What is the opinion of Reddit about the
beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro Over-Ear Studio Headphone?

A total of 18 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

7th Jul 2016

get the Beyerdynamic DT-880 Pro Headphones on amazon $192 right now. You DO NOT want to use closed back headphones for mixing. It’s hard to believe they keep getting recommended.

1 point

·

19th Jan 2017

Do amps make a huge difference in sound quality? For example I was looking at Beyerdynamic DT-880 Pro Headphones 250OHM.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2016

Not sure if this is the right sticky, but as I’m not technically asking for a pair of headphones I’ll post here.

So, I’m going to be picking up a pair of Beyerdynamic DT880 PRO(250 OHM) and have seen around about buying an AMP and/or DAC with them to get their full potential (this is my first big headphone purchase).

My question is, why does one need a DAC/AMP? And what would suffice for the headphones that I am getting?

Any help would be appreciated.

 

EDIT: Also, how would I set the DAC and AMP up? Sorry for the noob questions – as stated, this is my first big headphone purchase and am completely new to this all. If anyone can suggest better headphones for under £200, please let me know!

1 point

·

25th Apr 2016

They’re a little more than your budget, but I’d recommend the Beyerdynamic DT 880s – I’ve had a pair for a few months and they’ve been great.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2015

The Denon’s are a definite solid pick if you’re a bass head when it comes to music. One thing about them is that they do run heavy and may put some strain on your neck / head.

Out of the list, I’ve had the best experience with the Senn’s. I say this because of their dollar to performance ratio. They consistently output high quality sound for how cheap they are compared to other headphones. Of course, the others are still really strong contenders and I’d use all of them within a heartbeat.

One pair that I didn’t put on this list but is my personal favorite is the DT 880. They’re a very light pair that you can game with a long time. I even went one day wearing them for around 14 hours without a problem. The only issue with these is that they require an amp to bring out the true quality (still sounds very good without one) and that the cuffs are made of a felt that will collect grease / oil over time.

I’ve personally never heard of modmic, but I imagine that it can’t be too bad considering it’s still a clip on mic in a way. The clip on I was referring to acts like a pin you’d attach to your shirt. You just plug it into your desktop/laptop and clip it on the a surface near your mouth. I.E your headphone wire or the neck of your shirt.

1 point

·

13th May 2015

Sorry for the late response (was unexpectedly without internet for a week).
Thank you for taking the time to put this build together for me. 🙂
Also thanks for the headset suggestion. Someone else suggested this one to me. I wonder how they compare. Anyhow yours has a mic, which I like.

2 points

·

20th Feb 2014

Oh, I didn’t realize the D1 was a DAC only. Do you have an amp in your system or do you plan on getting one in the near future?

The AD900x has “punchy/impactful” bass but if you’re looking for sheer quantity it probably won’t be there. I’ve actually never heard the thing, but I’ve had a lot of time listening to the AD700 and the AD2000. The AD series typically has a lot of detail and focus on treble sparkle with good extension in both directions, but they’re usually described as “airy” and “fast” to give you an idea of what they sound like. I don’t think anyone one would ever call them “bassy”, but many people would say the bass is “good”.

The DT770 feels a little more closed off than the DT880 but IMO it doesn’t really make a difference. Massdrop currently has a group buy on DT880s of any impedance for a shipped price of $250, which is pretty good. Amazon has the Pro version of the DT880/250 for super cheap but I don’t know how they sound compared to the regular “premium” version. The DT880 is a little bit treble-lifted and a lot of people think they have a little too much treble. The bass has the same “punch” as the AD series but there’s more of it, although again I’m not sure if I would call them “bassy”.

What are you listening to now, and how do you like the bass? That’ll give me a better idea of what quantity you’d like.

1 point

·

21st Dec 2013

The pros are < $200 on amazon

The premiums are on massdrop right now for $239. That is not under $200 but still a pretty solid price

1 point

·

1st Feb 2018

Why don’t you take a look at Beyerdynamic DT-880 ? Semi-Open Studio Headphones. You won’t hear much bleeding coming out of them. I own a pair of Sennheiser HD 650 (Open back), and they’re nearly as flat as you can get for that price.

