What is the opinion of Reddit about the
CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser | Moisturizing Non-Foaming Face Wash with Hyaluronic Acid, Ceramides and Glycerin | 16 Fluid Ounce?

A total of 37 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

14th May 2021

Stop using the Vichy product. It contains salicylic acid, which can cause irritation on sensitive skin. Switch over to CeraVe Facial Cleanser. Cleanse and moisturize twice a day. At night you can put a thin layer of Vaseline or Aquaphor on your face and neck. If you’re still not any better or getting worse, make a derm appointment.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021

I’m asking about this face wash specifically.
>CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser | Moisturizing Non-Foaming Face Wash with Hyaluronic Acid, Ceramides and Glycerin | 16 Fluid Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSSDEPK/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_QQFHKJN1Z28Z27X7S08A

If it’s not worth it, do you know of any cheaper face wash (per fl oz)

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021

Can someone find a cheaper face wash than this (per fluid oz)?

>CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser | Moisturizing Non-Foaming Face Wash with Hyaluronic Acid, Ceramides and Glycerin | 16 Fluid Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSSDEPK/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_QQFHKJN1Z28Z27X7S08A

1 point

·

6th Aug 2021

What I use:

CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser | Moisturizing Non-Foaming Face Wash with Hyaluronic Acid, Ceramides and Glycerin | 16 Fluid Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSSDEPK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_KNYMPV92K867T08PN18A

I have to admit, it was odd at first getting use to a soap that doesn’t foam up and lather. In my mind bubbles = clean but it works. My face is extra greasy which gives me problems but if use stuff for greasy skin it over dries and causes acne. Moisturizing my grease fixes it up. Counter intuitive in my opinion lol

1 point

·

10th Sep 2020

I would really recommend CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser, and then rinsing it off with cold tap water afterward with just your hands. My face loves this routine and isn’t red at all after cleansing anymore. Now it’s only the stuff I put on after cleansing that causes any problems, lol.

1 point

·

25th Aug 2020

I now swear by CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser – and my skin sounds EXACTLY like yours. Every cleanser has seemed to be at least ever so slightly drying after using it. But with this, it leaves my cleans my skin actually FEELING hydrated yet it cleans sooo well, it’s sooo refreshing & gentle.

I think the CeraVe cleanser with salicylic acid is too drying honestly, esp if you’re using other acne-fighting products, adding that into your routine is just a recipe for more dryness. This hydrating cleanser has been a huge part of my newly almost-always clear skin ever since I switched to it a few months ago, I see/feel a HUGE positive difference. The thing I figured out about my acne prone skin and why my routines weren’t working before is that I actually needed more moisture, I didn’t need an acne fighting cleanser, plus an acne-fighting toner, plus a benzoyl peroxide spot treatment cream – it was making it so much worse, but I thought ‘hey the more acne-fighting stuff the better, right?’ Nah. I’m so glad I’m 30 and now have finally learned more haha.

Also AMAZING quantity in the bottle for the affordable price!

https://www.amazon.com/CeraVe-Hydrating-Facial-Cleanser-Fragrance/dp/B01MSSDEPK

^I noticed that in that link it says something about “fragrance”? But rest assured it is fragrance free and free of all of the other skin no-no’s

30 points

·

25th Jan 2019

Just check the sidebar, it has everything you need 🙂 but basically just start with a makeup remover (usually something like cleansing oil), a gentle cleanser (a lot of folks here use cereve’s hydrating cleanser), and a good moisturizer (again, Cereve’s cream – most get the kind that is sold in a tub that can come with or without a pump, and is usually referred to as “cereve in the tub” on this sub). Once you get good and settled on a simple routine, then you can start to slowly add some actives in. I personally use a chemical exfoliant called Paulas Choice 2% BHA Liquid Salicylic Acid Exfoliant at night after cleansing but before moisturizing. Keep in mind though with everything YMMV (your mileage may vary).

25 points

·

24th Apr 2018

Ulta is currently having a sale on all Cerave right now: Buy one get one 50% off.
Normal price is $14.99, so the first bottle is $14.99, the second is $7.50, use two $2 off coupons from Cerave’s website, plus the $3.50 off $15 Ulta coupon and pay $14.98 for 2x 12oz ($0.62/ oz)
Target: Go to customer service/ price match at the register for Target.com’s price of $10.79 for the 16oz bottle. Then use a coupon for $2 off from Cerave’s website. Final price of $8.79 ($0.55/ oz)
Compare these prices to Amazon Subscribe & Save $11.39 for 16oz ($0.71/ oz)

18 points

·

22nd Feb 2018

I would recommend less exfoliating with physical exfoliates and more chemical.

You probably have combination skin, right? Is your face wash drying? Do you feel like your skin is tight after you wash your face?
You want a more gentle face wash. Yes, I’m going to say it only because it works but CeraVe’s cleanser is cheap and easy on skin. I doubt you’re running around with much makeup on so this will be fine both during the day and night to wash with.

