What is the opinion of Reddit about the
CORSAIR Strafe Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – Red LED Backlit – USB Passthrough – Tactile and Quiet – Cherry MX Brown Switch (CH-9000092-NA)?

A total of 25 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

17th Oct 2016

I didn’t like the Strafe, it felt cheap and didn’t have the convenient volume knob other corsair keyboards have. I much prefer the K70 for the aluminum body (Strafe is all plastic) and it’s quality. Also note that the Strafe has no standalone multimedia controls at all. You adjust volume and such by holding a “function” key and pressing the corresponding F keys.

It is also $120 on Amazon, which is a better retailer:
https://www.amazon.ca/Corsair-Gaming-Strafe-Cherry-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1476672223&sr=8-1&keywords=Corsair+strafe

But take my advice and pay the $30 more for a K70, it’s worth it.

2 points

·

18th Jan 2017

(The Red)I mean it’s been ~ $90 on Amazon for a while now, the cherry red is 79.99

Edit: sorry for the confusion did not realise there was a version difference berween RGB & Red

https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI

1 point

·

20th Jul 2017

since you game and type you probably wanna go with brown.

here is a pretty good gaming KB: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1500508732&sr=8-2&keywords=strafe&th=1

no keyboard these days is mechanical and doesnt have at least lighting (no RGB), you can turn the lights off tho.
it should be really good for typing as well, since it has brown switches and incredible build quality.

1 point

·

18th Jun 2017

While I have you, is Corsair a good brand for keyboards? I found a keyboard that looks perfect for me. Corsair is who made my mouse and I love my mouse, but I don’t know about their keyboards? Is this a good keyboard you think? Oh, and do you think Brown switches provide a good enough clicky-clacky sound? Thank you so much for your help, I’m ignorant when it comes to keyboards so every bit of help means a lot.

1 point

·

15th Feb 2017

I think the m502 is one of the best mice on the market right now.

There are plenty of good keyboards out there. If typing is your main goal for it, maybe look for one with blue or brown switches, like this.
https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1487184059&sr=8-8&keywords=brown+mechanical+keyboard

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2016

Yes, and the Strafe with Brown switches is $80. But they’re Red LED not RGB. I don’t really care that much for RGB, but lots of people do. And it’s easily $25-50 more for RGB versions usually.

1 point

·

6th Apr 2016

If you are gonna try 4k (which is doable with some older games) then pick up a r9 390 over a 970 for the extra VRAM. Try to find a Gs/gq/g2 series evga psu the nex series is meh.

I’d ascend to mechanical keyboards and drop the “gaming” keyboard while you are at it.

https://www.amazon.ca/Corsair-Gaming-Strafe-Cherry-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1459967057&sr=1-1&keywords=strafe

The keyboard you have selected is just disgustingly overpriced. Mouse is fine though. Everything else is okay too.

3 points

·

24th Nov 2016

Same price is on amazon here if you don’t want to wait.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2016

I want to buy a mechanical keyboard and I saw one that looks good with good comments on Amazon but I’m worried that the fact it had kailh and not cherry mx might be a problem. I want a keyboard which I can feel the click but it’s not too noisy so I can’t play with friends and they don’t hate me for keyboard sounds.
So my questions are: is brown the right option for me?
Is kailh going to be a problem?
And which one of these is better (I like the white lighting better soon tend to want the kailh keys and not the cherry)
https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1483051589&sr=8-2&keywords=mechanical+keyboard++cherry+mx+brown

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B010M53SLU/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=scattech-20&camp=1789&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B00OBA6QYY&linkId=0075645c6b89f6172d9edabde8fb1764&th=1

1 point

·

11th Jul 2017

Corsair STRAFE Mechanical Gaming Keyboard, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown https://www.amazon.com/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_O2ezzbSBG4VNV

1 point

·

7th Jul 2017

If you want brown or blues in pretty sure the corsair strafe is 80$
https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI?th=1&psc=1
I suggest asking the guys over at r/mechanicalkeyboards too

1 point

·

15th May 2017

Amazon has it for a fair price. Depending on which switches you go with will determine how much you pay

1 point

·

15th May 2017

Indeed I do.

Keyboards- Long story short, I had to spend a few days looking for a keyboard for someone in Spain before. The problem here is getting one with the proper keys. Most keyboards sold are either for English or German when shopping online. I suggest actually buying locally, as almost everything will be on Amazon and you will WANT to test this out in person.

  1. Get a mechanical keyboard. You say “not important” but for a good computer build you really don’t want any obvious weak links or what we would call “bottlenecks”. In this case, having a shitty and cheap keyboard is a serious detriment. Especially if you use it for prolonged periods of time. If you have a shitty one you are much more likely to get wrist pains, and that fucking sucks. You want your hands to be slightly elevated over your wrists, laid out flat and comfortable. Wrist pads help me out tremendously, and mechanical keys have improved my typing by a factor of 2. Not kidding. Type Red switches are for FPS gaming, and they have a soft and spongy feel. More for holding a key down, versus typing. Type Blue switches are for typing, and have a loud “clicky clack” feel. Pretty awesome, and still able to game with of course. More pressure needed for the keys, so if you do FPS games all day it might be a bit annoying. Type brown are a nice mixture of both, and aren’t spongy. I use Brown switches myself, and like I said, I doubled my typing ability with a good keyboard. I use this model myself -> https://es.pcpartpicker.com/product/FQqbt6/gskill-keyboard-gkksr1c3km780s10na the price is WAY off of course, it can be had for $80. It has a modular setup, and an incredibly well designed layout. USB ports, mic in, headphone jack, red backlighting (also comes in RGB), and a fully aluminum build. I could club someone to death with this thing and it would still work. It doesn’t wiggle, bounce, or jostle at all, it’s fucking NICE. Here’s a picture of the setup. http://i.imgur.com/EpUaQ0x.jpg The default pics you find of that board online look gimmicky, but like I said, it’s modular.

