What is the opinion of Reddit about the
EatSmart Precision Plus Digital Bathroom Scale with Ultra-Wide Platform, 440 Pound Capacity?

A total of 38 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

13th Jan 2018

If you search amazon for “high capacity scale” you can find a bunch of them that are well-rated for reasonable prices. This one for example.

2 points

·

29th Jun 2021

Bought this in 2015. It is a very accurate, no frills and inexpensive scale.

EatSmart Precision Plus Digital Bathroom Scale with Ultra-Wide Platform, 440 Pound Capacity https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0032TNPOE/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_TM1AZVDXW83DE2TDQYW1

2 points

·

9th Feb 2015

Losing 8.4 pounds overnight sounds like an inaccurate scale unless you were peeing all night. If so, hopefully, the 293 was the wrong number and not the 284.6.

In case you determine that it is an inconsistent scale, I’ve found this scale to be accurate within a couple of pounds.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0032TNPOE

In case the scale was accurate, wow! That’s awesome progress.

1 point

·

29th Dec 2017

IANAL, but I am a really fat person. This is not necessarily legal advice but I just wanted to chime in and try to help you a bit.

You can get a (scale on Amazon that goes up to 445 lbs)[https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1] for about $30. I have this scale. If you are serious about losing weight, you should buy a scale for yourself. You want to invest in a lifestyle change, not just a work contest.

I participated in a weight contest at my local gym. Their scale did not accommodate me. So what I did was that I took a picture of what my scale read at home. They were okay with that and let me use those numbers for the contest. Maybe your work will let you do the same!

OP, I was well over 450 lbs a few months ago. I’m currently down to 415. I am in the precertification process for bariatric surgery. You might want to consider talking to your doctor about a medical or surgical weight loss program. It’s really important to have a good support system and just a really well-planned diet (with physician supervision!) when you are morbidly obese.

I wish you luck and I know you can do it! Every day is another step toward success 🙂

1 point

·

5th Apr 2018

This is the scale i got:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Reasonably priced, about as accurate as you can expect, wide base and a nice big LCD screen. I’ve had it for around 8 months now, no complaints.

1 point

·

28th Mar 2018

This is the scale i got:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Reasonably priced, about as accurate as you can expect, wide base and a nice big LCD screen. I’ve had it for around 8 months now, no complaints.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2018

Had to bite the bullet a few months ago and buy my own scale after my gym stopped maintaining theirs well. Really happy with this one:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Reasonably priced, has a nice wide base, and it calculates your weight as soon as you step on — in other words, you don’t have to turn it on to start it. Also has an LCD with the weight in big numbers so it’s easy to read.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2017

Had to bite the bullet a few months ago and buy my own scale after my gym stopped maintaining theirs well. Really happy with this one:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Reasonably priced, has a nice wide base, and it calculates your weight as soon as you step on — in other words, you don’t have to turn it on to start it. Also has an LCD with the weight in big numbers so it’s easy to read.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2017

I bought this scale recently. It’s reasonably priced and I’m very happy with it:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0032TNPOE?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

It would be best to weigh yourself at least once a week consistently to follow a trend of weight loss and make adjustments as you go along. Good luck!

1 point

·

5th Jun 2017

I just replaced ours as it wasn’t very consistent. I got this one https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and it’s works great and very consistent. It was within 1 pound of my doctor’s big fancy one.

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2016

I have one of the Eatsmart scales and it is very accurate. I let it re-calibrate every time I use it. Tap it, let it re-calibrate, then weight. On a very rare occasion it will be off a little. I weight myself twice and if it gets the same both times I record that. On a rare occasion it will take three weigh ins to get two that are the same. Make sure you are standing up straight and standing still. Also weight wearing the same thing for each weigh in, for me that is just my boxers.

Scale I have and would recommend: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE

1 point

·

14th Aug 2015

I was looking for this response before I posted it. I don’t care that it is “correct” as much as I care that it is consistent. I had that problem with my last digital scale. I would step on it, take a reading, do it 2 more times and the reading would be different each time. It frustrated the crap out of me. So I read a bunch of reviews on Amazon about scales and settled on the Eatsmart Precision Plus Digital Bathroom Scale. I can step on and off and it is consistent as hell. I can weigh before I pee and weigh after and see a change, most of the time. To this day, I sometimes step on and off a few times to see if it gets the same weight and it is almost 100% exact each time. I can only remember twice when it didn’t read the same and I’ve had it almost a year.

1 point

·

27th Apr 2015

I’ve got this scale and it’s pretty good.

I do recommend to not focus much on the scale and focus more on measurements though.

Every couple of weeks take measurements.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2015
  1. I use this scale and it has been working just fine for me. I don’t know if it is the best scale out there, but it has been doing what it is supposed to.