You can also use CeraVe’s moisturizer both day and night to help kick start the repairing your skin needs to do.

I would suggest you start throwing in some glycolic acid to speed up the process of clearing everything up. Apply this before the cream.

With the acid though you’re going to need sunscreen. They say that 5 minutes in the sun without sunscreen is just as bad as hours. Yes, CeraVe also offers a great sunscreen for a cheap price. This will be your last step. Apply it half an hour or so before you head out anywhere.

Don’t do much more than this for a couple weeks. See how your skin reacts to it all. It’ll need a bit of an adjustment period before you can start adding more products in. I suggest reading some of the stuff in the sidebar. The people here have great advice to give and have complied it pretty neatly.

4 points

·

14th Dec 2020

Oh. My. God. Do NOT put apple cider vinegar on your face! ACV has a pH of 2-3, which puts it at the extreme end of tolerable acids. Second, using a Vitamin C product 2x a day along with ACV is a great way to absolutely destroy your skin barrier. I’m not surprised that after 2 years your skin is finally having an allergic reaction to these products and/or serious damage to your moisture barrier.

Your number one priority is to let your skin recover. I’d suggest using a very gentle cleanser, specifically CeraVe or the cult favorite Vanicream. A moisture barrier repairing cream would also be helpful such as Zeroid or Atopalm. I’d mix that with a few drops of squalane oil versus anything with rose in it (which, can also be sensitizing for some people). And, that’s it.

Speaking to a dermatologist is also critical because you are presenting with signs of rosacea, which requires the evaluation of a trained professional versus skin enthusiasts like us on Reddit.

Finally, you need to give it several weeks of ONLY doing a very gentle, bland routine. You have exfoliated the every loving shit out of your face. More is not better when it comes to skincare. I’d keep that in the back of your mind if you find yourself thinking “nothing is happening, it’s only been 2 weeks.” Repairing your skin will take 2-3 skin cycles of roughly 30 days.

3 points

·

28th Sep 2020

My routine involves a comprehensive healthcare regimen that’s integrated into my day.

​

First and foremost. I’m 5’10 and try to keep my weight between 130-135 lbs just for my health. In this routine is a strict diet and exercise regimen combined with a weekly 3-hour cognitive behavioral health audiobook/bibliotherapy for “tune-ups” to my mental health. Because poor physical health will ruin your skin, and poor mental health will stress you out, and ruin your skin.

​

Basically. I used a protein calculator online (this one’s free: https://www.calculator.net/protein-calculator.html ) to determine that I should be eating 60 grams of protein / day AT LEAST. So I make sure I eat a diet full of beans and supplement with protein shakes. I also take a multivitamin and drink tons of water and shore up any electrolytes I may be missing with zero-sugar sports drinks.

​

I meditate daily for 40 minutes: 20 minutes when I wake up, 20 minutes right before bed. I do guided meditation and focus on body scans sometimes. I also stretch, practice yoga poses which help my posture and reduce likelihood of lower back pain so there’s that.

​

The actual beauty routine:

– Cerave Hydrating facial cleanser (this is the one, just so you know what it looks like. I think I ordered it from Target. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSSDEPK/ref=pe_2640190_232586610_pd_te_s_rtpb_ti/131-7779785-6308842?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01MSSDEPK&pd_rd_r=00FQVM73YQNERTN0A0WJ&pd_rd_w=sVwLa&pd_rd_wg=O7D3i

​

– Palmer’s Cocoa butter with vitamin E – here’s what that looks like. https://www.target.com/p/palmer-s-cocoa-butter-formula-moisturizing-lotion-3-5oz/-/A-13528980?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google_pla_df&fndsrc=tgtao&CPNG=PLA_Beauty%2BPersonal+Care%2BShopping&adgroup=SC_Health%2BBeauty&LID=700000001170770pgs&network=g&device=c&location=9051526&ds_rl=1246978&ds_rl=1248099&gclid=Cj0KCQjwk8b7BRCaARIsAARRTL6ioYK9uhTrV5beUx8eJl_5Pmle8d468bl0-mIzC7tqiNUoeRMtAW0aApMGEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

​

unfortunately the cocoa butter will break you out occasionally, so I try to use it as much as I can on my face, but when I have pimples or acne, I use the Aveeno stress relief lotion (purple bottle) instead. It clears up my acne in about a day and I use that when I can’t use the cocoa butter.

​

I ALWAYS use SPF 50+ sunscreens with both UVA/UVB protection, and I always check to make sure they have that skin cancer foundation seal on them before I buy them. I’ve used all brands of sunscreens and I always take the time to reapply it. I’ve been doing this religiously since I was 14 so my skin is in pretty great shape (I’m in my late 30s now). I also wear UVA/UVB blocking sunglasses while I’m out, wear a hat, and have my car windows tinted to block out as much UVA/UVB as possible to protect my skin. These days the mask protects skin from radiation to some extent even more since I usually wear my mask with sunglasses and a hat. I avoid the sun like the plague. I’m always checking the UV index in my area and only leave my house when the UV index is 1 or 0 (WITH sunscreen and sunglasses/hat/tinted car), unless its an emergency. I check my phone constantly to see when the sun sets and exercise after it does, WITH sunscreen on. Any business I do during the day is emergencies only (e.g. doc appointments, dentist appointments) and then I try to schedule these during rainy days or times where the clouds are blocking as much sunlight as possible.

