What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Bigger Leaner Stronger: The Simple Science of Building the Ultimate Male Body?

A total of 23 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

19th Jan 2021

Bigger Leaner Stronger. Buy it, read it, follow it, profit.

4 points

·

8th Apr 2018

Pick up the book Bigger Leaner Stronger (its like $13 on Amazon ) by Mike Matthews. He’s really into the science of building strength and size. Also checkout his 1 year challenge. It’s a tough workout, but that’s what you want 😉

1 point

·

11th Mar 2022

Buy this book, it’s all you need.

1 point

·

31st Dec 2021

Yup, I’m by no means an expert, but everything I’ve read has said you essentially will probably have to gain weight to build muscles. Then you lean up and pivot back and forth between the two. It take time, patience and planning.

I would suggest your read up in it(and maybe ask in a more general fitness sub). There are lots of books out their, but my favorite was this one (but the female version):

Bigger Leaner Stronger: The Simple Science of Building the Ultimate Male Body https://www.amazon.com/dp/1938895304/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_7TDXY25PDMGBBPEWE45A

1 point

·

18th Dec 2021

>If anyone out there knows anything about muscles’n stuff I would love to hear your advice on how I could improve more.

Congrats bro! I recommend this book to learn how to build muscle.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2021

Learning basic nutrition is most important. You’ll lose weight when you actually understand how weight gain/loss works.

Check out this book if you’ve got a few dollars to spare.

https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

1 point

·

25th Aug 2021

Hey man,

I recommend you to check a book on Amazon about fitness and hypertrophy (science based):Bigger Leaner Stronger by Michael Matthews. It’s an extremely good book to learn some basics!

I’ve recently read it and found everything easy to understand, and in a digestible way.

Good luck in the gym man!!

1 point

·

7th Aug 2021

Congrats on picking yourself up. This subreddit is for the sport of olympic weightlifting so probably r/fitness would be a good start.

There’s a lot of information and I also felt lost but this book actually helped me get started and broke down the info quite easily for me to understand. Hope this helps.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/1938895304/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_E9FA1FJ68A5NKQR7TRP5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
Bigger leaner stronger from Mike Matthews

1 point

·

7th Sep 2017

I highly recommend you read Bigger Leaner Stronger, and get your T levels tested. Maximize T with proper diet/sleep/exercise/supplements.
 

  • Stop masturbating (Seriously)
  • Compound lifts (Stronglifts 5×5 is a great place to start)
  • Get lots of protein
  • Lift 3 times a week with at least 1 recovery day after lifting
  • Keep researching and optimizing for best results
  • Do all of this for 3+ years
     

To summarize, you get big from tearing your muscles with short/heavy sets of explosive lifts. Protein + rest will repair the tears and make you bigger. Strength comes naturally, but size requires constant repair. This is why you can be small and strong, typically these guys are concentrating on long exhaustion sets and haven’t optimized their macros.

1 point

·

27th Aug 2017

Have you ever read Bigger Leaner Stronger? I have started reading its women’s version because many people online review this book’s approach to be orthodox.

23 points

·

24th Jul 2021

Great job! The biggest thing is educating yourself on how food feuls your body. May not be everyone’s cup of tea but I like Bigger, Leaner, Stronger by Mike Matthews. That’s what clicked for me.

Make some rules for yourself that are simple.

  1. Half of your plate should be vegetables, with 25% protein and 25% carbs. (The veggies fill you up faster as well as the other benefits.)
  2. Vary your protein, and aim for at least one bean/legume night per week. Beans and legumes are proteins as well and can be used in place of meat! My wife and I made these the other night and they were SO good.
  3. If you have trouble getting 8-12 servings of fruits and vegetables during the day invest in a nutribullet and look up green smoothie recipies. A morning smoothie with spinach or kale (or both!), a banana, some yogurt for gut bacteria health, fresh or frozen strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, or mango. Add rolled oats to make it extra “filling” and you’re off to a great start on your daily journey for that 8-12 servings!
    1. Zellers pro tip: Add your spinach or kale first (with kale take the leaves off the stem and throw away the stem) with maybe a cup of water and blend the heck out of that first before you add anything else. This will help with the consistancy of the greens in your smoothie and reduce “chunkiness”.
18 points

·

16th Apr 2021

Thank you! I’ve been counting my macros using my Fitbit app and using this book Bigger Leaner Stronger: The… https://www.amazon.com/dp/1938895304?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share for my gym routine and this YouTuber https://youtube.com/c/BullyJuice for home workouts. Honestly just staying committed and making sure you’re burning more calories than how much you’re taking in is what is helping me the most!

