to fade my scars and get the texture under control. I am afraid of what people refer to as “purging,” so I’m hesitant on what product(s) to try out. I already feel really insecure about the state of my face. I’ve never had acne before, so this is completely new. The comedones are majorly on my cheeks. I have a few comedones on my chin. It sucks so badly because even when I smile, my comedones are more noticeable. When I wear tinted cushions, I can’t even cover my hyperpigmentation or scars. Not only this, but also the texture is further emphasized with makeup. I know I could buy a full coverage foundation or heavily conceal, but I’m honestly scared that I will rely on a mask to love myself and it would only clog my pores even more. This is why I really want to dive into skincare and tackle my comedonal acne head-on.

As of late, my skincare routine has been very simple. I just started getting into skincare, so there’s still a lot I don’t know. Please feel free to correct me if I am making any mistakes! I purchased all the products on Amazon with the exception of a few products. Please let me know if what I linked is fake!

AM routine:

​

  • Cleanser (I skip this step if my skin is not oily)

​

  • CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser for Normal-to-Oily skin (I use my fingers because it’s gentle, any recommendations for AM & PM cleansers that would help with closed comedones?)

  • Moisturizer

​

  • CeraVe Moisturizing Cream for Normal-to-Dry skin (I purchased this months ago before I really noticed that I have normal to oily skin, I plan to try out a new moisturizer after I use this up, any recommendations for moisturizers that would help with closed comedones?)

  • Sunscreen

​

PM routine:

​

  • Remove makeup

​

  • IUNIK Calendula Complete Cleansing Oil

  • Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water

  • CeraVe Foaming Cleanser (using the Foreo Luna 3 for normal skin)

  • COSRX Snail Essence (just started using this because I read that it helps with hyperpigmentation and CC. Purchased on Amazon, not sure if this is a fake, but I do like the consistency & that it’s quick-drying. I usually add 2 layers)

  • Rohto Melano CC Intensive Anti-Spot Essence (I read that this helps with PIE or hyperpigmentation, but I haven’t added this into my routine because I’m still waiting for it to arrive, I also heard it’s not good to use vitamin c products with AHA/BHA??? please correct me if I’m wrong!)

  • CeraVe Moisturizing Cream

  • COSRX or Mighty hydrocolloid patches on inflamed pimples

If you are still reading, thank you so much for taking the time to read my post!!! Any advice or recommendation would really help! I’ve read that AHA and BHA products really help with closed comedones or comedonal acne. However, as I mentioned, I’m really scared of the purging period. Would AHA and/or BHA be effective for my closed comedones/texture if used once a week? Would using the product once a week lessen the purging period? Will chemical exfoliants help keep the texture of closed comedones under control?

Some AHA and BHA products I’ve read that are effective in fighting closed comedones are:

​

  • Paula’s Choice 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant

  • COSRX

​

  • AHA 7 Whitehead Power Liquid

  • BHA 4% Blackhead Power Liquid

Again, thank you!!!

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2019

Okay YOU appear to be somewhat factually incorrect. Why does no one share sources?

https://www.skincancer.org/prevention/uva-and-uvb

According to the Skin Cancer Foundation, UVA is the dominant tanning ray/aging ray and UVB is the dominant burning ray.

So the best question is, what sunscreen protects against both? Broad-spectrum protection sunscreen. I searched Amazon and this one seemed the cheapest and just highly rated.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_M7bCCb9FMHCP8

1 point

·

27th Apr 2020

EltaMD for acne prone skin works amazing for me. Helped clear my skin, faded dark spots with daily use, and prevents burns. All star player and available on amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_apa_i_4XLPEbWWTCB3N

1 point

·

16th Aug 2018

EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46, 1. 7 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_rOzDBbXJPM1FK

1 point

·

16th Aug 2018

EltaMD UV Clear Facial Sunscreen Broad-Spectrum SPF 46, 1. 7 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_rOzDBbXJPM1FK

1 point

·

2nd May 2018

Hey, SoCal here.