​

For my teeth, I brush twice a day and use mouthwash with peroxide in it for whitening. I make SURE to go to the dentist twice a year and never miss an appointment. For my eyes, I get my eye glasses prescriptions updated every 6 months. These are little things that greatly impact your quality of life. I will admit right here, right now, that I suck at flossing. It’s the one bridge I’ll die on, but my teeth are white, pretty, and in great health. I also make sure to brush my gums, inner-sides of my cheeks, and roof of my mouth.

​

I try to make sure I manage and control stress as much as possible. I try to squeeze in fun and work my cognitive behavioral therapy techniques extra hard when I know I’ve got a harder workload/project coming up and do my best to take breaks and minimize frustration and anger. These things stress you out. It all adds up.

​

I had a huge breakthrough in my Cognitive Behavioral Therapy a few months ago where I identified my major stressors and reddit was a major one for me. Because I’m obsessed with relationships (it’s a passion of mine), I lurk on all the dating, relationship, heartbreak, marriage, divorce, deadbedroom, sex-worker, and other types of relationship-centered subs, I encounter TONS AND TONS of incel content and exposure, specifically, to this content stresses me out greatly, so I’ve cut back my amount of time on reddit. I limit myself to low-stress activities on my reddit alts where I’m not likely to run into any incels and it’s helped me significantly reduce my stress levels to a measurable degree. My resting heart rate went from 79 beats per minute, to about 64 bpm! Just from me minimizing reddit time on my accounts which are likely to encounter incel content.

​

I’m not perfect and I build in “cheat days” into all my routines, except for the sunscreens. The only “cheat days” for that are when I’m in a hospital being treated for something, and even then, I ask family and friends to bring me my beauty bags lol and I apply that shit right away.

​

With my diet, specifically, I’ll allow myself to lose weight, and then reward that by eating whatever I want until it’s gained back, then tapering off and slowly getting back to the starting weight. For example, I’m now 126.5 lbs, and I’ve allowed myself to drop to this weight because I’m taking some vacation time this week and I’m going TO EAT LIKE A PIG. I’ve done this before, and usually by the time I’m back, I’m sitting at about 136 lbs, ad I just work myself down to 130 through my usual diet and exercise.

​

Obviously, I’m talking to you on my main stressor reddit account: _HEDONISM_BOT. Lol. I have cheat days on this too. I’m on vacation! I’m allowed to have some eustress, and it’s only a week, I’ll recover 🙂

​

This is the most important part of my routine: If I fuck it up one day, or miss a step. I don’t beat myself over it. I simply try again the next day. If I fall off the wagon, I try to NOT get too upset over it. There’s always tomorrow. You can ALWAYS start over again from fresh, tomorrow. This mindset has been tremendously helpful in me sticking to this routine, knowing I can screw up and still forgive myself for whatever errors I’ve done that day. With time, and experience and increasing levels of discipline, I’ve grown to make less and less mistakes, and the “cheat days” were part of the strategy which helped me stick to this routine. If I make time for cheating, then I won’t have to worry during non-cheat periods, because cheat period opportunities are always coming up. I can “hold” the cheating off to a cheat day, usually. lol

2 points

·

16th Jul 2021

It varies person-to-person, so it can’t be predicted with total certainty, but this study might be helpful.

> presence and severity of acne increased during the first year of T therapy, and peaked at 6 months. After long-term

If you’re looking for skincare advice, I recommend r/SkincareAddiction (check out their wiki!) as well as the website simpleskincarescience.

For an easy, inexpensive beginner skincare/acne treatment routine, I’d recommend:

  1. Cleanser – CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser (link) or Vanicream Gentle Facial Cleanser (link)
  2. Acne treatment – 2.5% Neutrogena micronized benzoyl peroxide (link)
  3. Moisturizer – Eucerin Advanced Repair Cream (link)
  4. Sunscreen – I’m picky about sunscreen, and the only one I put on my face is Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence (link)

Think of skincare like a daily medication. You can’t take an antidepressant “only when you feel depressed.” It doesn’t work like that. You have to take your medicine everyday, and do your best not to skip any days. For your night routine, just skip the sunscreen.

The products I mentioned here are “cosmetically elegant” meaning it won’t really look like you have anything on your face. They’re also low-fragrance or no-fragrance. They’re gentle products that are unlikely to break you out.

Patch test everything. I know it’s tempting, but don’t go out and start putting a bunch of new shit on your face. If something causes a reaction or irritation, you won’t know which one did it. Introduce new products slowly.

You may technically not need a sunscreen. That’s a controversial take among the skincare community. But some acne treatments can make your skin more prone to sun damage. And that can be a health concern for people like me who have a lot of skin cancer in their family.

