What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Bose IE2 audio headphones?

A total of 25 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

16th Mar 2017

I love using my Bose IE2s, they sit in the ear instead of the ear canal so there’s no fatigue wearing for a long time. Great sound quality and still allows some outside noise in so you can hear people calling your name etc. Some people might not like the slightly lower immersion but I think it’s worth it.

1 point

·

3rd Jun 2015

Get him something unrelated to medicine. iologists don’t use electronic stethescopes.

Get something that a ‘poor’ med student wouldn’t spend money on. e.g. good headphones to relax/rock out to

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-627476-0020-IE2-audio-headphones/dp/B003XU6H8I

1 point

·

8th Apr 2015

A different style might also be the Bose in ear style. I’ve had my pair for about 5yrs of nearly daily use(getting on last leg). They aren’t the hard “ear bud” style or the in-ear expanding either

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XU6H8I/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_gGzjvb00E1R1E

1 point

·

1st Mar 2015

More than $30 ($100), but I’ve had these Bose IE2 earbuds for almost two years now, and they’re still just as good as when I opened the package. Easily the best sound I’ve heard from earbuds.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2013

Tough to beat a pair of in ear BOSE, I’ve been a professional acrobat my whole life and swear by them. I’ve done everything wearing these. As a huge plus, maybe for you too, every time they die (4x in 7 years with daily taxing usage and often wet) I get a new pair for 30 dollars at the Bose store to ‘upgrade’ my busted set for the newest model. No receipt, no warranty needed, nothing. Amazing service based on my usage and top notch sound.

link

1 point

·

24th Aug 2012

I have had many high end sets of headphones, but my current favorite right now would have to be my Bose in ears. (I bought them for 75 I think.)

To be honest the sound quality isn’t fantastic, but the rubber molds that go in your ears are FANTASTIC. I couldn’t care less if these were Bose headphones, but someone had a good idea and brought it to fruition. =)

I think that Bose headphones tend to be pretty solid, its their stereo speakers that really get to me. They just sound so small and lack depth of sound. Bose headphones are understandable. Bose speakers…eh.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2020

I’ve had a few sets of headphones, they always disappoint / cause discomfort.
I have a set of JVCs at the moment, if you turn off ANC, it seems to turns on the mic to let outside noise in… Why?
With ANC on, they don’t sound particularly great, and the max volume seems a bit low.

I’m not a fan of earbuds you need to stuff into your ears to hold in place, and can barely tolerate the ones that just sit in / rest in your ears (without any kind of support)…

My favorite for a long time have been Bose IEs / SoundSport. I haven’t tried the bluetooth models yet… Next replacement, it seems that I’ll have to try them.
I wasn’t a fan of the QuietComfort model, the tip isn’t as comfortable, and objectively, they don’t produce as nice sound, and aren’t particularly good at noise cancelling (the selling point when I got them).

I can’t see any rules about linking… I’m not affiliated with amazon or bose. I would have linked diectly to bose, but they don’t seem to list these models any more.

https://www.amazon.com/Bose-627476-0020-IE2-audio-headphones/dp/B003XU6H8I

https://www.amazon.com/Bose-SoundSport-Headphones-Models-Green/dp/B00M7YP12Y/ref=mp_s_a_1_13?dchild=1&keywords=soundsport&qid=1603661206&sr=8-13

1 point

·

18th Nov 2017

Budget – around 100€(~120 USD)
Source – a Fiio X1 Gen. 2 (this one)
Isolation – not a must but nice to have (will use them on the way to and from work, with some loud trucks passing by occasionally)
Preferred Type of Headphones – IEM
Preferred tonal balance – sorry for being a noob, but whatever is fitting for my musical preferences below
Past headphones – Bose IE2 (Link) since I used them for 3 and a half years without exception I cannot say what is particularly good or bad about them compared to others, maybe that they seem a little dull
Preferred Music – everything that includes guitars (Metal, Rock, Blues, Bluegrass, Country, Folk, …)
What would you like to improve on from your set-up – a more durable cable
Location – Germany

I have been looking at the Shure SE215K, the 1More E1001 and the RHA MA750. Would you say that one or more of them are suited for me? Of course, I would also appreciate other (in-ear)headphones. Thank you!

