What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – Wireless Studio Monitors – 4 Inch Near Field Speaker – 42W RMS – Wood Grain (Black)?

A total of 56 reviews of this product on Reddit.

14 points

·

20th Aug 2019

Here is the Bluetooth model

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DB-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=mp_s_a_1_5?keywords=edifier+speakers&qid=1566306713&s=gateway&sr=8-5&th=1&psc=1&utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app

On sale for $103 not quite as big of a price jump down but I’m about to purchase these for the Bluetooth. It’s only the darker color though.

4 points

·

9th Aug 2018

I’d go up a few inches and put in a shelf…then use some wide baseboard or crown molding to fill the void between the bottom of the shelf and the appliance.

Then…I’d grab a pair of these bluetooth studio monitors off Amazon.

In between the speakers, you could put a tablet mount of some kind…maybe a magnet on an arm or something and run a charging cable.

Now you have a place you can either plug in your phone and listen to music…or plug in say an Ipad and stream Netflix or watch youtube videos about cooking or something.

2 points

·

29th Jan 2021

nothing fancy, already had them and obviously much better than the built in speakers: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B06XGG6MFV&pd_rd_w=24H5z&pf_rd_p=ee2c0276-494d-4674-b83e-819a186d9d36&pd_rd_wg=qveHF&pf_rd_r=C98HQ5ZDBVXE3Q5W0EEA&pd_rd_r=898fe83e-1f2b-43c9-b0a4-dc96af…

it would be nice to have a center channel for dialogue, as you say. but i don’t know how i would do that without getting a whole new complicated system.

2 points

·

29th Nov 2020

You can get an amp and speakers or just use monitor speakers, they usually have power built in and this one has the optical input to connect to your tv.

1 point

·

16th Mar 2022

I got the Edifier R1280DB speakers (bookshelf I have to add) and they are hands down way better than the soundcore motion plus. I have to say (On low volume and high volume) the bass just crushes the soundcore outright in terms of quality and the sound tonality of lows and highgs are distinguishable even at lower volume).

​

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06XGG6MFV/ref=ppx\_yo\_dt\_b\_asin\_title\_o00\_s00?ie=UTF8&th=1

But of course I know you have to wire the Edifiers together (they are a pair vs soundcore is one unit) and they need a power source always but other than that they are bluetooth.

​

So I think its ok to not like the soundcore I didn’t like it at all. Now I’ll try the motion boom to see if that helps vs the motion plus.

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2021

Spend an extra 30$ and get these. Powered bookshelf’s, miles better than a sound better and still close to your budget.

Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – Wireless Studio Monitors – 4 Inch Near Field Speaker – 42W RMS – Wood Grain (Black) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_H5HEFY8WRGGMPDHH7KFJ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

11th Aug 2021

It depends on what you are hooking them up to. You won’t find any with HDMI input, your best bet is optical. There are a few smaller sets like Edifiers (like the R1280DB) that have built in optical, along with coax (spdif) and bluetooth.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2021

What kinda keyboard you got there?

Nice specs in your PC! Also nice mouse, mic, and pair of Sony’s 🙂

I noticed your speakers though. If you’re still looking for black and better sounding ones, I can recommend the black R1280DBs from Edifier. I think they’d look nice in your setup. I love mine so far.

1 point

·

9th Jan 2021

Hey Gang,

I recently purchased this Pioneer Receiver. It’s awesome! However, I cannot get one Edifier speaker to work.

Basically, my previous setup used the speaker’s pre-amp; I ran them directly from my Audio Technica (LP120XUSB) turntable. However, I no longer need the pre-amo, right?

I was planning on hooking the speakers up directly to the back of the Pioneer receiver. So far, only one speak works – the one without the pre-amp. I even tried using an RCA; cut off red & white and plugged into Receiver. No luck.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

1 point

·

26th Dec 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_jEQ5FbHY5CPD2 get these with that budget and go for optical out from tv to these. Or get a second hand reciever off Craig’s list and a pair of bookshelf speakers. Sometimes on Craig’s list you can get someone upgrading and score a whole setup for 100 bucks . If you want sound bar info go to r/hometheater

1 point

·

30th Nov 2020

Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – Wireless Studio Monitors – 4 Inch Near Field Speaker – 42W RMS – Wood Grain (Black) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_dlC_l0tXFbSDEZK0Y?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I use this as Bluetooth speakers and for my record player and they work great.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2019

Does anyone have experience with NHT superone Xu? I am seeing a craigslist add for both bookshelf with center speaker for $100 american. It seems like a good deal and they appear to be good quality. I am new into vinyl and haven’t finished my setup yet. Any tips? They look like they are passive so i would have to get an amp?

