What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2″ 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair?

A total of 60 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

9th Aug 2018

> JLabs Obj2

I really like these Dayton Audio and they are $38 shipped from Amazon.

1 point

·

12th Jun 2018

I really like the Dayton bookshelf speakers. If you have a small budget, I find these to sound pretty damn good for the cost.

1 point

·

16th Jun 2017

I’m almost definitely going to buy these Dayton Speakers, and my range for a Pre-Amp would be like ~30$. Do you have any suggestions in that range?

He says the DP75 includes everything and is fully functional but may need a new stylus, do you have any idea what a replacement might cost?

Thank you for helping me figure this out, I’m brand new to vinyl

1 point

·

13th Jan 2017

Yep, nomnommish gave you great advice for a budget system to listen to CDs if you don’t need tons of power. Another speaker option that might work well for this setup would be these Dayton B652s.

Good luck with your system. Let us know how it works out for you.

1 point

·

5th Dec 2016

Thank you so much, the C200 is definitely the one I’ll get then, I do just want to be sure if you could confirm that speakers like this (Dayton Audio B652) will hook up straight to it and work, thank you again.

1 point

·

29th Jan 2016

Appreciate it.

How would those differ from, say, these?

EDIT:
And if I get those, do I need an amplifier as well as a pre-amp? Sorry that this is such a noob-y question, audio is a foreign language.

1 point

·

1st Aug 2015

Hey guys, just have a set-up compatibility question. I have a Pioneer PL-550 turntable and a late 80s (read “subpar”) receiver. I’m looking to get some new speakers as my Kenwood JL-880s (also read “subpar”) are getting more uneven by the day. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Dayton B652s and just wanted to know if my turntable would sound good with these guys. My budget is pretty restricted so the price definitely sounds good to me. If anyone has some other suggestions up to around $75, feel free to give me some information. Thanks!

1 point

·

17th Apr 2015

I second the Lepai suggestion with a pair of Dayton B52 speakers or something similar, this is what I have. A good sub is a little more expensive so I haven’t gotten one yet.

The Lepai has a 3.5mm input to connect to your computer’s speaker out. I’m very happy with my setup

5 points

·

13th May 2021

… no?

Bose isn’t cheap. Bookshelf speakers are. I got a pair of $50 bookshelf speakers and a $25 amp and it sounded far more neutral than Bose’s typical sound signature.

That’s not to say that Bose doesn’t have its place. My dad has issues with high-pitched noises, so he prefers Bose and their now-defunct Soundlink III speakers. And I’m pretty impressed by their tiny Micro and sunglasses. But saying that Bose is the best option for the average joe who’s “not going to design your room around your speakers” is just silly.

4 points

·

19th Oct 2018

well to start, those are crap speakers either way. two 3.5″ woofers means they will have zero bass, which completely defeats the purpose of tower speakers

second, you screwed up by not doing proper research. most speakers (aka passive speakers) have wire terminals where you connect them to an amplifier

you can buy a cheap amp on Amazon for $20 which will work. but my honest recommendation is to sell those speakers for whatever you can get and getting these Dayton bookshelf speakers and this Lepai amp. it’ll sound better than those ‘towers’ and take up less room. yes, it’ll cost a bit more (depending on what you can sell the Monster towers for), but if you plan on listening to anything bass heavy, you’ll appreciate the better quality speakers (note: yes I know the B652s don’t measure anywhere near flat, but for a layman, they’re a good first step)

3 points

·

16th Feb 2018

Dayton Audio B652 Bookshelf Speakers These will run ya a tad over $35 shipped via Amazon and are the best budget speakers I have ever owned. I still use em with my secondary setup. but for the price they will sound better than most cheap Bluetooth setups. Good luck!

2 points

·

19th Jul 2021

Inexpensive alternative

Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2″ 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002RMPHMU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_G2T301TSN1A7R543EDXF

Lepy LP-2020A Class-D Hi-Fi Digital Amplifier with Power Supply Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FZKA28Y/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_DR9JW8YAMD99F42HTSGT

I use this setup in my office alongside this preamp

ART DJ Pre II Turntable Phono Preamplifier with RIAA EQ and a RCA Male to 2 RCA Male Audio Cable 3′ https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0777NFCC5/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_BRPTQMMXWW08Y9WFQGYF

I plug my PC into the amp when I’m not using it with the record player. This is for my “crappy setup” (LP 120 with preamp ripped out) but it sounds a lot better than the $$ would have you think

2 points

·

17th Nov 2020

That amp seems fine. It’s small and put out 25W.

