What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Creative Gigaworks T20 Series II Multimedia Speakers [PC]?

A total of 7 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2019

The desk is from Ikea. I checked a about two weeks ago and it was still in stock.

The speakers are – Creative GigaWorks T20 Series II (2.0) Multimedia Speakers with BasXPort Technology https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B001IZZ2PE/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_.LumCbX5CRWZV

They are pretty good for the price range.

1 point

·

11th Mar 2016

I had this problem and I couldn’t really find any speakers that weren’t absurdly expensive that had that kind of cable length. I ended up buying a monitor mount and mounting all my monitors above my desk and putting my speakers lying down below my monitors. Sorry for not being much help but just a suggestion 🙂

4 points

·

28th Feb 2016

So let’s cut the crap. /u/Brave_and_afraid

I disagree with most of the suggestion given out here. There are great parts in them, but it’s all without thinking about your money and they seem to just want to reach this magical £2500 budget you’ve provided us with.
Without having a good rationale behind it for selecting these products.

It feels a little bit like /u/Anon10W1z and /u/Bros1083 are 2 little children in kindergarten, trying to argue why they’ve made a much better sand castle.. compared to the other one.
While they both have great points, they’re just not very objectively thinking.

I will provide you with my standard list of videos to help you understand why I suggest these parts.
As well as a couple of great guides to help you build the PC.

I will also provide you with a rationale for each part later.. tonight (hopefully).
I have to start working now, have a deadline to hit tomorrow.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor£289.99 @ Amazon UK
CPU CoolerCRYORIG H5 Universal 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler£45.99 @ Ebuyer
MotherboardMSI Z170A SLI PLUS ATX LGA1151 Motherboard£104.72 @ Amazon UK
MemoryKingston FURY 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory£56.99 @ Ebuyer
StorageSamsung 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive£129.00 @ Amazon UK
StorageWestern Digital Blue 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive£58.98 @ Ebuyer
Video MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Video £539.59 @ Overclockers.co.uk
CaseFractal Design Define S ATX Mid Tower Case£61.99 @ Novatech
Power SupplyEVGA 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply£99.99 @ Amazon UK
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM (64-bit)£74.99 @ Ebuyer
MonitorDell P2414H 60Hz 23.8" Monitor£129.25 @ Amazon UK
MonitorAcer XF270HU 144Hz 27.0" Monitor£370.16 @ Dabs
KeyboardCorsair K70 RGB UK Wired Gaming Keyboard£116.70 @ Amazon UK
SpeakersCreative GigaWorks T20£55.00
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total£2133.34
Generated by Kiwiandapple

Learn about cool technology in only a couple minutes!


  • What is overclocking?: Here – 2:32 minutes.

  • What is the difference between i3, i5 & i7?: Here – 4:32 ◄ Important!

  • What is hyperthreading?: Here – 4:47 ◄ Important!

  • What is turbo boost?: Here – 4:05

  • CPU shopping guide: Here – 5:01 ◄ Important!

  • GPU shopping guide: Here – 4:11 ◄ Important!

  • How many cores do I need for gaming?: Here – 8:18 ◄ Important!

  • DDR3 vs DDR4 speeds: Here – 8:01 ◄ Important!

  • What are benchmarks?: Here – 5:21

  • Pre-built vs building your own?: Here – 6:04

  • Optical vs laser mouse: Here – 2:10

  • SSD vs HDD: Here – 4:05

  • What is resolution?: Here – 5:22 ◄ Important!

  • Different panel types: Here – 2:29 ◄ Important!

  • Monitor refresh-rate: Here – 5:46 ◄ Important!

  • What is G-sync?: Here – 5:52

  • What is Shadowplay?: Here – 3:59

  • Case air pressure: Here – 5:21

  • Case fan orientation: Here – 3:42

  • What is a NAS?: Here – 5:06

  • What PSU to buy?: Here – 5:12 ◄ Important!

  • What does 80+ mean?: Here – 3:02

Likely that TechQuickie got even more video’s that you can have a look at to get answers. It’s a great YouTube channel for easy, quickly explained questions about PC tech.


Guides


Now before you have a look at all these guides. The best guide in most cases will always be your MANUAL. Some manuals are garbage, but most of them are more than good enough to be able to help figure out most problems.