Benzoyl peroxide is a highly effective acne treatment. You may experience a bit of peeling or dryness with it as your skin adjusts to it, though. Don’t bother going for a higher strength of benzoyl peroxide — 2.5% is as effective as 10% for treating acne, higher concentrations are just more irritating to the skin.

If you use benzoyl peroxide for about a month and don’t notice it helping, there are many more ingredients that are effective for acne. Another gentle option might be 2% salicylic acid. If that doesn’t do it for ya, consider a retinoid. I use tretinoin, but you may need a prescription for that. It can also be very drying, and may make your acne temporarily worse before it gets better.

An acne-fighting ingredient I hesitate to recommend to trans masculine people is azelaic acid. It works amazingly for my acne, but some research has shown that it inhibits 5AR, the enzyme that converts testosterone to DHT. Azelaic acid is gentle and effective for acne, but it might prevent facial hair from developing if you’re using it in that area.

If you’re still having problems after a few months of experimenting on your own, you should see a dermatologist. Troubleshooting acne without a doctor is a pain in the butt, and I would have said myself a lot of time, money, and grief if I had seen a dermatologist earlier!

Best of luck. And remember, acne is a normal part of puberty for a lot of people. Zits on the chest, shoulders, and back just means testosterone is doing its job : )

2 points

·

18th Aug 2020

I just started a routine today actually in hopes of fixing it.

Using these daily:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSSDEPK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GRBQXTV/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

idk if I’m missing anything or if I should add in an extra moisturizer? I’m also using a special moisturizer that’s supposed to help my hands (on my hands) but hasn’t done much yet. 🙁

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2022

I’ve posted my shaving routine a few times, I hope it can help☺️ Everyone should experiment to find a the method that works for them though! This is just through my trial and error, and millions of razor bumps later.

Some things that help me:

Face:

-I normally shower before I shave, the steam and warm water seems so help “soften” my skin and facial hair.

-While Im showering I make sure to always clean my face before shaving. Cleanser effectiveness is very dependent on the type of skin you have, I personally use Cerave Hydrating Cleanser

-I use Aveeno <strong>Unscented</strong> Therapeutic Shave Gel and a Men’s Schick Hydro 5

-After shaving I immediately use Cerave Lightweight Daily Moisturizing Lotion

Legs, arms, etc:

-I always wash and exfoliate everywhere before shaving. Exfoliating could be a shower/body scrub, or it could just be a plain loofa or washcloth with any ole soap of your choice. The goal is to relax the skin, wash off dirt, remove old skin cells, and create a nice clean slate to shave.

-I use Shea Moisture’s African Black Soap and a regular washcloth, the soap has little bits of oat in it that seem to really help with exfoliating!

-The razor I use for my thighs and legs is a Schick Intuition and for all my bony-ass skeletor spots I use the Hydro 5 mens razor and Aveeno shaving cream from earlier. For my legs I always start down at the ankle and do long strokes up to around my knee, you always won’t long passes not short strokes.

-FINALLY. I just slather on moisturizer pretty much everywhere after I’m fully dried off lol, arms, hands, legs, shoulders. I use Nivea Shea Daily Moisture. It’s really important to moisturize very soon after you’re done showering and shaving, the water evaporating off your skin seems to just wick all of the other important moisture out. Sometimes I’ll do another round of lotion before bed if it’s very dry.

I almost always go for unscented products, you never know how your skin will react to fragrances. But also keep in mind these products are my personal choices and everyone can react differently regardless(AWAYS SPOT TEST).

That was very long winded… apologies. I hope this helps and I wish upon you the glowiest and smoothest of skin☺️

1 point

·

27th Mar 2022

CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser | Moisturizing Non-Foaming Face Wash with Hyaluronic Acid, Ceramides and Glycerin | 16 Fluid Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MSSDEPK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_JHQ547XKJKREVW8AR2H8

CeraVe Moisturizing Cream | Body and Face Moisturizer for Dry Skin | Body Cream with Hyaluronic Acid and Ceramides | Normal | Fragrance Free | 19 Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TTD9BRC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_1KB2J58BD45MPXXT9NJQ

This stuff really works for me. I’m sorry you broke out this way. You are very pretty! Never forget that you are your own biggest critic!

1 point

·

26th Mar 2022

Of course! Here is what I posted yesterday for my face routine.

Some things that help me:

Face:

-I normally shower before I shave, the steam and warm water seems so help “soften” my skin and facial hair.

-While Im showering I make sure to always clean my face before shaving. Cleanser effectiveness is very dependent on the type of skin you have, I personally use Cerave Hydrating Cleanser

-I use Aveeno <strong>Unscented</strong> Therapeutic Shave Gel and a Men’s Schick Hydro 5

-After shaving I immediately use Cerave Lightweight Daily Moisturizing Lotion

Legs, arms, etc:

-I always wash and exfoliate everywhere before shaving. Exfoliating could be a shower/body scrub, or it could just be a plain loofa or washcloth with any ole soap of your choice. The goal is to relax the skin, wash off dirt, remove old skin cells, and create a nice clean slate to shave.