I’m not sure I’d get those particular speakers. These Monoprice speakers will be in stock on 11/20/20. They’re $51.00.

​

Or this pair of Dayton Audios for $45.00.

1 point

·

1st Feb 2022

The older RT81 isn’t worth buying anymore since the newer Fluance RT82 adds the new optical sensor speed controlled servo motor for much lower wow and flutter and speed variation and the speed won’t drift since the sensor is monitoring the speed 400 times a second. Plus a $19 Behringer PP400 phono stage preamp that is around the same quality or a bit better than the one in the RT81. With the rest of the budget Dayton Audio B652 $49 starter speakers with included speaker wire powered by a Moukey MAMP2 $29 mini amp with Bluetooth. Then OP can later upgrade the speakers, amplification and phono stage premap one part at a time.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2022

I need some help with my vinyl setup, all this stuff confuses me and I’d just like to get it working

I have the heydey turntable. It has a built in preamp.

I ordered the Dayton Audio speakers, expecting this to be all I needed, but it only came with red and black wires that were snipped at the end (like they were ready to be soldered)

Looking into it more I think I still need a regular amplifier. Can anyone give me a good cheap recommendation, and let me know if I need to solder or buy any wires?

1 point

·

5th Dec 2021

Or another lowest budget options is a mini amp and passive speakers, 6.5″ Dayton Audio B652 $49 with included speaker wire powered by a Pyle PFA330BT $29 mini amp with Bluetooth. Plus a low cost $19 Behringer PP400 phono stage preamp and an RCA cable.

1 point

·

16th May 2021

I’m new to setting up any turntable or audio system. My goal is to build a vinyl record-playing setup from scratch on a tight budget. My question is, are these the necessary components for a vinyl setup? Do I need anything more, or are one of these parts unneccessary?

Turntable: Audio-Technica AT-LP60X-GM https://www.bestbuy.com/site/audio-technica-stereo-turntable-black-gunmetal/6344419.p?skuId=6344419

Speaker: Dayton Audio B652 https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU/

Amplifier: Douk Audio G5 100W Bluetooth 5.0 https://www.amazon.com/Douk-Audio-Bluetooth-Amplifier-Wireless/dp/B07X93W1PM/ref=sr_1_10?dchild=1&keywords=bluetooth+mini+amp&qid=1594609405&sr=8-10

Will buying these do the trick?

Thanks a ton for any help!

1 point

·

9th May 2021

What is a nearby town or zip to search for used options?

Stereo Receiver: Yamaha R-S202 ~~$149~~ $99 with Bluetooth.

Speakers:

Plus OFC Speaker Wire or cheaper Basic CCA then How to Install Speaker Wire and How To Strip Speaker Wire.

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

28th Apr 2021

Pass on the PA10 and get a stereo receiver with a built in phono stage preamp and passive speakers. Also consider buying the RT82 directly from Fluance for a bit better customer service.

For the best value what is a nearby town or zip to search for used options?

New stereo receiver: Sony STRDH190 $149 with a built in phono stage preamp with adjustable gain and Bluetooth.

New passive speakers:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Plus OFC Speaker Wire or cheaper Basic CCA then How to Install Speaker Wire and How To Strip Speaker Wire.

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Stands, Accessories and Vinyl Care.

1 point

·

23rd Apr 2021

The small 4″ mid bass driver $140 Edifiers are going to be a sound quailty bottleneck for the $300 turntable. Consider spending just as much on the speakers as on the turntable or buy used speakers for $150 that were originally over $300. What is a nearby town or zip to search for used options?

If you get the RT82 you could get a stereo or AV receiver or integrated amp that has a headphone jack and a built in phono stage preamp instead of starting with an external phono stage preamp to an amp or powered speakers.

$300: Sony STR-DH190 $149 stereo receiver with Bluetooth and a built in phono stage preamp

Speakers to go with the Sony:

If you must buy new $100 speakers then start with Douk Audio G5 Bluetooth 2 Channel Amplifier $43 or Nobsound G3 2 Channel Bluetooth Amp $55 adds tone controls plus 6.5″ Dayton Audio B652 $53 shipped speakers with included basic speaker wire. Then you can later upgrade one part at a time.

If you must start with small 4″ powered speakers for a small room then the 4″ Jamo S 801 PM ~~$299~~ $149 on sale are a better buy than the Edifiers.

If you need an external phono stage preamp then Technolink TC-750LC $49 with adjustable gain, Rolls VP29 $49 made in the USA may be just as good as the Fluance PA10 or the U-turn Pluto 2 $99 new improved version should be better.