If so, what should i look for in an amp? (I.E. watts, features etc)

these are the speakers I am looking to buy if this doesn’t go through.

amazon link

thank you for all the help.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2018

What is recommended here is something like the $130 Edifier R1280DB Powered Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Optical Input – Wireless Studio Monitors – 4 Inch Near Field Speaker – 42w RMS

2 points

·

3rd Jan 2021

Looking for some Bluetooth speakers for my work computer/laptop. Would like to keep it in the 200 dollar range as I really wouldn’t use them for too much. I will sometimes use my PS5 with them when I hook it up to my monitor in my office.

The four that I have narrowed it down to in no particular order…

-PreSonus–Eris E3.5 BT Active Media Reference Monitors with Bluetooth

-Creative Labs T100 (Sold out at Costco)

-Logitech G560

-Edifier R1280DB

Thoughts?

https://www.long-mcquade.com/161020/Pro-Audio—Recording/Studio-Monitors/Presonus/Eris-E3-5-BT-Active-Media-Reference-Monitors-with-Bluetooth.htm

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=twister_B07LCWVJBF?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.ca/Creative-Labs-51MF1690AA002-T100/dp/B07W46668C

https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/logitech-g560-lightsync-computer-gaming-speaker-system/12513709?cmp=KNC-Google:ca_mbb_hv:Computing_Accessories:12513709&gclid=Cj0KCQiA88X_BRDUARIsACVMYD9LWaOtL1MsJ-iRtux-sZHXI7TkwowNbHGysD3hlYTRjm_hNkiWyVIa…

2 points

·

20th May 2019

Ah, the Logitech computer speakers! They do have two 3.5mm stereo inputs, one on the back of the control module and 1 on the side.

>I ordered a $99 pair of powered speakers from Amazon

Edifier 1280T? The $129 1280DB version adds Bluetooth and optical digital input.

For the Edifiers, try some speaker positioning, How to position your speakers for great sound and Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening.

Even better would be an AV receiver with 5 passive bookshelf speakers and a powered subwoofer for home theater, then there use the 2 speaker setting in the receiver for music.

Home Theater Guides: r/HTBuyingGuides FAQHow to Set Up a Basic Home Theater System – LifewireHow to Set Up Your Home Theater ReceiverSpeaker Placement for Home Theaterr/hometheater.

2 points

·

21st Jun 2019

Alternative to Sonos Play 5 for under $100:

Dayton Audio AERO Wi-Fi Bluetooth Speaker with IR Remote Control $92. It has the Dayton Hi-Fly App to stream over WiFi controlled from your phone and also has Bluetooth.

​

Better than a Sonos Play 5:

A pair of powered bookshelf speakers with a WiFi streaming audio receiver with Phone app.

Speakers:

WiFi streaming audio receiver with Phone app:

  • With phone and app control as well as voice control, Amazon Alexa Echo Dot 2nd Gen $25 or Echo Input $19 or Echo Dot (3rd Gen) $29.
  • Discontinued Chromecast Audio, original $35, closed out at $15, now at Newegg for $51! Or MobileFun has it for $31 from the UK.
  • Dayton Audio WBA31 $42. Ability to stream from virtually any device, it also features popular music apps built-in such as Spotify, TIDAL, Napster, TuneIn, and iHeartRadio. 6+ multi-room and multi-channel music play. Also Apple AirPlay compatible. Music play using DLNA Enabled NAS. Bluetooth

​

Passive speakers with a receiver and WiFi streaming receiver.

Factory refurbished with a one year manufacture warranty:

  • Stereo: ONKYO TX-8020 ~~$199~~ $99.
  • AV if using with a TV with 4K HDMI switching and you can later add more speakers for movie and TV surround sound. DENON AVR-S540BT ~~$279~~ $159.

