What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Computer Speaker – Powered Studio Monitor (Pair)?

A total of 67 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2022

I have a pair of Edifier speakers with my turntable, they work very well and I don’t use an amp. Here is a link to some Edifier’s I found on Amazon for under $100.. I think these should work!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_AJBN5WVPGZXASQNDHSW3

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

Looking at some entry level speakers that are better than the $20 logitechs, and I’m eyeing the Edifier R980T. I know nothing about the magnets used in higher quality speakers though. Are they strong enough to affect a hard drive that’s nearby? I’d want to put it next to my desktop, and I also have an external hard drive that I’m not sure if I need to be careful about.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2021

i just got the exact same record player a month ago and got these speakers

Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Computer Speaker – Powered Studio Monitor (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_VVGPQ9MRQKRR658CFJJX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

they sound heavenly

1 point

·

28th May 2021
  1. A question: Does your LG Smart TV has a H/P out for headphone 3.5 jacks?

  2. It would then be possible to get your TV sounds/Music source mixed together with the microphone sounds (as your wireless mic receiver is also a mixer) and input all the sounds either

A: to the soundbar which is not recommended as a soundbar is not made for live sounds with microphones. It would only eventually blow up your soundbar as time goes by, but you can still use it at your own risk.

B: or through some Active Speakers.
I recommend https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=mp_s_a_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=edifier+active+speaker&qid=1622198213&sr=8-6

  1. You would also need a RCA to 3.5mm Jack cable to Audio output from the mixer to the active speakers (or soundbar)
    and you should be good to go.

(Additional Information to your last question)

I am running multiple ways at home. I have a TJ Media Karaoke Machine from Korea for 614€ which runs alone with the TV (but also can be connected to Ampliffier and/or speakers) and I am more than satisfied with it til now.
Aside from that I do have (passive) speakers at home and multiple amplifiers and/or mixers and mics to put some of them together to get karaoke sounds (although most of them or a bit old and I don’t know how much they cost).
And usually that are the ways I use:

  1. Music Source (TV and youtube or a Karaoke Player) input into a Mixer Amplifier. I have some Shure Sm58 wireless receiver or also some wired mics connected to the same Mixer Amplifier. And the mixer amplifier connected with the speakers.

  2. Music Source Connected to a Pioneer LaserKaraoke Device which functions in this case for me as a mixer, means that I also connect my mics to the Device and connect the LaserKaraoke Device to some Amplifier or AV-Receiver so that I can get the sound to my speakers in the end.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_73q1FbKT7HRPG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

So these are relatively inexpensive at $70, nothing fancy but for what they are (small bookshelf speakers) they sound ok, and don’t require additional equipment. Just plug and play.

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2020

Any thoughts on the 980Ts?

I bought them a while ago and love them decently enough so I won’t return them, but I never see them mentioned alongside other Edifiers so I’m wondering if I’m “missing out” so to speak.

1 point

·

15th Nov 2018

Scroll down on the Edifier R980T page and there is a comparison chart.

For $30 more the 1280T has more power and adds a remote.

For another $30 more the 1280BT adds optical and Bluetooth inputs.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2017

the other two are right. Chromecast Audio.

and for speakers i was thinking something like this.

I opted to install in ceiling speakers and put the amp and CCA in a closet at my house.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2017

Hello everyone! I currently have these speakers and I was wondering if I could connect them to a subwoofer. If I could, how would I do so? The only thing I can explain beside the one picture they provide is that there is a red and black cable that runs from the back of one of the speakers to the other one for it to provide sound. Thank you for your time and help!

1 point

·

10th Feb 2017

Slightly over 60, but something like these would probably do you right, or any decent set of powered speakers you might find used.

Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Computer Speaker – Powered Studio Monitor (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_TIwNybN2SPXB2

20 points

·

9th Nov 2018

Sure, they are $120 new.

Alternatives:

Powered/Active: 4″ Edifiers start at $70. Edifier R980T or larger 5″ Swan D1080-IV $140 or Fluance Ai40 $200

Amp+Passive:

$53 Bundle 6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair and Hi-Fi Mini Amplifier

Mini amps:

Kinter K2020A $33. SMSL SA50 $67, Dayton Audio DTA-120BT $75, Micca OriGain $80 or $100 with USB DAC, more at Zeos AMP and DAC guide.

