What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers – for PC (with 3.5mm AUX & PC Input) Black?

A total of 42 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

4th Jun 2021

Probably less than what you’re looking considering your budget. I’ve had these for a while and I have loved them. Great sound quality and usually don’t need to play them louder than 70-80% volume to get music through the whole house

Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers – for PC (with 3.5mm AUX & PC Input) Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_YSK7D79A06NDJP9B4VNF

1 point

·

25th Mar 2022
1 point

·

25th Feb 2022

When I was in a smaller space and had my Xbox and PC in the same location I opted to buy a PC monitor that had a 3.5mm audio input built into the display. I plugged in a pair of speakers to the 3.5mm jack and was able to have audio across all input sources on the monitor (Xbox, PC and my Nintendo Switch).

I opted for the Bose Companions since they reviewed really well and I was super happy with the audio experience, but I understand they are out of your budget. Any speakers with a 3.5mm connection will work though, so if you aren’t bothered by audio quality you can probably find some for $20 easily. Whether or not you can get a monitor with these features in your budget is harder to answer.

Alternatively you could buy a monitor that has a built in speaker, but the audio quality will likely be significantly worse than dedicated speakers. However you might find something more easily in your budget range.

1 point

·

7th Nov 2020

It depends on what you’re using it for really. If you’re gaming you have your headset. I love music so I need bass. I use Bose. If you watch a ton of movies they also have sound bars that are decent too! It’s up to you if you wanna keep is small and tidy, or piss the neighbors off like me 😜.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_g.OPFbYBYJZAH

1 point

·

17th Sep 2020

I’m planning on buying a higher quality set of desktop speakers for my new PC. Something like these.

1 point

·

7th Jun 2018

These? Don’t own them, just seem like decent speakers for 100$ with good reviews, and from a big brand.

1 point

·

6th Dec 2016

Bose Companions

They are good for an apartment if you can’t have the volume/bass too loud.

1 point

·

20th Aug 2016

I’ve been using the Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers for over a year now and their still going strong and most certantily pack some decent bass and also the vocals are very crisp, There very loud for the size of them and in fact I’ve never had them over 75% max volume and even then the bass and vocals going strong.

1 point

·

1st Jun 2016

I have been addicted to this subreddit trying to set up the same thing at my place. Basically creating a Sonos system but with Chromecast audio. Living room 2.1 (Fluance SX6 bookshelf’s, Dayton powered sub, and I still need help with my amplifier) and speakers in the kitchen, bed room and bathroom.

I think I’ve decided to only worry about a proper system in the living room. I think i just might slowly pick up a few of these Bose multimedia speakers.

I feel like the point of this subreddit is to get people to steer away from these type of speakers (Bose, Logitech, etc) setting up good audio makes sense in a living room, listening room or desktop but for multi room audio I don’t think it makes sense. The returns aren’t there for the investment. How much better are the powered Micca MB42s gonna sound vs a nice multimedia speaker setup?

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2016

You should just buy a soundbar.

OR

You might like a pair of Logitech (or comparable) powered computer speakers. You won’t even need an amp. Just get a cable with a female 1/8″ jackhole on one end for the speakers and female RCA jacks on the other end for the turntable. Make sure you engage that built-in preamp on the LP-60.

If you want better sound quality, you could spring for a pair of Bose Companion II that have RCA jacks already built in so you could just plug the LP60 directly into them. I have this speaker set on my desk at work and it sounds great with my Spottily stream, but if you were really looking to drop that kind of money I’d council you put it toward a decent vintage turntable instead.

1 point

·

20th Jul 2015

Let me ask you something real quick then. Right now I’ve got these Bose Companion 2 Series 3 speakers. Do these speakers allow for a sub, and if they do if there one you can recommend I get?

1 point

·

5th Jan 2015

I already have two Bose speakers link – http://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-Series-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1420432621&sr=8-1&keywords=bose+companion .

The audio quality is amazing! It’s just they have like no bass. Could I just buy a subwoofer to go with these speakers or are they not like compatible? I am confused.

2 points

·

7th Jul 2021

here ya go bud, looks like the price hasn’t changed at all lol

2 points

·

7th Jul 2021

here’s the link to it via Amazon, I think it’s just some base model – not exactly sure

2 points

·

24th Apr 2021

I currently have an all in one player and want to upgrade. I was wondering if it would work for me to get the heyday turntable and use the built in preamp, a rca to aux adapter, and a pair of amplified speakers (I believe they are amplified as they plug into the wall) for the time being until I upgrade to a better speaker setup with a seperate amp and preamp?

for reference these are the items im talking about:

Speakers

Adapter

Turntable

2 points

·

24th Apr 2021

I’m pretty happy with the Bose Companion 2 Series 3

2 points

·

1st Aug 2016

I went a lot for the looks, white & blue main focus of course.