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Stands, Accessories and Vinyl Care.

1 point

·

23rd Apr 2021

Which $200 Edifiers?

For a $400 budget with a receiver and passive speakers:

Turntable: Crosley C6 BT $129 or Fluance RT80 $199.

Stereo Receiver: YAMAHA R-S202 ~~$149~~ $99.

Speakers:

Add speaker wire then 4 ways to strip wire.

​

However I recommend starting with a better turntable, entry level mini amp and passive speakers, then upgrade to a stereo or AV receiver later, then at the same time or later a speaker upgrade.

  • Fluance RT82 $299 with auto stop and then the new optical sensor speed controlled servo motor for much lower wow and flutter and speed variation. Pass on the older RT81 that along with the RT80 lacks the new speed sensor. Pass on the RT83 since the cartridge is not any better.
  • Audio-Technica AT-LPW40WN $299 has the same speed sensor motor as the RT82, adds a basic built in phono stage preamp, but does not have auto stop.
  • Crosley C10 $286 is designed by Pro-ject, see the Pro-ject tonearm on it, and is basically an Essential III.
  • Or look for a good vintage turntable from a seller who fixes them up and has them ready to demo for you before buying it.

Starter speakers:

  • Douk Audio G5 Bluetooth Amp $43 plus 6.5″ Dayton Audio B652 $53 shipped speakers with included basic speaker wire.
  • AT-LPW40WN has a built in phono stage preamp. For the RT82 or Crosley C10 start with an $18 Pyle PP444 phono stage preamp and upgrade later or your later receiver upgrade may already have a better built in phono stage preamp.

Or start with a used stereo or AV receiver and used passive speakers for around $100. What is a nearby town or zip to search for used options?

1 point

·

9th Jan 2018

That’s the brand, but not the seller. Nowhere does it say “Kenwood” is the seller.

>Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.

Looks to me like it’s very clearly sold by Amazon. That’s what Amazon says. “…sold by Amazon.com.”

As opposed to this item

https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1515511545&sr=8-2&keywords=dayton+audio

Which is listed as being sold by Parts-Express, the ultimate owner of Dayton Audio.

http://locator.kenwood.com/usa/car/

Do YOU see Amazon listed there? I don’t.

Amazon’s return policy is not equivalent to a warranty. Their basic, blanket policy is only 30 days and covers new, unopened items as far as I know. This is different for holiday-season purchases which are returnable until the end of January. Further, the actual return policy depends on the item and seller. They may do different things in practice but policy is as linked below.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html/ref=orc_hp_s_retpol?ie=UTF8&nodeId=901888#

Crutchfield has a 60 day return policy.

https://www.crutchfield.com/support/returns.aspx

Finally, there’s no fixed budget given. So other than not spending more than is necessary to get the desired results, there’s not reason to be cheap to the point of screwing one’s self over. IF you can’t afford to buy much you for sure can’t afford to buy twice and throwing away warranty coverage will lead to doing just that many times.

Edit – words

1 point

·

1st Jun 2019

Speakers on Amazon: Dayton Audio B652 with Lepy LP-2020A plus speaker wire.

1 point

·

15th Aug 2018

Well, I definitely sympathize with the pet issue, though I just let my cat do cat stuff and don’t really worry about it. Yeah, the corners of the couch have been clawed a bit, but if it makes the cat happy, who am I to judge?

Anyway! What about a 2.0 to 3.0 to 3.1 setup? You’d start with a basic receiver and a pair of decent bookshelf speakers, then add a center channel, and finally a subwoofer. If you’re buying $100-200 soundbars every year or two, you should be able to afford incrementally building up your system at a similar rate.

You’d need a rack or cabinet to keep the receiver on/in, if you don’t already have something like that near the TV. Wiring is very simple, no need to go in-wall or anything, although you might want a short vertical run inside the wall (very easy to do in most cases) in order to wall mount the speakers. If you put them up around the height of the center of the TV, the pets will hopefully leave them alone. You could also use some paintable wire hiding channel with wall mounted speakers.

Even without a subwoofer, I think a basic 2.0 system with good speakers will sound better than either of those soundbars. Grab this receiver and a pair of dirt-cheap but OK speakers and you’re out the door for under $200, leaving a bit of room for wall mount brackets. If you’re open to the $150 for a receiver plus another $100-$150 for speakers, whole worlds of stuff opens up – just post up and you’ll get a ton of great suggestions for those.

