What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Corsair Gaming K65 RGB Compact Mechanical Gaming Keyboard – with Cherry MX Red Switches?

A total of 15 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

16th Mar 2017

I have a Corsair K65 RGB (the one in your picture), and it doesn’t have that gaming font. You can see for yourself on Amazon.

I do think the logo looks stupid though, I wish they would just stick to their old “ship” branding instead of their new “tribal” branding for Corsair Gaming.

2 points

·

8th Feb 2016

Unfortunately no, this is it. Much more expensive. Most keyboards with RGB in the name can do this, but it usually isn’t as simple as clicking a button.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2016

From my experience, corsair holds the lead for best lighting customization.

I’ve used a corsair k70, a razer chroma, and own a corsair strafe. Razer’s software was ok but doesn’t offer anything close to corsairs imo.

Ducky shine 5 is rgb but has no software so it is basic in comparison. The shine 6 isn’t out yet but I think may have software? No idea if it will be super great.

Most other RGB boards don’t use software either, so they will not even compare.

The Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) gets the job done once you figure it out. It has mostly everything you could want to do, it’s just sometimes annoying to set it up. It has the ability to be integrated into games and stuff but I personally don’t know how to do that as I think that requires you to write code outside of the CUE and I don’t play the right games to need that functionality. The unofficial linux driver for my strafe was actually better than the official CUE software for windows, which was annoying when I made a sweet light mode in linux and still am unable to get it to do exactly what I want in windows, but I got somewhat close and settled.

I was like you and wanted to drown myself in colour, I waited around until the DS5 came out so that most big people had a car in the race and picked the one that let me do the most, and that was and still is Corsair in my opinion.

The k70 I used had a noticeable issue with the power delivery to the leds when using 16.8 million colour mode, and had noticeable transitions between colours on gradient/fade effects when using non-16.8 mode. They bothered me but I am kind of picky so they may not bother you. I went with the Strafe RGB over the k70 because I had to have MX Blue switches and they were out of k70s with those at the time. The lighting problem with 16.8 was also solved in the Strafe.

There is a k65 on amazon for like $123 or something with red switches if you really don’t care, but I would recommend trying switch types first if at all possible to make sure you want a keyboard with reds.

1 point

·

3rd May 2017

My personal favorite keyboard would have to be the Corsair K65/K70/K95. The only difference being 10 key-less/standard/extended with macros.

If those are a bit out of your price range, then the Corsair Strafe would be a slightly more affordable option.

As for mice, that is entirely up to you. My favorite is my Roccat Kone Pure. However, some people are more in favor of the Logitech G502

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2017

Oh it’s not k70, it’s k65 rgb

1 point

·

12th Jan 2017

In your case, no. You don’t lose out on a thing.

Some good TKL boards, all are RGB but all come in single color variants if you prefer:

-K65 LUX/Rapidfire RGB (If you like Cherry reds): Amazon

-Cooler Master Masterkeys Pro S (This one has MX Browns but I’m sure you can get it in other switches): Amazon

-Razer Blackwidow (X) Chroma TE (If you like cherry blues, both are on the same page): Amazon

-Logitech G410 (Romer-G is a love it or hate it switch): Amazon

Your best bet is the Cooler Master imo, but all of them are good. There are also cheaper boards out there, of course.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2017

Corsair K70, I personally use the K65 (10-keyless) but for all intents and purposes they’re the same. If you like macros then the K95.

1 point

·

15th Nov 2016

In my opinion (I’m probably quite biased), I like Corsair for basic, reliable RGB products.

Keyboard – K65 (tenkeyless) and K70 (tenkey)

Mouse – I personally use the Corsair Sabre, but it is really up to personal preference (buttons, etc)

Mouse Pad – I use the SteelSeries QcK, but that’s only cus I grabbed it off Amazon because it was cheap and had good reviews. It is a decently big mousepad (~30x~25cm)

1 point

·

13th May 2016

The older-gen K65 is $136 USD here

The Strafe RGB is $140 USD here

The newer K65 RGB with MX Speed switches and a new lighting controller is $140 USD here

All 3 are available in other places worldwide, I’m just using American prices/retailers as a basis. Prices should scale similarly in your currency of choice.

1 point

·

14th May 2016

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-K65-RGB-Keyboard-Cherry/dp/B00P7Y4618

The k65 is smaller and doesn’t have a num pad which i don’t mind because I dont use it, and it comes with a wrist rest. the k70 just has a num pad, thats the only difference

1 point

·

10th Aug 2015

no problemo. You might wanna check your power supply too btw. I hear people saying not so good things about the corsair CX series. Even though I have one myself and it’s been good for 3 years, just thought I should let you know. You’re building a great pc, I don’t want it ruined by a shitty power supply. Just check around and if you still want the CX series I’m sure it’ll be fine. Good luck!

PS my keyboard + mouse combo I’m very happy with

corsair k65 RGB – http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-K65-RGB-Keyboard-Cherry/dp/B00P7Y4618

logitech G502 – http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16826104934