What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser 16 fl Oz (Pack of 2)?

A total of 14 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

4th May 2016

Nope not acne gel. A cleanser will unclog your pores so you don’t get as much acne. I’ve tried a few different cleansers, but Cetaphil seemed to work best for me. This is it. It didn’t work as great for my sister though, so you should ask your dermatologist first.

1 point

·

7th Jul 2015

ohh. okay. haha well I would suggest starting one. Start with a cleanser like cetphil You could find it at any drug store. And a light moisturizer.

My brother used to have some ingrown hairs in his chest. I suggested that he try aloe before using anything not natural and it worked. He just took it from the plant and applied it to his chest. I use aloe every day, it’s great for the body.
try that for about a week and if you see no improvement I can help you figure something else out if you want.

1 point

·

1st Feb 2015

do you think this would be any good? http://www.amazon.com/Cetaphil-Gentle-Cleanser-16-Ounce-Bottles/dp/B001ET76EY/ref=sr_1_2?s=beauty&ie=UTF8&qid=1422771021&sr=1-2&keywords=Gentle+Skin+Cleanser&pebp=1422771029252&peasin=B001ET76EY

I already have the moisturizer (cetaphil). Can using both of these products be safe? (cleanser then the moisturizer)

1 point

·

18th Jan 2015

I use Cetaphil face wash. It’s a little pricey but it works great for all skin types.

Here is an amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Cetaphil-Gentle-Cleanser-16-Ounce-Bottles/dp/B001ET76EY/ref=sr_1_4?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1421617780&sr=1-4&keywords=cetaphil+wash

2 points

·

2nd Jul 2021

I’d love to help you build a regime for your skin. It’s my favorite thing to do for people.

In the mornings you should wash your face. Usually I’d recommend people buy a cleansing product for this, but since you have combo skin (oily and dry skin), try washing your face just with lukewarm water in the morning. After you wash, I’d go in with a hyaluronic acid serum. Basically what this does is hydrate your skin and keep your moisture barrier strong.

These are some I recommend:

CeraVe Hyaluronic Acid Serum

The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid Serum

After that, use a sunscreen. I recommend CeraVe Moisturizing Sunscreen.

At night, wash your face with a cleansing product to get that sunscreen off. Combo skin can be a little complicated when it comes to finding a cleansing product, so you will have to try out different cleansers to see which works.

Some cleansers I recommend:

CeraVe Facial Foaming Cleanser

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser

After cleansing, you should go in with a BHA exfoliant to help blackheads. A BHA exfoliant is basically a chemical salicylic acid exfoliant that goes deep into the pores and dissolves sebum and dead skin cells. You should do these once to twice a week or whenever you see blackheads. I recommend Paula’s Choice BHA Exfoliant. Get the travel size one first to see if you like it. After that, you should moisturize with the CeraVe Daily Moisturizing Lotion.

If you want to research more products or ask more questions, head to r/SkinCareAddiction. They may not be dermatologists, but the users over there are very educated about skincare.

2 points

·

27th Sep 2015

Hi! The first thing I’ll say is don’t be embarrassed that you’re desperate to get rid of acne just because you’re a guy- products were made for a face, not a gender. Acne can ruin your self esteem, and it affects guys and girls.

Now, here’s what you can do to help:

  1. Stop taking hot showers. This dries out your skin (bad) and irritates it. Try lukewarm water. You will get used to it.

  2. You need to start using a moisturizer. Just look for something incredibly simple, NO active ingredients here. You may need to try different moisturizers before finding the right one.

  3. I don’t know what type of facial cleanser you have, but you want something simple here also, NO active ingredients like salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide. It’s more effective to use those things seperate from your cleanser, even if it’s more inconvenient. Your skin should not feel squeaky clean, ever. That’s actually bad.

example of cleanser

-Don’t pick the neon pink grapefruit neutrogena facial scrub with microbeads. Always be sure to read the box.

-How to apply:

AM/PM:
Rinse your face in the shower or sink with lukewarm water. Apply cleanser to face using circular motions starting from your nose moving to the outside of your face. Rinse. Dry face with a clean towel (you might want to consider not using fabric softener when washing towels aswell) Apply your moisturizer pretty much the same way, only with a dry face.

Start by only cleansing in the PM, and just rinsing your face in the AM, no cleanser. Then, after about a week or two, cleanse in the AM and PM. Your preference may vary.

Other things:

Your facial mask. I would stop using it for now. When you’re as clueless as you say you are about acne, you don’t want to complicate things, because it will be hard to pinpoint a cause if you break out again.

Sunscreen. Even if you’re hardly out in the sun, you may want to consider sunscreen. It will stop the sun from darkening your acne marks (which are actually called post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, PIH). Some moisturizers conveniently have sunscreen in them already.

BP/SA/Retinol/etc. OTC acne treatments can help, but there is no one quick fix. Try one product at a time as to not overdo it, most people start with salicylic acid (2%) or benzoyl peroxide (2.5%). Apply this after cleansing, before moisturizing.

Hand Soap. Pretty much anything will do. Anti-bacterial is not necessary at ALL.

Hope you can find some relief from this post!

1 point

·

29th Oct 2017

In the past I’ve had a problem with oily skin on my face. Left unchecked it was causing some acne (even as an adult), and washing my face more often seemed to put the oil production into overdrive.

I have pretty sensitive skin, so I’m limited on what products I’ve had luck with on my face. Here is what I use though: Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser when I shower, then as soon as I dry off I use Lubriderm Men’s fragrance free lotion. Both do exactly what I need them to, and also don’t cost an arm and a leg. I’m so glad I found this combination that works for me.