It’s a white case with blue underglow LEDs and some more subtle blue’s here and there.
Now blue is a hard color to match well, since you have light blue, dark blue and not all blue’s match when you use different manufacturers. But well, I think this will look pretty awesome and also have the performance to boot.

A couple of notes that I will make:

  • Please overclock the CPU. It takes about 15-25 minutes to get it set up correctly. Then it takes (preferably) 1 night or about 12+ hours stability stress test. To make sure the overclock is stable.
  • I am almost certain that your friend will enjoy a 1440p, IPS, 144Hz monitor more than a 4K, 60Hz. It’s also “easier” to drive for the GPU. Meaning that you get higher FPS numbers on 1440p compared to 4K.
  • LED lightning isn’t something I personally like to really do too much (aside from white!) so honestly, I think this will be enough. The case got LED lightning build in, then the motherboard got a LED strip, the case fan that I included got a blue LED, the CPU waterblock got a white LED, then finally the video card also got LED (RGB) on it.
    I am fairly sure that this is probably more then enough LEDs?
  • Watercooling isn’t actually that much more silent compared to air coolers. In theory, you add 1 extra point of “noise”. An air cooler got 1 or 2 fans that push air through radiators to cool the CPU. A watercooler got 1 or 2 fans that push air through a radiator AND a pump that pumps the fluid from the waterblock to the radiators.
    The speed and quality of the fans & radiator FPI (fins per inch) are all factors that determine how “silent” a cooler is.
    This is one of the reasons why Noctua is a big player in the air cooling market. They have incredible fans that can push a lot of air through a radiator without making to much noise. So despite them looking “ugly” they sell very well.

  • I’ll provide my standard list of videos to help you understand why I suggest these products
  • I also give a couple of great guides to help you build the PC
  • I also provide my list of software that I personally use to overclock a CPU & GPU.
  • Lastly, I will go out of my way to give a rationale for each part. This allows you to provide (hopefully) all the information that you need to make sure your friend is happy with the purchase.

I have to post a lot of this in a reply to my own posts. Because reddit only provides 10.000 characters per post, just letting you know!


PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor$345.99 @ B&H
CPU CoolerEnermax Liqmax II 240 96.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler$82.99 @ Newegg
MotherboardAsus Z170-A ATX LGA1151 Motherboard$154.99 @ B&H
MemoryCrucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory$71.99 @ B&H
StorageSamsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive$92.00 @ B&H
StorageWestern Digital Blue 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM Internal Hard Drive$69.99 @ Newegg
Video EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Superclocked Gaming ACX 3.0 Video $680.00 @ B&H
CaseNZXT Noctis 450 ATX Mid Tower Case$143.98 @ Newegg
Power SupplyCorsair RMx 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply$129.99 @ Amazon
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit$89.00 @ Amazon
Case FanThermaltake CL-F038-PL12BU-A 40.6 CFM 120mm Fan$15.69 @ B&H
Case FanThermaltake CL-F038-PL12BU-A 40.6 CFM 120mm Fan$15.69 @ B&H
Case FanThermaltake CL-F038-PL12BU-A 40.6 CFM 120mm Fan$15.69 @ B&H
Case FanThermaltake CL-F038-PL12BU-A 40.6 CFM 120mm Fan$15.69 @ B&H
Case FanThermaltake CL-F038-PL12BU-A 40.6 CFM 120mm Fan$15.69 @ B&H
Case FanThermaltake CL-F039-PL14BU-A 51.1 CFM 140mm Fan$17.99 @ B&H
MonitorAsus PG279Q ROG Swift 27.0" 165Hz Monitor$749.00 @ B&H
MonitorLG 27UD68-W 27.0" 60Hz Monitor$468.56 @ Amazon
KeyboardLogitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard$119.99 @ Newegg
MouseMionix Castor Wired Optical Mouse$78.44 @ Amazon
HeadphonesSennheiser HD 598 SE Headphones$144.93 @ Amazon
SpeakersBose Companion 2 Series III$99.00 @ Amazon
MicrophoneSamson Meteor$70.00 @ Amazon
Mouse PadWhite Extended (36"x12"x0.12")$23.00 @ Amazon
Prices include shipping, taxes and discountsNO rebates!
Total$3710.28
Generated by Kiwiandapple (2016-08-01)
2 points

·

19th Jul 2020

Ive been using the Bose companion 2 for a while now. They are pretty good.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CD1PTF0/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2022

I picked these up from my wife for around a hundred bucks. They are now around $150. They sound amazing for the price and size.
https://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-III-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0

1 point

·

30th Sep 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

13th Sep 2021

The Bose Companion speakers are pretty good for the price.

Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers – for PC (with 3.5mm AUX & PC Input) Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/

1 point

·

8th Jul 2021

Bose companion 2 series 3. $100 and they sound pretty good for the price.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/

1 point

·

17th Mar 2021

Bose has a solid sounding basic computer speaker setup for just under $100. They can get pretty loud and still sound good. https://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-III-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0/

1 point

·

27th Jan 2021

i just ordered these ones https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CD1PTF0/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

but if u have a specific cheaper one thats as good

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2020

Anyone have thoughts on the Bose Companion 2 Series III speakers? I’m also thinking of getting the Edifiers.

1 point

·

4th Apr 2019

I can’t say I know the difference. I just want basic computer speakers, except I don’t want to hear overpowered bass.

These are the Bose

https://www.amazon.ca/Companion-Multimedia-Speakers-3-5mm-input/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=bose+companion&qid=1554402763&s=gateway&sr=8-2

1 point

·

26th Mar 2019

I have a similar setup in my home office. I use Bose Companion 2 desktop speakers (https://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-III-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0/) which have two inputs. Both inputs are always on, so you don’t have to switch anything to select one computer or the other. The speakers sound good without taking up too much space. I like them so much I have two pairs.

If you want something louder and more accurate, the Klipsch R-51PM (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FKCP7PZ) look pretty sweet.

1 point

·

22nd May 2018

I currently use have [these speakers](https://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-III-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0) . If I plug them into the GameDAC with the Arctis Pro, would they be any better?

1 point

·

9th Apr 2018

I can answer you here or if you want to get more opinions you can post a new thread.

Ok lets see $100, 12×16 room, clear sound, 3.5mm input. Sounds like some good computer speakers or a bluetooth speaker are in your future. Let me see what I can come up with.

Options:

  1. Computer speakers – Bose Companion 3 $100 – Not bad sounding speakers in a small package or Swan M10 $90 if you have room for a larger setup. I know you said you put it on the bed so I’m not sure if this will work but they are supposed to sound very good.

  2. Bluetooth speaker – Not an area of expertise for me but if you wanted something small and portable it might be something to consider. I don’t know all the models but I do know this Bose Sound link $120 or the newer version $130 don’t sound bad and have the 3.5mm inputs you like. There are a bunch of options I just am familiar with this one. I know it’s over your budget but they do bring some portability options and the newer version is weather resistant.

  3. Sound bar – Yamaha ATS 1060 refurb $100 yep get a soundbar. It doesn’t sound bad, has a remote and you can use it with your TV if you wanted to.

Normally the way to go would be a set of speakers and an amplifier but with a budget of $100 tops it’s going to be hard. Getting a set of speakers that sound decent, wire, and an amp will push it for sure. However, if you wanted here is what I would do. Micca MB42X $90, Wire $9, and a Lepy 2020 $23.

1 point

·

31st Mar 2017
1 point

·

19th Mar 2016

Take a look at these: Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=cm_sw_r_other_awd_sgD7wbSHQR6VG

1 point

·

7th Dec 2015

Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers $99.00

I own a pair of these speakers are always use them while with my PC weather it be for music, movies or playing campaign games.

The vocals are crystal clear and for fairly small speakers they pack a decent amount of bass which isn’t over powering.

They sit nicely at either side of my monitor and don’t cause any issues with my screen.

You do not need to use a amp or any kind, simply plug them into a standard 3.5mm AUX socket and away you go.

I have owned this speakers for a good 7-8 months now and I am very satisifed with them and I think you would be to.

1 point

·

28th Sep 2015

Im using Bose Companion 2 Series III. $100 off of amazon and work wonderfuly.

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-III-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=sr_1_5?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1443474230&sr=1-5&keywords=bose

For my headset I’m using the HyperX Cloud 2. They are super comfortable and the sound is amazing.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SAYCXWG/ref=twister_B00SRWDHOE?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

31st Jul 2015

I’ve used these ones from Bose that are quite nice (to my plebeian ears!)

1 point

·

13th Feb 2015

I got this for 80 euros:

http://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-Series-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0

I cannot complain at all, sound quality is very good. best 80 euro I ve ever spend on pc speakers.

0 points

·

19th Oct 2019

Bose Companion 2 Series III Multimedia Speakers – for PC (with 3.5mm AUX & PC input) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_1h5QDb73CVSQP

I have had them for 5+ years no problems.

Recommended to a friend and he loves them as well.

Edit: idk why downvote. These are great speakers if you want high quality sound.

0 points

·

17th Mar 2014

These speakers right here: http://www.amazon.com/Bose-Companion-Series-Multimedia-Speakers/dp/B00CD1PTF0/ref=cm_cd_ql_qh_dp_t

So is any cable I could use that would allow me to use the digital out connection, so I would not remove my analog audio outs (the white and red cables) that go to my gaming consoles?

-1 points

·

19th Aug 2019

​

Here are some options that match your Description:

Bose Companion 2 price: $100 – Full Match

PreSonus Eris E3.5 price: $100 – Full Match

Source: BudgetSet

if you find this reply useless, downvote for removal.