Speakers:

AverageJoe’s Speaker List

Polk Audio T15 $50

Micca MB42X $80

Pioneer SP-BS22-LR 4" Bookshelf Speakers (Pair) $68 or if sale is over, PIONEERSP-BS22-LR $90

Sony SSCS5 3-Way 3-Driver Bookshelf Speaker $73

DIY C-notes $100

Clearance sale dual 5.25″ Polk Audio Monitor 40 Series $100

Speaker wire and self adjusting wire strippers or basic.

Subwoofer:

Franklin Audio FPS10 10" 100 Watt Powered Subwoofer $90 with $10 off coupon

3 points

·

17th May 2021

You’d be moving from total shit to total shit. It’s not worth your time or energy.

If you can afford $50 for that landfill grade Pyle amp… then you can also probably scrounge up $20 more and get this or this. Those would be miles better.

Your turntable is not your limiting factor here. Not even close.

2 points

·

17th Mar 2021

I have these and LOVE them! https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers.

​

Great price, great sound, great warranty.

2 points

·

18th Dec 2020

Edifiers

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB

You will need a tv with variable output on rca or use headphone jack for tv remote to control volume

Or get speakers with a remote

2 points

·

4th Apr 2017

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Looks like they’re unavailable at the moment on Amazon, but you could check Edifier website. I paid $69.99.

They are seriously an amazing value!

2 points

·

6th Jul 2018

I haven’t tried them yet but Edifier has some consistently well rated speakers on Amazon. Check these ones: Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf Speakers – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_BH8pBb1YE9409

2 points

·

24th Oct 2019

3.5mm extension cord for headphones or speakers.

Yes, the Luna are more compact and look better, however the other Edifiers may sound just as good for $100 less.

Yes connect the speakers to the computer with the 3.5mm cable. Or digital optical connection if you computer has it to the 1280s. Or add a USB DAC. No reason to use Bluetooth for desktop use.

The 1700 have a bit better drivers or amp than the 1280. The 1700 are angled back to aim at your ears. The 1280 add a digital optical input. With the 1280 it is best to get stands to raise them up to ear level or aim them back with a speaker wedge. The Edifiers are also available on Amazon.

Another basic model is Edifier R980T $69.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2022

edifier is probably the least expensive option people will recommend here. $75-100 for some truly decent speakers.

Edifier R980T $75

even better would be Edifier R1280T $100

they have options with Bluetooth as well. i know you say you’re satisfied with the quality of audio from your monitor, but believe me when i say that decent speakers are a game changer. you will notice so much more depth in everything from streaming, to music, & gaming. you’ll be able to hear sound more directionally in games, which really does help depending on the type of game. bite the bullet & get something good, you won’t regret it.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2022

These have been working well for me for about the past year and well under budget. I’m not an audiophile, so I have seen some comments about loss of some midtones, but I listen to music all day to drown out sounds in the rest of the house, take Zoom calls and then watch Netflix/play games on my personal desktop at night and they work great for me. This is also a nice extra addition to point the speakers upwward

1 point

·

14th Dec 2021

A quick Google search led me to this thread on the shmups forum that indicates that the PC Engine CDROM^2 only had 2 games that included a Dolby Surround sound option, Super Darius and Rainbow Islands.

For my money, I don’t think it’s worth it to get up a full 5.1 surround system going for just a couple games; there are, however, quite a significant amount of games for other pre-6th gen systems according to that post, so maybe it’s worth it to you if you’re interested in playing any of those games for other consoles in surround.

I use these Edifier powered bookshelf speakers for retro gaming and they sound very good to me with a nice full-bodied stereo sound, and are shielded so they don’t disrupt the image on my PVM.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2021

To continue my long post … here is your other option: A pair of Powered speakers like the

https://www.amazon.ca/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=sr_1_7?keywords=powered+speaker&qid=1639410610&s=electronics&sr=1-7

They’re 97 $CAD so about $60 USD. They have an amp puilt in. BUT you still need a Phono Preamp like the $20 PYLE listed below.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2021

1964-1975 era solo 4… fyi these were the cheapest speakers of the solo line…

i’ll bet you a dollar the surround is either completely deteriorated already or will turn to dust the moment you power it up.

just so you know, even with a Good amp these sounded like junk by any modern standard.

you can get a used pair of powered edifer monitors for $55… or $75 renewed… https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2021

I’e used these with my iMac and now with my M1 Mini. They are excellent for the price!!! https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

No reason to spend more if your hearing is a bit compromised.

1 point

·

10th Sep 2021

The creative pebbles are well known for being some of the worst speakers you can buy, alongside Logitech of course.