-I use Shea Moisture’s African Black Soap and a regular washcloth, the soap has little bits of oat in it that seem to really help with exfoliating!

-The razor I use for my thighs and legs is a Schick Intuition and for all my bony-ass skeletor spots I use the Hydro 5 mens razor and Aveeno shaving cream from earlier.

-FINALLY. I just slather on moisturizer pretty much everywhere after I’m fully dried off lol, arms, hands, legs, shoulders. I use Nivea Shea Daily Moisture. It’s really important to moisturize very soon after you’re done showering and shaving, the water evaporating off your skin seems to just wick all of the other important moisture out.

I almost always go for unscented products, you never know how your skin will react to fragrances. But also keep in mind these products are my personal choices and everyone can react differently regardless(AWAYS SPOT TEST).

That was very long winded… apologies. I hope this helps and I wish upon you the glowiest and smoothest skin☺️

1 point

·

27th Jan 2022

I use CeraVe as body wash, recommended by my dermatologist, and Curel. Made a huge difference.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2022

no wonder why you have so many pimples you can deep fry chicken on your face. here get this

1 point

·

27th Dec 2021

I had a really bad flair up a few years ago, and I found using the following products consistently keeps flair ups off my face

first aide beauty ultra repair cream

Also drinking a lot of water helps my skin not dry out as easily

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser – Moisturizing N…$14.98$14.984.6/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

5th Dec 2021

Yes, you need to wear sunscreen because Accutane makes your skin more prone to burning. You weren’t prescribed a sunscreen because you don’t need a prescription for sunscreen—most sunscreens marketed for the face will be just fine as long as they have strong enough SPF (30+ is the general recommendation I’ve seen).

The best way to find out why you were prescribed the two gels is to ask your dermatologist. The two you mentioned are both antibiotic gels. My best guess is that your dermatologist thinks your current breakouts would be helped by those topicals—they help reduce inflammation and prevent new acne by decreasing the amount of acne-causing bacteria on your skin. In theory, they shouldn’t make your skin worse and your doctor, as long as they’re a competent one, wouldn’t prescribe them if they have been shown to interact negatively with your Accutane prescription.

As for cleanser, my dermatologist has always told me to use gentle products, like Cerave and Cetaphil. The general recommendation is to not use products with “active” ingredients like vitamin C (though there are mixed opinions/experiences). Both brands have great cleansers. I’ve tried the Cerave Hydrating Cleanser and liked it just fine. My favorite cleanser is La Roche Posay Toleriane Hydrating Cleanser.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

10th Aug 2021

Here are a few that I know have had amazing effects with almost zero effort.


How to avoid acne, skin dryness and scalp problems.

  1. Moisturize + use sunscreen
    1 solution for both. I use : [1]
    It works and it works amazingly well. Once every morning.

  2. Don’t use hot water on your head and scalp.
    This has made a positive huge impact on my head dryness. You don’t need it to be cold, just not hot.

  3. Wash your face when you wake up
    I do it when I brush my teeth. I use this milder brand [2]
    I don’t work for them. I used to use Dove and soap before this, and it dries my skin out. This one feels wonderfully neutral in a ‘doesn’t fuck with your face’ sort of way. Honestly, skin care is tricky and I am not going to risk changing brands when this has worked excellently for me the last 4 years. Note: It is majority owned by Loreal and minority owned by Nestle. I did not want to associated with Nestle, but this shit works. I’ve heard that Cerave is similar and not owned by Nestle (any more), so it might be a decent ‘ethical’ alternative.

  4. Wash your sheets, towels + pillow covers once a week
    Pretty simple. Not hard to do. Just buy a lot bunch and wash them once a month, but rotate them out every week.

1 point

·

23rd Apr 2021

Happy to share resources (see below), if you’re interested. I am all over YouTube and TikTok looking for different (and inexpensive!) ways to help me restore my skin and bring my hair back to life. In my 30s, I’m really starting to notice the differences and wish I had started some facial regimes a lot earlier. Plus, I used to smoke so… 😉

Charcoal masks are so great for blackheads, but you can’t use them too frequently or they’ll strip your face of good oils. That’s why you always have to replenish.

Programs like Curology will get you set up with an initial review of your skin problems and then customize an affordable array of products, but you can just as easily surf Amazon for products and find what works for you. I’ve had to experiment a lot to figure out what really makes my face glow and what makes me turn red or causes me to break out.

Here are a couple of items I’m using in my current rotation (note: there’s a lot of different camps and skincare specialists out there who swear by different products, so take your time. You might even have luck writing to companies directly and asking for samples.)