My faves are:

Physical: Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 47 broad Spectrum (usually get mine from Sephora, you could also sample this if there is a Sephora near you)

Physical and chemical mixed: Elta MD UV Clear SPF 46 with niacinamide for hyperpigmentation and acne skin. (Available on Amazon but I also found mine locally at a medspa around the corner from my house)

Chemical: Biore UV Aqua SPF 50 PA ++++ (bought this on Amazon in a two pck, but my local Asian beauty store also carries it)

Links:

Josie Maran Sunscreen

Elta MD Sunscreen

Biore

1 point

·

17th Feb 2018

I don’t have a whole lot of experience with different sunscreens. I just started using EltaMD UV Clear, it’s a bit pricey but I like it a lot. Before that I was using one of the Neutrogena UltaSheer sunscreens which was pretty good, the price was right and it had minimal white cast and didn’t leave me too greasy. Japanese sunscreens are also very popular and cosmetically elegant, but they often contain alcohol which can be problematic and drying for some. I’m not too much help on that front, but here’s the HG Sunscreen thread.

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2017

Elta MD!! Seriously I love that sunscreen. Not greasy at all and doesn’t break me out.

1 point

·

10th Jun 2016

I have not used it, but there are plenty of sunscreens out there you could try. EltaMD is still expensive, but it is a great brand that you might want to try. Also check out this La Roche Posay sunscreen for a purely mineral sunscreen like Tizo 3.

1 point

·

24th Jun 2016

Elta MD is a fantastic facial sunscreen for acne-prone skin. SPF 46, absorbs well, not oily. It is a bit $$, but I will never use anything else.

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2016

The science behind sunscreen is somewhat complex for me, I’m just a hobbyist! However, there’s a cosmetic chemist on reddit who has a blog (here), and I know he’s planning to write a post about “natural” sunscreen ingredients soon. Natural-living blogs often state that coconut oil has an SPF of 5, for example, but apparently that’s not true according to the science.

Pure zinc oxide should be the safest sunscreen ingredient as far as skin sensitivity goes… I think the molecules are too big to enter pores? But zinc oxide creams are like, pure white, and very thick, and sort of grainy/separates when applied — at least in my experience.

The other “less natural” ingredients in sunscreen are there to (1) make it aesthetically appealing, both in colour and feel on the skin, (2) provide shelf stability so that it doesn’t grow mould and the formula doesn’t separate, and (3) in some cases, support the active ingredients by making them more effective. So I totally understand sensitive skin woes! But don’t worry too much about “natural” vs “chemical”. Everything is a chemical! If you see “caprylic saturated fatty acid” on an ingredient list, it might sound scary… but it’s one (of many) fatty acids found in various “natural” oils, like coconut oil. Plus, it’s far more harmful to put something on your face that might grow mould someday than something with an FDA-approved preservative.

Here’s one sunscreen that has a relatively short list and that I’ve seen recommended often. I’ve pasted the ingredients list here and searched up each ingredient to let you know what they do.

> Active ingredients: Zinc Oxide 9.0% (physical sunscreen), Octinoxate 7.5% (chemical sunscreen)
> Non-active ingredients: Purified Water, Cyclomethicone (used to make formula smoother/more emollient), Niacinamide (vitamin B3, GREAT ingredient for improving hyperpigmented spots), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (emollient), Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer (thickener/emulsifier; helps keep formula together), Polyisobutene (improves formula feel), PEG-7 Trimethylolpropane Coconut Ether (emulsifier/surfactant), Sodium Hyaluronate (helps with bringing moisture into the skin), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E, helps stabilize formula), Lactic Acid (probably helps stabilize formula, maybe by adjusting pH), Oleth-3 Phosphate (emulsifier), Phenoxyethanol (preservative), Butylene Glycol (solvent), Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate (preservative), Triethoxycaprylylsilane (helps bind formula together).

Oh, and BTW, the stated percentage of Niacinamide in this sunscreen is 5%, which means that everything after it in the ingredients list composes 5% or less of the formula. These “chemicals” are included in tiny, tiny amounts in order to stabilize and make the formula more comfortable for you.

Check out the list I linked earlier in the thread if you want to see some more sunscreen recommendations from /r/skincareaddiction.

1 point

·

5th Feb 2016

EltaMD UVClear SPF 46, it’s my favorite. Formulated for acne prone skin and it is unscented.
http://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ

1 point

·

15th Feb 2016

Get a high SPF sunscreen with niacinamide to help fade PIH. I use this one.

1 point

·

31st Dec 2015

Personally, I’m not using a vitamin C cream because it’s expensive. But sunscreen is literally a MUST. I used to think sunscreen would just make things worse, but it turns out that sun damage makes acne scar spots darker.

Lots of people here have seen success from sunscreens and the one I’m personally using is EldaMD sunscreen, found here: http://www.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1451583461&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=eldamd+sunscreen

I also use Adapalene 0.3% (Differin) which is a prescription. It’s been shown in scientific studies to promote cell turnover, which fades those spots. I’ve been using it so far and has been keeping my skin not only clear, but has been helping with the scarring as well.