If I ever shower and I know I’m not going to have moisturizer for after (at a friend’s house, gym, whatever), I don’t actually “wash” my face, I just massage my face with water, that way I’m not stripping my skin of all its moisture.

Of course what you use will be dependant on your skin, but this works very well for me. For example, if your skin isn’t as sensitive as mine, you should use something with SPF in it.

1 point

·

10th Sep 2017

I’ve tried benozyl peroxide, salicylic acid, oral medication, etc. but what worked for me was a gentle face cleanser like Cetaphil and a toner like Thayers. Also make sure to wash your pillow cover often.

If your acne is genetically related like mine then exercising and diet won’t really make your acne any better (but still have a healthy lifestyle).
Over-washing your face will make your acne even worse because it dries out your skin which makes your body create more oil leading to more acne.
I would only recommend Accutane as a last resort because of it’s many side effects.

1 point

·

24th Jun 2016

I wouldn’t buy on eBay – there is no guarantee that it’s authentic. Here it is on Amazon, is Amazon available in your country? Amazon – Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser

1 point

·

16th Feb 2016

I am no beauty expert by any means, but I have some skin problems. I use a clenser on my face, never soap. Cetaphil works well for me. I usually buy a generic verson for much less money (Eg. Safeway has it’s own brand; same ingredients but half the price). They also make an excellent moisurizer that won’t clog your pores, so you can use it on your face.

Shampoo is a less clear cut issue, I think. I would try different shampoos. I would recommend a high quality shampoo like Aveda Shampure, but it’s very expensive. Your scalp might react differntly than mine to some shampoo ingredients depending on your skin type, possible allergies, etc. You might be able to get away with something cheaper; I think it’s partly a matter of trial and error.

For your body, try different soaps like olive oil soap, glyrcerine soap, etc. If the water is too hot, that can also cause excess dryness.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2015

This is the cleanser, I got the name wrong but amazon still had it saved from my past orders:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001ET76EY?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage

I looked on this website to try to figure out my skin type and I guess it is blemish prone? It gets dry and flaky but also oily, especially on my chin and near my nose, so probably combo skin too.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2015

Holy crap, where do I even start. I’ll reply to this tonight – but skincare is a rabbit hole. Once you start…

I want to say that my skin is far from perfect, but I have seen improvements since starting. Remember to only introduce one product at a time, or your skin is going to break out.


Face wash: morning and night with Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser. Simple, mild, cheap. I don’t wear makeup yet so that’s all I need.

Moisturiser: Paula’s Choice Invisible Finish – looks and feels like you’re wearing nothing. Expensive! CeraVe moisturiser in a tub – for when my skin is really dry – done at night as it’s really heavy.

<strong>Vitamin C powder</strong> – yes, you put it on your face! Weird right. Mixed with moisturiser or this day and night for skin tone evening.

Sunscreen! I love Biore watery essence (chemical instead of physical sunscreen) because it doesn’t leave a white cast, but I mix it up a bit with physical sunscreen if I’m doing exercise outside or something. I never used to wear sunscreen but now I wear it religiously.

AHA (or BHA) exfoliant: instead of scrubbing my face. It’s made my skin so much softer, but you do have to be militant about sunscreen. I started with a low percentage Paula’s choice range and worked my way up because they got generally good reviews. Expensive though. I generally do this every other day at night – I was probably using it too much and got microdermabrasion done at a local spa. Ouch!

Retinol for wrinkles, each night. I can’t tell if it’s helped, but it’s a long term strategy. Again, retinol makes you more susceptible to sunburn.


That’s my very basic routine. I spent a couple of weeks just randomly reading posts on /r/skincareaddication and getting a feel for what a basic routine was. Then started searching for particular products. I have NO idea about skin care though, just enough to get myself in trouble – those people over there are the experts! It’s a great resource.

1 point

·

4th Oct 2015

Well, you can start with a cleanser and a moisturizer. Get rid of any physical exfoliation (scrubs/brushes) as it’s probably irritating your skin. Switch to chemical exfoliation. Also get rid of benzoyl peroxide 10% because it’s most likely too drying (2.5% is proven to work just as well (better because it doesn’t dry out your skin as much)).

Just looking at your routine, your main problem is you have no cleanser. The one you linked to can be used on your body. The one I linked too is super gentle on my skin, I love it and have been using it for months. Your moisturizer has salicylic acid in it. It’s not inherently bad, but sometimes these products that try to be one-in-all end up falling short in certain areas. (doesn’t moisturize enough, wrong ph, etc.) It’s also important to remember that more doesn’t equal better. Often times the simplest routines will be the best at clearing up acne, and then adding new products along the way to revise it once you feel comfortable. It can be confusing at first, but I’m sure you’ll find what’s right for your skin with all the great resources on reddit! 🙂

I recommend:

AM
-Cleanse, dry face with clean towel, moisturize

PM
-Cleanse, dry face with clean towel, alpha hydrox 10% (chemical exfoliant), leave on entire face to dry for 20-30 minutes ,moisturize

It’s best to start simple and add on later because if you do get breakouts you’ll know exactly what’s causing it and can adjust accordingly. If you want to do a facial mask after exfoliating, try the queen helene mint julep mask once a week. It’s amazing for pimples and makes your skin really clean, but not overly dry.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2010

This one right? Amazon.com

If it is the correct one I’ll be sure to give it a shot!