1 point

·

12th May 2018

For reference: Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002RMPHMU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_8YH9AbXVB7Y0A

1 point

·

13th Dec 2017

I’ve heard good things about these.

1 point

·

18th Aug 2017

Next stupid question.
What’s the difference?

The kind I bought has this in the description: Power handling: 40 watts RMS/75 watts max

This is what I got
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RMPHMU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2017

What’s your budget for headphones/speakers? A relatively cheap, but quality option would be to pair these Dayton B652 with a cheap amp like this. I got this setup about 4 years ago and they still sound great albeit you’ll get distortion at higher volume. They get surprisingly loud before distortion though.
For more in depth reviews/analysis, I reccomend checking out Zeos. Used his guide when i picked out my speakers.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2017

I have a pair of Daytons that were only $55

1 point

·

20th Jan 2017

That looks like the perfect solution for me. Could you reccomend some budget desktop speakers to pair with it and the cables I would need?

Edit: I’m Currently using Logitech S-220 (https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836121014) and only the right channel works so anything would be an upgrade. I don’t use the speakers much and have been looking for a decent DAC/Amp where I didn’t have to keep unplugging the headphones.

Anyway, would something like these Dayton Audio B652 (https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8) work? Thanks

1 point

·

21st Oct 2016

Honestly, the best thing for you to do would be to hunt for a bargains on the used market. Even then, you’ll have to be thrifty. Unfortunately, stereo equipment is expensive, especially if you’re looking for something above the budget consumer-grade.

Be that as it may, challenge accepted. I managed to put something together that should meet all your requirements, save for the sub. You’re going to be out of luck, even the worst power subs float around the $100 range for something that won’t disappoint. Again, best to save and watch the used market. Places like craigslist, ebay, thrift stores, and pawn shops can yield some serious deals.

Anyways, here’s a decent, albeit very entry-level, full system with bluetooth. It includes everything you’ll need to hook it up:

Dayton Audio B652

Lepy LP-2024A+ Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier

Hapurs Bluetooth Music Receiver

HDE Dual RCA

GE 72618 25-Feet Speaker Wire

Total: $101.58

If you’re shopping places like Amazon, something like this is the best bang for your buck that you’re going to get.

Edit: Forgot to include price.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2016

Buying a 5.1 Logitech set will probably make the sound clear, yes, but you still wouldn’t be able to adjust the balance of voice and ambient sounds.

$100 budget? Maybe a pair of these: https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU
and this amp https://www.amazon.com/Lepy-LP-2024A-Amplifier-Stereo-Supply/dp/B00ULRFQ1A

What would I do? I would crank the volume up and listen to the sound as it was meant to be heard. Normal speaking volume and loud-ass explosions.

Other than clear the voice, the other thing I can think of is boosting the volume of the center channel of a 5.1 system, but not sure if you can do that with the logitech system through the TV. You might have to do it through a true AV receiver and real home theater speakers. Gonna need more than $100 for that.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2016

One of my speakers blew today, and I’m in need of replacements. I don’t have much to spend (at least right now), but any stereo sound is better than tinny mono sounds.

I was looking at both the B652s and the B652-AIRs. Anyone have experience with either?

I’ve checked CL, and there’s not much, so it’s looking like fast shipping is the way to go.

1 point

·

4th Aug 2016

Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B002RMPHMU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_p33OxbK7HJXX3

Try these along with an amp and dac

1 point

·

17th Mar 2016

The speakers are a pair of Dayton B652. How much room is usually necessary? There will be at least 3.6 inches between the ports and the corner as I’m planning on facing them out at 45 degrees see diagram.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2016

You could go with something like these:

Dayton speakers

Lepai amp

It’s not perfect but still better than any “PC speakers” you’ll get for the same price. Plus you can always change the amp or speakers as you choose, going modular with audio (more home-theater style) offers so many more options.

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2016
1 point

·

23rd Jan 2016

I’ve been considering getting some nice shelf speakers (live in a small apartment, don’t want to deal with too much) if I buy some speakers like this and get this amp is that sufficient? Do I even need an amp? I am guessing I do because the TV puts out pretty poor audio right now. Is this a decent set up? I have had decent headphones for a while and I started with ATH-AD700s and upgraded to a DAC + HD600s so I am looking for the ATH m50 for shelf speaker set ups, a great beginner set.

1 point

·

28th Dec 2015

> Dayton b652s

http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU

For the money, you can’t beat ’em. You’ll have to get yourself a decent amp tho

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2015

These speakers look pretty good. Well under price and for the amount you pay, surprisingly decent sound quality.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2015

Dayton B652s would hit that window. They’re pretty slick, for $42.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2015

Problem with Canada is that sometimes it’s hard to find availability for certain products, and right now the exchange rate is killing us.

