What is the opinion of Reddit about the
beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 ohm – LIMITED EDITION (Black, Straight Cable)?

A total of 19 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

7th Oct 2020

If you want something more focused on music, do not buy a gaming headset. Studio headphones don’t have a mic, but the listening experience is much better.
Something like this is a good start

1 point

·

28th Feb 2018

Took me 8 months of buying and returning headphones to replace my 7 year old Sennheiser PC350 headset.. Then I found these Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250ohm. When they go on sale they hit around $120. $170 now, but they go on sale frequently on Amazon and Newegg even other places for around $120.. Amp needed for the 250 ohm version. I will try to find the website with them for $120 and get back to you. Then you can use the $30 and put it towards a decent under $100 amp like the FiiO E10K.

1 point

·

19th Jun 2020

So, I run a Beyerdynamic modding service for those that don’t know. Somebody sent me a pair of new headphones from Amazon to do a dual sided 3.5mm mod, so I did the mod and sent the guy a picture of the finished product. He goes “Hmmmm I didn’t order DT 990, I had ordered DT 770s”… long story short the wrong headphones got sent to me, and before I realized, they had already been modded, and therefore non-returnable.

I made a balanced cable for them, and now I’m offering one lucky /r/AVexchange user the ability to buy a brand new set of DT 990 250 ohm fully balanced! The cable is about 5 feet long, and braided with paracord (inner wire is mogami w2893 for those wondering). Terminated in 4 pin XLR, and dual 3.5mm at the headphone end.

These sell for $190 new on Amazon, so I’m asking $200 shipped for the headphones and cable. CONUS buyers only please. Feel free to ask for more pics or information.

1 point

·

18th Apr 2018

where on reddit should i ask if anyone is interested in a trade?

i have a pair of barely used 598se, looking for beyerdynamic 990 250 ohm, id prefer these but its not a huge deal

1 point

·

25th May 2017

Have you heard these? https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beyerdynamic-DT990-Pro-Headphones-Limited/dp/B010IJ9W1U/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1495691491&sr=8-2&keywords=DT990+250ohm

I have them right now. In short: don’t. They distort at normal listening volumes and are surprisingly dry. Also I was not impressed with their soundstage.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2017

Okay so I have the Astro Mixamp pro and I want to get a new headphone and still use it but I noticed it only outputs 70mW 32ohm per channel and the headphones I’ve seen need more so I
was wondering if I should upgrade to a better one.
These are the main headphones I’m looking at but I’m up for suggestions, https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beyerdynamic-DT990-Pro-Headphones-Limited/dp/B010IJ9W1U/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1492645146&sr=8-5&keywords=beyerdynamic

1 point

·

10th Jan 2016

Hmmm I’ll probably just return it…. I got it for 115$ish but I’d rather buy this. http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-DT990-PRO-250ohm-Straight/dp/B010IJ9W1U/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1452318927&sr=8-3&keywords=dt+990 I had the 990’s before but the plastic-thing that holds them together broke. But beyerdynamic now offers like every peice possible to fix it. This looks allot better, even if it is openbacked… My main complaint with them last time when I had it for like 1 week was the cord not being straight.

2 points

·

18th Nov 2017

I prefer Beyerdynamic, Sennheiser, over AT… I am not using Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250 Ohm headphones.. I put aftermarket Brainwavz round memory foam ear pads on them.. I haven’t found anything better for under $300.

Here is an all black Pro version with straight cable on Amazon. Pro normally have coiled cables. Premium version has straight cables.

I have them running on a soundcard by Asus, the Xonar Xense. If you get high ohm phones, you need an amp, period.. if you get something in the 32-64 Ohm range, you won’t really need an amp.. but a DAC would help with quality.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021

beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 ohm – LIMITED EDITION (Black, Straight Cable) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B010IJ9W1U/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_GCZVAXQ4BBC1N446CRN9?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

These are my headphones. Sorry for the confusion.

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021

Hi audiophile people, I don’t know much, so sorry for any mistakes I make. My question is, what do AMP/DACs do besides increase volume or (power?), and if it makes sense for me to buy an AMP/DAC if I have no volume/power issues currently? I have the DT990 Pro 250 OHM plugged into the audio jack in the AT2020USB+ microphone. Thanks to anyone who can help.

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2018

Well, this is very confusing… First of all, in the Europe Beyerdynamic homepage here, indeed they are selling DT 990 Black Special Edition with the hard case, but in North American hompage here, there is not even a mention of the special edition. Then again, if I go to amazon here, they are selling DT 990 Pro Black Limited Edition which is different from the edition version (the ‘Beyerdynamic’ letters are in black, not in white), and it seems like it doesn’t give you the hard case. This is so confusing… I think only the black special edition gives you the hard case.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2020

I posted this in r/battlestations and wanted to share it with more people. My comment from that thread:

ITX Specs:

  • R5 3600
  • RTX 2060 Super Founders Edition
  • 16GB Corsair DDR4
  • Asus B450i
  • Corsair SF600
  • Custom PSU cables made for the case (not visible)
  • WD 256GB Blue M.2 SSD
  • (2x) 1TB HDD
  • Sliger SM560
  • Alpenföhn Black Ridge V2 w/ Noctua 92mm NF-A9 Chromax Black
  • (2x) Noctua NF-F12 120mm fans Black w/ Black Vibration pads

Peripherals/Other:

Notes: I hid quite a few things under the table with double sided gel tape or brackets to make my desk as clean as possible. My Logitech C920 feels like the only thing out of place and I have it that way because sometimes I need to move/rotate it around. It’s easier to move when it’s not sitting on my monitor. Long time in the making, I’m finally satisfied with the setup.

Edit:

1 point

·

11th Apr 2017

I gotchu.

Good: Beyerdynamic DT-990

Better: Sennheiser HD 650

EDIT: And for the desperate, Samson SR850.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2017

Hello
I have recently fixated on the Beyerdynamic DT990 250 Ohm headphones, and would like to know whether I need to get an amp, as the motherboard I currently have is the gigabyte z170 gaming K3, which apparently has a “Built-in Rear Audio Amplifier”

Thanks

Links
Motherboard: http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-Z170-Gaming-K3-rev-11#ov
Headphones: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B010IJ9W1U/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A35ATNU92FJ7LH

1 point

·

15th Jan 2016

If you want the best sound then it can’t be wireless.

DT990,HD598, K612, AD900x, T50RP.

For the mic there is the popular modmic, for the electronics there is the E10k or the E1.