What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle Featuring Gooseneck Spout, BV3825B?

A total of 20 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

15th May 2018

I felt like this was a big enough price drop on Amazon to share it. I picked it up today so I can get a work setup going. Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle for $28.94US

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2021

What’s the best thermometer I can get for my electric kettle? For reference I use this Bonavita Gooseneck Kettle.
Can I just use any instant read thermometer?

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021

Not sure where you are located but a quick search on amazon turned out this: https://www.amazon.com/Bonavita-Electric-Featuring-Gooseneck-BV3825B/dp/B005YR0GDA/ for $45.

You definitely want the gooseneck tho. I would also recommend the 1.7l if you do multiple steeps of tea. It saved me a lot of walking to the sink and back to refill the water.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2017

It’s a gooseneck kettle, which is sort of a specialty item. Regular electric tea kettles work just fine, but you have more control over where you pour the water with the gooseneck, which is nice for pourovers (some people would say crucial, but I wouldn’t go that far).

Remember also that the US uses 110V wall current whereas you guys use 220V; electric kettles in general are way less common here because they have to be pretty beefy high-powered models to compensate for the lower voltage.

Also, it looks like the price has gone up since I bought mine: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005YR0GDA

As for the process, it depends. If I’m only making one cup for myself, it’s pretty quick. If I’m making a cup for my girlfriend, too, I have enough time to take a quick shower waiting for the water to boil. Once the water is hot, it takes 2-3 minutes to brew with a Hario V60 cone or 3-4 minutes with a Melitta cone.

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2016

I have this one which is 1,000 watts.

I honestly don’t know anyone else who has an electric kettle, I bought it for pour over coffee because it’s faster and less hassle than a stove top kettle. If I fill it with 1 cup of water it’s very fast to heat up. If I fill it full it might take 5 minutes.

1 point

·

6th Jul 2015

It could be a melted or loose wire to the heating element itself, or the element could be burnt out somehow. Since this kind has the element within the kettle body itself it’s hard to open and fix yourself without risking worse damage and leaking.

I’d recommend replacing the kettle. I’ve had excellent luck with my Bonivita gooseneck kettles which I use heavily every day. I have two, one variable-temperature model for personal use and one standard model for public tastings and they both still work perfectly after a couple years of use and travel. They are a touch expensive, but they’ve replaced Kamjove kettles as my personal favorite, and no kettle has as smooth a pour.

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2015

From everything that I’ve read, Bonavita seems to be the way to go. I’m thinking this might be the winner.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2013

I’ve had the Bonavita for about half a year to a year and I’d give it a 5/5 any day. Heats very fast and pours tremendously. All metal interior and any thermometer fits in the steam release holes so I can get it to any temperature I want with ease.

http://www.amazon.com/Bonavita-1-0L-Electric-Kettle-BV3825B/dp/B005YR0GDA/ref=sr_1_3?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1376203945&sr=1-3&keywords=Bonavita

12 points

·

16th Apr 2018

It looks like you are set on a grinder. Virtuoso and Encore are both great. It’s up to you if the Virtuoso is worth the additional expense.

The Fellow Stagg Kettle looks sexy, but honestly the basic Bonavita gooseneck kettle is a workhorse and a great value. If you want a little more temperature control then you can go with the variable temp Bonavita gooseneck kettle. I have the basic Bonavita gooseneck kettle and honestly it does exactly what I need it to and I haven’t missed having a temp control.

I recommend a stainless steel insulated french press, like this one from VonShef. It keeps the water temp from dropping during the brew process and it won’t break like the glass body french press.

Good luck!!

2 points

·

24th Mar 2014

Well my other post is getting downvoted to oblivion for some reason so here’s the main post from that thread:

As I mentioned in my previous post (here: http://www.reddit.com/r/Coffee/comments/214lbh/im_thinking_about_selling_my_extraunneeded_coffee/ ), I’ve recently upgraded both my kettle and my scale and since both are still in really good condition, I thought I’d offer them for sale at a decent price here on r/coffee.

I’d prefer they go to someone who wouldn’t be able to afford purchasing these items new as a way to give back to the r/coffee community who have helped me so much on my coffee journey over the last few years. Obviously I have no way to verify so I’m going on the honor system here but if you’re just looking for a good deal and trying to be frugal, please don’t attempt to buy these from me. These are both great products and well worth their price new if you can afford them.

With that said, here’s detail on the two items I’m selling:

Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle

American Weigh Scales AMW-SC-2KG Digital Pocket Scale

Shipping within the US = $5 per item

Some additional information:

Photos: http://imgur.com/a/2mIRB

Videos of both items showing that they are both in working order:

Notes:

  • The AWS scale includes the original box and all the items originally shipped with it. Does not include batteries (I use rechargeables, sorry) but it does have the AC plug which can be used in place of batteries.

  • The Bonavita scale does NOT include the original box or paperwork but does include an aftermarket silicone flow reducer (this can be easily removed if not wanted). It includes all the original hardware. There is some light scale in the bottom of the kettle (see photo above) but I’ve only ever used filtered water in the kettle so it shouldn’t pose any issues.