I think these guys are about the cheapest you can get right now and still have somewhat reasonable sound. Also check out this setup

1 point

·

1st Nov 2020

These are the speakers: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_UiVNFbY0X6HHD?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

And they’re only connected to the headphones, which are the beyerdynamic dt 990 pros.

1 point

·

14th Sep 2018

Amazon has comparisons, just scroll down on the Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers page.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2019

Edifier R980T, $70 Amazon includes RCA cables

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2020

I have some R980Ts. Not exactly small, but I can fit them under my monitor at it’s maximum height and they fit on my crappy wooden desk.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

Edifier low cost bookshelf speakers perhaps?

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/

it might be worth it if you can save for another while and get up to $200 budget, then your options get a lot broader, and include sets like Fluance Ai40 or Eris e5.

1 point

·

10th Sep 2020

Again most any external computer speakers are amplified. This would be one example: Here

or this

or this

or this

you just want to look for “active” speakers, or most any speaker with a volume knob and a plug to the wall.

Passive speakers are sent amplified audio from a receiver or amplifier box, this is what you are thinking of when you said “Hi-Fi”. Some fancy turntables you will also need an external pre-amplifier.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2020

I have currently bought a monitor with no integrated speakers so I was looking for a entry level bookshelf speakers that I could hook it up to easily and also may hook it up to a tv as well but it would still be stationed on the same desk.

I honestly would like to spend 50usd but from what I have found on the forums so far these 2 options seem like the most recommend so I would be willing to spend 70usd if it is worth it.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=sr_1_fkmrnull_1?keywords=edifier+980t&qid=1553196948&s=gateway&sr=8-1-fkmrnull&pldnSite=1

https://www.parts-express.com/6-1-2-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-pair-and-hi-fi-mini-amplifier-bundle–300-6534

Which option would choose and why? Also feel free to leave any other suggestions in the budget.

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2020

Do yourself a favor man. While not stellar, these will do well for $70, or you could go to the 1280 for $100. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_k-vuFbN1JKCH3

1 point

·

27th Aug 2020

i can second rhis. i just bought the same record player earlier this year and it’s been great. i’ve got these speakers for it and i’m loving it https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_9c0rFbGZBJMTE

1 point

·

16th Aug 2020

Check out /r/PCsound.

Otherwise this is about as good as you’ll be doing for that budget.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB

1 point

·

10th Nov 2019

For $70 you could get the Edifier R980T for $80 you already get the R1280T

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2019

3.5mm to RCA adapter or cable? Inexpensive but not very good plastic computer speakers are usually 3.5mm or use an RCA to 3.5mm cable. Better home audio powered speakers usually have RCA input and some also have 3.5mm input.

$65 USD from Amazon USA does not get you much of anything good. Look for any Edifier model or R1280T or R1280DB (B for Bluetooth) speakers in NZ. Edifier R980T $69 are better than most Logitech but they are still best for a computer since the volume knob is on the back.

Audio Guides: Zeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videos and Intro to home stereo systems.

Check out r/BudgetAudiophile and consider an upgrade from computer speakers if you can. See Never go full Logitech. : BudgetAudiophile – Reddit for an example of fake tweeters on one of their models. Logitech ≠ high end but work as a starting point.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2019

Same company makes these which have great reviews and run slightly cheaper at $70.

Not right now, but sometimes these Creative speakers sometimes drop down to $50.

Honestly, there’s a point where if you drop low enough in price it basically all sounds pretty meh.

From my experience $50ish has been the bare minimum for alright speakers.

EDIT: Thanks for downvotes with no reason?

Were the speakers I suggested bad? Was I wrong about the $50 thing? Because if so, by all means, do prove me wrong by linking some good ones! I an OP would like to know.

But just downvoting me with no explanation, when I am on topic and trying to help a user is pretty jacked up.

EDIT2: Still no reason? Do you guys just dislike people giving advice? What’s the deal here? What did I do wrong?

1 point

·

27th Aug 2019
1 point

·

15th Jul 2019

Price History


Rook no further, PriceKnight is here!
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcdde1m%2Famazonca_prime_day_2019_megathread%2Fetu572n%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

17th Jun 2019

Probably edifier

1 point

·

30th Jun 2019

National Panasonic sg-177f

The speakers are these ones but I have the same issue with other speakers as well, and these speakers work great with a phone

1 point

·

2nd May 2019

Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

What I have for my PC

1 point

·

4th Apr 2019

You’re right, R1000T4 is not available in Canada. I don’t need Bluetooth…I might be able to get away with the bigger ones, but just in case I need compact, do you think this version is any good?

https://www.amazon.ca/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

1 point

·

1st Apr 2019

Hi,

​

I just looked that one up. Looks nice!