Can’t get the Micca MB42X’s on amazon.ca … and on amazon.com they are currently $120 US, which is ~ $150 Canadian, plus tax, shipping, and duty. If you live close to the US boarder… sometimes it can be worth shipping for free to a US address, driving down and picking it up… Other Micca speakers on amazon.ca are really price inflated.

You could try going with…

Dayton Audio B652’s

Lepai TA2020 Amp

16 gauge speaker wire, can’t find less than 50 feet for cheaper…

This comes to $115, but then the estimated shipping and taxes add an additional $75 (for my location, might be better for you) which still puts you at ~ $190.

With powered monitors you don’t need an amp. You could maybe try something like this?

Pioneer Active S-DJ50X

$225 so over double your budget but with free shipping.

/r/Zeos has good guides for budget audio gear.

1 point

·

22nd May 2015

I picked up a nice Onkyo M-282 amplifier for free recently, and I’m wondering if it’s safe to use with my fairly small Dayton B652’s. I was told that the amplifier could be too powerful and blow out the speakers. Any idea if that’s the case? How would you normally determine that?

1 point

·

18th Feb 2015

Dayton B652 and Lepai LP-2020a+. Cheap and simple. I started with this hooked up to a TV with an RCA to aux cord. It’s nothing fantastic, but it sounds a hell of a lot better than TV or laptop speakers, all for $67. I used this exact setup for a few months, and it was fine.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2015

Bookshelf speakers are great value, but need an amplifier. I’d recommend getting a pair of Dayton B652s, A Lepai LP-2020A+, speaker cable, and audio cable.

All together, it’s about $80, and will sound better than any computer speakers at a similar price.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2015

I’d go with a decent 5.1 receiver (used) in the $100 range so you can add on a little down the road.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B000LTIK16/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used

These speakers are damn good for 40 bucks a pair.

http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU

Save another $40 and add the best $100 woof you can find. (dayton 10″ for example)

1 point

·

8th Jan 2015

You wouldn’t need a preamp but the crossover in it. You can get that separately – and do a better job at separating frequencies than the sub out on the vanatoo would. You could actually obtain that same thing without anything, just an RCA splitter, merely relying on the sub’s cutoff frequency.

Anyway I have the suspicion that you’re spending your money on the wrong thing (flat response studio monitors):

if quality isn’t what you’re after (nothing wrong with that, you just have to set your priorities straight), save your money with some Dayton B652 (http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-Bookshelf-Speaker/dp/B002RMPHMU) or, better, T652 towers if you have the space (http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-2-Way-Tower-Speaker/dp/B00Q3MG05S), get a T-amp such as the Muse in OP and spend the rest in a sub. You’ll be happier.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2013
1 point

·

13th Apr 2012
1 point

·

22nd Dec 2012

These bookshelfs are cheap and sound pretty decent, I can’t tell if they’re sold where you are though

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002RMPHMU

1 point

·

5th Mar 2012

OK.. At that budget I can hack you together something that SHOULD be loud enough and still somewhat portable. How DIY proficient are you?

What I propose is the following. Four Bookshelves so two sets of these B652’s and to power them with each set wired in series you get this 50 wpc T-amp

Wiring the speakers in series will do two things. Lower the impedence from 4 to 8Ω(which I know to be mislabeled on the site) and raise the output potential +3db which may not seem like much but will probably do in this case.

Just attach the whole thing together or in two sets and the amp on a board or something and you will be good to go. It is a bit over your budget but your request was rather special.

0 points

·

29th Nov 2017

speakers and amp

there’s really no reason to buy that Klipsch setup

0 points

·

24th Oct 2014

Alright. I am so sorry that I’m being annoying..

how do these

SONY SS-B1000

compare to these

Dayton B652 $42.50

Micca MB42 $59.95

Micca MB42x $79.95

What is the best bang for your buck?

Could you put the speakers in Best to Worst?

I plan on gettin the Lepai 2020A+ unless there is a better amp for the price and then adding a Power Supply Upgrade

0 points

·

26th Mar 2013

Ah. How about using these speakers with this amplifier? To my understanding I also need this wire. Does this sound good? Could you run me through the process of setting this up to my PC?

0 points

·

24th Oct 2012

Have you checked out the Dayton Audio B652’s? They’re cheap and they’ve got solid review across the board from the audiophile community.