Speakers on sale:

WiFi streaming audio receiver with Phone app:

  • With phone and app control as well as voice control, Amazon Alexa Echo Dot 2nd Gen $25 or Echo Input $19 or Echo Dot (3rd Gen) $29.
  • Discontinued Chromecast Audio, original $35, closed out at $15, now at Newegg for $51! Or MobileFun has it for $31 from the UK.
  • Dayton Audio WBA31 $42. Ability to stream from virtually any device, it also features popular music apps built-in such as Spotify, TIDAL, Napster, TuneIn, and iHeartRadio. 6+ multi-room and multi-channel music play. Also Apple AirPlay compatible. Music play using DLNA Enabled NAS. Bluetooth

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 16 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft, with self adjusting wire strippers or 4 Ways to Strip Wire – wikiHow, then optionally add banana plugs.

​

Speaker Stands: Size to get speaker center or tweeter at ear height from your seated listening position. Affordable Dayton Audio SSMB24 or Monoprice Glass. Sturdy Monolith by Monoprice can be filled with lead shot, sand or kitty litter. Also Audio Advisor where most are also available at Amazon.

​

Guides:

Home Audio: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides

Speaker Positioning: How to position your speakers for great soundSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

2 points

·

16th Jul 2019

Price History


Call the Bishop, these prices are sinful.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^|

2 points

·

8th Jun 2020

URL shortners are not allowed and the second one is dead anyways.

You can make the Amazon URL shorter yourself by deleting everything after the ASIN# which removes any trackers and affiliate codes.

Use https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ or with the product name https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DB-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B06XGG6MFV/

1 point

·

24th Feb 2022

I need help with my record setup 🙁

I finally saved the money and bought a record player and speakers for them, everything seemed compatible when I was researching the two, but now that I have them no sound is playing after hooking them up to the speakers at all.

The speakers work on their own with other devices, and I can hear the slight noise generated by the stylus, but nothing through the speakers. Idk if I have an incompatible set or if I need to buy anything else. Any help is appreciated 🙁

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B06XGG6MFV/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01F2EXIFM/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Other notes, I’ve tried different cables, plugging it directly into the wall, switching the internal pre-amp on or off, and messed with the stylus to no avail. (I do hear a humming sound when the pre-amp is on and connected to the speakers tho, just no other sound)

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2021

Small powered speakers for a small room:

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2021

Those seem pretty nice for $100. I just went with a slightly more expensive model just for good measure.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DB-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B06XGG6MFV?ref_=ast_sto_dp&th=1&psc=1

1 point

·

9th Mar 2021

For my PC setup I use these speakers https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_17CH63G9JJT1EZM878NH?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1. For my walks I use these neck speakers https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07WGGBPGG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_VFV6HPTJKV7YJ696SY2F

I find neither of them to be tinny. They don’t bother me as long as the volume stays at a respectable level. Best to turn this on before putting it on your neck though, the power on sound does get me ( something I’ve found a LOT of bluetooth devices seem to do)

1 point

·

6th Nov 2018

For a bedroom, Edifier R1280DB. Or is Amazon shipping to Hawaii cost prohibitive?

1 point

·

14th Dec 2018

A much better pair of bluetooth speakers are Edifier R1280DB $130 pair.

If you want to connect 4 speakers, 2 pairs, then get 2x $15 Chromecast Audio for better WiFi streaming, or 2x Amazon Alexa Dots.

Home Audio Guides: Zeos Lists, Zeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videos, Intro to home stereo systems, r/Audiophile Getting Started, Beginner’s Guide to Home Audio, AverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides, Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

1 point

·

7th Feb 2019

For all music or also use with a TV?

Don’t spend $400 on that Bose. If you want something smallish, $130 Edifier R1280DB powered bookshelf speakers then add a $25 Echo Dot if you want voice control.

For a living room, a stereo or AV receiver and a pair of passive speakers. See Intro to home stereo systems.

Home Audio Guides: r/Audiophile Getting StartedBeginner’s Guide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s GuidesSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music ListeningZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videos.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2019

Edifier R1280DB $130 with bluetooth.

If you need a small single unit speaker, Dayton Audio AERO Wi-Fi Bluetooth Speaker with IR Remote Control $100.

​

Or start with a mini amp and passive bookshelf speakers and you can later upgrade one part a time if desired.

6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair and Hi-Fi Mini Amplifier Bundle $50 or better options for around $100.

Or look for a used full size stereo or AV receiver and a pair of bookshelf speakers.

Then add a $15 Bluetooth Receiver.

