What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Edifier R1700BTs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Wireless Near Field Studio Monitor Speaker – 66w RMS with Subwoofer Line Out?

A total of 45 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

13th May 2021

I got these a while back for a friend when they got a turntable. They’re pretty detailed and powerful for how small they are. Edifier R1700 BTs

Also have Bluetooth built in so you can use them with your phone too.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2021

I was in the market for some speakers for my computer last year. After extensive research I decided on these.

Edifier R1700BTs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Wireless Near Field Studio Monitor Speaker – 66w RMS with Subwoofer Line Out https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_GVGXEC7ZYM6DPFKZWYEM

I then purchased a 10-in subwoofer to go with it. Honestly it’s one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. It has a remote control and it’s Bluetooth and the sound quality is absolutely superb. I highly recommend. Just get a powered sub to go with it.

1 point

·

11th Sep 2021

Though I couldn’t find anything specific on the Edifier site, I hope I found the answer on the [[Amazon US site|https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/]] under the Q&A and some of the reviews.

It says unlike the previous R1700BT, with the R1700BTs “Bluetooth is inactive until you switch to Bluetooth mode”.

That should suit me.

1 point

·

27th Apr 2021

if you have the desk space then I would recommend choosing something from Edifier like the well regarded R1700BT

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC

If you go up one model you get optical and coax digital inputs along with the Bluetooth.

If you go down one model you also get those features but lose the subwoofer line output and it uses older Bluetooth tech.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2021

Bluetooth can sound nice, if you have Bluetooth 5.0 and aptX. Powered bookshelf speakers make it super simple, just plug it in and turn it on – no need to match different components.

These are a great value at under your budget:

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC?ref_=ast_sto_dp

You can add a subwoofer later if you’d like more bass.

1 point

·

21st Jan 2021

The last part of my setup is a pair of powered Edifier R1700BTs speakers.

1 point

·

29th Dec 2020

Those Edifiers are fine. If you’re willing to spend up to $200, you could get something a decent amount better though. You could even go with the next speaker in the Edifier lineup.

Personally, I’d go with passive speakers over active speakers. Micca MB42X with an amp would be my choice.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2020

Can you return the Edifier R1700BT and get the newer upgrade R1700BTs which has a dedicated subwoofer output?

Otherwise you’ll need a preamp with subwoofer out, which can be hard to find, and would likely cost as much or more than your speakers. Getting the R1700BTs is the easiest way.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2020

Check out something like the Edifier R1700BTs. It’s a powered stereo speaker pair with bluetooth input.

They utilize the AptX HD codec, which is essentially a higher bandwidth bluetooth codec to make it less lossy. Note, if your source is an Apple device, AptX HD doesn’t matter since they don’t support it, but most if not all Android phones do nowadays. If you don’t have an AptX HD source, the speakers will still connect using another codec such as SBC, which essentially all bluetooth devices support.

The speakers are front ported so you won’t need to worry about keeping them away from walls. They also have a subwoofer output if you decide that you need more bass down the road.

1 point

·

15th Nov 2020

I looked up same model on Amazon and they do have sub out. Maybe you have an older model even though the model number is the same? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_.7ASFbCVRQPT5

Sub prices are all over the place just like speaker prices. You can get a used $50 sub or a $20,000 one. If you can provide a range like $200-350 or something like that, it would help. Size of your room matters too. You don’t want a sub that’s too big for it

1 point

·

14th Nov 2020

Avoid those brands, you way overpay for mediocre quality. A good set of bookshelves will be your best value. These are on sale with wireless included https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_r2fSFbY5D6376 The R1280T is also good if you don’t need wireless.

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2020

I like the powered Edifier 1700BT(and whatever model has the sub out for you) + a garage sale/used Denon sub.

I’d buy the good speakers to go on the desk and save/search for a good used sub or research what you want to go with. If you buy these speakers, you might not need to replace them for quiet some time.

They’ll probably have better bass than whatever you’re replacing as well.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

No active speakers can sound really good also and are easy to setup. I have on my older computer the speakers in the link below, for the price I can’t complain about the sound.

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fab_G-7HFbFWBXG04

My main computer I run PSB alpha p3, DAC and an amp, it sounds a bit better but it’s not insanely better at 3x the price.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2020

Since I was mean already (just busting your balls) I’ll give a recommendation for cheap PC speakers you may actually really like. The Edifer R1700BTs are great budget speakers for a desk, and they include a subwoofer output should you ever want to upgrade. I normally recommend passive speakers, as they are easier to upgrade, but for someone just looking to step above Logitech and step into real hifi, these Edifers are actually really nice. $159, but black Friday is sure to have deals coming up if you waited.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2020

Edifier R1280 or R1700 are great places to start. They are powered, so no need to worry about an amplifier. There are Bluetooth variants. Easiest way to get up and running.

Edit: here you go! https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2020

Hey man I love the RT82. I am very satisfied with my setup. It’s perfect for now.

