What is the opinion of Reddit about the
CM Storm QuickFire Rapid-i Fully Backlit Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with ActivLite Technology and Per-Key Lighting (Brown Switch Model)?

A total of 45 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2016

Keyboards are really subjective, I personally use a CM Storm QuickFire Rapid-i with brown switches. It really depends what form factor you like and which switch you are most comfortable typing on.

1 point

·

17th Oct 2016

There’s the Rapid-i for $87, which isn’t really under $80 but it’s pretty close.

Otherwise you can hunt for a QFR w/ Browns on /r/mechmarket or something, should be able to find one for pretty cheap.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2016

Personally, i looked at both of these as well along with the rapid i version. I ended up buying the rapid i and i love it, cherry mx blue switches. If you dont care about the numpad i would definitely recommend that. Backlighting is always nice too. oh and if you end up wanting brown switches its on sale on amazon right now: https://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264
cheers

1 point

·

15th May 2016

What does “medium/standard size” mean? Full-size? TKL?

If you want TKL, then a QFR-i fits your budget. They can be found on Amazon for a hair under your price.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2016

Cooler Master Rapid I

http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264

it is 90$ after rebate but already a mech with MX browns. I have the non LED version for ~3 years now and could not be more satisfied with it.

I would not “waste” money on a non mech now just to spend more later.

1 point

·

4th Oct 2015

I have a k70 right now that i got about a year ago just because it was a mechanical keyboard and recommended and stuff, but now i’ve been fiending over keyboards for a while and don’t really know what I want, but i want to upgrade because i understand the k70 isn’t the best with different key cap sizes and stuff.

I ultimately want a poker but kinda need the independent F keys because of hotkeys and stuff, so thats out. I think a tenkeyless works best for me as i dont really use the numpad.

I’ve been looking at the Rapid-I and thats the only one that seems affordable for me and fits all needs (which isn’t a whole bunch). So I want to ask, is there any other keyboards that are around that price and is like the Rapid/Rapid-I?

1 point

·

21st Jul 2015

I have the CM Quickfire Rapid-i. Price is up there (Around $133 on Amazon for Browns). I’ve had it for a little over a year and love it.

Just another option for you.

1 point

·

12th Jun 2015

It’s a CoolerMaster Rapid I. It use to be a lot cheaper.
http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264/ref=sr_1_fkmr2_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1434128819&sr=8-1-fkmr2&keywords=coolmaster+rapid+i

I got the keycaps off of MassDrop. They’re doubleshot keycaps. They have them on there quite a bite for about $25-30 I think?

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2015

This is JUST over your price range, but I’d highly recommend this keyboard. I don’t know how you feel about ten key-less etc but I can tell you that this has been one of my best purchases for my computer. It’s sleek, simple, programmable without the crazy RGB nonsense, and really delivers on the cherry MX switch experience you want.

I’d always go back-lit when getting a Mechanical Keyboard, but that’s just me.

http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264

1 point

·

4th Apr 2015

The drawback on the Razer Chroma is that it uses kahlil switches. Most people prefer Cherry MX switches.

I have CM Storm quickfire rapid-I with brown cherry mx switches. I really enjoy it and it’s backlit which seems like something that appeals to you.

http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1428175322&sr=8-1&keywords=cm+storm+quickfire+rapid+i

1 point

·

21st Mar 2015

Pack it in. You’re done searching White LEDs look clean with any keycaps (soon you’ll be getting a few sets of those) and you can always get modifiers if you want to change the color of the LED.

1 point

·

14th Mar 2015

The keyboard is a QuickFire Rapid-i, this would be perfect for him as I believe that this is one of the most compact tenkeyless keyboards you can buy.

8 points

·

28th Jan 2016

Depends on what form factor you want. This is $60 on MassDrop and has backlighting, but it’s a compact, so for a lot of keys you need to use a Fn layer. The QFR-i is $100 with Reds, Browns, or Blues on Amazon right now. It’s a tenkeyless so no tenkey (numpad) but if you don’t use it much then it’s good riddance (and apparently more naturally ergonomic to keep your mouse closer to your keyboard). Finally, the XTi is backlit and full size, but more expensive than the others. It’s probably cheaper than most other full-size backlit boards available, and all of these have standard layouts so you can swap keysets super easily if you get into it. Any questions, just ask.