  • How to build an Intel 115x socket PC? This is my personal favorite because it goes in depth, but still keeps the video relatively short. It also got great camera work so you are able to follow all the steps very well.
    You have to install the aftermarket cooler right away, since you don’t get a stock cooler with this CPU!
    I decided to skip the start of the video. The reason being that the video is posted on 17th of May 2013, he gives the rationale of his selected parts at the start. This is a very long time ago, so the parts are very old, so no need to hear this out. But building a PC is still pretty much the same. No drastic changes.
    There are a lot of different build guides on the internet, but I really like this one. It’s easy to follow.

  • How to install a 2011(-3) CPU? Again not too complicated. But be aware, every motherboard is different. If unsure, check the manual!

  • How to install thermal compound? Now, to be clear! Every single heatsink will come with its own thermal compound. Even the intel/AMD stock heatsinks. So there is no need to buy this.
    It’s only recommended to buy when you either have very bad temperatures or when you want to overclock to the extreme. The temperature difference between the best and the “worst” thermal compound is a couple degrees Celsius.
    Be careful though! More is not better! It needs to have enough, but too much will increase the temperatures of the CPU. Thermal compound helps with the contact of the cooler + the CPU. The CPU + heatsink both have microscopically small gaps, which the thermal compound fills up to let the heat get too the heatsink.

  • How to install RAM? It’s very simple these days. For DDR4 it’s pretty much the same.

  • How to install Windows 8(.1) or 10 from an USB drive? You have to download “media creation tool” which is located at the bottom of the page (blue button). Run that program with a 4GB+ USB flash drive plugged into a PC. Then follow the simple steps and the program will make the USB drive bootable. After that all you have to do is build the PC and boot from that USB drive to install Windows.

  • How to set up your SSD & HDD? This video is another older video, but it works pretty much the same in Win 8/10. He does talk about a few things that aren’t very important, but it’s good to know.

  • How to overclock an Intel 1151 Skylake CPU? Again a simple video and not too long. They used an Asus motherboard which got different names in the BIOS compared to other brands. So you might have to look around a little bit. But in general they’re named very similar. I would personally start with a 1.2V & 44 multiplier. I might have been unlucky with the CPUs that I overclocked but 4,6GHz wasn’t running at 1.2Vs that often, just one so far.

  • How to use Ninite? This video explains it very well, as well as their recommendations. For security I advise to only get Avira (if you don’t mind to get an add every day; if you do mind – just use Microsoft Defender) & Malwarebytes. If you want to pay for an anti-virus; Webroot! Light weight; very high detection rate.

Hope you like it and If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask.

1 point

·

12th Aug 2019

I’ve had these for a number of years, never a problem. They look and sound great.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Creative-GigaWorks-Multimedia-Speakers-Technology/dp/B001IZZ2PE/

1 point

·

3rd Dec 2017

Sorry for being a bit late.

Okay no problem. I am not sure how much space you’ve got, so I’ll provide a couple options.

Wired options

NameReviewPrice
Creative T20 Series IIClick£63.40
Bose Companion 2 Series IIIClick£89.95
Edifier R1280TClick£89.99
Logitech Z200Click£22.97

It’s interesting that there are a lot of awesome speakers under £100, but once you go above it. I am not so sure if they are worth the extra cost compared to the ones I listed here. Note that I did not list them in any order, just have a quick look at the reviews and decide based on that!

Bluetooth options

NameReviewPrice
Gigabyte WiFi + Bluetooth cardClick£27.60
TaoTronics TV Sound BarClick£75.99
Edifier R1700BTClick£129.99

There are a lot more options for Bluetooth speakers, but I am lazy!
Remember that you have to get a Bluetooth adapter as well. You can get a cheap USB one, but I personally would recommend a PCI-e solution. But if you must, feel free – with an USB adapter you have the advantage that you can use it on other devices.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2015

These speakers are awesome, absolutely love them on my Xbox One, plus they look pretty stylish too.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B001IZZ2PE?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

Audio quality, bass and loudness is awesome and you have separate controls for each. You can either plug them into your controller via the Stereo Headset Adapter but I’d recommend buying a DAC (Digital to Analog Converter). It is USB powered, you plug it into the SPDIF port on the back of the Xbox One, then plug your speakers into it.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00IXN6L3G?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

USB speakers as you mention won’t work on the Xbox One they need to use the jack plugs for audio and not USB.

0 points

·

16th Mar 2016

Creative

Logitech

Those are probably the best ones i could find around your price range, and you can probably get cheaper versions of those items