Face Wash: Cerave (AM & PM daily use), Exfoliating Scrub (use only like 2 times a week), Vitamin C cleanser (I use it when I see blemishes, but also sometimes squirt a bit into my regular facial routine)
Serums: Retinol anti-wrinkle, Hyaluronic Acid, vitamin c, Toner (I like the ocean salt, but ones made with witch hazel are also WONDERFUL), LilyAna Natural Eye cream (SUCH an amazing, natural product for puffiness/moisturizing).
Firming creams: Desert Beauty (good for neck and face; it’s wetter); QRxLabs (this one is a bit thicker and I use it sparingly)
Face mask: Dermal(lot of 26 and they all have different scents! It’s a great starter park for moisterizing masks to find what your skin responds to).
Acne stuffs: Rael Acne Patch
Misc: Gua Sha Jade roller/tool (Chines tiktokers turned me onto this. Guides on YouTube. The roller is great after you’ve applied serum to your face and want to help massage it in gently; the hand tool is for helping bloodflow to different regions, dealing with puffiness, and–allegedly–helping your lymphnodes clear. I find it very relaxing.)

Hair: coconut curls air dry cream (use when your hair is lightly toweled off, to moisturize and help bring out your natural wave/curl).
Hair treatments: I recommend Doro Cubillo’s channel. She experiments with all sorts of at-home hair masks made from mayonnaise, chia seeds, flaxseed oil, aloe vera, etc.
Towel: if you’re not already doing so, use microfiber towels. They are good for pat-drying and don’t damage your hair. I also use a microfiber wrap to let my hair slow dry at home.

1 point

·

1st Apr 2018

Your skin is very sensitive and you should never use scrubs or vinegar, they only act as irritants will make your skin irritated and flare up with more acne.

With combination skin this means you are both dry and dehydrated. Basically this means that you need to moisturize the fuck out of your skin.

Don’t go anywhere near anything with alcohol in it as that is going to act as an irritant as well. Rehabilitating your skin needs to be handled gently and will take a bit of time but trust me, the patience is worth it.

You want to start out with a gentle cleanser and a gentle, hydrating moisturizer. Cetaphil products have alcohol in them and will only harm your skin.

Try the CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser, or Cosrx Low PH Good Morning Gel Cleanser (you can use it any time). My preference is for the Cosrx as it has some tea tree in it that is super soothing for the skin. Both can be found on Amazon and depending where you are, you may be able to find CeraVe in a drug or grocery store.

For a moisturizer I would definitely check out the Cosrx Oil Free Ultra Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap for the mornings and the Hada Labo Gokujyun Super Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Lotion for night. The Cosrx is going to keep you hydrated during the day without feeling heavy on the skin which is perfect if you’re using makeup. The Hado Labo is basically the best thing on the planet for anyone. It’s great for all skin types and the addition of the hyaluronic acid is great for trapping moisture in your skin overnight and it helps with anti-aging. Both can be found on Amazon.

If you’re wearing makeup you need to find a good cleanser that isn’t going to strip you of the natural oils you need or be too rough on your skin. Oil cleansing with Jojoba oil is good, but I really think you should look into using Rice Water. It’s super gentle and takes the makeup off without stripping your skin and won’t leave you feeling dry and tight. Some people like to cleanse with the oil and just wipe everything off, but I like to gently cleanse to make sure I’m getting all the oils, make up, and general dirt that accumulates on your skin throughout the day.

There are other steps and products you can add that will help but this is a good starting point.

Please check out Renee a.k.a. Gothamista on Youtube. She discusses products that are best in each category, and most importantly what’s best for each skin type. My skin has been absolutely perfect ever since finding her:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-X4BAoKxwGYIKrKfqk7yug

PRODUCTS(pretty much everything in my skin care routine comes from Amazon but they can be found elsewhere):

CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser:
https://www.amazon.com/CeraVe-Hydrating-Facial-Cleanser-Washing/dp/B01MSSDEPK/ref=sr_1_6_s_it?s=beauty&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1522612169&amp;sr=1-6&amp;keywords=cerave&amp;th=1

Cosrx Good Morning Cleanser:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016NRXO06/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Cosrx Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01CLTKI4A/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Hada Labo Gokujyun Super Hyaluronic Lotion:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KSS993I/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;th=1

The Face Shop Rice Water Cleanser:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

I’m a 31-year old male with the same kind of skin. This is the routine I started with and works, thanks to this subreddit.

AM: Cleansing with Cerave in the shower. Afterwards I tone with Glycolic Acid.

I moisturize with Cerave (one that has both Hyaluronic Acid and niacinamide), layer my vitamin C over that and finish with sunscreen that contains SPF 50

PM: Cleansing with Cerave in the shower. Afterwards I tone with Glycolic Acid.

I moisturize with Cerave (one that has both Hyaluronic Acid and niacinamide) and finish with a Retinoid crème.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2020

I have a few questions! I just started a skin care routine last week and am curious to see if my routine looks good and get an idea of when I should see results / change products if I don’t see results. I’m a 32 year trans woman and have never had any kind of skin care routine. My skin shows sign of age and is a little scaly (looks like cracks in the sand of a desert). I’m primarily looking to:

1) Undo the damage Testosterone has done to my skin

2) Undo the damage ignoring my skin has done to my skin

My current routine is:

Morning:

CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser

Neutrogena Hydro Boost City Shield Water Gel

Evening:

CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

Throughout the day I am also using a little bit of Eucerin Intensive Repair Lotion to try and make my hands softer / less scaly looking.

