What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Edifier R1850DB Active Bookshelf Speakers with Bluetooth and Optical Input – 2.0 Studio Monitor Speaker – Built-in Amplifier with Subwoofer Line Out?

A total of 57 reviews of this product on Reddit.

178 points

·

16th Jul 2018

If you have 200 dollars, and want easy to use no-bullshit decent bluetooth speakers, get these instead.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/

I have the slightly stepped down version of these (R1700BT) without the subwoofer line out, optical, and slightly lower bass response, and they are awesome for the price.

2 points

·

11th Jun 2021

I have them and no longer use them. They were my first pair of higher end speakers and they blew me away. If there’s any chance you would want a subwoofer in the future, get the R1850DB. Yes they’re more expensive but it’s much more difficult to add a sub to the 1700’s.

2 points

·

10th Jun 2021

I have these speakers (not soundbar) connected to a nice subwoofer. Only if you have enough desk space or can mount these on the wall. Beats almost all soundbar sound quality that are similar price range and allows you to run any subwoofer you want.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ

2 points

·

15th Jul 2020

Edifier 1850DB Think he was talking about these speakers

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

I’ve actually done well with these Edifier R1850DB speakers for $200 — Edifier R1850DB Active Bookshelf Speakers with Bluetooth and Optical Input – 2.0 Studio Monitor Speaker – Built-in Amplifier with Subwoofer Line Out https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_JZQST76N9A3AVHR1C5Z9

They’re plenty loud and the bass is solid even without a sub, but they do have a line out if you wanted one. There are a few in that line too, you could maybe even go a step up from these.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2021

I’d go with some Edifier R1850DB

Then add a sub if you want one down the line.

1 point

·

11th Sep 2021

That’s a headphone amp and will not power passive speakers. Id recommend a set of powered speakers.

Edifier R1850DB – These can connected to your streamer and it also has a subwoofer out on the speaker if you want one later down the line.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2021

Agreed. I have a pair of R1850DB connected to a Micca Origen G2 and it’s basically exactly what I was looking for. Great package, grabbed them for 150 during a Edifier sale.

1 point

·

14th Dec 2020

I would just get a pair of powered speakers and use optical. No pops or cutouts with a digital signal in general, and should be pretty clean.

Something like this

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=sr_1_9?dchild=1&keywords=powered+edifier+speakers&qid=1607921069&s=electronics&sr=1-9

1 point

·

1st Dec 2020

Nope. You just take an optical cable or RCA cables from your TV and plug it into the back of the Edifier speakers. They have built in amplifiers and a DAC.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ

Just plug em in and your set.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2020

Hi, I was looking into the Bluetooth speakers and I saw the Edifier R1850DB and that personally looks really nice to me. Would that work with the LP60x as well? Sorry for asking so many questions!

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Edifier 1850db bookshelf speakers on sale for $50 off, $149 total. They are a really great sounding feature-packed pair of speakers for the price. These have optical, bluetooth, and a sub port to expand as well.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

The Razors you mentioned are not good at all. Stay away from any “pc” speakers, like those or Logitech.

For $200, these Edifiers would be a fantastic solution. Also, you mentioned subwoofers. Most speakers don’t come with one, but you can always add one later. A lot of proper speakers don’t really require one anyways. You’d be surprised at how much bass those can create.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2019

Don’t get any “PC” or “gaming” related speakers. A good pair of active bookshelf speakers will be much better than a low tier 5.1 system.

5 points

·

29th Mar 2019

Here’s a better suggestion – Just get a set of nice powered speakers (with optical inputs from your PC, and a subwoofer output) – then add a small subwoofer later

3 points

·

19th Sep 2021

U said 150-200$ for speakers and the sub is 150$ on Amazon. 350 total, those speakers are right at the budget for ya and would provided the bass you want while having better mids/highs.

And budget subs are all pretty much the same, they’ll work and make sound but once you start stepping up your speakers you’ll start to realize how much they’re slacking.

350$ is reallllly stretching it for an amp/dac/speakers and sub. Even used that’d be hard. Also once your looking to try something else out, those Swans will re-sell for alot more then a dayton sub/ insignia speakers. I’d u need to step down a bit I’d go for the Edifer 1850db

2 points

·

11th Feb 2021

JBL 550P $189

Edifier 1850DB $199

Kanto YU4 $329

or whatever active speakers of your choice with a single RCA subwoofer output

1 point

·

18th Jan 2022

You’d be much better off with something like this

1 point

·

9th Aug 2021

Ok, thanks. Someone else suggested these https://www.amazon.ca/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ which are $270 so not too far beyond. Used is a good idea – thanks!

