What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Durgod Taurus K320 TKL Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – 87 Keys – Double Shot PBT – NKRO – USB Type C (Cherry Brown, Space Grey)?

A total of 29 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

19th Sep 2020

If you’re looking for a quiet mechanical keyboard (I’m going out on a limb and guessing that’s what ‘big keys’ mean) check out cherry red silents or browns. Cherry is the switch manufacturer and the ‘red’ or ‘brown’ is the type of switch. I got a Duragod TKL (ten key less) with browns and love it. They also make a cherry silent but I can’t speak to it.

4 points

·

18th Sep 2020

If you can get past the name, I like the muted look of the Durgod K320 TKL. It also comes in a white colour for that old IBM Model M look. Doesn’t have backlighting, though, unless you go for the “Corona” colour.

2 points

·

24th Aug 2020

Honestly, I don’t think that its worth it at full price. The Fnatic software is annoying. It pops up everytime on restart and doesn’t minimize. USB-C is a nice to have but not necessary at all unless you go to lan parties alot. It does feel better constructed. I personally don’t like the color of the case. Green doesn’t match with my setup so eh its whatever. I do think typing on cherry browns feels better than Outemu browns. It feels a tad bit smoother and the bump is not as noticiable. Having hotswap switches is pretty nice granted you are limited in what you can get.

The Durgod Taurus K320 looks to be a better keyboard that will fit in more setups but I have never tried it. So I can’t give any info on it.

The ministreak and the phantom87 are two different price brackets IMO at full price. I would say if you can find the ministreak on sale or used go for it. I can’t seem to find it on Amazon or fnatics website.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2022

Thanks! Of course, you can find on Amazon here: Durgod Taurus K320 TKL Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – 87 Keys – Double Shot PBT – NKRO – USB Type C (Cherry Brown, Space Grey) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078H3WPHM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_45PTMY2YCFXFVAKG580H?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

31st Oct 2021

🙂 Thank you!

You managed to hit my criteria really well. I’ll be choosing either a prebuilt Keychron or a similar selection of parts you recommended for a custom-built.

In my experience, I cannot hit the F5 key without significantly stretching my index finger (I use a <em>Durgod Taurus K320 TKL</em>), which is one reason why I want a keyboard with a compact format. But I also don’t the scattered format necessary to build spatial memory, nor to reduce misclicks. I think more space leads to more room for error. The only issue I could forsee is for those with larger fingers double-pressing keys. Alas, that isn’t relevant with my skinny fingers!

The fact of custom keyboards being in parallel to prebuilt in regard to latency polling rate is good to be aware of, which I may be able to understand and verify at some point.

***

Thanks also to u/vredditcocksucker for his recommendation of the Epomaker EP84 and tip toward the comparison list of keyboards.

1 point

·

29th Mar 2021

Any recommendations for a full sized red switch gray colored keyboard? I’m trying to make my desk match the color scheme of my room, which is hints of light grays and medium grays, but I can’t for the life of me find any full sized gray keyboards, and I mean the backplate not the keys because I can just install new keycaps.

&#x200B;

Looking something similar to this color, Amazon.com: Durgod Taurus K320 TKL Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – 87 Keys – Double Shot PBT – NKRO – USB Type C (Cherry Brown, Space Grey): Computers &amp; Accessories

1 point

·

16th Mar 2021

Forgot about this board, it seems good and has a lot of options, but I can’t say for sure.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

Maybe durgod taurus? You could also go gmmk tkl or drop ENTR if you want more customization

1 point

·

6th Sep 2020

I’m coming from a Das Keyboard with MX Browns and really like the tactile feedback of them, just not the bulk of that massive keyboard! I don’t need hot swappable as long as what I find has MX Browns on them, but you’re right, it seems I’m looking for a needle in a haystack. Having said that, I just found this with decent reviews. It is the size I’m looking for and has the specs I’m wanting except for not being wireless, which I can live with. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078H3WPHM/

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2020

You could consider the Durgod K320 on Amazon. It has PBT plastic keycaps instead of ABS, and the usual selection of Cherry switches, including specialty ones like Clears or Silent Reds.

Disclaimer: I haven’t used this board myself. I know of a coworker who is happy with his.

1 point

·

11th Apr 2020

amazon this keyboard fits your criteria an you have a choice with switches. If you want a silent linear switch go with a silent black, normal linear switch go with the cherry reds and for a tactile feel go with the cherry brown switches

1 point

·

1st Apr 2018

Going away from mainstream keyboards if you don’t fancy the ‘gamery’ style.

