What is the opinion of Reddit about the
ELAC B5 Debut Series 5.25″ Bookshelf Speakers by Andrew Jones (Pair)?

A total of 32 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

29th Oct 2016

Yes of course. But my rant was against home theaters in a box, $500 for a 2.1 is much more reasonable and will get you a nice setup that you’ll definitely like.

You could get a pair of ELAC B5s which are $200 and would leave you a good margin to look for a good sub in the used market.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2016

I’ll be buying a pair of bookshelf speakers down the line and unless something else is recommended to me in a similar price range, I’ll end up getting these: https://www.amazon.com/Debut-Bookshelf-Speakers-Andrew-Jones/dp/B014GSER6O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470240641&sr=8-1&keywords=elac+b6

1 point

·

15th Jul 2016

I’ve heard good things about the ELAC B5 and B6 in the same price range. Though they are not specifically near field monitors, should be alright.

https://www.amazon.com/Debut-Bookshelf-Speakers-Andrew-Jones/dp/B014GSER6O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1468558102&sr=8-1&keywords=elac+b5

1 point

·

12th Jul 2016

Skip the sub for now, go setup 2 but add the $160 you were going to spend on the sub and buy ELAC B5 speakers.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2016

Depends on your use-case. Most bookshelf speakers are designed for home theater, i.e. they are designed to be placed several feet away from the listener. If you plan on sitting at a computer desk with a giant pair of bookshelf speakers sitting in front of you, they may sound like shit because you are too close and listening to them “off axis.”

However, if you plan on using this setup as part as your listening enviorment as opposed to straight computer speakers; then yes, passives + an amp may be a better deal. There are a TON of great passive bookshelfs at the the $250 price-point (ELAC B5s come to mind), but you’ll have to find an amp to push them, and at $50 you would have to find something used…which is OK too because you can always upgrade later.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2016

I’d throw the Elac B5’s on that list. Great bang-for-the-buck, especially if you don’t want a sub.

With that said, you REALLY need to audition these for yourself. You can use reviews to find the ones you THINK will be best, but don’t be afraid to send them back and try something else.

2 points

·

22nd Mar 2017

AVR: $320 Yamaha Factory Refurbished RX-V581
7.2 / 4k / HDR / Bluetooth

Front Speakers: $230 Elac B5

Center Speaker: $180 Elac C5

Surround speakers: $90 Pioneer BS22-LR Speakers *2 = $180 for 4 speakers with Amazon Prime

= $910 total

Subwoofer: $150 Dayton 1200 or $200 Bic F12. I would prioritize either subwoofer before the surround speakers then just get the other at a later time.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2016

Think I’ll pass on that one 😉

Passive speakers it is then. Of course I wouldnt want my speakers too small, I just like them to be a little low key and subtle.
I might have to look around a bit for a set of passive speakers that suits my needs both in size and looks while still having great audio quality.

Edit: I’ve been looking around and found some speakers that I might find qualifying. Not sure if they are good enough, outdated or even if they are active (Amazon does not state it clearly).

1 point

·

23rd May 2018

Let’s see if I can help you with this project. Here are some thoughts for you.

  1. Good job on stepping up to some real speakers, you’re gonna enjoy it.

  2. The S15’s are good speakers but you could also get some ELAC B5 $160 for the same money. I would prefer the Polks but if you like a more layed back sound the ELAC wouldn’t be a bad choice.

  3. While the Yamaha is good I don’t really go for stereo receivers unless you’re really wanting a pure music rig. While it will work I would recommend going with a refurb ARV. This Denon S530 refurb $140 would be a great choice. You’ll get digital inputs, expandability and better sound control.

  4. I would use either HDMI or optical to input into the AVR. You can use the stereo 3.5mm analog outputs off the mobo but I would go digital.

  5. For the TV the good think about the AVR is that it has optical in which your TV should have. Most do but most don’t have analog audio outputs. Another reason for the AVR over the stereo receiver.

1 point

·

28th May 2018

Does he have an amplifier and source already?

The ELAC B5 should fit the bill nicely, they are on sale since the “new” version came out a month ago.

https://www.amazon.com/Debut-Bookshelf-Speakers-Andrew-Jones/dp/B014GSER6O

1 point

·

20th Dec 2017

I’m looking to buy a sound system for my small living room. I already have the TV, a nice LG 65″. It has an ok sound but I’m having trouble understanding people when they mumble or talk low. All in all I would like to have a more lively and clear sound for action movies and sports. I rarely listen to music.