Keep in mind there is an option for the 1700BT that also has a subwoofer output for $10 more. Wish I knew that at the time

Edifier R1700BTs Active Bookshelf Speakers – Bluetooth v5.0, 2.0 Wireless Near Field Studio Monitor Speaker – 66w RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wooden Enclosure https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_EUhgFbCT6GWSG

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2020

Seems like a lot of people like those huh!

I haven’t received mine yet. If you do end up going for them, get the newer version for $10 more which has a sub out + Bluetooth 5.0 + a better remote imo.

Here it is on Amazon.

9 points

·

18th Nov 2020

Christmas is right around the corner! I got my dad an LP60 for $80 on eBay and my first speakers were these powered edifiers. I gave my dad those as well and they work great. All you have to do is plug the turntable straight into the speakers, they are even Bluetooth! This setup won’t hurt your records, and it sounds great!

Edifier R1700BTs Active Bookshelf Speakers – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_C9xTFbY7AA3DW

Audio-Technica AT-LP60XUSB-GM Fully Automatic Belt-Drive Stereo Turntable (Analog https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MZXQC1T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabc_O9xTFbZ649VPX

2 points

·

11th Jul 2021

i’d recommend edifier over logitech

https://www.amazon.ca/Edifier-R1700BTs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/

leaves room in your budget to add a powered sub

or you can get higher quality from fluance, but not have money leftover in your budget 🙂

https://www.amazon.ca/Fluance-Bookshelf-Amplifier-Turntable-Bluetooth/dp/B094YXTSFD/

 

you have other options, if you aren’t preferring powered speakers.

2 points

·

21st Sep 2020

Another possibility when you’d like your full 2.1 sooner, is to wait a tad longer until the Edifier R1700bts (mind the S at the end), appear on Amazon.de and couple it with a B-grade BK sub, no need for an amplifier and the two might very well fit your budget. ASR just measured the Edifier R1280T and it did very well (but just dial down the treble a bit). The R1700BTs uses a similar woofer, bigger tweeter and has more power so chances are that it will measure even better. I’d spend the time waiting for it reading the reviews that will be coming and checking how the built-in crossover functions. If it hasn’t got a subwoofer out with a signal that is to weak (like the R1850db, hope they learned from that), there are ways around crossover problems (like running a Youtube subwoofer test 120Hz down and hearing when the speakers start to get quieter for your hearing, put the subwoofer low pass filter/crossover at that point). Still, using decent wall-mounted speakers further apart, will enlargen the sweetspot where you have the stereo-effect (you should be able to pinpoint different instruments from an orchestra recording with your eyes closed), normally you are in that sweetspot when you form an equilateral triangle between your listening position and the speakers and aim the tweeters at your ears. But if you only will be listening at your desk and the desk is wide enough so you can space the speakers enough, you don’t need wallmounts. The aiming part is why the Edifiers are tilted a bit. There are tricks for finding the right spot for your sub (google ‘subwoofer crawl’) and adjusting the level of your sub so it doesn’t get boomy (start with the sub level on zero, dial up until you hear the extra bass, the dial back down a bit, subwoofer should just fill in the lowest notes without you hearing it directly but to high will destroy your stereo-image). The R1700bts/BK combo could be very well suited for both classical and even deep breakbeats in nearfield (certainly when you get a BK with a Peerless driver). But a setup with a separate amp will always give more flexibility in swapping speakers/amp. If you still have some budget left and have access to a creditcard, look at the Tempotec Sonata HD Pro dac/headphone amp. It’s the same as the Hidzis S8 but with a different casing and at 1/3 the price (different models have different cables for Android/Apple/PC).

Oh, and, speakers don’t need breaking in. It’s your brain that needs to get used to the soundsignature of the speakers so give them some listening time before you make your final judgement.

2 points

·

19th Jul 2020

There’s a 1700 with a sub out for $10 extra, correct? Does it just mean a difference of 66 watts vs. 70 watts? Maybe there are other differences between them, but I don’t know. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_CC9eFbVYB16AW

2 points

·

14th Jul 2020

Also…for just a little more, check these bad boys out. More power and a Subwoofer output, which you may want down the line. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_IgIdFb3RVKEWV

1 point

·

8th Feb 2022

Edifier R1700BTs – Make sure not to crank the bass knob to much or it will distort which leads to damage. This will be the case with any speaker you get.

Connects via RCA to Aux Cable and the power cable of course.

Also has a sub out port which you can use to later add a subwoofer to your setup since you like bass.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2021

I have a set of Edifier RT1700BTs with a sub line out I want to get a subwoofer for black Friday. Would passive and active subs both work? I am looking at the Sony Core Series 10" 115W active subwoofer. Seems like a good deal and I was wondering if it would work with my powered speakers. Thanks for any advice or suggestions on other subwoofers!