1 point

·

1st Jul 2021

R1850Db

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_EXFQXFDFMEHJ6X1N3GGV?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Clamping wall mounts

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000X9O8SI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_G71SMTNWWJR7TYPAK4HH

Monoprice 12″ powered sub

https://www.newegg.com/amp/monoprice-109723-speakers/p/0S6-00HV-00043

Cable for sub

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07G95YWGG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_08RVRY71AN9MTWR0RARH?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

The edifiers are a little on the warm side however not at all bad for the price.

I had a nicer Vizio 3.1 sound bar with a sub and my r1010 bt edifiers sounded way better to me. This should sound pretty good.

1 point

·

13th Jan 2021

Hi, i’m finally upgrading my old logitech speakers to something better. I must first say i have my Tv connected to my PC to use as another monitor, so i would use the speakers from Tv, to gaming and a lot of music as it is the most important thing for me to hear in a good quality.

What i was looking for was initially an upgrade, first soundbars kind of convinced me but lots of general reviews let me down a bit, i know that a surround system usually is better than a normal priced soundbar in any ways, but i can’t decide wether or not to buy some 2.0 speakers or a soundbar at barely the same price (at least where i live). Obviously i know little to none about specifications in audio but learned over the years to appreciate good sound quality, that’s why i ask for advice.

The two speakers are, the Edifier 1855 db (which i found lots of good things about):

https://www.amazon.com/-/es/Edifier-R1850DB-Bluetooth-amplificador-incorporado/dp/B073W1R4XQ

The sound bar in question is, the Edifier soundbar B3:

https://www.amazon.com/-/es/conectividad-Bluetooth-Soundbar-B3-auxiliar/dp/B01CCBHNVS

​

Any suggestions are welcome, and thanks if u answer!

1 point

·

29th Nov 2020

I have the Edifier R1850DB bookshelf speakers and they are great. It has Bluetooth connectivity and amazing sound quality

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_m6aXFb188J6CE

1 point

·

29th Oct 2020

You said your budget was $300-500 so I picked those because they’re right in the middle. You could definitely go with something that’s half the price if you want and they’ll still be good.

A splitter probably wouldn’t be my first choice. Something like this so you can switch would be better.

1 point

·

28th Dec 2019

Try these Edifiers: https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ Amazon has them listed with free return shipping. If you like them, then add a sub such as the Dayton SUB 1000. If you want better quality from your speakers, then consider the KEF Q150s passive speakers for $300 and get an amp.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Good thing it’s prime day. $150 if you have prime.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

Then, I suggest these.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

If you ever do upgrade this Edifier Speaker paired with a subwoofer hits so hard.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

No problem! these are the ones I have.

1 point

·

19th Aug 2020

I would stay away from klipsch as their powered speakers are overpriced.

For stand alone powered speakers I would get either the:

Fluance AI60. https://www.fluance.com/powered-2-0-bluetooth-active-6-inch-bookshelf-speakers-white-walnut

Or the https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ

But as a bass head I would personally far rather have a cheaper 2.1 setup like this: https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-mk402btx-powered-bluetooth-4-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-pair-with-35mm-aux-in–300-467

Plus https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sub-1000-10-100-watt-powered-subwoofer–300-628

For only $220 this 2.1 setup would completely blow away the klipsch setup.

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

If you’re looking to spend a little more, there’s these slightly better Edifiers, and the Dayton Sub-1200 or Bic F12 if you want some serious bass.

1 point

·

12th Jul 2020

These are pretty sweet. They have their own power, so an amplifier is not necessary. You can go up or down a model, but these are the sweet spot. Plus, they have Sub out, so you have the option to expand in the future.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_7.3cFbJ4EDQHM

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

If you go with powered speakers, you could forgo the need of an amplifier. I’d probably go with an amplifier and passive speaker route to give you better expansion options down the line, but thought I’d suggest a good starter set of active speakers. This will get you started, but you’ll want to save up for a subwoofer in the future.

Speakers

Turntable

Preamp

Although I’d but the schiit directly from the company and not Amazon.

1 point

·

9th Apr 2020

Hey.

I just bought the Edifier R1850DB‘s and they should be coming it pretty soon. I was wondering, since these are replacing my old Z506’s (Amazon Link, Logitech Link), would I be able to use my Z506’s subwoofer with the R1850DB? If not, is there any adapter I could use to make it possible? If that can’t happen, is there any subwoofer that you would recommend (pref below $75) that I could use for the Edifiers? I primarily use these for gaming, and occasional YouTube. Very rarely music or movies.

Thank you!

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2020

These are not high end speakers but I have been very happy with my Edifier R1850DB speakers. I eventually added a subwoofer as well, to fill out the ultra lows (though they sound great without it. I actually don’t have it connected at the moment.)