I’ve followed Zeos’s guide but I have zero experience so I more or less picked parts randomly and according to availability in Germany. How did I do? Is it maybe a bit excessive?

List of parts

1 point

·

30th Dec 2017

I have the B6 which are a step up from these and they sound amazing! The B5 should sound great for the price as well and are considerably cheaper on Amazon here:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014GSER6O/ref=psdc_3236451011_t1_B014GSEQ06

1 point

·

24th Jun 2017

Hey all. I’ve been rocking some Dayton B652s for years and they sound fine, but I’m realizing that with my massive record collection, I could be really hearing things a lot better if I upgraded my

Here’s the view spun around in my computer chair of my speakers (circled in red): http://imgur.com/a/696Rx

These speakers are to pair with my Turntable (Pioneer PL-518X) and Receiver (Pioneer SX-790)

I’m thinking about these: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014GSER6O — If you have a better suggestion for the price (200 is sadly my budget at this moment), please don’t hesitate to let me know!

I just am not sure if the positioning of my speakers is ideal (they’re slightly pointed towards me. If you’re facing them, my bed is to the right of me and I point them in that direction if I’m listening to music in bed
Gear is my weak point of knowledge and therefore I come to you, the experts. Thank you to anyone who can help.

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2017

Okay so going down the all new route, I wouldn’t recommend the Micca’s unless you’re in a really small space. Those are more of desktop speakers, not home theater speakers which are what you’re looking for with your big TV.

If my large-ish room assumption is correct, then really your entry level is the ELAC b5 or b6 (more so the b6 because if you have a 65″ tv, you probably need the extra displacement to push enough sound at a low enough distortion to your seating position). I would get those and this and you would be in business. Here is the matching center.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2017

For a sub-$400 system, try:

Denon AVR S510BT – $170

ELAC B5 bookshelf speakers (pair) – $229

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2017

If you haven’t already, try /r/hometheater as well. What do you consider middle ground? The $200 – $300 is chock full of options, and in my opinion has some of the best bang / buck speakers.

Definitely don’t skimp on the LCR speakers, the more you can allocate the better. Have you already looked at receivers? I’m not well versed in atmos, but I believe you’ll need a 11.2 receiver for 7.x.4, and I’m not seeing any that would fit in your price range. Most accounts I’ve heard recommend going for either 4 atmos speakers, or none. To mirror what they said, go for a 5.1.4 over a 7.1.2.

1 point

·

29th Jan 2017

That prebuilt on amazon looks pretty terrible. Here’s the 5.1 system I threw together:

I left two options for the front speakers, the B6 are essentially larger and bassier versions of the B5. One option is saving a bit of cash by buying the B5’s and using it towards a nicer subwoofer, such as this.

1 point

·

21st Jan 2017

Hey I got the same TV, 55″ though. Surround channels can also be 90 degrees from you like this.

Do you have any 4k content? Older / cheaper receivers might not support it. I don’t personally have much experience with any other receiver than my own (Marantz NR1504), but I’d suggest something from A4S around $300. Marantz, Denon, and Yamaha are generally solid choices. If you’re unsure about anyone feel free to ask.

With about ~$400 left for speakers, you can go about this a couple of ways. First is a 2.0 with the best LR speakers you can get. This is the best option if you’re willing to spend more money in the future to buy the center / sub. SVS Prime / Elac UniFi UB5 are both $500 retail, but you can likely find them for cheaper used on amazon, or direct from SVS Outlet. Both speakers have matching centers that can be bought afterwards.

If you’d like a more complete system, I’ll recommend a 3.0 and a 2.1 system soley because I don’t think it’s worth trying to squeeze a full 3.1 in at the moment. Do you plan on mostly watching movies or listening to music? Center vs Sub is going to be dependent on your use case.

For a 3.0, I’d recommend the Elac Debut Line. For main speakers, Elac B5 or B6. B6 costs more but is going to have more bass, which makes up for not having a sub. This is the matching center.

For a 2.1 system, I’d still recommend going with either the B5 or B6, but instead of the center grab this sub.

You’ll still need to buy speaker wire, but that’s dirt cheap.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2016

I’d say the bare minimum is $1500 (two pairs of Elac B5s, a C5, Pioneer VSX-831, SVS PB-1000), but I’d recommend spending a couple hundred dollars more for the higher sub model.

Edit: added what I’d suggest as a minimum configuration.

1 point

·

4th Aug 2016

You could consider these.

