What is the opinion of Reddit about the
County Line Kitchen – Cold Brew Mason Jar Coffee Maker, Durable Glass, Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Filter and Lid – 2 Quart, (64 oz)?

A total of 23 reviews of this product on Reddit.

6 points

·

6th Oct 2020

I personally go with Stok if im buying prepackaged cold brew, I think it has the best taste to cost ratio. If you are looking for a cheaper cold brew option, this little set up has been a game changer for me. Fill it with your favorite coffee grounds, pour water over, let sit for 48 hours in the fridge, and it makes enough concentrate for the whole week. I would reccomend getting a second jar though if you want to have a continuous supply, since there is the 2 day brew time, its just a standard wide mouth so easy to find.

3 points

·

12th Nov 2020

The cheapest option is to brew it yourself. I used to brew my own cold brew coffee, I used a kit from Amazon that was a metal filter and a Mason jar like this. If you have a Mason jar you can just get the filter.

Beware that you’ll want a coarse ground coffee instead of fine ground, and the coffee you like for hot brewing might not be very good for cold brewing.

I’m lazy now and just brew a pot of coffee the night before and put it in the fridge, not the same as cold brew but it works for me.

2 points

·

26th Sep 2018

I like this model I got off Amazon a lot too:

Cold Brew Coffee Maker – 2 Quart – Make Amazing Cold Brew Coffee and Tea with This Durable Mason Jar with Stainless Steel Filter and Stainless Steel Lid https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_pI4QBbEYT38HX

I try not to use plastic anything so suited my preferences a little better and cleans up super well.

1 point

·

21st Dec 2021

It’s really easy to make, especially with how much they charge you for it. Here’s what I use
Cold Brew Mason Jar Coffee Maker by County Line Kitchen – 2 Quart, 64 oz – Durable Glass Jar, Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Filter, Stainless Steel Lid, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_apanp_Q5nHjrFi4ml7q

1 point

·

1st Nov 2021

[Non affiliate link](county line kitchen – cold brew mason jar coffee maker, durable glass, heavy duty stainless steel filter and lid – 2 quart, (64 oz) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_Y99MZQP4A56SAXS8F88H?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1)

This is what I bought. Gets the job done, not much else to say about it. I mean it’s just a filter so you don’t need to strain it later so not anything fancy but it does do the job so.

I also buy a nicer cold brew blend that a local roaster sells that has a rich sightly sweet dark chocolate flavor profile that’s absolutely amazing and grind it myself at around a 30ish setting on my virtuoso. Most common reason for cold brew is around the 5:1 water to coffee ratio. Recommend bloom your coffee with hot water then add cold water and leave in the fridge from 12 to 24 hours.

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2021

Cold brew. I got this a couple years ago and I love it. I think it would work well for what you are wanting to do. Just add your poison then throw it in the cooler overnight.

County Line Kitchen – Cold Brew Mason Jar Coffee Maker, Durable Glass, Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Filter – 2 Quart, 64 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_WH87Q6HESTW95R6BB67N?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

19th Aug 2020

Super late to your question, but the way to make cold brew is done by using a ratio of 1:6 coffee:water.

Ideally, you would have a light to medium roasted coffee beans ground to a coarse setting. Using a cheesecloth or a fancy filter (or something like this product), you place the grounds in the filter and let them steep in filtered water at room temperature from 10-18hrs.

1 point

·

13th Aug 2019

I know you already have a good amount of responses, but I thought I’d chime in as well. I’ve been using this. I pour my grounds in the center, fill with water, leave in the fridge for 24 hours, and boom, coffee for the week!

1 point

·

2nd May 2019

My all time favorite is cold brew – just throw grinds and water into the fridge the night before, and in the morning it’s the best thing ever. But I hate cleaning up my brew jar afterwards, so I rarely make it. I use Keurig instead – only one cup to wash after, and honestly I will reuse the same cup for an entire week without washing it.

Try cold brew, I think you might love it. (Best during summer months, obviously). I got my cold brew jar on Amazon.

Edit: this one

1 point

·

19th Feb 2019

cold brew maker
Consider that one as if you break the jar, you can easily replace it instead of something proprietary. I have a friend who uses it and loves it.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2017

I’ve done a few home setups using mesh strainers and cheese cloth and nut milk bags (heh heh heh). Tired of the tedium I started looking and once I saw this I knew I found my solution.

