What is the opinion of Reddit about the
De’Longhi Comfort Temp Full Room Radiant Thermostat, 3 Heat Settings, Energy Saving, Safety Features, Nice for Home with Pets/Kids, 27″ x 6.5″ x 15.5″, Light Gray?

A total of 29 reviews of this product on Reddit.

16 points

·

8th Apr 2018
12 points

·

19th Nov 2018

Is it at all possible to purchase a portable heater and stay at home with your cat until everything gets sorted? I know we had some portable, pluggable, heaters that worked wonders in the house I stayed before my apartment. We had zero insulation in this old house and a shitty built in radiator system so those portable heaters were a godsend.

Check Amazon! You might find a deal around this time of year.

Edit: This is the type of heater we had, it really did warm up a decently sized room and I think it’d help ya’ll out for a short period and then you’d have something just in case things get messed up again.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1542588176&sr=8-13&keywords=portable+heaters+for+the+home

1 point

·

11th Dec 2021

Electric spaceheater! I grew up in a house built in 1760, so obviously no central heat, bad radiators, and thin walls/windows that let all the heat out. My parents put electric spaceheaters in every room and it was toasty af. I’ve been using them in my own places ever since.

There’s all kinds of ones on Amazon, but personally I think the ugly metal radiator-looking ones work the best and get the hottest. This is a good example.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2021

It’s not an oil heater, it’s electric, but the heating coils are immersed in oil. You can comfortably keep your hand on it but it still puts out plenty of heat. Like this:

https://smile.amazon.com/DeLonghi-Comfort-Thermostat-Settings-Features/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=sr_1_5?crid=SS29RLXMYT22&keywords=oil+filled+radiator+heater&qid=1638450676&sprefix=oil+%2Caps%2C289&sr=8-5

1 point

·

6th Nov 2021

Hope it works out for you!

In the meantime, those standalone electric radiator style heaters work great for smaller rooms. They also actually heat up the air, instead of just blowing hot air on you.

Not familiar with this brand/model, but this is the type I’m talking about. It’s already starting to get pretty dang cold at night!

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-Comfort-Thermostat-Settings-Features/dp/B000TGDGLU

1 point

·

5th Jan 2021

This is the exact model he has. It works in basically the same way; liquid is heated and pumped through the radiator to heat the air between the fins. The only differences from a traditional one are that it uses oil and that the pump is inside the radiator itself instead of being in the house’s plumbing.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2020

We use a safe heater in baby’s room like this one. Took a few tries to find the right setting, but now it keeps the temperature pretty well. It never gets too hot to touch.

1 point

·

19th Nov 2019

https://www.reddit.com/products/delonghi-oil-filled-radiator-space-heater-quiet-1500w-adjustable-thermostat-3-heat-settings-energy-saving-safety-features-nice-for-home-with-pets-kids-light-gray-comfort-temp
DeLonghi makes the best space heater I’ve ever used. It has an energy conservation button on it. You can get it on Amazon or at Lowe’s. I bought two after I borrowed one for a while. Love it.

DeLonghi EW7707CM Safe Heat 1500W ComforTemp Portable Oil-Filled Radiator https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_mKDiKGZJVwQ6Y

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2020

A good quality oil filled heater is safe.
They won’t catch fabric on fire, they shut off if tipped over, and the thermostats work well.

Something like this is what I have.

They do use quite a bit of power so you need to use a circuit that can handle them and prepare for the power bill.

I have an older home and had to have an electrician run a dedicated circuit so my wiring could handle the load. And during the worst winter weather it does add approximately $30 USD per month to my power bill.

You know what I like even better? A heated mattress pad. Every bed in my house has one and we LOVE them.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2020

maybe a couple electric oil filled radiators? they are more efficient than traditional electric space heaters. they work more as maintaining temperature rather than quickly warming up a room so that may be more inline with your needs.

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU

1 point

·

31st Dec 2019

I have a few of the electric coil ones like the vornado and wouldn’t recommend them for a number of reasons. They are electrically noisy af for starters, they cause all kind of surging flickering mayhem on my electric. Second, they usually have safety built in that inhibit use with smart plug. I find that the most stable and safest type are those oil filled radiator looking ones. I got mine from Craigslist so I can’t suggest a specific one to buy but they’re this style and I use with a cheap smart outlet for Alexa control.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2019

When my furnace went out, I went and bought a bunch of electric “oil filled radiator” heaters. Paid about $50 each at Lowe’s, on sale. Put one in the bedroom, one in the kitchen, one in the bath room and two in the large living room. They kept the house warm enough and we’re surprisingly inexpensive to use. Safe and easy.

When I did get a new furnace (through my local energy assistance provider, for free!) I actually found the little heaters were cheaper than my new forced air electric furnace.

Example:
https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU

Good luck, OP!

1 point

·

5th Nov 2018

Plants essentially stop growing at 7 celcius. Gotta get it up above 10 if you wamt results. Your light should help with temps and are fairly cheap

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=pd_aw_lpo_bs_lp_img_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=F47W9T9MGM1XHEX24JE4

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2018

I currently have this radiator-style heater to heat my studio. It’s pretty slow though and I have to keep it on the opposite side of the room because that’s the only place I can plug it in.