Or a Dayton Audio WBA31 Wireless Wi-Fi & Bluetooth Audio Receiver with IR Remote $42.

  • WiFi internet music streaming through the Dayton Fly-Fi app for Spotify, TIDAL, Napster, TuneIn, and iHeartRadio.
  • Bluetooth
  • Airplay for Apple iOS and Mac OS.
  • Optical digital out as well as analog aux out.

Or an Echo Dot or Input with voice control and it also has Bluetooth besides interntet music streaming over Wifi.

​

Home Audio Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videosr/Audiophile Getting StartedBeginner’s Guide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s GuidesSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

1 point

·

26th Jul 2019

>although I am growing suspicious you are a salesman for their company

If I were, I wouldn’t recommend the Monolith over the Fluance RT81 or ART DJ II over the Fluance PA10! What I am is a moderator at r/BudgetAudiophile!

​

>Is the stepdown to RT 81 significant and in which ways? (should i just get the monolith at that point?)

Yes, the step down from the new RT82 to the older RT81 is significant. The RT81 does not have the optical speed sensor that the RT82 has so the wow and flutter and speed variation specs are not as good. Also the RT81 may need a manual speed adjustment from underneath with a screwdriver while monitoring the speed with a strobe or phone app after the belt breaks in or after a year or two of use. The RT82 never needs this since the speed sensor is doing it 500 times a second!

The Monoprice has the same motor and specs as the RT81 and both are from the same Chinese factory. If you have to go with the RT81, the Monoprice is $50 USD less for basically the same turntable. However if you can’t pick it up in the US, the shipping and duty may make it cost just as much as buying the RT81 directly from Fluance in Niagara Falls Ontario. If that is the case, you may as well get the RT81 and have Canada direct shipping, customer service and warranty.

Wow and Flutter specs. Low is best. Best is the RT82 at 0.07%. The U-Turn Orbit is over twice as high at 0.17%. and the RT81 and Monolith are 0.20%.

​

>Others have suggested the Fulance pa10 preamp, is it a lot better than the ART DJPre? I am unsure how important a preamp is to sound quality, willing to get up to around $100 CAD

The ART DJ II may be just as good as the PA10 for $30 less. Look for reviews of the PA10, though there is only one or not many since Fluance just released it a few months ago.

​

>Most importantly is speakers. I am looking for something around 200ish dollars CAD, don’t have space for a huge setup but bookshelf speakers of any size should be fine. My requirements are:
>
>powered 2) can also be used with a phone (Bluetooth) 3) Doesn’t significantly downgrade the performance of the turntable 4) Should be long-lasting

For a low budget of $200 CAD NEW you are mostly limited to small powered speakers or a mini amp and small passive speakers.

You can get a better setup with a USED stereo or AV receiver and used bookshelf speakers.

You can add Bluetooth to anything with aux input by adding a $20 Bluetooth receiver. Or add a better WiFi streaming audio receiver like an Amazon Alexa Dot or Input that is also a Bluetooth receiver or a discontinued Chromecast Audio.

Consider a used AV receiver if you are also using the setup with a TV.

Powered speakers with Bluetooth:

  • 4″ Edifier R1280DB $162. Often used for a desktop setup or a small to medium size room. Not so good for a large living room. With Art DJ phono preamp total package is $230.
  • 5″ Fluance Ai40B $225 are larger and better. With Art DJ phono preamp total package is $295.
  • The newer and larger 6.5″ Fluance Ai40 adds optical input from a TV and a subwoofer connection jack to add a subwoofer however it is way over budget and almost twice as much as the $400.

​

Guides:

Home Audio: Intro to home stereo systemsWhat is a Phono Preamp? | Audio AdviceIntroduction to Audio ComponentsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videosr/audiophile Guide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides

Speaker Positioning: How to position your speakers for great sound and Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening.

1 point

·

16th Sep 2019

Pass on the $149 Roku. Edifier R1280DB for less should be better.

Or better Fluance Ai40 $169 and add a FiiO D3 $16 if your TV only has optical output.

Or better yet look for a used AV receiver and a pair of used bookshelf speakers. Then add Speaker Wire or Basic and 4 Ways to Strip Wire – wikiHow.

