What is the opinion of Reddit about the
COSRX BHA 4% Blackhead Power Liquid 3.38 fl.oz / 100ml, Blackhead Remover, Pore Minimizer, Korean Skin Care, Animal Testing Free, Paraben Free?

A total of 8 reviews of this product on Reddit.

27 points

·

30th Dec 2019

NO. Try Cosrx BHA Blackheads Power Liquid. It’s very gentle and moisturizing. More gentle than Paula’s Choice BHA and far more gentle than Stridex pads.

2 points

·

17th Jun 2021

Ah. That makes complete sense then. You could try COSRX BHA 4% Blackhead Power Liquid which is milder then PC’s if you find PC’s to be too strong. It’s made with betaine salicylate which is milder and gentler than salicylic acid, and better suited for sensitive skin, and it’s pH is 4 which is on the higher end of the effectiveness range for a BHA (I believe BHA works best between a pH between 3 and 4. PC’s is ~3.2–3.8).

1 point

·

8th Jun 2021

just thanked another commenter on this post for their rec – COSRX BHA Blackhead Power Liquid

let me know if you want details of how/when to use !

1 point

·

24th May 2021

heya,I need some help 🙂
Can anyone explain me what is the difference between a BHA toner and a BHA exfoliant,Like i have read toners are not really necessary and Exfoliants should be done 1-2 times a week?
Can i use this as an exfoliant,The cosmetic store where i went,The person told me that this is a toner so i got confused 🙁
https://www.amazon.com/COSRX-Blackhead-Power-Liquid-100ml/dp/B073P6ZQ4V

12 points

·

12th Sep 2020

Pretty sure bha’s work to get rid of those. I’d try this one or this. But definitely head on over to r/SkincareAddiction and check their guides 🙂

3 points

·

27th Jul 2020

General rules:

  • I prefer “leave-on” products more than “wash-off” cleansers or scrubs to address acne, because that gives the active ingredients far more time to act on the problem area(s). All products discussed here are “leave-on” products unless otherwise specified.

  • All products are fragrance free unless otherwise specified.

  • I use all of these products, and I am still learning about skin care. What works for me may not work for you, and I may find better products in the future.

 

Face Acne

This product is mild enough to be used every day after cleansing. It combines leaf extracts and ferments with Sodium Salicylate (BHA) to refresh and tighten the skin and pores. In particular, the bridewort is supposed to loosen congestion in the pores, allowing that congestion to be removed. I have not yet used this in tandem with oil cleansing, but I am curious about the possible benefits there. People who are sensitive to fungus infections may also be sensitive to the ferments in this product.

Using 4% Betaine Salicylate (BHA), Niacinamide, Vitamin B-5 (Panthenol), Arginine, and Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid, essentially), all mixed with Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Water, this formulation addresses acne and skin texture directly. I like to use it a couple times a week at night.

This product uses Lactic Acid at 10% concentration to exfoliate the skin directly to improve skin tone and texture. I use this product at night one time a week to help remove any dead skin cells that have not naturally been removed in other ways, and to improve overall skin texture. A little goes a long way (I use 10 drops or less), and this formulation is very liquid, so be careful. Sunscreen should be applied in the days following usage of this product (and, really, every day) because it affects the skin’s natural UV resistance.

 

Body Acne

  • CeraVe SA Cream, 2-3 times per week as needed, $15-$30 depending on retailer and size of product purchased

This product is fairly phenomenal and produces results very quickly, in my experience. It’s not for the face, as it does have some comedogenic ingredients (Corn Oil – 3), however for the rest of your body, this cream combines Lactic Acid (AHA) and Salicylic Acid (BHA) to exfoliate the skin, and then adds Niacinamide, Ceramides, and Hyaluronic Acid to hydrate and tone the exfoliated skin.

Only two warnings for this product. First, AHAs increase sun sensitivity, so apply sunscreen after using this product as needed. Second, do not use this product all the time everywhere, to avoid salicylate poisoning. Use only where needed to address skin texture and acne, and otherwise use a high-quality moisturizer for your body. I like Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream for regular skin that is already in a good place.

 

Fungal Acne and other skin problems

While CeraVe’s SA Cream (above) can assist with many types of acne, it’s possible that if you’re dealing with fungal acne or other issues, it may not be enough. In this case, shampoo for dandruff can come to the rescue.

Products to try (these are all obviously “wash off” products):

  • Head and Shoulders (Pyrithione Zinc 1%)
  • Selsun Blue (Selenium Sulfide 1%)
  • Neutrogena T-Gel (Coal Tar 0.5%)

What you’re looking for here is the active ingredient. Generic brand items can work, so long as they contain the active ingredient at a similar concentration. I recommend doing your best to approximate what the issue is, and then using the product for at least 2 weeks consistently before ruling it out as helpful. When using these products to address skin conditions, I recommend leaving them on for at least 5 minutes before washing them off.

 

Best of luck achieving clear skin!

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2021

How is this routine for acne treatment? specifically, for cystic acne/whiteheads. Should I apply the BP in the morning with the BHA as well?

Morning:

  1. Cleanse with Cetaphil skin cleaner

  2. Apply Cosrx blackhead power BHA

Night:

  1. Cleanse with [Cetaphil skin cleaner](https://www.cetaphil.ca/product/cetaphil-gentle-skin-cleanser

  2. Apply [Acne.org BP[(https://store.acne.org/8-oz-treatment-2-5-benzoyl-peroxide)

1 point

·

17th Apr 2021

Hi, thank you for you reply! 🙂 I will try my best to reply punctually.

But I will begin with the last point, thank you for pointing out the niacinamide potency. Honestly, niacinamides are one of the gentlest and most stable active ingredients, generally very safe and actually calming! The only Niacinamide purge phase I’ve heard people go through happened on Asian skin, and since I’ve started directly with the 10% concentration half a year ago I don’t think there’s much that can happen anymore. Vit C and combining them is scarier for me personally, as Paula Begun from Paula’s Choice claims they’d actually go well together contrary to all expectations, but other than that everywhere you’ll go you’ll see claims that these two would interact (e.g. TO’s list/ chart of interactions).

Thank you for the oil recommendation, I was actually a bit confused about how to apply it correctly. I find it- the oil- to be quite necessary at the frequency rate of usage it is at right now, my skin being quite dehydrated in certain zones still.

Regarding the toner- no, afaik it’s not only HA, but I don’t think anything would be wrong with adding hydration to the skin and then ”locking it in” with hydrating cream- especially at night when I plan on doing the 7skins. In the morning I see it as a helpful products for layering the actives and letting them penetrate the pores. Also, since it’s a hydrating toner I plan to use with the 7skins routine it can’t really be stripping (it’s actually really recommended by ”connoisseurs” , and it has no irritants- the mention of ”no fragrance”). It’s not an exfoliating toner or w/e.

The blackhead power liquid is an exfoliant toner that has 4% BHA. You can check it out here: Amazon.com: COSRX BHA 4% Blackhead Power Liquid 3.38 fl.oz | Facial Exfoliant | Blackhead Remover | Korean Skin Care, Vegan, Cruelty Free, Paraben Free: Beauty.

Thank you, I will look into lactic and azealic acid, I was thinking that maybe BHA would be enough of an exfoliant?