  • Both items are in excellent working order and I have had no problems with either. With that said, caveat emptor! The kettle is 2 years old and I have no idea what their life expectancy is. Only guarantee is that items are as described and will be in working order upon arrival.

  • I replaced both items only because I found really good deals on upgrades to a Bonavita Variable Temp Kettle and a Bonavita Scale (both thanks to r/coffee!) otherwise I’d still happily be using these myself.

Sale Info:

Sale to be completed through Paypal and payment must be made before the items ship. As to picking the “winning” recipient(s); if you are interested in either/both of these items, please PM me which items you’re interested in and what country you live in (commenting in this thread won’t count). I’ll use a RNG to pick both “winners” by the end of the week and update the post accordingly. If for any reason that person can’t take possession of the item, I’ll RNG another person. Hopefully that sounds fair to everyone. 🙂

I’ve tried to answer all the questions I could think that you’d want to ask but if I missed anything please let me know and I’ll answer as best I can. Thanks!

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle Featuring Gooseneck…$45.93$45.934.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle Featuring Gooseneck…$43.18$43.184.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle Featuring Gooseneck…$43.18$43.184.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle Featuring Gooseneck…$43.18$43.184.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

24th Mar 2014

As I mentioned in my previous post (here: http://www.reddit.com/r/Coffee/comments/214lbh/im_thinking_about_selling_my_extraunneeded_coffee/ ), I’ve recently upgraded both my kettle and my scale and since both are still in really good condition, I thought I’d offer them for sale at a decent price here on r/coffee.

I’d prefer they go to someone who wouldn’t be able to afford purchasing these items new as a way to give back to the r/coffee community who have helped me so much on my coffee journey over the last few years. Obviously I have no way to verify so I’m going on the honor system here but if you’re just looking for a good deal and trying to be frugal, please don’t attempt to buy these from me. These are both great products and well worth their price new if you can afford them.

With that said, here’s detail on the two items I’m selling:

Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle

American Weigh Scales AMW-SC-2KG Digital Pocket Scale

Shipping within the US = $5 per item

Some additional information:

Photos: http://imgur.com/a/2mIRB

Videos of both items showing that they are both in working order:

Notes:

  • The AWS scale includes the original box and all the items originally shipped with it. Does not include batteries (I use rechargeables, sorry) but it does have the AC plug which can be used in place of batteries.

  • The Bonavita scale does NOT include the original box or paperwork but does include an aftermarket silicone flow reducer (this can be easily removed if not wanted). It includes all the original hardware. There is some light scale in the bottom of the kettle (see photo above) but I’ve only ever used filtered water in the kettle so it shouldn’t pose any issues.

  • Both items are in excellent working order and I have had no problems with either. With that said, caveat emptor! The kettle is 2 years old and I have no idea what their life expectancy is. Only guarantee is that items are as described and will be in working order upon arrival.

  • I replaced both items only because I found really good deals on upgrades to a Bonavita Variable Temp Kettle and a Bonavita Scale (both thanks to r/coffee!) otherwise I’d still happily be using these myself.

Sale Info:

Sale to be completed through Paypal and payment must be made before the items ship. As to picking the “winning” recipient(s); if you are interested in either/both of these items, please PM me which items you’re interested in and what country you live in (commenting in this thread won’t count). I’ll use a RNG to pick both “winners” by the end of the week and update the post accordingly. If for any reason that person can’t take possession of the item, I’ll RNG another person. Hopefully that sounds fair to everyone. 🙂

I’ve tried to answer all the questions I could think that you’d want to ask but if I missed anything please let me know and I’ll answer as best I can. Thanks!

1 point

·

25th May 2017

This to heat your water: https://www.amazon.com/Bonavita-1-0L-Electric-Kettle-BV3825B/dp/B005YR0GDA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1495751642&sr=8-2&keywords=bonavita+kettle

This to brew your coffee in: https://www.amazon.com/Bodum-Brazil-French-Coffee-34-Ounce/dp/B000KEM4TQ/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1495751673&sr=8-7&keywords=french+press

The electric kettle is quiet and will not whistle when the water reaches boil temperature. French Press because it wont make any noise because you’re just pushing a plunger down.

If you use whole beans, just grind them up earlier in the day so you won’t wake anyone and if you buy pre-ground coffee then you’re set. Also, by getting these you’re upgrading your coffee equipment without spending a ton of money and if you plan on in the future to become quite the connoisseur of coffee, well, you already have what you need.

1 point

·

15th Sep 2016

It’s basically the same kettle without the digital control.
Bonavita 1.0L Electric Kettle BV3825B https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005YR0GDA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fuV2xb1GA1SZK

1 point

·

10th Mar 2015

I use this and a thermometer but there’s also a temperature regulated version. Both get high marks from most people, both online and irl.

0 points

·

24th Feb 2015

You’re making a strong case for an electric gooseneck kettle, but the variable temperature electric gooseneck kettles are almost 2x as expensive. Are there advantages in your process to the variable temperature?