​

I used to use these: https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/

​

They sound good and have a surprising amount of bass!!!

​

The volume control is on the back – so that’s a pain, however.

​

If you got this: https://www.amazon.com/FX-Audio-TUBE-01-Preamplifier-Black/dp/B01HEQJGPC/ – then you can use that volume knob – and you have some cool tubes to give you a little richer sound. I have one and like it.

​

So it would be: (1) turntable, (2) tube buffer, (3) speakers.

​

But there’s literally a million different ways to do things.

​

ETA: you will need to look for either (1) powered speakers, or (2) an amp and speakers.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2019

4″ Edifier R980T $70 or Edifier R1010BT with bluetooth $80.

Or separates $50 6.5″ Bookshelf Speaker Pair and Hi-Fi Mini Amplifier Bundle and if you do like separates which you can upgrade each part at a time reply for more $80 to $100 recommendations.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2019

You’re welcome. What you trying to do? What is your budget?

A $50 6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair and Hi-Fi Mini Amplifier Bundle or a pair of $70 Edifier R980T powered bookshelf speakers will sound better.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2019
  1. Regarding your speakers, at the price point you’re aiming for, “high quality” will only be relative to other speakers within that price range, and overall would not be something I’d consider high quality. If you’re looking for a high quality set of PC speakers that will give you above-average sound reproduction, with quality components and a quality build, I’d say roughly around $70 – $100 USD would be the entry point for this. I personally recommend either the Edifier R980T’s or the Edifier R1280T’s. Another great option is the ProSonus Eris E3.5.
  2. My personal experience with AOC was trash, honestly. I was in the market for a new gaming monitor, and purchased an AOC 27″. First one had terrible contrast and the blotchiest blacks and grays (back-lighting) I had seen on a monitor. Had it replaced only to find that it was exactly the same on the second. Purchased a different, more expensive model, only to find that it was a more expensive version with the same downfalls. I personally wouldn’t recommend them at all. I picked up a BenQ, and the quality was like night and day. Picked up a secondary monitor from Asus, and it also was equally good.
1 point

·

19th Nov 2018

Blah and blah. Get some Edifier powered bookshelf speakers R980T.

For Creative PC speakers see r/PCSound.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2018

The lowest powered budget audiophile recommended speakers are Edifier bookshelf speakers and the cheapest are $70 Edifier R980T 4" Active Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0.

For low budget, check out r/PCSound though there is not much there, maybe $50 Logitech, have to spend a bit more to get better than crappy. Edifier makes a few computer speakers but they would still be considered crappy here. Edifier R19U.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2018

TV model number?

Edifier R980T 4″ Active Bookshelf Speakers $70 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB

Or with a remote and optical input, $105 Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – Wireless Studio Monitors (Certified Refurbished) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CB8KTFN

1 point

·

19th Oct 2018

These 2.0 speakers will be better than the Dell 2.1.

Edifier R980T $70

Edifier R1280T $100

Edifier R1280DB $130 adds Bluetooth, Optical Digital and Coax Inputs.

If you still want 2.1.

Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 Bluetooth Computer Speakers $130

Also check out r/PCSound.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2018

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R980T-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/

Can we get you to $70 USD? I don’t see a lot in the 32-56 dollar price range that is powered and isn’t trash.

1 point

·

14th Nov 2017

Hmm how about these? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LXDZ8WB/ref=sspa_dk_detail_0?psc=1

Also, how big are Bookshelf Speakers? I’d want them to fit on my desk if possible?

1 point

·

31st Dec 2016

With regards to computer speakers, the general consensus is that they are all kinda shit.

Typically what you want for really good audio is bookshelf speakers like this. Nice thing about these is that you don’t need an amp.

The alternative is a good set of headphones like the NVX or the AKG 240. Any option you peak should give you a good immersion experience. Check out /r/headphones too if you’re looking at headphones.

0 points

·

14th Jan 2017

Thinking of getting some new speakers for my desk setup, looking at these. Couple questions:

1) How are these? The amazon reviews seem decent.

2)Can I connect these to my turntable and computer at the same time? I have a Uturn Orbit with a Mani preamp that is currently going to a Sonos Play 5 using an RCA to 3.5mm cable.

Thanks for your input!