I highly recommend the Durgod K320 Taurus pretty much the best and highest quality keyboard you can get for the price.

Choice of Cherry MX switches, detachable USB-C, proper thick PBT Double Shot keycaps, you wont get a keyboard with that list for less than ~$150

https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Rollover-Interface/dp/B078H3WPHM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1518843138&amp;sr=8-2&amp;keywords=Durgod&amp;dpID=41tItye8jaL&amp;preST=_SY300_QL70_&amp;dpSrc=srch

Also if you look around you can get it for close to $80

3 points

·

21st Sep 2020

Not sure what size you’re interested in, but here are some good options:

2 points

·

19th Nov 2020

Well, recommending a mech KB is quite difficult, cause there are just way too many types/switches. I try not to go down that rabbithole, cause it gets pretty intense. Purists would probably mod KB down to the wires to their liking, but I simply buy off the shelf. And also, it can get quite pricey unless you know which one you want to settle on. I switched 4 or 5 different ones before settling on the current one.

I’m using the Durgod K320 with Brown switches. I’ve put some O-rings on the keys to make them quieter. I like them. They are not pricey, but the quality is really nice. But if I had unlimited fund, I have a full list that I would have liked to try out, like Topre, Tex etc. But that is a story for another day.

If you want to get your feet wet, what you can do (wish I’d known this), get a good board with user replaceable switches (KeyChron has some, so do many others) and then try out different switches (Blue, Brown, Red) and stick to the one you like. Once you are past the initial hurdle and know what you like or don’t, you can go ahead and buy an expensive one in the future. My advice would be to spend a little more and get a replaceable board instead of buying cheap ones off Amazon or eBay and then figuring out that you don’t like the switch or the board. Unfortunately that is what I did.

Sorry, for the rather long “Recommendation”. Also, I’ll be considered an “amateur” in the mechanical KB universe, so please don’t take my suggestions at a face value. There is a sub here for mechanical KBs if you want to peek down the rabbit hole. It scares me and I try to stay away. But YMMV.

Have a good one.

2 points

·

10th Nov 2020

Oh boy it’s my time to shine

Good qualities I look for when using a keyboard for osu are feel, weighting, and especially durability. osu! Is extremely strenuous for a keyboard, and you’re gonna want to have something very durable if you also use that keyboard for everything else.

There are multiple parts of the keyboard that can wear away and break, and you want to make sure your keyboard can cover all of these issues

1: switch failure: when you experience keyboard chattering (keypresses registering on their own) it can be the fault of either the switches or the pcb. Most prebuilts use extremely durable solder, so the main thing to look out for is switch durability. Cherry Mx switches and their offbrand equivalents usually work perfectly up to 50 million keypresses. This doesn’t mean they’ll just die once you reach 50 mil, but it’s a good approximation for when you’ll start to see minor issues. 50 million keypresses is good enough for the average person, and you’ll go years without seeing Mx switches break. Their consistency is one of their strong suits. However, if you want a keyboard that will last your entire life without the smallest hint of switch failure you might wanna look into something contactless. Razer’s new optical clicky and linear switches on their huntsman lineup and corsair’s new k100 keyboard are actually good keyboards for once with high quality keycaps and contactless switches.

Keycap degradation: mashing on your 2 keys of choice with your greasy oily fingers will eventually take a toll on how those keycaps feel and look. Different keycap plastics and printing methods can somewhat slow down this process. The highest durability specs you’ll want to look for are PBT and Double Shot Injection. This is the most durable plastic combined with the most durable printing method. Last gen gamer keyboards all had thin Laser Etched ABS caps that could wear away really quick.

Lastly, just find a keyboard switch you like the sound/feel of. This is mostly my opinion, but any switch can be used for osu extremely well as long as you feel comfortable while using them. Most people like the feel of light linear switches for osu since they feel “easy to press”. Cherry Mx red’s and their equivalents are an extremely safe recommendation. r/mechanicalkeyboards would probably crucify me for this, but I can also highly recommend Mx browns for osu. They’re a fairly mediocre switch for typing, but I absolutely love using them for osu (even when I have multiple customs!)

