What is the opinion of Reddit about the
beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO Over-Ear Studio Monitor Headphones – Open-Back Stereo Construction, Wired (80 Ohm, Grey)?

A total of 14 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

9th Sep 2020

I personally use Sennheiser’s everyday but i dont necessarily have a brand preference. Audio Technica, Beyer, AKG, Sennheiser, etc. they all have great options.
The thing i have a preference for is open backed vs closed backed headphones.

Open backed allows the sound to seem much wider and detailed (generally), but because of the open back a lot of the sound can be heard by people in the same room as you. If you’re usually by yourself when at the computer, i recommend open backed.

These are my recommendation because they’re open back and don’t need a amplifier to get them really loud.
Audio stuff can be kinda confusing to get into but its a deep rabbit hole Lol

1 point

·

27th Jan 2022

this one seems like 80ohms.

1 point

·

12th Jan 2021

They come in a 80 ohm version as well
see here

As I touched on, you have to look at the sensitivity ohm alone don’t say much… but either way dt770, 880 & 990 80 ohm will do fine and I doubt you’ll notice a difference..
Will you be gaming or listening to music?

1 point

·

7th Oct 2020

If music is a big factor, skip all of the gaming headsets and get some studio headphones. Something like the DT 990s will easily out perform any gaming headset for music and gaming

1 point

·

24th Dec 2019

I only find the 80 and 250 on Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-Over-Ear-Studio-Headphones-construction/dp/B07KFN5LL4/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=dt990%2Bpro&qid=1577159637&sprefix=dt990&sr=8-3&th=1&psc=1

I could get an amp around 3 months after the headphones but I’m having trouble understanding the impedance ratings on the amps. What amo do you recommend for around $100? I was looking at the Schiit Fulla but wasn’t sure about the power. I would prefer if it also included a DAC if it makes the headphones sound better.

1 point

·

18th Aug 2019

You said also for gaming with “good directional audio” so I’m assuming you mean “soundstage.”

Beyerdynamic DT 990 pro 80ohm. Hits all the good spots. Super comfy, great soundstage (is OPEN back), etc.

My only cons with them is that the cord is non replaceable and the earpad replacements can be relatively expensive.

$159

1 point

·

5th Jul 2019
3 points

·

11th Jul 2021

https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-Over-Ear-Studio-Headphones-construction/dp/B07KFN5LL4/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=beyerdynamic%2Bdt990%2Bpro&qid=1625984925&sprefix=beyer&sr=8-3&th=1&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-SE-Headphone/dp/B07RFNZYJZ/ref=mp_s_a_1_15?dchild=1&keywords=sennheiser%2B598&qid=1625984661&sr=8-15

I am someone who prefers Sennheiser, but the 990’s are really good as well. Either one should have build quality that lasts, and would definitely be better than any individual gaming headset from Tritton/Turtle Beach/HyperX or whatever.

There are others that are less, and you really can’t go wrong sticking with the bigger brands.

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2022

​

I have an amp and the beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO and I’ve been using them for around 8 months without an eq. I was told that I should EQ them but I’m not sure what preset to use to make them sound “better”. I searched here but I couldn’t find the exact model of my headphones and I wasn’t sure to use FixedBandEQ.txt, GraphicEQ.txt or ParametricEQ.txt for the non pro versions.

1 point

·

4th Oct 2021

Amazon currently has some

https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-DT-990-PRO-Headphones/dp/B07KFN5LL4/

Available only in the US is very hit and miss, and more often miss. So if you want them, you better grab them.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2021

Here is the 80 ohm. MMX are decent, but not worth

https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-DT-990-PRO-Headphones/dp/B07KFN5LL4

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2021

Well, I can guarantee you that you would be able to hear footsteps well and all that. Music sounds great through those headphones too, they have great detail and a fairly flat sound signature (which is what you would want, all frenquencies being treated the same, and no frenquencies being more emphasized over another), wide soundstage, and great imaging.

BUT, there is also the Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO, which is fairly similar to the DT 770 PROs that I recommended, but it is open back, which means that the back of the earcups are open. It basically opens and widens up the soundstage, and really improves the imaging. It is like the VR of headphones, with openback headphones, the sounds wouldn’t sound like its coming from a pair of headphones, it would sound like it is coming fr around you, in whichever room you may be in, so it would be pretty great for gaming and all that, the footsteps would be super accurate. It is surround sound but real, you know.

It is amazing for listening to music as well, the soundstage really makes the songs more immersive, and you would be able to like, point at the direction the instruments and sounds are coming from, the experience is really really great.

There are a couple downsides though, which is the lower end frenquencies (Bass), may sound a bit lacking relative to closed back headphones. It may lack the umph, the punchyness, the feel of the bass, but in turn, you would get a super detailed low end response.

And since it is open back it will also leak sound/everything outside of the headphones you would be able to hear, and everyone would be able to hear what you are listening to, which may be disturbing to your wife when you two are working in the same room.

But you should definitely consider both, both sound absolutely fantastic and are at a similar price point, and of great value.

Also, if you are just listening to music through say spotify for example, you can very much just connect the headphones to the portable DAC, and the DAC connects to your phone via Bluetooth, and boom, the headphones are practically wireless!

Here’s the link to the DT 990PRO:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KFN5LL4/ref=twister_B07SRDVZSL?_encoding=UTF8&th=1

1 point

·

19th Jul 2020

beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO Over-Ear Studio Monitor Headphones – Open-Back Stereo Construction, Wired (80 Ohm, Grey) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KFN5LL4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_RjmfFbAQ2QNTV

1 point

·

24th Apr 2019

how about some 80 ohm Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro headphones?? for sure a bit more expensive but like… definitely less expensive than a quality headphone preamp would be

https://www.amazon.com/beyerdynamic-DT-990-PRO-Headphones/dp/B07KFN5LL4

Ohms = resistance = power necessary to drive them, in absolute layman’s terms. the 250 ohm version is basically meant to be driven harder. why buy something to do that when you could just… not?

here is some info about headphone impedance and how it relates to quality https://www.turntablelab.com/pages/headphone-buying-guide-what-is-headphone-impedance