  2. You absolutely CAN put on muscle while at a deficit. You just can’t put on a lot of muscle while at a deficit. You’re not going to look like a fitness model eating at a deficit and you’re not going to be breaking any strength records. At some point, one has the strength and the body composition where you would need to eat at a surplus to add additional muscle. If you are overweight and not presently strength training, though, you are not at that point. (In fact– my high weight was a normal BMI and I still added muscle while losing because I was doing literally zero strength training before I started.) Adding muscle makes it easier to lose fat because a pound of muscle takes more calories to maintain than a pound of fat, so it raises your BMR when you have more muscle. There is no reason to wait to start strength training if that is something you would like to try. (You also don’t have to do it yet if that is too many things on your plate at one time.)

1 point

·

17th Feb 2015

This one seems fairly accurate. It tracks within a couple of pounds of my balance scale. However, it does have that annoying feature of remembering your weight and redisplaying that weight if you step on again rather than allowing the natural variance to show. Most digital scales seem to do this these days. You can defeat it by holding something heavy and stepping on the scale then off before reweighing.

http://www.amazon.com/Eatsmart-Precision-Bathroom-Technology-440-Pounds/dp/B0032TNPOE

The max weight on this is 440 pounds.

1 point

·

13th Jul 2012

I just bought this scale from Amazon.

If I weight myself (wearing the same thing) 3 times in 5 minutes, I’ll get 3 different weights, with as much as 8 pounds difference.

The thing is rated for 440lbs, which I’m more than 100lbs under, and I’m not moving it or standing in a different way each time. It’s on a stable, hard, linoleum floor. It went completely batshit when I tried to use it on carpet.

If you make a scale, please make sure it can do the one thing it’s supposed to do.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2012

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00

It goes to 440lbs, more than i needed, but i needed one that went over 350lbs. I’ve found it to be quite accurate, repeated weighing come in the same, unlike the scale i got at walmart that would very several pounds within the same 5 minute span.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2011

Here is one that goes to 440. I was right around 400 when I started, and my scale was really inaccurate as I reached its limit. Im down to almost 350 now and its good, so in the begining, weight your self a few times, then take the average and you will have a decent number.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2011

I have This One and it seems to work well.

The thing I have realized with scales is they are generally off by a percentage of weight, so the closer you get to the top end, the more inaccurate it is going to be, so getting one with some leway is the best bet (I made this mistake orginally and got errors on the screen etc)

1 point

·

14th Mar 2011

This One looks good. I like getting scales with upper limits that are far from my weight, as in my expereince, the close to the limit I am, the further off the scale is.

1 point

·

27th Oct 2011

This is the scale I bought though the price might be higher than what you’re looking for. I’m very satisfied with the purchase. It’s easy to use (just step on to it) and the readout is large and bright.

1 point

·

11th Oct 2011

I use a basic digital scale by EatSmart. It’s relatively cheap, easy to use, attractive looking, and so far seems really accurate. I love it and their customer service seems amazing so I’m not too worried about it breaking anytime soon.

Here’s a link to my scale on Amazon

1 point

·

18th Aug 2021

To weigh yourself? Or to weigh food? I like this (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/) and this (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07S6F6LHQ/) respectively.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2018

This is the scale i use and its been reliable ever since I got it like 6 months ago.

1 point

·

30th Apr 2018

I like the eat smart scale from amazon, its been very accurate for me since I bought it a year ago.

EatSmart Precision Plus

1 point

·

17th Feb 2017

I have this one and it was really nice and wide when I was 135+ pounds heavier. It is very accurate. You can weight multiple times and you get the same weight.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE

1 point

·

7th Dec 2016

I have a good quality scale and 99% of the time it will weight me the same time after time. I double check if my weight seems off but 99% of the time I get the same number.

Scale I have.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE

1 point

·

4th Sep 2016

I use an Eatsmart Scale. Affordable and accurate. Goes up to 440 IIRC.

1 point

·

18th Oct 2015

EatSmart Precision Plus Digital Bathroom Scale with Ultra Wide Platform and St… http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0032TNPOE/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_awdl_nT7iwbG21NCD2 via @amazon

This one has worked well for me and others I know.

1 point

·

19th May 2015

I love this one from Amazon.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2015

http://www.amazon.com/Eatsmart-Precision-Bathroom-Technology-440-Pounds/dp/B0032TNPOE/ref=zg_bs_85968011_4

I use this one, sometimes it acts a little weird based on the surface you put it on but maybe someone else here can vouch for it.

1 point

·

30th Jul 2012

Scale recommendation: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00

Goes up to 440 so not quite in range yet but soon.

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2011
1 point

·

24th Jul 2011

I purchased this one a few weeks ago. I love the fact that you don’t have to wait for the scale to zero out, and it has a backlit display:

http://www.amazon.com/Eatsmart-Precision-Bathroom-Technology-440-Pounds/dp/B0032TNPOE

0 points

·

13th Sep 2017

I bought this one recently as a backup if i can’t make it to the gym to use their scale:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032TNPOE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It’s accurate within a pound of my gym scale, so i’m happy with it. the wide base is nice as well. sturdy construction, easy to use.