I hope this helped a little bit if you felt like reading all of this

Edit: not gonna recommend a ton of stuff unless you ask because I’m not sure what your preferences are, but this keyboard is fairly cheap for its features and comes in multiple colors and switch types: https://www.amazon.com/DURGOD-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Interface/dp/B078H3WPHM

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2022

I’m a fan of this one, but that’s probably because it’s the one I picked. https://www.amazon.co.uk/DURGOD-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Interface/dp/B078H3WPHM/

1 point

·

13th Aug 2021

As far as monitors go, there are a lot of different specs in resolution & refresh rate, plus different technologies like Gsync and FreeSync, but so far it doesn’t look like the Deck will be able to take advantage of a lot of higher end options. For gaming, 1080p @ 60Hz refresh rate should be fine. 24″ is usually the sweet spot for 1080p, anything bigger and it starts looking really pixelated. If you’re planning on using it for productivity or anything else, you might consider a 27″ monitor at 1440p. I don’t know if they still sell them, but I was able to get a couple of theseat $130, which is a great price for a great monitor. Regardless, the Deck won’t be able to push high resolutions or refresh rates in games, so I wouldn’t buy a high end gaming monitor to use with it.

Others might disagree with me, but I think keyboards are a lot less important to the experience than a monitor and mouse. It all comes down to personal preference, and what’s important to you. Does monitoring battery life and charging the keyboard annoy you? Then go wired. Get backlit keys if you need to see them in the dark. I’m personally a big fan of mechanical keyboards with Brown switches, because they’re clicky without being super loud. I have this one and love it, but a much cheaper keyboard is fine as well. The only thing I would probably avoid is Bluetooth, because of the added latency when gaming. Either a wired keyboard or one with a USB dongle will serve you best.

There are lots of options for mice. Most options from Logitech or Razer are safe bets. My favorite mouse is the Logitech G502. Again though, you don’t need the fanciest device for casual gaming, so go for good reviews and functions that fit best for your use case.

In order to use any of this stuff, you’ll need a dock or USB hub. Something like this hub should work, but I don’t think there’s any confirmation yet about which hubs work. Regardless, you only have 1 USB-C port, so you’ll need to expand that to use any keyboard, mouse, or monitor. You’ll also need audio, so either a USB soundbar/speaker, or a decent wireless headset.

Another accessory I would consider is a battery bank, something like this Anker one. It will help extend play sessions a lot. Whatever you get, make sure it has USB-C and Power Delivery.

I’m not like an expert on any of this or anything, but I have some experience, so please let me know if you think I could help with other questions! Looks like you’ve got lots of other people ready to help too, so don’t be too worried about jumping in.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2020

I was in the similar market about a year ago and settled on a Corsair K65 that I found on ebay for less than $70. Solid keyboard that feels pretty premium and has great rgb. You could also look at some redragon or hexgears keyboards which are a bit on the cheap side but will offer what you need. The Durgod Taurus is also a pretty solid keyboard but the options you are looking for are a bit out of the price range. HyperX Alloy is what I would recommend as it has pretty decent switches at a pretty good price range. And again you can look at things like ebay to probably find stuff cheaper. Hope this helps 🙂

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

Fellow Canuck here. Ducky are decent keyboards. You can get them from the following places online:

MikesComputers

NewEgg.ca

CanadaComputers

MemoryExpress

I haven’t personally used anything from them but you can get a Durgod TKL off Amazon.ca if you want something sooner.

If you want something that feels like clicky MX Blues but without the associated noise, you can try MX Clears. They are very tactile though compared to MX Browns so keep that in mind. The Durgod TKL I linked is also available with MX Clears.

For something that will last longer, and if you decide to buy from MechanicalKeyboards.com and import it from the USA, I personally recommend anything from Leopold instead. Super solid, no frills keyboards.

I owned an FC660 before and still have and use an FC980M that’s a few years old now. I’ve since desoldered the stock switches and swapped in new switches twice now and it’s held up very well.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2020

Durgod makes some of the most underrated keebs in the business. I absolutely love the Durgod Taurus K320

1 point

·

13th Jul 2020

That is a Durgod Taurus K320 right there.

1 point

·

14th Apr 2020

Thanks, I must be sleepy. Didn’t check amazon.

Durgod Taurus K320 TKL Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – 87 Keys – Double Shot PBT – NKRO – USB Type C (Cherry Brown, Space Grey) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078H3WPHM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_J6xLEbW0W3DWR

1 point

·

30th Mar 2020

Not really helpful but I just unpackaged my Durgod Taurus K320 from Amazon, installed the software, did a search … and came on your thread. Bout had a heart attack as I was installing the firmware as I was reading your thread.

Everything went fine tho – took like 30 seconds and it was done. 🙁

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078H3WPHM/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Hopefully your replacement does better!

1 point

·

9th Nov 2019

That’s building a custom keyboard, though. Stock mechanicals can be had for under $100. Here are a couple of tenkeyless boards that have Cherry switches and are a pretty good value:

If you want custom keycaps, there are some fairly inexpensive options.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2018

Durgod if you want an alternate choice.