1 point

·

5th Apr 2017

I’ve got great news for you! I found a setup for 257 Euros that I think you’ll love! Beyerdynamic DT [email protected] with Dac! and Hybrid Tube [email protected]

This was my first real set up, and I loved it! The DT 880 sounds phenomenal with Classic Rock, Indie rock, Acoustic and classical, the Hybrid Tube amp has more than enough power for it and will REALLY flesh out the sound of the headphone, the UCA 202 is a dac I still use to this day [with my laptop and at work] all in all, I think you’d be VERY happy with a set up like this!

Additionally, here’s some feed back about that little amp you can read through the thread if your curious about how amazing the DT 880 Pro is :3

1 point

·

12th Feb 2017

I have a pair of Beyerdynamic dt 880 pro headphones and use the Samson Go Mic and it’s a great, high quality and very portable setup.

1 point

·

12th Jul 2016

DT 880 250ohm also on sale

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001B1QENY/

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2016

Do not get the i7. No gaming benefit over an i5-6600k which you can use. With the money saved just get a 390 and get better monitor. It has no benefit over a 300 dollar 1440p monitor at all, heavily over priced, etc. Also get the Logitech G502 laser mouse, the optical is really really really bad. With money saved get a 980ti. Example

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel Core i5-6600K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor$253.89 @ OutletPC
CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX 104.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler$121.99 @ Amazon
MotherboardMSI Z170A XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM EDITION ATX LGA1151 Motherboard$298.99 @ SuperBiiz
MemoryCorsair Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory$109.99 @ Newegg
StorageSamsung 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5&quot; Solid State Drive$150.89 @ OutletPC
StorageWestern Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5&quot; 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive$49.89 @ OutletPC
Video MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Video $624.99 @ Amazon
CaseCorsair 780T ATX Full Tower Case$177.81 @ Mac Mall
Power SupplyEVGA 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply$94.99 @ Newegg
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM (64-bit)$87.95 @ OutletPC
MonitorAOC Q2778VQE 60Hz 27.0&quot; Monitor$299.99 @ Micro Center
KeyboardCorsair K70 RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard$145.56 @ Amazon
MouseLogitech G502 Wired Optical Mouse$49.99 @ Best Buy
HeadphonesAudio-Technica ATH-AD900x Headphones$149.00 @ Amazon
SpeakersLogitech Z506 155W 5.1ch Speakers$62.99 @ Best Buy
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total (before mail-in rebates)$2708.91
Mail-in rebates-$30.00
Total$2678.91
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-02-02 19:32 EST-0500

This will be a lot better. Also I’d aim for nicer headphones, those aren’t bad they just aren’t great. I’d look at DT-880, Dt-770. Those are similar price and great, DT-770 for more base heavy and closed back while the DT-880 is semi-open with sound leakage for more treble and better for gaming. I’d get the 250 OHM version of all of them, very nice very nice. Link to 880s http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-DT-880-Pro-Headphones-250/dp/B001B1QENY/ref=sr_1_1?s=musical-instruments&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1454459227&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=dt+880

DT-770s http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-770-PRO-250-ohms/dp/B0006NL5SM

Feel free to ask any questions.

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2015

> the 880 only comes in premium

Are you sure? One of the options for the 880 on Amazon is the 250 OHM Pro.

Other than that, thanks for the info. Long, but definitely worth the read I think. If the 250 OHM pro is actually a thing, would you consider it worth the extra $40 compared to the AD700? The AD700 is $200 on Amazon and the DT880 Pro is $240 on Amazon

0 points

·

6th Sep 2016
  • Budget – Under $220
  • Source – NuForce uDAC3 from PC
  • Requirements for Isolation – None
  • Preferred Type of Headphone – full-sized
  • Preferred tonal balance – Balanced/ Neutral
  • Past headphones – Sony MDR-V6. Current IEM Ety Hf5/2
  • Preferred Music – All types of music, Gaming, TV, Movies
  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Better bass, More detail

  • Broke my MDR-V6s, Now looking to replace with a better alternative.
    Deciding Between:

  • Beyerdynamic DT-880 Pro Headphones (250 Ohm) $190

  • Sennheiser HD 598 $144

  • Or AKG K702 ~ $200

0 points

·

7th Apr 2016

iPhone has quite high voltage output for a smartphone. You likely do have the 250Ω version.

http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-DT-880-Pro-Headphones-250/dp/B001B1QENY

http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-880-Premium-32-Headphones/dp/B0024NK358/

32/600Ω version have a headband design that can’t be unbuttoned which is the Premium version. The 250Ω version comes in Pro or Premium and has a headband that can be unbuttoned on the top if it is the Pro version.