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2021

I’d need to buy powered speakers unless you have an av receiver already. In which case it’ll be a little harder. I always highly recommend the edifier R1700BTs or if you’re budget is 100$ exactly then the R1280Ts

1 point

·

12th Sep 2021

If you search for R1700BT at Amazon Canada, you will see several listings for R1700BT.

The cheaper ones are the original R1700BT

But the higher priced ones are the R1700BT*s. That little **s* at the end means they have a subwoofer out, eg these. You can see the Sub Out

You’re welcome 😉

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2021

I might just need a bigger desk….. I have these desktop speakers

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=edifier+1700bt&qid=1622667989&sr=8-3

And here is my desk with monitors on it.

https://imgur.com/a/7wk0rpT

I am looking at suggestions as to how to fit the speakers on the desk without blocking them with monitors. Speakers stands of some sort? Would that be too tall?

1 point

·

6th Apr 2021

If you can bump up the budget like 40$ for the Edifier R1700Bt

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=edifier&qid=1617731389&sr=8-6

This will sound better, and as adjustment controls, updated remote and subwoofer line out incase you decide to throw in a subwoofer. Then just use RCA to Coax or RCA to HDMI to connect to the TV. Im just not a fan of Coax inputs or cables tbh so id go HDMI.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08XV2B6T4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A6ZNSKRIJPPPQ&psc=1

1 point

·

11th Jan 2021

$300 for a 2.1 system? You can do way better for your money than what you listed.

Edifier R1700BTs $160

Dayton Sub1200 $150, but always available coupon codes will drop it to $135.

This is a simple setup that will blow your listed setup out of the water.

If you prefer separate speakers and Amp, rather than the powered speakers I listed. An SMSL SA300 for $140 and Micca MB42X for $90 keeps you close to your budget. Substitute a SMSL SA100 for $70 to save a little, and a $120 ($110 with coupons) Dayton Sub1000 to save a little more.

If using the SMSL SA100, you would use speaker wire to connect the subwoofer via high level inputs rather than the normal RCA subwoofer output on other amps. Easy to do and works just fine.

1 point

·

26th Dec 2020

I second the LG CM4590 if you like the aesthetics….

If you want something more “woody”… Have you considered the edifiers?

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/

1 point

·

28th Nov 2020

I would like to recommend the Edifier R1700BTs. The edifiers are bookshelf speakers and there are a pair. This effectively means you can get a real soundstage. In addition they do sound very good.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=sr_1_3

They do need to remained plugged into the wall, but I think that’s a plus for you.

My personal favorite is the Klipsch The One. I do really like how it looks and sounds, but will admit the edifiers do sound more complete.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/
The 1700 doesn’t but they have this new model that does. I think the “s” signifies it as sub out.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2020

I dare you to try these.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Hey man I am back with another question sorry to bother you but I dont got no where else to turn and I dont want to spam the reddit with simple questions lol. Can I connect this Edifier R1700BTs with this Polk PS10 Sub . I know you said ” The output speaker jacks on it are for passthrough only in case you don’t have subwoofer line out ” but these speakers say they come with a subwoofer line out.

1 point

·

16th Sep 2020

$120 for the Miccas. I lied. These will be good too, maybe even better and have a subwoofer output, which you will want eventually.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fab_z.yyFbSE0VN3M

1 point

·

14th Sep 2020

https://smile.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BTs-Active-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0886B1TWC?ref_=ast_sto_dp

$160, and you’ll have to add the sub later. It’s actually a pretty big jump from the next model down (and only $20 more). It’s 66 w vs. 42 w for the 1280DBs. It’s also front-ported so it will use that power more efficiently. You’ll notice that the cable leading to the left speaker has 4 wires as opposed to 2 for the 1280DBs. That means there’s some DSP correction as the tweeter and woofer are independently amplified. 3 major improvements for $20 is pretty good.

1 point

·

17th Aug 2020

You’d be better off avoiding anything marketed specifically as PC speakers and just get powered monitors from a company like Edifier.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2020

Can you stretch that budget just a little? This edifier has a sub out.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_cxHlFbQ73YAXC

1 point

·

16th Jul 2020

If it’s in the budget, heck yeah I’d go with the more powerful speakers. I’d also look at getting the version with the sub out. You might think you don’t need it, but with small speakers, you eventually will want one. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0886B1TWC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_riheFb2MB34MP

0 points

·

14th Jul 2021

Ok yeah then to run the Klipsch you posted you will need an AVR. The SONOS are bluetooth so you wouldn’t have to worry about that.

Again, that comes down to person preference, budget and what your overall goal is with the system. If it is strictly to listen to music through a bluetooth type connection and nothing else, then an AVR with full speaker setup MAY be overkill. But that is up to you.

I know that the Edifier speakers like these have gotten good marks but will lack in bass and low-end without a dedicated sub to fill those frequencies. You could step up to something like thisbut you may be better off with a higher end brand and starting with just a good set of bookshelf speakers and adding the sub later when you can afford it.