1 point

·

27th Aug 2016

This receiver with these speakers will sound significantly better than the Onkyo mini hi-fi. That turntable is excellent value at the price, and I’d much rather this phono stage, my experience with Behringer’s quality control has been somewhat hit or miss.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2016

Another note for the active vs passive

Passive mainly use speaker wire or a single “RCA looking” cable that powers itself through an amplifier/receiver while an active speaker usually has its separate power supply and volume/bass/treble control. This also means that no amp/receiver is required for the active speakers because they could go from:
a TT > Preamp > Active speakers

or

from a TT > Preamp > Amplifier/Receiver > Passive speakers

My recommendations of each are: Passive and Active

Though the passives cost a bit over your budget, they’re extremely worth it, but if you can’t go over your budget and/or you don’t want to worry about Dad’s Sony receiver, the BT actives seem personal optimization and ideal quality.

1 point

·

4th Jun 2016

Sorry, I forgot you were going for a 3.0/3.1

Get a set of B5 $230, a C5 $180, BIC F12 and some stands and you’re in good shape.

1 point

·

13th Jun 2016
  1. What is your budget?
    $500

  2. What are you looking for?
    Looking for a pair of bookshelf speakers, a 2-channel stereo receiver that can be used as a home theater setup with my speakers, playstation, and tv.

  3. How will you typically be using the gear?
    I will use the gear for music (indie rock, hiphop – no EDM), gaming, and sound for my TV (sports, movies, shows)

  4. What gear do you own?
    The only gear I own are my TV (60″ Samsung LED 1080p Smart TV), and my playstation 4. I could probably figure out some stands for the speakers too. Other than that, I have nothing.

  5. What do you intend on using for a source?
    Right now, I want to play music off my phone and/or laptop. Sound also playing through my TV/playstation. Down the road, I want to get a turntable and start collecting records.

  6. What material will you be using your gear for?
    Gaming, music, movies, sports, shows. Music – indie rock, hip-hop, ambient, punk rock, post-rock, etc. No EDM business here.

  7. Are you willing to buy used?
    Would rather not.

Someone kindly gave me a few suggestions before, but I’m afraid the stereo receiver isn’t what I need. I’m a bit of a newb to hi-fi audio – but would the receiver suggested below satisfy my needs? I feel that the stereo receiver would need some HDMI inputs for the playstation and an output to the TV? Hopefully someone can help me with this. Here were the suggestions that were given by a previous individual (which, thanks for the previous suggestion! Just want to make sure I am getting everything I need before making a $500 purchase.)

Bookshelf Speakers – Elac B6, $279

Stereo Receiver – Yamaha R-S201BL, $129

Wifi Addition – Airport Express, $49

Thanks!

1 point

·

11th May 2016

Complete novice here, and I’m looking for suggestions and/or reassurance before I pull the trigger on a 2.1 desk setup. I’ll try not to waste your time, so here is what I’m working with:

  • 100 sq. ft. computer/office room.
  • Speakers need to fit on my 6.5 foot wide desk without looking ridiculous (nothing taller than about 1 foot).

  • Source will be my PC with a variety of media, incl. gaming, music, movies, etc., so I’m looking for well rounded performance.

  • I want to mount any peripherals (amp, DAC, etc.) to the under side of my desk to eliminate clutter. Smaller is better.

Edit – Price range is about $400 – $600.

Okay, with that out of the way, here is what I’ve put together so far:

My fears are that this combination will not work, or that I’ve made a terrible mistake in the equipment chosen. How would you all spend roughly the same amount of money to get great sound out of a computer, starting from scratch?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Edit – I’m not sure about this subwoofer. I know I’ll need a powered sub because the amp I’ve chosen isn’t very powerful, but should I get a downward firing sub instead of front firing? Is there another sub in the $100-200 range that I should go with? Again, this is in a fairly small room, and it will likely be on the floor about 3 feet from my… feet.

Thanks again!

1 point

·

30th Apr 2016

Elac B5 $230 (or B6 if you can budget for it)
Monoprice sub $108 (or Pioneer sw8mk2 or Martin Logan Dynamo 300 for smaller options)
refurb receiver like this one $150

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2016

Hi, Here is my setup. U-Turn basic which I plan on upgrading in the future. ELAC B5 Speakers, GemTune Amp which is not very powerful but sounds great and looks cool. Rolls Preamp which is probably is going to be upgraded soon. Here is my collection if anyone is curious. I want to do a gif presentation soon. Another upgrade soon is speaker stands. I also use the Airport to airplay Spotify to the amp through an iPad. That sounds great to me too. Thanks for looking!

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2016

The ELAC B5 are a recent bookshelf speaker release that have gotten a ton of good press.

Amazon Link

noaudiophile review