3 points

·

2nd Aug 2016

$187.26 for QFR-i?!?! What?!

Edit: seems quite high given that Amazon is selling them for ~$110

2 points

·

1st Sep 2016

Rapid-I? I think it’s $99

Edit: <strong>Amazon Link for $95</strong>

2 points

·

20th Sep 2016

I think the Coolermaster Quickfire Rapid-i sounds like exactly what you’re looking for. It is a TKL, Cherry MX Browns, black body and caps, white LEDs, not super gaming-y font, n-key rollover, and just $95 on Amazon! Also this link is the CM product page.

You could also look at the WASD Code for something a little more expensive but with great font/design.

2 points

·

16th Dec 2016

I’m relatively new to the sub and the hobby, been shopping around a bit the last two days.

I found this deal on Amazon. Would this be a good starter MK for office use? I would probably need to pair it with a num pad since I work in Excel almost exclusively, but $72 for an LED TKL seems like a pretty good deal, especially given that the reviews are solid and coolermaster seems to be somewhat of a mid-tier brand.

Any advice or thoughts on this board as a first board? I’m looking at some other options as well, but they’re significantly more expensive.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2017

Could you tell us which quickfire ? It seems to be Rapid-i Model but I’m not sure.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2016

I just bought this a couple of hours ago. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JM61264/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

My first fairly expensive keyboard, and my first mechanical one.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2016

I pulled the trigger on this https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00JM61264/ref=pe_386430_207393060_TE_item

I like the look of it, seems like a proper foray into Ten Keyless set up.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2016
1 point

·

29th Aug 2016
  • You don’t need the extra fans, the case comes with 3 and your radiator has another 2. That’s more than you need.
  • The RAM I picked is both cheaper and faster. You can actually get the same RAM with white heatspreaders if you look for it (just make sure its the same speed and cas latency) which will match your theme a lot better.
  • I added the 950 Pro to make sure you have excellent boot/loading times and have the fastest SSD money can buy right now.
  • The Kraken NZXT X61 is just a better cooler overall compared to what you had before.
  • The monitor I picked is a true gaming monitor that will take full advantage of that glorious Titan XP
  • Picked a more sensible PSU, it’s still overkill but now the overkill is really just to make sure the fan on it doesn’t turn on… basically ever.
  • I swapped out the shitty speakers you picked for something that actually sounds good. Yes they are only 2.1, but I figure speakers == music/videos where sound quality matters. Headset is for gaming, and you have a 7.1 headset (though I hate that headset honestly you should get a Steelseries Siberia 850 but hey no judgement).
  • I swapped out your case because nobody should be forced to have the big ugly corsair box when they could have the sleek sexy Phanteks Evolv with glass panels (real glass, not plastic). So purdy. I mean you have all these beautiful bits, might as well show em off.

Honestly this could be pushed a lot of different ways. You have the budget to push this machine to extremes and I’m certainly willing to help you do that. This price range is my bread and butter and the kind of build I love to help with.

Other things you should get:

Really if you want you can go all out, my build is very similar to what I threw together for you with some swaps here and there. I don’t have any spinning rust, just lots of SSD, and I have a full custom water loop in my setup.

1 point

·

15th May 2016

Here is a TKL version of it, not sure if it is as good though –> http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264

1 point

·

20th Feb 2016

There’s also the Quickfire Rapid-i

1 point

·

3rd Dec 2015

If you go gaming/typing 50/50, I would recommend browns. here is a guide though: http://i.imgur.com/GWfV3.gif

The Corsair RGB is nice but it’s definitely on the expensive side even for mechs. Unless you are really into the lights I would suggest something else. The Ducky Shine 5 has great build and great coloring but is for a lot cheaper (https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&amp;p=1366). The CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i lights up as well but has a limited color selection. Instead, it has an affordable price of $99 which is less than half the corsair (http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1449133037&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=quickfire+rapid-i)

1 point

·

4th Nov 2015

> QFRi with a mix of two keycap sets:
>
> – White: Vortex Doubleshot PBT – $35
> – Light Blue: Picked up on /r/mechmarket for $12 they are double shot ABS caps. Normally $30

1 point

·

24th Oct 2015

Depends on what you are looking for exactly, but Coolermaster does some good but reasonably priced keyboards with standard layouts. I have a Quickfire Rapid-i, which has been good for me, but although I haven’t noticed, some people find random LEDs die. There is also the older Quickfire Rapid, which has no backlighting, therefore no risk of dying LEDs.