1 point

·

28th Dec 2020

No big deal, the biggest thing with that is usually runners do not get enough protein already so you will need to be extra mindful that you are.
Make sure to look around and try to consume good protein rich sources.
Try to score at least 1.3 grams of protein per pound of lean body mass that you have. Which is the total weight of your body minus your fat content.
A great way to do this is to consume protein powder, eggs, tempeh, beans and legumes, tofu etc.
you will also need to watch out for vitamin deficiencies which will affect training, such as getting enough iron which is typically found in red meat. This can be solved by picking up a good multi vitamin or seeking out iron rich vegetarian sources.

Check out this link:
https://www.bodybuilding.com/content/no-meat-muscle-4-rules-for-building-mass-on-vegetarian-diet.html

There is also a myth floating around that your body can only digest a certain amount of protein and then the rest goes to waste. That is untrue, your body can only digest certain amounts at a certain rate, but all of it will eventually be digested or at least approximately all of it. So don’t worry about a 40 gram protein shake. If it’s egg white powder for example, that will digest slower than whey and etc.
A great protein if you have no lactose issues is ProJym protein. It mixes several kinds so you are getting a good complex balance of fast acting recovery proteins and longer digesting hunger staying proteins.

Not trying to blast you with info, or saying you aren’t already mindful of this, just giving my 2 cents in case you had not been thinking of these things.

I would also suggest, if you have access to a gym, adding in additional weight training on the recovery or slow days for your upper body, back, arms, and then even legs on days where you may do a minimal amount of running. Some would suggest low weight high rep, but this is really just more endurance training. You will want to go for at least middle weight sets.

Building up the muscle in your body is a fantastic way to make sure you can power through quickly on those 5k times, and also make sure your muscles and bones are dense enough to support you on long hauls. You don’t have to go full body builder, just make sure you are doing weight than challenges you.
If no weights, then get into a push-up, pull-up, and crunch/leg raise routine. Just make sure to focus on forms and techniques that really challenge you versus pumping out 50 easy standard form push-ups (if those are easy to you)

If you can, for the no gym situation, save up for a heavy dumbbell and perform goblet squats at home. Those are great!

I would recommend this book for understanding all of the above to a very deep level:

https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304

It’s not pseudo dude bro he said she said science, which is often times found on the internet or in addition to someone trying to sell you their supplements, at times it’s even a bit of a dry read because all that book is is case study after case study of exactly how your body digests and processes certain carbs, proteins, and fats and also correlates those studies with studies in exercise science applying those findings. After reading that book you should be able to construct any diet program you want to fit any need and understand how your body goes from exertion to fuel ingestion to recovery and back again scientifically.
There is also a female version too.

In fact, if you get anything out of this it’s please please read that book. The old saying give a man fish he eats once, teach a man to fish he eats for life, that book teaches you to fish big time.

All in all, this was a long blurb, but if you made it this far I hope all of this helps. When I was 14 I knew none of this (24M) and if I did at your age it would have made an insane difference in my training.

Currently I’m gearing up for a 50k!

1 point

·

30th Nov 2020

Congratulations on expanding your family.

Agree with that others said stop smoking. Also buy this book

https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304/ref=redir_mobile_desktop?ie=UTF8&aaxitk=DPPo.2Fhr9m0B8NwomsKVw&hsa_cr_id=4722905650801&ref_=sbx_be_s_sparkle_mcd_asin_0

I chased so many YouTube videos and online articles before i found this and everything you need to know to get started is all bundled in there.

Something you can start now in my opinion

  • Start drinking lots of water
  • Try to reduce sugar, if you drink coke switch to coke zero
  • Go for walk, not sure where you live if its cold. Just go to walmart and keep walking around the isles for 40 minutes no one would give a damn
  • Start eating more proteins
  • when it comes to food ask yourself, Why are you eating then ask what are you eating.
    • if your hungry you should eat, boredom or watching TV doesnt mean you have to eat something

Just remember there are no short cuts. I wish there was a short cut I would have found it by now. If you need more idea DM me ill do what i can to help.