I’m wondering if something like the Vornado would be better to push the air towards the other half of the studio where I sleep. What size room do you use it in? The amazon page says it’s good up to 256 sq ft and my studio is about 500 total, but the actual living area may be closer to 300.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2018

Get an electric oil radiator heater.

Heating up one room will be cheaper than your whole house, and oil radiators are pretty safe.

And blankets—get a nice heavy one, maybe even a quilt.

Here’s an Amazon link for an example:

DeLonghi EW7707CM Safe Heat 1500W ComforTemp Portable Oil-Filled Radiator https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_sSYsAbGN7PWDA

1 point

·

18th Aug 2017

I think that the oil radiators are the most efficient and safest for heating up a room.

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2016

You might want to look into a space heater for your nursery. We co-sleep, and in the bedroom we use one similar to this:
https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=pd_bxgy_201_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=9SCHMZ78SQ95PSAGNKCS

It’s very safe to use and heats slowly and gently, and you can set it to whatever temperature you want to keep the room at.

1 point

·

8th Jan 2015

You might consider two oil-filled heaters, one on each side of your apartment.

They are relatively silent, and unobtrusive.

The heating elements are enclosed, so they don’t get dangerously hot – I can move mine around bare-handed if necessary.

Not sure what your electrical situation is, but using outlets on different sides of the room could prevent a circuit breaker from tripping.

I have a DeLonghi – an earlier generation of this, probably: http://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-Safeheat-ComforTemp-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2011

Well thats good then. The one you have is basically like this one then?

http://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-Oil-filled-ComforTemp-Technology/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=sr_1_11?ie=UTF8&qid=1317645045&sr=8-11

Those seem to be the most common, and yeah, they work damn fine.

12 points

·

17th Oct 2019

An oil-filled space heater like this is very safe. There’s no exposed heating element. You can keep it on indefinitely.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2021

I was thinking space heater, a home radiator. Like this.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2020

I spent about 6 Oklahoma winters without anything but space heaters. There are these — I think they’re called electric radiator heaters, that have oil permanently inside them, that work differently than ‘air’ heaters, most propone heaters I’ve seen or owned are air heaters. This one I got (here, amazon says I bought this 2014 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000TGDGLU/ ) heat the objects not the air, in a room. Some have auto thermostats, this one did. It takes longer for the heat to be apparent with those but it’s more effective, I found, especially at a distance from the heater.

Also, if you have to get a little air heater, spend the bucks for a Vornado. In fans of any kind, these things are the bomb. I used to have a tanning salon I visited that had a different kind of fan in every room. The one with that one was vastly better. I bought one at a thrift store later and when we switched to it in the tiny warehouse area where I worked for awhile, it was just dramatically better at truly moving the air all around.

Lastly just a note, don’t underestimate how amazing even one candle can be at generating heat in any enclosed space. Yes, smoke too of course. Though it rises, which helps. But I used to buy those cheap mexican-style candles in a tall jar, and there might be something better than this, that is designed for maximum long-burning. I see this when searching — this is a little votive, but designed to burn for 10 hours, and there’s a 72-pack for 12 bucks at https://www.webstaurantstore.com/sterno-products-10-hour-candle-pack/99940104.html .

Good luck!! I hope to have a greenhouse one day and will have the same issue. 🙂

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

I have this one: https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU

It works like a champ to heat 450 sf poorly insulated attic bedroom. I’ve had it since 2016, so I can’t speak to it’s longevity beyond that. Oil filled radiators can take a while to heat up a room, but they work really well at keeping it up to temp,

1 point

·

14th Sep 2020

An oil filled radiator heater is most efficient for heating a space that big, but you’d need to turn it on in advance of your workouts to heat the space. Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=radiant+heater&qid=1600050333&sr=8-2

A little fan space heater can heat a small space quickly – you could move it around to wherever you are in the gym. Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SVIV570/?tag=thewire06-20&linkCode=xm2&ascsubtag=AwEAAAAAAAAAAYV8

1 point

·

18th Nov 2019

No way to make electric turn into heat more or less efficienctly but the key is to heat liquid (oil) to retain the heat in the room for longer. Something like this is your best option:

​

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU/ref=zg_bs_510182_7?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=VXPVNFB4WR5H0F8GVCRT

1 point

·

28th Nov 2019

https://www.amazon.com/DeLonghi-EW7707CM-ComforTemp-Portable-Oil-Filled/dp/B000TGDGLU

That is very close to what I have and it’s been working for over 10 years.

0 points

·

4th Dec 2016

Where are you? Do you have an Amazon wish list for a heater? I can tell you that this type of heater is very effective.

0 points

·

13th Jan 2016

If the landlord doesn’t care that you’re staying there rent free, just buy a couple of electric radiator heaters, like this.

If your heat is already electric, they shouldn’t cost you much more to run.

I’d also start saving up to move to a new place once the landlord gets tired of having you there.