Cold Brew Coffee Maker – 2 Quart https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_auSBzbT17721T

I bought more Mason jars at Walmart (since their not proprietary for the strainer) and I’ll cold brew a batch of coffee, pull the strainer and do a batch of cold brew tea.

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2016

I bought one of these Cold Brewer Still need a paper filter for the bottom of the batch but works really well. Requires coarse or French Press grind, so again the need for a grinder.

4 points

·

28th Jun 2021

i can, without hesitation, tell you that in my one time of semi-successfully using it…this cold brew kit is simple and effective.

3 points

·

13th Sep 2016

Must thank /u/nom_de_guerre_ for the comments made in this thread

Been experimenting for several weeks using the ball jar and paper filter method and had amazing beginners luck. Really rich pleasant coffee, actually slightly sweet, no acid. So convinced I was on the right track I bought one of these 64oz Cold Brewer from Amazon. First batch NOPE! All the little subtle flavors were gone. None of the little interesting nuances that made it taste like a coffee shop were gone. The stainless steel sleeve that filters the grounds from the brew had to be the culprit as that is the only thing I did different. Made 2 more small batches to confirm and the Stainless Steel Filter batch was tasteless. So now I roughly follow their ratio of two cups coarsely ground beans and fill the large Ball Jar to the top. Tightly closed I shake it it a few times the first day, top it off as the coffee absorbs some of the water and then leave it in a shady corner for 16 to 24 hours. Filter it with paper filters into smaller Ball jars and cut with water, milk, or just ice for ice coffee. Makes enough coffee to last the two of us several days. This is the first recipe I used to make the little batches NYTimes but adjust everything till you find it to be to your liking.

tldnr: filtered water, coarse grind, no metal, paper filters.

1 point

·

9th Aug 2021

I’m not a big fan of the nespresso machines for reasons mentioned in this thread.

As an alternative, for 25 bucks you can get a 2 quart mason jar, a stainless steel filter, and make your own cold brew concentrate:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Dump your coffee in, fill with water, seal, and refrigerate for 24 hours. Drain the filter and you have delicious delicious cold brew coffee that is STRONG and ready to be diluted with milk or ice.

I’ve had the one in the link for 5 years now and it’s a lifesaver during the summer. Get a 2nd 2 quart mason jar or a carafe or something and you can have a steady stream of cold brew for a fraction of the nespresso.

My only complaint is that you use a *lot* of coffee making cold brew, but since it’s concentrated and you can dilute 1-3 or 1-2 it works out in the end.

1 point

·

4th Aug 2020

I use my $32 electric burr grinder. It is terribly inconsistent, but fast. I set it to grind 8-10 cups.

Put it in this 2 quart filter jar: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Overnight to a week in the fridge. I drink it full strength.

When empty I refill about 1/3 water, and get a second, weaker but serviceable brew.

1 point

·

24th Apr 2018

I use this mason jar and these bag filters. I fill up the filter bags full with fresh coarse-ground coffee, tie it, plop it in the jar, and let it sit 12-16 hours. It has turned out well with the few beans I’ve tried, yields a concentrate that I dilute 1:1 with water.

I used to use the steel mesh filter that came with that mason jar, but it lets through fine particulates from the grounds. You can probably get the jar for less, but you could probably use that and just pour through a filter without using the bags.

So… mess around with what you got, if it’s too strong, water it down. Doesn’t have to be a perfect science as long as it tastes good!

1 point

·

26th Jul 2017

See, now you got me looking into things – I might get <strong>this one</strong>, it has good reviews, and I’d love to make this process simpler…

1 point

·

10th Apr 2017

It’s what we used before switching to “cold” brewing. We still have it, and use it when we forget to brew the night before. You can get a reusable filter for it.

This is what we use now.

0 points

·

4th Dec 2017

But this: Cold Brew Coffee Maker – 2 Quart – Make Amazing Cold Brew Coffee and Tea with This Durable Mason Jar with Stainless Steel Filter and Stainless Steel Lid https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01ATJ6AJG/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_hlmjAbEP56YCV