Home Theater Guides: How to Set Up a Basic Home Theater System – LifewireHow to Set Up Your Home Theater ReceiverSpeaker Placement for Home TheaterTV vertically centered at eye level while seatedr/hometheater

Home Audio Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videosr/audiophile Guide to Home AudioSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2019

Powered bookshelf speakers with Bluetooth:

Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

Home Audio Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videosr/audiophile Guide to Home Audio

1 point

·

13th Oct 2020

These are better in audio quality most likely and cheaper and have Bluetooth. No RGB sadly but if audio quality is your priority can’t go wrong with these. Link

EDIT this one is better and same price

1 point

·

25th Aug 2020
1 point

·

24th Jul 2020

this is more r/BudgetAudiophile kind of thing

you could run powered speakers or 2 passive speakers and miniamp – about $120-$150 either way

Edifier :

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DB-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B06XGG6MFV

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1700BT-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B016PATXSI

Mini Amp n passive –

depends on if your TV has Variable or Fixed output on RCA out – cheaper mini amps don’t have a remote. if Tv is Variable – TV volume will turn amp up n down, if Fixed you need an amp with remote.

1 point

·

24th Dec 2019

Almost all powered speakers will have RCA in. And if they happen to not, you can always get an adapter for very cheap.

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280DB-Bluetooth-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B06XGG6MFV/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=powered+speakers+bluetooth&qid=1577166466&sr=8-4

1 point

·

15th Nov 2019

Edifier R1280DB have a remote and a digital optical input for the TV.

1 point

·

24th Sep 2019

For use with a TV, I recommend looking for a used AV receiver if a new one is over budget.

The AV receiver allows you to add a center speaker for better movie and TV dialog and side speakers for movie and TV surround sound. It also allows you to connect all of your video sources to the receiver and running a single HDMI cable up to the TV instead of connecting everything to the TV.

If going with powered speakers connected to the TV, get the larger 6.5″ Ai60 that adds an optical input from the TV, go lower in bass than the 5″ Ai40, and also adds a subwoofer out jack if you do ever add a subwoofer.

You could add a $25 optical DAC to the Ai40, however you would be using up its only analog and wired input.

If you want something lower budget with an optical input, smaller 4″ Edifier R1280DB $162.

4″ Edifier R1700BT $179 are a bit better for not much more, however they are designed to go at a desk and angled to aim at you while you are sitting at a desk. To use them for room listening it would be best to prop them up in the back so they face forward and aim at you instead of the ceiling.

4″ Edifier R1850DB $229 adds a subwoofer out jack. Same angled issue.

1 point

·

12th May 2019

$150 is a good price for the new AT-LP120XUSB barely used since it just came out.

Yeah, $300 5+ years should be $150 to $200 max. Reply with your city or zip and I could take a look. The good stuff goes fast and that is why you don’t see many deals, though you probably know you have to check every day for the stuff posted that day, only the overpriced stuff sticks around for days and weeks.

Powered Speakers: Small 4″ ok for a small room to then transition to computer speakers.

I prefer and recommend separate amp and speakers because you can upgrade one part at a time.

Better mini amps:

Better speakers at or under $110.

1 point

·

15th May 2019

Does anyone have experience with the Edifier R1280DB? I am hoping someone could tell me how well it compares to the Micca setup mentioned above.

One of the main things is that I need speakers with a remote control to turn them on/off and adjust volume. These will be plugged in to my TV (either optical or aux) and the aux output from the TV is not adjustable, hence the speakers themselves need to be adjustable via remote.

Edit: I am also looking at the Samsung HW-R450 Sound Bar and am wondering which one to choose, or if there are other good speakers within this same price range (Under $200) that I should be considering.

1 point

·

2nd May 2019

If your budget is only $100 and not going used, consider the manual Heyday Turntable by Target $100 instead of the automatic AT-LP60.

Speakers: First consider looking for a used stereo or AV receiver and a pair of passive bookshelf speakers.

Lowest budget: 6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair and Hi-Fi Mini Amplifier Bundle $50. Then you can upgrade one part at a time later.

Powered: More features but less flexible: Edifier R1280DB $130.

Home Audio Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides

Speaker Positioning: Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening and How to position your speakers for great sound.

Also see r/budgetaudiophile.

1 point

·

20th May 2019

Bookshelf speakers with a digital optical input for use with a TV.

1 point

·

13th May 2019

Yes, the Pyle and parts express Dayton bundle are ok to start with and you can then look for better new or used upgrades one part at a time later.