Does this look good for a beginner? When would I start to see results if it was working? A month or two? Like if I finish a bottle of product and see no changes is that a sign the product just doesn’t work for me? Thanks in advance!

1 point

·

19th Jul 2020
1 point

·

13th Jul 2020

Azelaic acid and niacinamide are easy to find over the counter. You have lots of options here, especially for the niacinamide!

A lot of people find the TO niacinamide irritating. The Inkey List Niacinamide serum is supposedly more gentle and hydrating (no zinc). The CeraVe PM moisturizer also has niacinamide in it.

I’m currently using and enjoying The Ordinary Azelaic Acid Suspension 10%, which is a heavier silicone-based cream best used at night right before or after moisturizer. Garden of Wisdom also has two formulations that are popular.

The SCA wiki has pages on these with links to more product recs — Azelaic acid // Niacinamide

Clindamycin is a prescription-only antibiotic, so no substitute for that. Are you using Curology to treat acne? If so, a benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid product might be an acceptable substitute.

For the Curology face wash, I’m not sure of the closest dupe, but something like the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser or La Roche Posay Toleriane Hydrating Cleanser may be good gentle options to try.

I believe the Neutrogena Hydroboost for Extra Dry Skin is the closest dupe for the Curology moisturizer.

Gradually introduce any new products one-by-one every couple of weeks instead of starting them all at once.

What did you think of Curology as a service overall? I’ve been considering starting it in the fall as an easy way to begin tretinoin, as my insurance won’t cover it.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

30th Mar 2019

Hi, I’m looking to start a relatively budget and simple skincare routine that I don’t have to worry too much about. I’m a guy with relatively normal skin as I find I don’t have any issues as long as I’m good with washing my face with water every day. If anything, I may be a little acne-prone (but that’s probably just due to skin irritation as a result of hairspray). Right now I’m considering the Cerave Hydrating Facial Wash as a cleanser then either Cerave Moisturizing Lotion or Cerave Moisturizing Cream as what I’d include.

So far I have read through the wiki (and focused primarily on understanding the ScA routine page) and watched a bunch of Dr Dray but I’m concerned about a few things. For example, how do I know whether I should pick the moisturizing lotion or cream? What’s a good budget sunscreen? Should I be looking for a nighttime moisturizer and a daytime moisturizer instead? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 point

·

15th Nov 2018

https://imgur.com/a/SiWWSrS (album with 3 pictures)

Any ideas what this could be or what is causing it? Has been a problem for a while but just recently started trying to fix it.

Using CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser 2x a day (morning and night)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSSDEPK/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

and aftershave when I shave (every other day)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TOV9O6W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

also use head and shoulders for to treat dandruff which works well
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MXLFQGB/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;th=1

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2018

Red/pinkish pigment on and around nose, under eyes and chin area. palms of my hands have been red/pink too for as long as I can remember so wondering if it could just be the way my skin is or something. It also might get worse as weather gets colder but I can’t say for sure.

https://imgur.com/a/UEO1RHH

Routine: CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser (shave with edge shave gel and use aftershave lotion if that is relevant)
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MSSDEPK/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0032ANCUU/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;th=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TOV9O6W/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;th=1

Skin type: No clue. I have a dry/flaky scalp if I don’t use head an shoulders a few times a week though.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2018

Thx for the info. Here’s my super long post but I wanted to give you useful information. I think you’re on the right track in terms of “active” ingredients (BHA, AHA, retinol, etc.) but I’d switch your routine up to ensure maximum product efficacy (the order you layer your products effects their absorption) and I’d switch your products to more tried-and-true ones like inthegloww suggested as well. Below are my suggestions with a little science behind them, courtesy of the bloggers “snow white and the Asian Pear” and “lab muffin”. As others have noted, unfortunately there’s no magic bullet formula for flawless skin, so you’ll just have to keep monitoring your skin daily and adjust your products accordingly.

Definitely ditch the following:
1. Burt’s Bee’s Brightening Face Wash: Unsure of the pH. Us acne-prone folks need to use a low pH cleanser.
2. the hyaluronic acid (HA): I know there’s a lot of hype around HA right now but it could be making your skin drier if there’s no moisture in the air since its humectant. You need to lock it in with an occlusive on top (sealant). I think a good moisturizer will be more than sufficient.
3. the moisturizer with the vitamin C:
a.) I don’t think you need vitamin C at this stage of the game and;
b.) It might not even be effective in the moisturizer since Vit C is a finicky active. (It comes in many forms, some are pH dependent; needs to be in a concentration of 20% to be effective; begins to oxidize if mixed w/water so stabilizers are needed [serums tend to be more stable then cream formulas for this reason]; air/photosensitive so it needs to be in dark air tight packaging like a pump. It’s a pain in the butt.)

