What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – 2.0 Wireless Studio Monitor Speaker – 42W RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wood Grain?

A total of 28 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

8th Dec 2020

Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – 2.0 Wireless Studio Monitor Speaker – 42W RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wood Grain https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_uJTZFbHR2DGFN?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2022

I’ve heard good things about Edifier speakers in that price range and you could add in a sub. They’re powered so you can hook it straight to your PC and it’s a huge upgrade of your current setup. The issue though is you’ll have the same issue you have now with one speaker being farther away. https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DBs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=sr\_1\_6?keywords=Edifier&qid=1642964763&sr=8-6

1 point

·

13th Jan 2022

Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – 2.0 Wireless Studio Monitor Speaker – 42W RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wood Grain https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_1ZWQS2TYK38KD0TRV9WH?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

8th Dec 2021

Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – 2.0 Wireless Studio Monitor Speaker – 42W RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wood Grain https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_A1WVYHRSXC508Q95NX5B

Just recommended these to someone else also. These are supposed to be the beginner standard.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2021

Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – 2.0 Wireless Studio Monitor Speaker – 42W RMS with Subwoofer Line Out – Wood Grain https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_A1WVYHRSXC508Q95NX5B

These are what you seek. Good luck little From, go forth and rock 🤘

1 point

·

28th Nov 2021

I agree with the other poster. The way I see it, you have 2 options.

  1. Buy a cheap record player to play the album on. This won’t sound good, and at that point, you’ve opened the record and taken off the plastic.

  2. Keep the record in the plastic, frame it and hang it up to have a nice piece of memoriabilia, and then stream the soundtrack to some halfway decent speakers. Like this one, and just stream from spotify.

It’s stupid to buy a record player for a single record. That being said. I was just like you and bought a record before ever owning a record player. Now I’ve got a whole bunch of em! You may find you enjoy the hobby.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2020

How budget is your budget?

The Edifier R1280DBs for $139 are really great budget entry level speakers that you can add a subwoofer to later if you want.

1 point

·

16th Aug 2020

I’d get the Edifier R1280DBs’ for powered speakers in that price range. Good sound, plenty of inputs for various devices, plus a subwoofer output if you’d like to add one in the future.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_pwxoFbBCKVXWY

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

If you’re looking for an affordable plug and play option, I’d suggest these Edifier R1280DBs Speakers ($140). They sound really good for the price and have plenty of inputs for other sources including Bluetooth, optical (for TV, etc.), and two analog inputs for your turntable and another source. The also have a subwoofer output for you to add a subwoofer later if you feel the need for more bass.

​

Edit: These are powered speakers. No amp/receiver needed.

2 points

·

27th Jan 2021

Just so you know, the Edifiers won’t have as much bass as the Klipsch, and you don’t have the ability to add a sub unless you get edifiers with a sub out, like these ones

Edit: or these ones

2 points

·

17th Jul 2020

I have the same turntable as OP and I’m currently looking at the R1280DBs for 139.99 which also has a subwoofer output, but slightly less power than the R1700BTs that you linked. Do you think spending a bit more money is worth the small increase in power? This is my first set up for my bedroom which is pretty confined, and I’m on a budget. The slightly cheaper one I’m considering can be found here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08865JM4N/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A23AS8PFN4IRUQ&psc=1.

2 points

·

6th Aug 2020

Get the Edifier R1280DBs. Good sounding speakers, plenty of inputs for other uses, plus Bluetooth.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/

1 point

·

12th Mar 2022

I use these. They’re Bluetooth compatible too, so you won’t lose anything as far as that’s concerned.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DBs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B08865JM4N/

1 point

·

10th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speak…$149.99$149.994.6/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Edifier R1280DBs Active Bluetooth Bookshelf Speak…$149.99$149.994.6/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

1st Oct 2021

Ah yeah then Edifiers would be just fine! If you think.You’ll want to add a subwoofer later, these ones have a subwoofer out, as well as Bluetooth. If you don’t think you’ll need either of those things, then these will be just fine. Same thing without Bluetooth and sub out.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2021

Ok, so take a look at the back of this. You’re going to want something that has these jacks. So then you go digital coax out from your tv into the speaker and for the PC you will need a 3.5mm to dual rca cable.