1 point

·

18th May 2016
  • Budget: Up to 100$ I’m a little flexible if I can get a great upgrade some a just a little bit more.
  • Source: My phone. Samsung Galaxy S4.
  • Requirements for Isolation: Not a requirement. But I do travel a lot with bus and those can be loud, not a very good experience with my previous, not isolated headphones.
  • Will you be using these Headphones in Public?: Yes, though looks doesn’t really matter. If it’s possible it would be nice if they didn’t leak very much sound.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone: IEM / Earbuds
  • Preferred tonal balance: I honestly don’t know. I guess balanced?
  • Past headphones: Bose IE2
  • Preferred Music: Rock / Metal, EDM.

Avenged Sevenfold – MIA

Stonebank – Be Alright

TIN – Ticking

Asking Alexandra – Moving On (Acoustic)

  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up: A punchy bass is really nice in my opinion.
1 point

·

9th May 2016

Seems like they are these.

1 point

·

19th May 2016
  • Budget: Up to 100$ I’m a little flexible if I can get a great upgrade some a just a little bit more.
  • Source: My phone. Samsung Galaxy S4.
  • Requirements for Isolation: Not a requirement. But I do travel a lot with bus and those can be loud, not a very good experience with my previous, not isolated headphones.
  • Will you be using these Headphones in Public?: Yes, though looks doesn’t really matter. If it’s possible it would be nice if they didn’t leak very much sound.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone: IEM / Earbuds
  • Preferred tonal balance: I honestly don’t know. I guess balanced?
  • Past headphones: Bose IE2
  • Preferred Music: Rock / Metal, EDM.

Avenged Sevenfold – MIA

Stonebank – Be Alright

TIN – Ticking

Asking Alexandra – Moving On (Acoustic)

  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up: A punchy bass is really nice in my opinion.

I had the Audio-Technica IM70s recommended for me, though they don’t seem to be available in my country. I have been thinking about RHA MA-750 instead…

1 point

·

17th May 2016
  • Budget: Up to 100$ I’m a little flexible if I can get a great upgrade some a just a little bit more.
  • Source: My phone. Samsung Galaxy S4.
  • Requirements for Isolation: Not a requirement. But I do travel a lot with bus and those can be loud, not a very good experience with my previous, not isolated headphones.
  • Will you be using these Headphones in Public?: Yes, though looks doesn’t really matter. If it’s possible it would be nice if they didn’t leak very much sound.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone: IEM / Earbuds
  • Preferred tonal balance: I honestly don’t know. I guess balanced?
  • Past headphones: Bose IE2
  • Preferred Music: Rock / Metal, EDM.

Avenged Sevenfold – MIA

Stonebank – Be Alright

TIN – Ticking

Asking Alexandra – Moving On (Acoustic)

  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up: A punchy bass is really nice in my opinion.
1 point

·

12th Apr 2016

Hey everyone. First time here, and hoping people can help. I’m in the market for a very specific set of ear buds.

I’ve used the Bose ie2 buds for years, and I really enjoy them. They sound great (to me), they stay in my ears w/ the special tips, and they’re not isolated, so I can hear when my family needs stuff from me while at the computer. (Also, as a glasses wearer, most cans give me a headache after 1-2 hours, while these don’t.)

I’m looking for something similar to these, but that have a 1/4″ tip on them. Additionally, if they have a cord > 4′, that would also be terrific. I’m trying to figure out a solution that doesn’t require a separate adapter if I can.

Budget – $200

Source – Saffire Pro 40 interface w/ PC (1/4″)

Requirements for Isolation – Minimal

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No, just at my desk.

Preferred Type of Headphone – Ear buds similar to the Bose ie2/SoundSport

Preferred tonal balance – Are you a basshead, particularly fond of a smooth midrange, strong highs, or do you want an overall balanced pair of headphones?

Past headphones – I own a pair of AudioTechnica ATH-M50 cans for when I’m recording/mixing, and I love that sound. I also have my Bose ie2 and SoundSport headphones for every-day use. I love their sound, fit, and minimal isolation (good to hear family or coworkers trying to get my attention).

Preferred Music – Literally everything. These would be used primarially for gaming, but I’m also a very eclectic musician with broad tastes.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – 1/4″ tip, longer cord (currently 4′), increased durability. Happy with the sound I have.

1 point

·

9th Apr 2016

Hey everyone. First time here, and hoping people can help. I’m in the market for a very specific set of ear buds.

I’ve used the Bose ie2 buds for years, and I really enjoy them. They sound great (to me), they stay in my ears w/ the special tips, and they’re not isolated, so I can hear when my family needs stuff from me while at the computer. (Also, as a glasses wearer, most cans give me a headache after 1-2 hours, while these don’t.)

I’m looking for something similar to these, but that have a 1/4″ tip on them. Additionally, if they have a cord > 4′, that would also be terrific. I’m trying to figure out a solution that doesn’t require a separate adapter if I can.