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ (not a referral link.)

The thing with gear is… gear is great. But there are people with the best gear who produce bad music, and people with lesser gear who produce good music. It’s an unpopular opinion but not everyone needs (or can afford) $1,000+ speakers.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2019

What do you think of this one Edifier r1850db , this has dedicated subwoofer out.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2019

Edifier R1850DB. You can add a dayton sub later on.

1 point

·

1st Sep 2019

Price History


Price of a Pawn, value of a Queen.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcyb8dr%2Fspeakers_edifier_r1280t_125_15_106_amazon%2Feyqsmi9%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

27th Jul 2019

I see. What other difference is there between the Dayton towers and these Edifier bookshelf speakers?

https://www.amazon.ca/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/

1 point

·

16th Jul 2019

Price History


Call the Bishop, these prices are sinful.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcdtvff%2Famazonca_prime_day_megathread_day_2%2Fetww9pe%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

11th May 2019

If you’re already looking at passive edifier speakers, just get an active set. They have many models, find something in your budget range with digital input and subwoofer outs… Problems solved, it will also give you bluetooth and may give you a remote.

example:

1 point

·

11th Oct 2018

Something like this

Idk what your budget is though.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2018

What is your total budget? Buying used will get you the most bang for your buck. A separate receiver and passive speakers will be more flexible and each component can be upgraded separately. Larger speakers will be better for a large room.

The R1850 has a subwoofer output, the R1700 does not.

See: r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker Listr/AverageJoeAudiophile Subwoofer Listr/AverageJoeAudiophile AMPLIFIRES, RECEIVERS & DAC’S

https://www.reddit.com/r/audiophile/comments/18nidn/beginners_guide_to_home_audio/

https://www.crutchfield.com/lc_4/Home-Audio-How-To-FAQ-and-Shopping-Guides.html

1 point

·

28th Jun 2018

Or powered speakers with subwoofer output + bluetooth.

Edifier R1850DB $199

Fluance ai60 $299 when back in stock

Kanto YU6, $389

PeachTree Audio M25 $399

Or also, if you have the room, a used or new stereo or AV receiver. I put mine under my desk on a small end table where I can reach it easily and also do most of my volume control from the computer.

r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker List (As large as your desk can fit, Philharmonic AA, Ascend CBM-170 or HTM-200, Kef Q100, Chane A1.4, etc) r/AverageJoeAudiophile Subwoofer List.

1 point

·

29th Apr 2018

I always push for seperates, as you can expand and repurpose old gear as you swap things out. With that in mind, my suggestions for your setup would be either;

A. An integrated system. Edifier R1850DB. These are decent in their own right, but also have a sub out. Front ported so you can run them right up against the wall.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ/ref=sr_1_36?s=aht&ie=UTF8&qid=1524992954&sr=1-36&keywords=bookshelf+speakers

A Dayton Sub-1200. I honestly don’t much care for the Dayton line of subs, but if this is for a PC setup it should do the job you want it to without breaking the bank. I strongly recommend going a little over the top of your budget and getting a BIC F12 for $212 from amazon. It’s just a MUCH better sub overall.

B. A seperates system, which I would favor more. A pair of Fluance Signature bookshelves. You can actually get a set of the walnut finish for $170 with tax, used, from Amazon Warehouse.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B01A5UI5V0/ref=olp_twister_child?ie=UTF8&mv_color_name=1

Add a Nobsound BT Mini amp for $30. These are tiny amps that would honestly make you question if they are junk. They are not junk. They are comparable to the same SMSL SA-50 that is widely recommended on this sub, except for being smaller, having an internal DAC, having Bluetooth, and being half the price.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06Y67PZB1/ref=psdc_537344_t2_B01MS739KX

Add one of the aforementioned subwoofer using the high pass input/outputs, and you have a VERY capable little system for right around $400 or less.

0 points

·

15th Dec 2019

Looks like a solid deal at $500.

Since I’m cheap, in your situation I might go for something like these Edifier powered bookshelf speakers and save some money… $500 isn’t what I call “budget”, especially if you’re new to this stuff. On the other hand, $500 is considered cheap by some people around here.

If you just want to jump right in and get something really good, the reviews are pretty positive on the Klipsch R28PF.

0 points

·

8th Dec 2019

If Not mixing then Why not Edifier or Fluance Ai40/60 or Swans or Kanto ?

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1850DB-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B073W1R4XQ

-1 points

·

16th Jul 2019

Price History


Always check the prices. The savings can be Knight and day.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcdtrbw%2Fspeakers_edifier_r1280t_20bookshelf_speakers%2Fetwrl9n%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)