A step up is Dayton Audio B652-AIR 6-1/2" 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker with AMT Tweeter $51 and SMSL SA-36A Pro TPA3118D2DAP Stereo Amplifier 2 x 20W $52. Add Speaker Wire and wire tool.

Or Edifier 1280DB $130 for a small room, however you can’t upgrade one part at a time.

I don’t know if or how much better the Behringer PP400 MICROPHONO Ultra-Compact Phono Preamp $25 is than the Pyle.

Or try the Music Hall Mini $59 open box demo.

1 point

·

24th May 2019

Powered Speakers:

If you get 4″ Edifiers, R1280DB for $130 are sufficient for a bedroom or small living space. I wouldn’t spend any more than that on 4″ Edifiers.

If you want something better for $200 and 5.25″ like the Klipsch, Fluance Ai40 with Bluetooth and one analog input.

A step up for a bit less than the price of the Klipsch, larger 6.5″ Fluance Ai60 $300 adds more bass, a DAC with USB and optical inputs and a subwoofer output.

Both are also available on Amazon.

1 point

·

11th Apr 2019

Yes, those will work together.

Some other powered speaker options:

  • Edifier-R1280DB $130, 4″, adds bluetooth and an optical digital input for use with a computer or TV.
  • Edifier R1850DB $200, 4″, adds a subwoofer out jack if you ever want to add a subwoofer.
  • Fluance Ai40 $200. Larger 5.25″ mid bass drivers for a bit more bass. Bluetooth and 1 analog input instead of 2 on the edifiers.
  • Fluance Ai60 $300. Larger 6.5″ mid bass drivers for more bass. Analog input, USB input, optical digital input, bluetooth, and a subwoofer out jack if you ever want to add a subwoofer.

4″ speakers are just ok for a small room, consider going larger with 5.25″ or 6.5″ for a medium to large room.

1 point

·

4th Feb 2019

For a computer, a pair of powered bluetooth bookshelf speakers will be better than a single speaker.

4″ Edifier R1280DB $130

5″ Fluance Ai40 $170

Also see r/BudgetAudiophile

1 point

·

10th Jan 2019

For a low budget first look for a used stereo or AV receiver and a pair of bookshelf speakers.

Powered speakers:

Some new low budget amp or receiver and passive speaker options:

Speakers:

Mini amps: Nobsound Mini Amp with AUX/USB/Bluetooth Input $30, SMSL SA50 $65, Dayton Audio DTA-120 Bluetooth $75, Micca OriGain $80 or $100 with USB or optical input DAC, SMSL Q5 PRO $115, Topping MX3 $130.

Receivers:

Speaker wire: Pure copper oxygen free 16 Guage and self adjusting wire strippers or basic.

Also consider a $15 Chromecast Audio for better streaming over Wifi.

Home Audio Guides: Zeos Lists, Zeos Tutorials, Diagrams and Videos, Intro to home stereo systems, r/Audiophile Getting Started, Beginner’s Guide to Home Audio, AverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides, Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

1 point

·

13th Dec 2018

They should be better than the 2 smaller left and right speakers on the ~~R2000~~ S350DBs. Then add a subwoofer later if you need it.

Or even Edifier R1280DB $130 will be better, then also add a subwoofer later if you need it.

The R1850DB $200, has a sub out jack which will be a bit simpler to add a subwoofer too.

Also, A5+ Classic Speakers (Refurbished) a bit over budget at $320.

Passive speakers and an amp or receiver will give you more flexibility to meet changing needs since you can upgrade one part at a time or replace a broken part one at a time, or reuse one part later in a different or another setup.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2018

Echo dots with powered speakers for the kitchen. Edifier 1280 $130.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2018

Since you don’t have much room for speakers and you’re not even sure where to put the subwoofer, you could get standard 2.0 bookshelf speakers like the Edifier R1280DB or Edifier R1280T (5.75in x 9.5in x 7in per speaker) if you don’t care about the optical input, or the Logitech Z333 (Blutooth variant) if you prefer something similar to what you had before.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2018

Edifiers are $130.

1 point

·

21st Oct 2018

Skip the soundbar.

Powered speakers:

Edifier R1280DB $130

Fluance Ai40 $200

-1 points

·

16th Jul 2019

Price History


Call the Bishop, these prices are sinful.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcdtrbw%2Fspeakers_edifier_r1280t_20bookshelf_speakers%2Fetwuqgd%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)