I’m also about to use GOW’s Glycolic Acid and Lactic Acid Exfoliation Wipes. Found here: http://www.gardenofwisdom.com/catalog/item/7495831/3918195.htm

I have middle-eastern skin so I need to use lactic acid, as it works better for darker skins. But Glycolic Acid may work better for your skin. The recommendations in the post above are some of the best but make sure to read the ingredient labels. Paraben-free and minimal ingredients are always best for your skin. They also have a DIY Vitamin C found here: https://www.reddit.com/r/SkincareAddiction/comments/1lfm47/diy_vitamin_c_serum_a_really_full_explanation/

I’m going to add this to my regimen a little later, just trying to be as conservative with money as possible. Vitamin C is essential for collagen renewal and will help fade your spots faster. It also gives your skin a nice glow, so there’s benefits!

That’d be my list of recommendations, make sure to read some of the posts around here that had the same problem as you – they can help you choose the best product for you. I’m confident though that given time and determination, your skin will be 100% clear.

Remember though, patience is the key for acne and even the scarring. Just stay persistent and you’ll see good things!

1 point

·

27th Oct 2015

Hello everyone,

I turned 30 recently. I have relatively good skin (no blemishes, acne issues and haven’t started showing any serious wrinkles… yet). I’m usually indoors but I do get exposed to the sun for about 30min to 1 hour a day. My daily routine is just Cerave in the tub.

I want to add a sunscreen and I’ve picked a few options (although I’m open to others as well). I guess it somewhat boils down to do I need niacinamide or should I wait to introduce it?

  1. Eltamd UV Clear SPF 46 – $23
    Thoughts: Do I need the niacinamide at my age?

  2. La Roche-Posay Anthelios 45 Ultra Light – $30
    Thoughts: no niacinamide. great otherwise

  3. Paula’s Choice Clear-Ultra-Light-Daily-Fluid-SPF-30
    Thoughts: regular sunscreen. cheap

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2015

Not AB but Elta MD is formulated for problematic skin. The price goes up and down quite a bit so I’d monitor the price or shop elsewhere.
Eltamd UV Clear SPF 46, 48-Gram 1.7 oz. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002MSN3QQ/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_pZlLvbYNT1RQE

1 point

·

31st Jul 2015

I’ve been using this and haven’t had any complaints! In fact, I probably will continue using it after accutane.
http://smile.amazon.com/Eltamd-Clear-SPF-48-Gram-1-7/dp/B002MSN3QQ?sa-no-redirect=1

1 point

·

12th May 2015

Non-mobile:

^That’s ^why ^I’m ^here, ^I ^don’t ^judge ^you. ^PM ^/u/xl0 ^if ^I’m ^causing ^any ^trouble. ^WUT?

1 point

·

16th May 2015

Hi! I have combination skin which gets pretty oily but also dry, and the one I’ve found that works best is Elta MD Clear. It’s not the cheapest, but it’s one of the few that doesn’t dry me out. If you search in the side bar, there’s a ton of threads reviewing other physical sunscreens too like this one. I personally just avoid avobenzone and haven’t had any more stinging issues. I know some people like the Banana Boat ones as a cheaper option, but this has been the one that works best for me. Good luck!

1 point

·

31st Mar 2015

This guide can help you. Any of the products listed there can help you. I will list some of my personal recommendations below. It depends on what your budget is and whether you prefer to buy online or in stores. You don’t have to go crazy and buy it all. Pick one or two products to start with. I also highly recommend a daily sunscreen to prevent the PIH from getting darker.

CeraVe PM – a moisturizer that contains niacinamide (available almost everywhere like Target, Walmart, CVS). You can print a $2 off coupon from the CeraVe website too. It’s about $11-14.

Ponds dark spot treatment – moisturizer with niacinamide and Vitamin C. Available almost everywhere. I have seen tiny jars in the travel section at Target for $1.47. A big jar is something like $7-9.

Elta MD Clear – sunscreen with niacinamide. You can only buy online or from some dermatologists.

Nufountain Vitamin C serum – available online only, I think.

As for AHA products, I recommend Silk Naturals (online only), St. Ives pads (these are discontinued so you can find them at Big Lots or on Amazonly only), Paula’s Choice 8% AHA (online only), or any of the products made by the brand Alpha Hydrox (available at Ulta and some pharmacies (CVS?)).