Other keyboards of note are made by Corsair, Logitech, Eagletek, Cooler Master, “Cherry” (they make the switches I talked about), Das Keyboard (I think that’s the name), Steel Series…that sort of crap. Avoid Razer, they are plasticky shit.

Here’s a good one I found but it’s in english https://www.amazon.es/dp/B012B6X7MI/?tag=pcp02-21 As I said, it’s tough to find one in espanol. Look locally, it’s easier.

Ok, for mice… I strongly urge you to go Logitech. They make the best mice out there in my opinion. The G502 is tops https://es.pcpartpicker.com/product/VfYXsY/logitech-mouse-910004074 I personally use the G300s but it’s a bit small. Advantages of a GOOD gaming mouse are things like…

  1. Adjustable DPI (sensitivity) on the fly.

  2. Multiple profiles that you can swap between on the fly.

  3. More buttons, all programmable. Very useful.

  4. Weight. You don’t want a lightweight plasticky piece of shit (Razer COUGH).

  5. Adjustable weight. The G502 has this. My old mouse had that too. Felt fucking GOOD.

Other mice of note? Corsair makes good stuff too. Zowie apparently is really nice as well.

Oh here, https://es.pcpartpicker.com/product/29V48d/logitech-mouse-910003584 they make good wireless mice now. There are tons of options, but some are actually nicer than wired, which used to never be the case.

At the very minimum, buy this https://es.pcpartpicker.com/product/pWh9TW/gigabyte-mouse-gmm6800 I used it for years as a backup. It’s very comfy and pretty good, but it’s not anywhere near the higher end Logitech stuff.

Trust me, you might scoff and say it’s excessive, but how do you use a computer? With your hands and eyes. You wouldn’t skimp on a monitor, and a good mouse and keyboard are almost just as important. Otherwise you end up like me when I’m on my shitty fucking laptop. Mad and ready to give up because it’s such a pain in the ass to type with.

I use the Corsair “mousepad” but it’s more like a keyboard and mouse pad for the entire desk. Keeps it all clean, and it’s very well made. $15.

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2017

I have a Corsair Strafe with MX browns, same one seen below. I’ve had it about 2 months.

https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI

1 point

·

21st Feb 2017

I’m not going to recommend playing Tekken on a keyboard as IMO that’s a terrible idea but if you want a good Keyboard get WASD: http://www.wasdkeyboards.com/index.php/products/mechanical-keyboard.html?dir=asc&order=price

Here is another decent mechanical keyboard for a very reasonable price: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=zg_bs_402051011_8?_encoding=UTF8&refRID=GN2GG2268K8TJTNJ4BNH&th=1

Since your budget is limited I would get this for Tekken specifically:
https://www.amazon.com/HORI-Fighting-Commander-PlayStation-Officially-Licensed/dp/B01GVOFIAA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1487704480&sr=8-1&keywords=fight%2Bcommand

I’d also like to note that there are a ton of mechanical keyboard clones now on the market and it can be super confusing to pick a good one. I would suggest you look at Cherry MX switches only. In addition there are different Cherry switches so I’d suggest doing some research. This will help:
https://i.imgur.com/zCs7ibr.png http://i.imgur.com/z0iCr.jpg

1 point

·

14th Dec 2016

Since you asked for recommendation for a good backlit keyboard with the budget <$100, I can strongly recommend Cherry MX Brown / Gateron Brown Mechanical Keyboards as they are both good for gaming and daily use. Here are couple of good, proven mechanical keyboards:

  • Corsair STRAFE ($90) – Link
  • Corsair Gaming K70 LUX ($80) – Link
  • CM Storm QuickFire Rapid ($85) – Link

Or, you can go with some cheaper keyboards with Gateron Brown (Here is one that’s only $40, but the rather unconventional layout might confuse you).

/r/MechanicalKeyboards is a great resource on this subject, and I really suggest that you check them out.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2016

I got one of these recently and it’s pretty nice: Corsair STRAFE Mechanical Gaming Keyboard, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown https://www.amazon.com/dp/B012B6X7MI/

If you spend a little more you can get fancy RGB backlighting.

These are the different Cherry mechanical switch options: http://www.keyboardco.com/blog/index.php/2012/12/an-introduction-to-cherry-mx-mechanical-switches/

1 point

·

30th Jun 2016

I got a corsair mechanical keyboard with cherry MX switches and thought it would make the world of difference when typing. I don’t know, maybe I’m not the mechanical keyboard guy or something cause I don’t really like it. I would prefer a regular keyboard over a mechanical keyboard anyway. Maybe it’s just the keyboard I got.
This is the one.

1 point

·

14th Apr 2016

When I say cheap I mean like $250ish for the mouse and keyboard.

Right now these are what I am probably going to get Corsair Strafe and logitech g502

0 points

·

25th Nov 2018

https://www.amazon.com/CORSAIR-Strafe-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI

this is the strafe i have, owned it for a little over a year. Looks like wrist rest, volume scroll wheel.

0 points

·

4th Aug 2017

Well… I cant really find a keyboard thats around 50$ with browns (or reds), most of them are blues, so im just going to recommend the keyboard i’ve recommended to 2 users already, it costs 80$: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-STRAFE-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B012B6X7MI/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1501866743&amp;sr=8-9&amp;keywords=mechanical%2Bkeyboard&amp;th=1

Note: I dont own this keyboard so i dont know anything about the quality of the keyboard, but it’s Corsair and the reviews are pretty good