AM Routine
1. Cleanser: CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser – $12
Acidic Cleanser: Clinical studies have shown that an alkaline cleanser, high pH (greater than 6.0 pH), contributes to the proliferation of acne bacteria on the skin. An acidic pH (less than 6.0 pH) is less bacteria-friendly. CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser has a 5.5 pH, and contains ceramides which help protect the skin barrier.
2. Active: Salicylic acid (BHA) – Humane Clarifying Toner. If you feel like switching, try Paula’s Choice SKIN PERFECTING 2% BHA Liquid – $25 on Amazon // $30 on her site but she frequently runs 20% sales + you can use a rebate site too to save even more (Coupon Cabin is 8.5% back currently).
BHA: Salicylic acid is only effective at certain pHs 3-4pH and concentrations (1 – 2%). Paula’s Choice is pH range of 3.2–3.8
3. Active: AHA – AHA Enhanced Renewal Cream. Apply AHA following BHA, but only 1-2x a week to start. If you feel like switching, try Mizon AHA 8% Peeling Serum
AHAs are not oil-soluble (difficulty penetrating oily areas of your face such as the T-zone) but BHAs are. So, apply the BHA first to clear out the sebum in your pores, then apply the AHA which can then penetrate your skin more effectively. Ideally, you’d wait 15-20 min. between applications for optimal results but who has time for that?
4. Moisturizer: CeraVe Facial Moisturizer PM – $9
Contains ceramides and niacinamide which has been shown to reduce pore size.
5. Sunscreen: Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF50+/PA++++
—Japanese sunscreen. Non gloopy physical/chemical combo, doesn’t leave a white cast, some folks like to use it as primer pre-makeup

PM Routine:
**1. Cleanser
: CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser
2. Active: Antioxidant – Trilogy Rosehip Oil Antioxidant – $22
Rosehip Oil: A linoleic-rich oil (an omega-6 fatty acid). Acne-prone skin tends to have a low % of linoleic acid and high % of oleic acid in the sebum. It’s thought that these low levels could be one of the things causing acne. Oils with a high linoliec acid content typical go rancid w/in 3-6 months but the antioxidants in this brand keep it shelf stable for three 3 yrs.
3. Active: Retinoid – I’d try azelaic acid, Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% – $8. If you want it stronger, it comes in Rx as well.
Azelaic Acid: “According to Wikipedia, it can treat mild to moderate acne, both comedonal acne and inflammatory acne. It works by killing acne bacteria that infect skin pores AND it decreases the production of keratin, which is a natural substance that promotes the growth of acne bacteria. So it tackles clogged pores like a BHA preventing future acne and kills bacteria to improve current acne. It also fades hyperpigmentation, like an AHA, but without photosensitivity and unlike some forms of AHA, it can be safely used by those with deeper skin tones.” quoting snow white and the Asian Pear
4. Moisturizer: CeraVe Facial Moisturizer PM or CeraVe Moisturizing Cream if you need something heavier – $12

0 points

·

5th Jun 2019

CeraVe’s line of care is amazing! Their hydrating and foaming cleansers are affordable, great on skin, and have a lot of good ingredients that are often found in more expensive brands (e.g. ceramides, hyaluronic acid). They also have, imo, the lightest facial night cream. The only major concern that I would say about the brand is that they list parabens in their products (though it seems to be very little as they are listed at the end of the ingredient lists). Soo take that information as you may, since some people like to stay away from parabens.

Neutrogena Ultrasheer Water-Light Face Sunscreen is another product I recommend! Not as super expensive as other sunscreens that try to emulate the sheer, non-greasy effect that so many strive for. It also has broad spectrum protection, is fragrance-free, and leaves no whitecast (from my experience – I have slightly tan skin but I have also heard nor read of any whitecast from others yet).

Cosrx has some really nice products too. I am not sure if they are sold in drugstores (I live in Canada) as I usually find their products online. Their morning low ph facial cleanser has done wonders for my friend and lots of others. Also, it’s inexpensive. Link for their website (the website shows all their products with descriptions and ingredients, but does not have any purchasing options).

&#x200B;

Lastly, I like to use paper towels or tissues for blotting. Usually costs a few dollars. Or I take them from work and restaurants. I like to separate them into their individual plies and then blot them on my face. 🙂

-17 points

·

6th Aug 2018

Not sure about any of these things you list, never heard of them till now. You probably don’t need the sunscreen at night. Also does it block UVB?

What I’m seeing are enlarged pores with a potential for black or whiteheads. Do you get a lot of those?

You may be getting too much oil accumulated which enlarges pores. Try a gentle facial cleanser like CereVe’s face wash every morning and if you use makeup then I’d use it at night too. Shark sauce sounds like snakeoil, same with the snail stuff. Just stick with CereVe’s HA/Ceramides lotion. Also tretinoin might help if you can get that from a doctor, or perhaps use a retinol cream of some kind which may help with shrinking the pores. If BHA isn’t working, just drop it for now, along with the tub Cerave, that’s way too oily for the face.