For the TV, if you go digital coax out, then the DAC in the speaker will be converting the signal to analog for the speaker. If you go red & white rca’s out of the tv into the speakers then the DAC in the TV will be converting the signal then sending it to the speakers. Make sense so far? That being said, if you find an active speaker like this and it only has red & white rca’s for inputs and no digital inputs such as optical &/or digital coax then it has no DAC.

1 point

·

21st Jan 2021

So, it sounds like you’re looking for an option for about $300 all-in (including speakers). If so, This is what I’d suggest:

Fluance RT80 Turntable – $200 – Solid entry level turntable with a built in phono preamp and a decent Audio Technica Cartridge

Edifier R1280DBs Active Speakers (w/ Bluetooth) – $139 – These speaker sound great and have lots of useful features (optical input, Bluetooth, subwoofer out)

As a cheaper option you could get the Edifier R1280Ts – $110 (no BT or Optical) or Edifier R1280T – $100 (no BT, Optical, or sub out)

1 point

·

14th Dec 2020

I have these same speakers albeit the ones with Bluetooth. The Bluetooth in these isn’t anything to write home about anyway and I mostly end up using them in the wired mode. Yours are some really good bang for the bucks.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2020

Yep, don’t use the short URLS such as https://amzn.to/xxxxxxx

Then for the full direct links all you need to do is delete all the garbage after the ASIN number.

Example: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N/

Or with the product name: https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DBs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B08865JM4N/

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

I definitely think I want something with a sub out, so my decision is now just based on power. I found a R1280DBs that has a subwoofer output here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08865JM4N/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A23AS8PFN4IRUQ&psc=1, but they have slightly less power than the R1700BTs. So I am wondering if the extra power is worth spending the extra money if that is the only feature that separates the two. Like I said, this is my first set up for my bedroom which is pretty confined, and I’m on a budget, but I’m wondering if I will need the set up with higher wattage for when I decide to ultimately add a sub or move to a bigger apartment. For another $20 more it may be worth it. Tough decision

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

I’m currently looking at the R1280DBs for 139.99 which also has a subwoofer output, but slightly less power than the 1700. Found here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08865JM4N/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A23AS8PFN4IRUQ&psc=1. Do you think spending a bit more money on the 1700 is worth the small increase in power or will I be good from that link? This is my first set up for my bedroom which is pretty confined, and I’m on a budget.

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2020

The Edifer R1280DBs have bluetooth and a subwoofer out.

This Elac Sub isn’t bad for around $100. The Dayton subwoofers are also good, but are out of stock for a while.

The 2 subs you listed are pretty cheap subs that are overstating their power and frequency responses. If that 8″ rockville sub actually hit 20hz for $95 then everyone would have one. I wouldn’t trust either one to perform well.

1 point

·

28th Sep 2020

Are you looking at the new R1280DBs? Edifier has updated several of their models to now have a subwoofer output.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2020

You won’t get decent base from a small set of speakers, but if you get some with a sub-out like these, you can add a small sub to place under your desk. I have no experience with these, but I’m sure they’d be an upgrade from what you have.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DBs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B08865JM4N/

Here’s a cheapy sub that would compliment those speakers well. I actually do have one and it works great,
https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-108248-60-Watt-Powered-Subwoofer/dp/B009GUTJ34/

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

To clarify it’s the “R1280DBs” with the sub out. The “R1280DB” is the older version which doesn’t have the sub out.

Edit: This is the one you would want.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08865JM4N

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

Define “best”. You could spend thousands on a surround sound setup if you wanted to.

A really good 2.1 option would be the Edifier R1280DBs with a Dayton Sub-800. Or you could look for a used sub locally on Craigslist or Facebook Marketplace to save some money.

You could also get a DAC with a pair of bookshelf speakers and a sub, but I don’t think it would be any more cost efficient. If you’re not looking to spend that much money then replacing the Logitech might be the way to go.

0 points

·

22nd Nov 2020

My bad, I assumed the Google home mini had an audio out like the echo dot. Nevermind, you could still pair the home mini with Bluetooth bookshelf speakers like these https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DBs-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B08865JM4N/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=bluetooth+bookshelf+speakers&qid=1606029289&sr=8-4
I’ve seen them slightly cheaper, the current price looks elevated.