Edit: For some reason I read that as saying tenkeyless. They also do some good full size keyboards too.

1 point

·

14th Sep 2015

don’t know why you haven’t checked ncix http://search.ncix.com/search/?qcatid=0&amp;q=ducky+87 the mx blue version is on sale

edit: nvm – they don’t have mx browns left.

edit2: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823129005 no backlighting

also the rapid-i which has lighting but has a higher than normal rate of failure though http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX51838 http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00JM61264/?tag=pcp0f-20

edit3: also try using http://www.shopbot.ca/ and http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/parts/keyboard/ to search for good prices

1 point

·

10th Aug 2015

They have a MX Red version on Amazon.

Also, it should be possible to switch out the switches on a Rapid-i, as I have done it with the Rapid.

Edit: My bad, must have skipped the ISO layout part, a US-Amazon link probably wont help very much if you are in Europe. But yes, the switches are able to be changed.

1 point

·

25th May 2015

The Quickfire Rapid-i is a standard ANSI layout board with backlighting, though only available in white AFAIK. You could always put LED color changers over white LED though to get varying colors.

Pretty good for the price, though they’re a bit spotty with their QC and reports of dead LEDs after a couple weeks are a little more common than they should be.

Max Keyboards Blackbird with Blue LED is another standard ANSI TKL, that I have seen very little report of failure or issue with. A little pricey, but has what you need more or less.

Greens are going to be tough to come by, moreso than the other variants just because they’re a little less popular. However if you’re really sold on them then the CODE is certainly a good option for MX Green and backlighting.

Ah also if you suddenly decide you don’t need backlighting, you can get a QFR with MX Green on Massdrop right now for like $95 shipped, which is probably the cheapest you’ll be able to get MX Green anywhere.

https://www.massdrop.com/buy/cooler-master-storm

Yeah sorry I don’t know the guest mode URL Massdrop bot save me!

1 point

·

29th May 2015

This is basically the most compact I’ve seen while still having a numpad, it’s a compressed full size board. So if that’s too sprawling for you, you probably want to limit your search to TKL and smaller.

I have a Quickfire Rapid-I and it’s solid. You can get the non backlit Quickfire Rapid for even cheaper and it’s a really solid intro TKL board.

If those are even too sprawling for you, then you’re gonna want to go 60%.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2015

I’ll let you know after I got the RMA back from CM.

It’s a Rapid-i with brown switches 🙂

Here’s a link to Amazon

1 point

·

4th Feb 2015

http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264

Maybe look for a ducky shine also but they can be hard to find too

1 point

·

12th Jan 2015

I’ve been looking for a keyboard with the same characteristics.

The Cooler Master Quickfire Rapid-i has had my attention since Linus did a review of it a few months back. It’s construction seems solid and I haven’t heard of many people having problems with the leds, plus it’s price is hard to beat.

0 points

·

24th Jan 2016

$141, solid quality, neutral colours and a standard layout.

If you’re patient, the KBP V80 is basically identical, just it has dual LEDs and has all switch options, commonly goes on Massdrop for ~100USD if you’re willing to wait a bit for it to arrive.

0 points

·

4th Sep 2015

Yeah I have a question for you. Why does my mechanical keyboard suck ass? I fell for all the Mechanical Keyboard hype and spent over a hundred bucks on this piece of junk and six months later I am typing on this. It has brown switches and Ive had LED’s go out, keys stick (had to lubricate then), keys break off due to cheap plastic and my Z key only works when it feels like it. I’ve never had this many problems with any keyboard I’ve ever used. Im pretty sure there are some metal bars in this thing too to make it feel heavier to try and make it seem higher “quailty”. I take care of my shit and I haven’t been rough or button mashing this thing, this has all happened through regular use. I’m not buying another mechanical keyboard again unless you can point me in the direction of a better brand.

0 points

·

3rd Aug 2015

http://www.amazon.com/QuickFire-Mechanical-Keyboard-ActivLite-Technology/dp/B00JM61264/

You’ll probably want to change the caps, though. Font sucks.