Mark this post down for you and let us know how great you are 1 year from today

Best of luck in your journey

1 point

·

28th Oct 2020

If you want science instead of advice:

https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304/

To build muscle, you’ll need to be in a calorie surplus. And high protein levels, around 0.8-1.0g/day/pound. You’ll need heavy weights, relatively low reps. Anticipate a project length of 1-3 years. Takes time yo.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2019

Aimlessly lifting weights in an ad-hoc sort of pseudo-isolation sort of way and running a couple of times a week. Had no idea what I was doing.

Then I found a post that linked to this and started following it to a T: Linear Progression PPL for Beginners

Then got the “Bigger Leaner Stronger” book on Amazon and am now following that to the letter : BLS link on Amazon

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

It depends on your training goals. 5×5 will help you learn the lifts and build strength. Combine it with a good diet and sleep and you’ll get results. However, you’re right, if you want to train not just for strength but for looks then there are other programs that cater to that more.

There’s a good video explaining why 5 reps here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pr9NKAc5Pc4&ab_channel=StartingStrength

I’m a big fan of the book and program in Bigger Leaner Stronger by Mark Matthews (https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304) for a number of reasons including these:
1. It builds on the 5×5 program but with a goal of body building rather than just strength
2. It references a number of studies that backup what he is saying
3. If offers some choices and flexibility in programming
4. I’ve experienced great results with it.
5. It deals with mental gym game, sleep and nutrition and explains it pretty straight forwardly.
I’m surprised this book is not part of the sidebar here and recommended more.

There are a few good videos of Mark Matthews (author of Bigger Leaner Stronger) talking with with Mark Rippetoe (author of Starting Strength) about the differences between their program goals and approaches. I was surprised that Rip is a fan of Mark’s approach:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-dCuz1VmfW8&ab_channel=StartingStrength
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kxhw_NvdXLc&feature=emb_logo&ab_channel=MikeMatthews

1 point

·

25th Apr 2019

Can recommend https://www.amazon.com/Bigger-Leaner-Stronger-Building-Ultimate/dp/1938895304 for all of about USD $8 it will get you very far down the road you want to go.

No affiliation, just have used it and seen results.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2018

You’re just at the very beginning, so focus on going and getting comfortable. One of the goals is to start realizing things during this time such as:

  • You can push yourself a lot harder than you think. What I thought was a hard workout when I started I would now consider a poor workout.
  • If you’re eating right and putting in good work consistently, you’ll be able to add weight to the bar and actually lift something you previously weren’t able to. This one is weird at first because up until now you either could lift something or you couldn’t.
  • the gym isn’t scary and everyone is generally cool. This one depends on the individual, but almost everyone that starts going to the gym and is concerned about their appearance will feel out of place. if you keep going this will taper off and you won’t care, allowing more focus on your workout.
  • Being consistent is not as difficult as you think. We all have a little voice in our head that loves to make excuses and give reasons why we shouldn’t go and it’s okay to just go home and watch Netflix because that thing happened yesterday and then the other thing ran long and you didn’t get your full 8 hours of sleep last night so maybe you should just go home and you’ll definitely go to the gym tomorrow because nothing inconvenient will happen again in the future. Learn to suppress that voice because it never just disappears, at least not in my experience.

> I’ve been working out on and off for the past month.

Try not to go ‘on and off’ because it usually means more off than on. Tell yourself that no matter what, you’re going to walk through the front door of the gym and force yourself to keep your promise.

Get your diet in order. Number one thing you can do there is count calories and protein intake. You’re probably not going to be very interested in counting all of your macros but make sure you’re getting enough overall calories and that your protein intake is high. If you use Michael Matthew’s method to calculate this, and assuming you have a sedentary job you should be eating somewhere around 2300 calories a day and 150 grams of protein. People on here might have different numbers for these.

Above everything else, just stick to it. Don’t quit. It gets a lot easier and you’re at the most difficult part right now. Dedicate yourself to it and even if you hate it just keep showing up.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2017

This or This is a great book that covers all the basics very well. I would suggest giving it a read.

Also, ask one of the trainers at your gym for form advice if you ever feel like you need help on something specific.

0 points

·

26th Jan 2018

Bigger, Leaner, Stronger

If you have questions, PM me. This book is the truth.