Budget – $200

Source – Saffire Pro 40 interface w/ PC (1/4″)

Requirements for Isolation – Minimal

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No, just at my desk.

Preferred Type of Headphone – Ear buds similar to the Bose ie2/SoundSport

Preferred tonal balance – Are you a basshead, particularly fond of a smooth midrange, strong highs, or do you want an overall balanced pair of headphones?

Past headphones – I own a pair of AudioTechnica ATH-M50 cans for when I’m recording/mixing, and I love that sound. I also have my Bose ie2 and SoundSport headphones for every-day use. I love their sound, fit, and minimal isolation (good to hear family or coworkers trying to get my attention).

Preferred Music – Literally everything. These would be used primarially for gaming, but I’m also a very eclectic musician with broad tastes.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – 1/4″ tip, longer cord (currently 4′), increased durability. Happy with the sound I have.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2015

Hello! I’m rather overwhelmed by the number and variety of headphones that are available, but I feel like going beyond the buds that I have now. I figured that with the Amazon Prime day deals going on today, you guys might be able to recommend something that’s going for a bit cheaper than usual. I’ve answered the prompt to the best of my ability below, but please ask if you need any clarification. Thank you!

Budget – I’m looking to spend at max $200, though I would prefer if it were below $150.

Source – Laptop, maybe smartphone or ipod.

Requirements for Isolation – I’m going to be using these at home or work for the most part, so not completely silent, but not as loud as public transportation either. I’d like them to be closed since I don’t want to disturb anyone at work or in the area if I do take them out and around.

Preferred Type of Headphone – I’d like over-ears because on-ears cause my ears to get overly warm or even hurt, and I’d like the increased quality that usually comes with headphones as opposed to buds/in-ears.

Preferred tonal balance – I’d like it to be relatively balanced, leaning towards the bass if anything.

Past headphones – I have the Bose IE2s from around 2010 or 2011 (so not necessarily the exact same thing as what I’ve linked). They’re pretty good for the most part, though I wish the wire was longer since I’m a tall guy – I think they’re around 3.5 to 4 ft. They also don’t block out any surrounding noise, which sometimes forces me to have to put the volume on rather high to be able to hear the music. Obviously bass fidelity can get kind of iffy sometimes since they just don’t have the size for it, but other than that, they sounded decent.

Preferred Music – I listen to a variety of things ranging from classical to jazz to metal to rock to electro to pop, etc. Almost everything except most hip-hop or rap. The source for most of this music would be youtube or spotify (paid so the higher quality streaming). I’d also like to use these to game in the sense that they’d be playing game music. I presume they’ll sound alright when talking to another person via some form of voice comms (skype, teamspeak) – but if a mic came attached, that’d be awesome though is not a requirement.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – I’d like a entry to mid tier set of headphones that are mostly balanced, closed, and over-ear, possibly with a mic.

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2015

i have these and i have slept in them many nights. I literally forget the are there sometimes. only pair ive ever owned that dont hurt my ears after a while.

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-627476-0020-IE2-audio-headphones/dp/B003XU6H8I

1 point

·

11th Nov 2012
1 point

·

19th Jun 2012

Man, get some better ones…

I know Bose gets a bad rap about being overpriced and whatnot, but I had a great experience with the IE2’s.

Here are what appears to be the same pair on Focalprice.com for ~$20..

0 points

·

6th Jul 2014

Depends on the earbuds, take the BOSE IE2s for example, they are very open in design (airflow), yet stable and good sound quality due to that arch ear lobe support piece built into the mould/earpiece. I’ve used them for over 2 years and they are amazing. I’ve never had any issue regarding hygine/etc (use them at work, 12 hour shifts, [two 1 hour breaks to break up the shift] 4 days a week)

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-627476-0020-IE2-Audio-Headphones/dp/B003XU6H8I

0 points

·

25th Mar 2014

I have these and I like them: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XU6H8I

0 points

·

14th May 2013

Bose IE2 These ok? Also I was streaming and still am streaming from the itunes store which has the highest bitrate of all the releases.

0 points

·

25th Sep 2012

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-327279-0020-IE2-Audio-Headphones/dp/B003XU6H8I

Bose ear buds, yes they are over $50 but under $100. I have had mine for two years and they are rock solid. They sound great and have a super sturdy cord. The buds don’t ever fall out of my ears which is key, and they don’t stab my ear like some other designs. One tip, I do keep them in the little zippered pouch that comes with them which could have something to do with their longevity.